Requirements and Instructions for Initial Home Care Licensing

You will find a list of all the documents you need for this process under the Acute and Home Care Licensure and Certification Section. Please print the Home Care and Hospice Licensure Survey Checklist so you can use it for your guide. You should review the North Carolina rules governing the licensure of home care agencies. For an initial license, an in-office survey must be conducted prior to licensure. To prepare for your initial survey we encourage you to do the following:

Step I
Thoroughly read and familiarize yourself with the North Carolina rules governing the licensure of home care agencies. You must develop written policies and procedures for your agency in accordance with the rules. These policies and procedures are usually presented in a bound manual. Please refer to the Home Care and Hospice Survey Checklist as an outline guide for putting together and writing your policies & procedures.

After screening all potential employees, you must be prepared to present personnel records for each selected employee as noted in the survey checklist under section III.

Step II
Pursuant to G.S. 131E-102(b) (PDF, 11 KB), a nonrefundable license fee is charged to the applicant in the amount of five hundred sixty dollars ($560.00) per agency license. The license fee must accompany the application prior to the issuance of the home care license. Payment should be in the form of a check, money order or certified check and must be payable to the "N.C. Division of Health Service Regulation". The legislation (HB-397, Session Law 2003-284, PDF, 1007 KB) prohibits a license from being issued if the annual fee has not been paid.

Please note: All license fees are nonrefundable regardless of when a license is finally issued.

Once you have acquired personnel records for your required employees and completed the written policies and procedures for your agency, please complete and return only the application and the license fee ($560.00) to this office. You will be notified of our receipt of your application and additional instructions will be provided regarding the scheduling of your initial licensure survey to be conducted here in our office in Raleigh. (Please allow ten (10) business days.) Your policies and procedures and personnel records will be reviewed on the day of the survey.

The primary reason home care licensure applicants are denied licensure is because they do not understand and/or comply with the checklist and/or licensure rulebook requirements. It should be noted these are minimal requirements and failure to comply with them may result in additional preparation time for applicants including repeat office visits. Therefore it is recommended that applicants be prepared for the initial survey in order to best utilize their time.

If this office can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us at 919-855-4620.