

## North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Social Services

Child Support Enforcement

Post Office Box 20800, Raleigh, NC 27619-0800 Courier # 55-41-12 Telephone (919) 255-3800

Beverly Eaves Perdue, Governor Lanier M. Cansler, Secretary Sherry S. Bradsher, Director

April 8, 2011

Dear County Director of Social Services Dear County Child Support Managers

We have published a query in CSDW titled "**NPA Open Cases - Tool to check application fees**". The report is located in the folder - DHHS Main Document/DSS/Child Support Enforcement/State Sanctioned-All CSE Staff/Managers Reports. This query allows the user to choose counties as well as date ranges for the report.

This query provides a listing of open NPA cases determined by event OP4D:

- County/fips total fees collected
- Case totals and application fees calculations and total which can be drilled by county/fips
- Detail which includes application fee amount, application date, case status, case status date and responsible worker. The report can be filtered/drilled by responsible worker and county fips code for the county(s) selected. Date ranges on report indicate the earliest and latest event effective dates in ACTS/CSDW for the date range selected.

Supervisors can use the report to validate the receipt of the \$25.00 or \$10.00 application fee in the office. It is important to remember that when collecting the \$25.00 or \$10.00 application fee, to enter that information in ACTS. The application fee date and amount is entered on screen C8C.

The Poverty Level Guidelines were updated in the Child Support Manual for 2011 in March. The standard \$25.00 application fee for Child Support services in Non-Public Assistance cases can be reduced to \$10.00 if the applicant is considered indigent.

To determine if the applicant is indigent, as defined in North Carolina General Statutes at North Carolina GS 110-130.1, that applicant's individual gross income must not exceed the federal poverty guidelines issued each year in the Federal Register by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

## **Mission Statement**

To consistently collect as much child support money as possible for the benefit of North Carolina's children.

When an NPA applicant applies for services and that applicant has no other open cases with Child Support, even if the client is indigent, that client is not exempt from paying an application fee. The appropriate standard \$25 application fee must be collected, or a reduced fee of \$10 may be collected if the applicant qualifies for a reduced fee.

Child Support Manual – Chapter B, Topic 4, Section C.

If you have questions regarding the query, please contact the System and User Support Team @ 919.255.3800.

Sincerely, Judy Mcarn

Judy McArn Assistant Chief of Program Operations

CSE-15-2011

**Mission Statement** 

To consistently collect as much child support money as possible for the benefit of North Carolina's children.

An Equal Opportunity / Affirmative Action Employer