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AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY / AFFIRMATIVE ACTION EMPLOYER 

 
 
 December 19, 2022  
 
DEAR COUNTY DIRECTOR OF SOCIAL SERVICES  
 
ATTENTION: Child Support Managers and Supervisors 
  
SUBJECT: North Carolina Child Support Guidelines Revisions 
 
REQUIRED ACTION: Information Only   X Time Sensitive      Immediate  
 
Effective January 1, 2023, the North Carolina Guidelines are revised per the review by the 
Conference of Chief District Court Judges. Section 50-13.4 of the North Carolina General 
Statutes requires this group to prescribe uniform presumptive guidelines for child support 
obligations and to review those guidelines at least every four years for appropriateness.  
 
The revised guidelines apply to all child support actions heard on or after January 1, 2023. 
These changes are as follows: 
 

1. Under “Self-Support Reserve; Support Parents with Low Incomes”, the standard of 
living for one person is now based on the 2022 federal poverty level ($1,133 per month). 
Also in this section, the adjusted gross income for obligors whose income falls in the 
shaded area is changed to less than $1,150.00 to establish the minimum support order 
of $50.00 per month. For obligors with adjusted gross incomes above $1150.00, a 
further adjustment is made to the Basic Support Obligation schedule to preserve the 
self-support reserve for the obligor. 

2. Under “Determination of Support in Cases Involving High Combined Income”, the Basic 
Support Obligation Schedule has been revised to include basic child support obligations 
calculations when the combined adjusted gross income is more than $40,000.00 per 
month ($480,000.00 per year.) 

3. Under “Potential or Imputed Income”, the consideration of not imputing income when 
a party is the primary custodian of child who is under the age of three years has been 
removed. This has been replaced with considering the presence of a young or physically 
or mentally disabled child in the home as impacting a parent’s ability to work when 
determining whether a parent’s unemployment or under employment is bad faith. 
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4. Under “Health Insurance and Health Care Costs”, vision insurance has been added to 
health and dental insurance when adding the cost to the basic child support obligation, 
and either parent may be required to maintain vision insurance. 

 
Other than updating the Basic Support Obligation chart and effective and revision dates, no 
other changes were made by the Conference of Chief District Court Judges. 
 
The Child Support Manual, Chapter J, Support Establishment will be revised to indicate the 
changes effective January 1, 2023. 
 
Copies of the Guidelines and accompanying worksheets are attached to this directive.  
 
If you have any questions, please contact the Policy & Training Team at 
csetraining@dhhs.nc.gov or your Regional Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) Specialist.  
 
Sincerely,  
 

 
Carla L. West  
Senior Director for Human Services 

 
cc: Regional CQI Specialist  
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