NC DHHS logo  

NC Department of Health and Human Services

what we dowho we arenews roomdivisions and contacts/employees and partnersjobs at DHHSdisclaimer





Continuum of Care -


Homelessness in NC

Who is Homeless

10-Year Plans to End Homelessness

Interagency Council for Coordinating Homeless Programs (ICCHP)

Emergency Shelter Grants

Continuum of Care - U.S. HUD Funding

Publications and Reports


U.S. HUD Funding

Counties or regions must create Continuums of Care (CoC) if they want to apply for the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's (HUD) McKinney-Vento funds for homeless programs. Individaul agencies are not able to apply - they must go through CoC.

There are thirteen Continuum of Care groups in North Carolina. Typically the larger cities develop their own CoC and the rest of the state merges into one CoC called the Balance of State. The Balance of State acts as a CoC and is allowed to apply for HUD McKinney-Vento funds.

McKinney-Vento funds can be used for permanent supportive housing and/or services.

Continuum of Care (CoC) Contact List:
Anson/Moore,Montgomery,Richmond Counties
Chapel Hill/Orange County
Charlotte/Mecklenburg County
Durham City and Durham County
Fayetteville/Cumberland County
Gastonia/Cleveland, Gaston and Lincoln
Greensboro/High Point
Northwest NC
Raleigh/Wake County
Wilmington/Brunswick, New Hanover, Pender Counties
Winston-Salem, Forsyth County

N.C. Balance of State: Cities: Burlington, Concord, Goldsboro, Greenville, Hickory, Jacksonville, Kannapolis, Lenoir, Morganton, Rocky Mount, Salisbury. Counties: Alamance, Alexander, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene , Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Polk, Randolph, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Union, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wilson and Yadkin.


Last Modified: January 28, 2011