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August 2, 2004 

 
Dear County Director of Social Services: 
 
Attention: Child Welfare Supervisors 
 
RE: Foster Care Standard Board Rate and Adoption Assistance Increase  
 
Effective: Immediately 
 
Urgent and Important 
 
North Carolina’s budget for State Fiscal Year 2004-05 includes a $25.00 increase to the 
standard board rate for foster care and adoption assistance payments.  This is the second year 
in a row where the General Assembly chose to recognize the important contributions that foster 
and adoptive parents provide to the children of North Carolina.  The new rates are effective July 
1, 2004.  In order to implement this law, counties must make an adjustment to each 
child’s DSS-5094 so that each substitute care provider will be paid based on the new 
standard board rates listed below.  Please note that G.S. 108A-49(a) states: “A county 
department of social services shall pay, at a minimum, the monthly graduated foster care 
assistance payments for eligible children as set by the General Assembly.”  Similarly, G.S. 
108A-49(b) states: “A county department of social services shall pay, at a minimum, the monthly 
graduated adoption assistance payments for eligible children as set by the General Assembly.” 
 
In so much as the payments for Adoption Assistance are sent directly from the state, the 
Division of Information Resource Management (DIRM) is able to make the necessary 
adjustments to the active DSS-5095 monthly cash assistance amounts.  As a reminder, DIRM 
has programmed the 5095 system to increase the monthly cash assistance amounts as children 
age into a higher category.  You do not need to make adjustments to the monthly cash 
assistance amounts within the DSS-5095 system as a result of the state budget increase or as 
minors age into higher categorical amounts for Adoption Assistance cases.  Adoption 
assistance increases for the month of July will be included in a supplemental check that will be 
distributed to adoptive parents at a later date. 
 
For foster care that were provided in June 2004 and reimbursed July 2004, your agency will 
continue to use last year’s standard board rate for living arrangements up to June 30, 2004.  
After this date, you must use the new board rate for services provided beginning July 1, 2004, 
which will be reimbursed at this higher board rate in August 2003.  You will need to make an 
adjustment to all applicable DSS-5094’s to reflect the new board rates and insure that these 
adjustments are entered into the Child Placement and Payment system before August 20, 2004.  



An Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer 

The permanent rate changes to the Child Placement and Payment System will become 
effective with July services reimbursed on August 20, 2004. 
 
No changes need to be made to the DSS-5094 for children/youth who are placed in facilities 
who are reimbursed for a rate greater than the new standard board rates, or for whom no 
reimbursement is sought.  If your county has established a standard board rate equal to or 
greater than the new state minimum rates, any change is at the discretion of the county.   
 
The increase does not apply to children/youth who are placed in a setting authorized by a 
mental health area program (AP), or private child-placing agency (CPA).   
 
If a minor parent (under 18 years of age) is in the same foster care placement with her child and 
has custody of the child, the board rate for the minor parent may be increased to cover the cost 
of care for the minor parent’s child.  This is only true if the minor parent is IV-E eligible.  If this is 
the case, the board rate adjustment should include the increase for both the minor mom and her 
child.   
 
The following section outlines the rate changes for both foster care and adoption assistance: 
 
FOSTER CARE AND ADOPTION ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS 
       SECTION 10.46. (a) The maximum rates for State 
participation in the foster care assistance program are 
established on a graduated scale as follows: 
       (1)  $390.00 per child per month for children aged birth through 5; 
       (2)  $440.00 per child per month for children aged 6 through 12; and 
       (3)  $490.00 per child per month for children aged 13 through 18. 

Of these amounts, fifteen dollars ($15.00) is a special needs 
allowance for the child. 

       SECTION 10.46. (b) The maximum rates for State participation in the 
adoption assistance program are established on a graduated scale as follows: 
       (1)  $390.00 per child per month for children aged birth through 5; 
       (2)  $440.00 per child per month for children aged 6 through 12; and 
       (3)  $490.00 per child per month for children aged 13 through 18. 
 
If you have any questions regarding the required changes outlined above, please call the Family 
Support and Child Welfare Services, Data Management and Review Team at (919) 733-3801 
and ask for assistance with the DSS-5094 system. 
 
Thank you for making the changes in the Child Placement and Payment System as outlined 
above prior to August 20, 2004. 

Sincerely, 
 

 
JoAnn Lamm, Program Administrator 
Family Support and Child Welfare Services Section 

Cc: Pheon Beal 
 Sherry Bradsher 
 Gary Fuquay 
 Debbie Hawkins 
 Mike James 
 Family Support and Child Welfare Team Leaders 
 Local Business Liaisons 
 Children’s Programs Representatives 
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