Skip all navigation Skip to page navigation

DHHS Home | A-Z Site Map | Divisions | About Us | Contacts | En Español

NC Department of Health and Human Services Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services

CABHAs: Critical Access Behavioral Health Agencies

The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) has approved a definition and description of a new category of provider agency, Critical Access Behavioral Health Agency (CABHA). The CABHA is designed to ensure that critical services are delivered by a clinically competent organization with appropriate medical oversight and the ability to deliver a continuum of services. The CABHA will move the public system over time to a more coherent service delivery model that reduces clinical fragmentation at the local level and begins to prepare the provider community for the changes that will be required in a waiver environment. (Read More)


General CABHA Information

Division of Medical Assistance (DMA)


8/31/10-12/31/10 Transition

For a clarification of information published in the January Medicaid Bulletin related to endorsement of Intensive In-Home, Community Support Team and Day Treatment services, please access one of the following links:

Questions regarding CABHA status and Special IU 79 should be submitted in writing to:

CABHA Regional Kickoff Meetings

Kickoff Meeting Video

MHDDSAS and DMA led four Regional Kickoff Meetings to initiate a means for regular and effective communication among leaders of the State, Local Management Entities (LMEs) and CABHAs to ensure the success of this important initiative.



 Ready NC Connect NC