Skip all navigation Skip to page navigation

DHHS Home | A-Z Site Map | Get Updates | Divisions | About Us | Contacts | En Español

NC Department of Health and Human Services Division of Services for the Blind

State Rehabilitation Council Meeting Minutes

March 12, 2011

Call to Order of the State Rehabilitation Council Meeting
Directly following the Commission for the Blind meeting, Chair Beth Butler opened the State Rehabilitation Council meeting.

Present in the Conference Room:  Eddie Weaver, Mary Flanagan, Cynthia Speight, Julie Kagy, Gary Ray, Dave Arthur, and Carla Parker

Connected by Conference Call:  Joann Wood, Beth Butler, Alan Casey, Ruth Haines, Graham Watt

Approval of Minutes
As we do not have a quorum, we are not able to approve the minutes.  Approval of minutes will be held at the June meeting. 

Committee Reports: 

Policy and Procedures Committee—Cynthia Speight
No new policies have been written since our December meeting.  DSB did move forward with the policy changes that were voted on in December. 

Code of Conduct training is being held across the State.  The Rehabilitation Center Code of Conduct is more extensive due to it being a residential facility. 

Revisions have been made to the Rehabilitation Center Handbook.

As a result of a recent audit, DSB’s Rehabilitation Program will begin verifying income for applicants.  DSB currently does not verify income for services that are subject to an economic needs test.  In order to make a policy change, a rule change must be made.  The rule change process is lengthy.  Since we do not have a quorum, we cannot vote on this change.  Mary Flanagan is going to send the rule change to DHHS for their review and at our June meeting we will vote on the rule. 

State Plan Committee-Dave Arthur
The focus groups are scheduled for March 22 in Asheville, March 23 in Rocky Mount, and April 1 in Aberdeen
Public hearings are scheduled for Greensboro and Pembroke.  We need SRC members to volunteer for each of these sessions.

The State Plan committee currently has 3 members:  Eddie Weaver, Graham Watt, and Tommy Jenkins. 

Chair Butler appointed Ruth Haines to replace Tommy Jenkins and Beth Butler will replace Eddie Weaver. 

Consumer Information Committee:  Joann Wood and Julie Kagy
A new satisfaction survey was sent out for the first quarter of SFY11.  The results will be presented at our June meeting.

Old Business

New Business
Mary Flanagan reported that DSB will be participating at WRAL’s Wellness Weekend event May 21-22.  This event will be held at the fairgrounds. Volunteers are needed to run the booth. 

The State Rehabilitation Council adjourned at 12:15.


top Ready NC Connect NC