Regional Advisory Committees (RAC)

Regional Advisory Committees (RACs) were established, and their responsibilities outlined in the North Carolina Administrative Code (see 10A NCAC 13P .1101, .1102, and .1103). RACs were initially established for the purpose of regional trauma planning, to include establishing and maintaining a coordinated trauma system. Following September 11, 2001, RAC responsibilities/members significantly expanded to account for increased disaster and terrorism related activities.

The North Carolina Office of Emergency Medical Services (NCOEMS) oversees the RACs in North Carolina and works with them to coordinate their responsibilities regarding the state's trauma/terrorism initiatives.

Map of RAC Affiliations

Map of Regional Advisory Committee (RAC) Affiliations

A county's RAC is determined by its hospital's RAC selection or, if no hospital is in the county, by selection of a RAC by the primary Emergency Medical Service provider. A county with different colors indicates two or more hospitals with different RAC affiliations.

Click on the map to get to a PDF (30 KB) of the map that will allow you to zoom in on the counties.

List of hospitals and RAC affiliations (PDF, 20 KB)

Capital RAC (WakeMed Raleigh Campus)

Questions on RAC meetings should be directed to Dale Hill, CapRAC Coordinator, telephone 919-350-7727 or dahill@wakemed.org.

Duke RAC (Duke Hospitals)

Questions on RAC meetings or courses should be directed to Candi Van Vleet, RN, MBA, NREMT-P, Duke RAC Coordinator, at telephone 919-684-0140 or candi.vanvleet@duke.edu.

Eastern RAC (Vidant Medical Center)

Questions on RAC meetings or courses should be directed to Lisa Murtaugh, email Lisa.Murtaugh@Vidanthealth.com or Tammy Spain, telephone 252-847-4299 or email tspain@Vidanthealth.com.

Metrolina Trauma Advisory Committee (Carolinas Medical Center)

Questions on RAC meetings or courses should be directed to George Ross, NREMT-P, Trauma Advisory Committee Coordinator, at telephone 704-355-6670 or email George.Ross@carolinashealthcare.org.

Mid Carolina Trauma RAC (UNC Hospitals)

Questions on RAC meetings or other courses should be directed to Alberto Bonifacio RN, BSN, MHA, CEN, Mid Carolina Trauma Outreach/RAC Coordinator, telephone 919-843-0444 or email alberto.bonifacio@unchealth.unc.edu.

Mountain Area Trauma RAC (Mission Hospitals)

Questions on RAC meetings should be directed to Mark Johnson, MATRAC Coordinator, telephone 828-213-1919 or email mark.johnson@msj.org.

Southeastern Trauma RAC (New Hanover Regional Medical Center)

Questions on the disaster meetings can be directed to Hans Edwards, telephone 910-343-4877 or email hans.edwards@nhrmc.org. Questions on quarterly SERAC meetings can be directed to Chip Munna, telephone 910-342-3217 or email Chip.Munna@nhrmc.org.

Triad RAC (Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center/Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital)

Questions, contact Gail Kluttz, telephone 336-722-1828 or email prts2000@hotmail.com.

NC Office of Emergency Medical Services