

ROY COOPER • Governor

KODY H. KINSLEY • Secretary

SUSAN G. OSBORNE • Deputy Secretary for Opportunity and Well-Being

November 30, 2023

DEAR COUNTY DIRECTORS OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Attention: DIRECTORS, CHILD WELFARE PROGRAM ADMINISTRATORS,

MANAGERS, SUPERVISORS, AND SOCIAL WORKERS

Subject: DECEMBER INTERACTIVE WEBINAR FOR CHILD WELFARE STAFF

Required Action: ___Information Only X Time Sensitive __ Immediate

Purpose: The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (NCDHHS), Division of Social Services (DSS), along with the Center for Child & Family Health (CCFH) is hosting an interactive webinar. The webinar will provide child welfare professionals with the opportunity to pause and reflect amidst the stress of a busy and potentially distressing period of the year.

What: Sustaining the Work: Addressing Secondary Traumatic Stress in Child Welfare

When: Wednesday December 13, 2023, from 10 a.m. to 11 a.m.

Where: Virtually, By Zoom.

To register, go to https://duke.zoom.us/j/91819524008

Note: This webinar has its own registration link through Zoom and registration for this webinar is necessary. Please feel free to share this announcement with your network and/or direct them to register. There is a maximum capacity of 300 participants.

Please join us for discussion about the risk of stress for child welfare and tools and strategies to address it. The National Child Traumatic Stress Network's (NCTSN) *Pause-Reset-Nourish to Promote Well-being* tool will be explored. A certificate will be given to those who attend.

For technical assistance, questions, and/or if you need additional information regarding this DCDL contact Amy Eaton, Children's Health and Development Coordinator at amy.eaton@dhhs.nc.gov.

Sincerely,

Adrian W. Daye

Deputy Director for Child Welfare Practice

Division of Social Services

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services

Cc: Lisa Tucker Cauley, Senior Director for Child, Family and Adult Services, NCDHHS Katie Swanson, Deputy Director for County Operations Carla McNeill, Section Chief for Permanency Kathy Stone, Section Chief for Safety and Prevention Kimaree Sanders, Section Chief for Licensing and Regulatory

Peter West, Section Chief for County Operations

CWS-84-2023