Medication Testing Information

Medication testing is required for anyone administering drugs to residents in any adult care home in North Carolina who is not authorized by occupational laws to administer medications.

Medication Testing Unit

Physical Address: 805 Biggs Drive, Raleigh, North Carolina 27603

Telephone: 919-855-3793

Website: N.C. Adult Care Medication Testing

Medication Exam Schedule (PDF, 39 KB)

State Approved Infection Control Course for Adult Care Homes

Testing Locations

Exam Site City County Test Schedule
Alamance County Human Services Center [Directions] Burlington Alamance Available Exams
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College – Enka Site [Directions] Candler Buncombe Available Exams
Davidson County Community College Lexington Davidson Available Exams
Division of Health Service Regulation [Directions] Raleigh Wake Available Exams
Fayetteville Technical Community College [Directions] Fayetteville Cumberland Available Exams
Gaston County Department of Social Services Gastonia Gaston Available Exams
Greene County Center/Lenoir Community College [Campus Map (PDF, 1.14 MB)] Snow Hill Greene Available Exams
Martin Community College Williamston Martin Available Exams
McDowell Technical Community College [Directions] Marion McDowell Available Exams
Montgomery Community College [Directions] Troy Montgomery Available Exams
New Hanover County Department of Aging Wilmington New Hanover Available Exams
Onslow County Senior Services [Directions] Jacksonville Onslow Available Exams
Piedmont Community College Roxboro Person Available Exams
Stanly Community College [Directions] Albemarle Stanly Available Exams
Transylvania County Department of Social Services Brevard Transylvania Available Exams
Wilkes County Public Library [Directions] Wilkesboro Wilkes Available Exams

Steps for Completing the Medication Aide Testing

  1. Register for an exam
    • To obtain a registration packet, e-mail your name and address to AdultCare.ctu@dhhs.nc.gov or call the ACLS office at 919-855-3793, Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.
    • All applicants must complete the registration form. There are instructions for completing the Scantron registration form.
    • Submit registration form and required $25.00 testing fee at least 14 days prior to the exam date. Payment of the $25.00 testing fee must be in the form of a money order or certified check made payable to "DHSR." Personal and company checks are not accepted. Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable once submitted to DHSR. Payment will not be accepted at testing sites.

      The completed registration form and required testing fee must be received before you will be registered for a specific testing date and location. Mail your completed registration form and $25.00 fee (money order or certified check) together in one envelope to:

      Adult Care Licensure Section
      Adult Care Testing
      2722 Mail Service Center
      Raleigh, NC 27699-2722

  2. Review the Medication Study Guide, Medication Test Study Tips and Guidelines for the Medication Administration Clinical Skills Checklist for the exam
  3. Review the information and testing policies for medication testing.

  4. Log on to the N.C. Adult Care Medication Testing website to obtain additional information on medication aides in adult care homes, updates on testing, forms, copy of the Medication Administration Clinical Checklist and results for medication testing.

Additional Information

Verification of Medication Aides for Adult Care Homes

Effective May 1, 2014, verification of individuals who have taken the written medication exam for adult care homes and any exam results will only be available via the N.C. Adult Care Medication Aide Testing Web site: https://mats.dhhs.state.nc.us:8598/searchVerifications.aspx. Verification via the Adult Care Medication Aide Voice Response System (919-733-7615) will no longer be available.

If you have any questions contact the Adult Care Testing Office via email at Adultcare.ctu@dhhs.nc.gov or via phone, 919-855-3793, Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.

Exam Scheduling
Testing schedules (PDF, 39 KB) are available.

In order to receive registration confirmation by mail, this information must be received by the Adult Care Licensure Section 14 days before the exam date. Submitting the information prior to this time does not guarantee registration for the chosen exam site and date. If the exam you have selected is full when the registration form is received, you will be registered for the next available exam date for the location you chose.

If you do not receive a confirmation letter within 10 business days from the day you mailed your registration, please contact the ACLS via e-mail at AdultCare.ctu@dhhs.nc.gov or by phone at 919-855-3793 Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4 p.m. ACLS is not responsible for lost, misdirected or delayed mail.

Any questions regarding test locations or scheduling, contact the ACLS office. Do not contact the test sites with questions about the testing or schedules.

Cancellation and Re-scheduling
If you are unable to attend your scheduled exam, you must notify ACLS at least two business days before the examination date to re-schedule. Saturday and Sunday and national holidays are not considered business days. If you provide at least two business days advance notice, you may re-schedule one time and your fee may be transferred to your new examination date. If you need to re-schedule an examination in less than two business days before the examination date, you must apply for an excused absence.

If you do not call ACLS at least two business days before your examination date to re-schedule and do not show up for your scheduled examination, your fee will not be refunded and cannot be transferred to a new examination date. Also, you may not give your examination date to another person.

Weather Emergencies/Inclement Weather
Testing will be canceled if weather conditions are considered hazardous for local travel or for commuting. Information on cancellations may be obtained by:

  1. Calling the Adult Care Licensure Section in Raleigh at 919-855-3793; or
  2. Logging on to the N.C. Adult Care Medication Aide Testing Website.

Check in
In order to allow time for check in, you are to arrive at least 30 minutes before the examination starts. You will be required to present proper photo identification.

If you are late for the written examination you will not be allowed to test and your fees will not be refunded. You will have to re-register and pay another registration fee.

Misconduct
Every effort is made to keep any disturbances at the testing site to a minimum. If an individual is involved with causing disturbance of any kind or engaging in any kind of misconduct, the individual will be asked to leave the test site premises.

Obtaining Exam Results
You may verify your exam results on the N.C. Adult Care Medication Aide Testing Website. Providers are responsible for verification and maintaining documentation of the results of the medication aide written exam. Do not call the Adult Care Licensure Section for test results.

Only those participants who do not pass the exam will receive a letter by mail. If you intend to re-take the medication exam, you must complete another registration form and pay the $25.00 testing fee each time you take the exam.

Adult Care Licensure Section (ACLS)
ACLS is located in the Broughton Building at 805 Biggs Drive, Raleigh, N.C. You may contact the testing staff at 919-855-3793 between the hours of 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday or via e-mail AdultCare.ctu@dhhs.nc.gov.

Medication Aides in Nursing Homes

If you have taken the medication aide test for the adult care homes, it does not qualify you to pass medications in a nursing home.

Individuals who wish to work as a Medication Aide in a Nursing Home must contact the N.C. Health Care Personnel Registry at 919-855-3969 or the N.C. Board of Nursing at 919-782-3211 for information and specify that you are interested in working in a nursing home.