

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Social Services

Pat McCrory Governor Aldona Z. Wos, M.D. Ambassador (Ret.) Secretary DHHS

> Wayne E. Black Division Director

January 8, 2015

Dear County Director of Social Services:

Re: Social Services Commission Members

The Social Services Commission performs a very important role within our social services system in North Carolina. The Social Services Commission consists of thirteen members (one from each of the state's congressional districts) who are appointed by the governor for four-year terms. Staff support for the commission is provided by the DHHS Division of Social Services. The Commission appoints members (one or two for three or five member boards) to the County Boards of Social Services in those counties that have retained the DSS Board structure.

The Social Services Commission has the authority to adopt rules and regulations governing social services programs (other than the state Medicaid program) that are administered under Chapter 108A of the North Carolina General Statutes [hereinafter G.S.]. The commission's rules must be adopted in accordance with the state's Administrative Procedure Act (G.S. 150B, Article 2A) and may not be inconsistent with applicable federal or state law.

The Commission also has the power to

- adopt rules governing the payment of state funds to private child-placing agencies and residential child care facilities for care of children who are in the custody or placement responsibility of county departments of social services;
- adopt standards for the inspection and licensing of maternity homes and child-care institutions;
- adopt standards for the inspection and operation of jails and local confinement facilities;
- adopt standards for the regulation and licensing of charitable organizations, professional fundraising councils, and professional solicitors;
- investigate social problems in the state and conduct hearings and subpoena witnesses and documents in connection with such investigations; and
- adopt rules establishing rates and fees for the state's child support enforcement program.



County Directors January 8, 2015 Page 2 of 2

Social Services Commission members have expressed an interest in visiting with County Departments of Social Services and attending County Boards of Social Services meetings. This would be an excellent opportunity for you and your board members to share information about the important work that you perform and to share any recommendations or concerns. I encourage you to contact your commission representative and invite them to visit and talk with you and with your Board of Social Services. Attached is a current list of Social Services Commission members.

Thank you.

Sincerely, Wayne E. Black

WEB/arg

Attachment

DIR-01-2015

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION MEMBERSHIP As of September 22, 2014

Congressional District	Name & Address	Term Expires	Telephone Number Email Address
1	Sandra B. Partin 1808 Church Street Scotland Neck, NC 27874	March 31, 2017	(252) 826-5175 spartin@embarqmail.com
2	Lindy Brown 1904 Hattrick Lane Fuquay Varina, NC 27526	March 31, 2015	(C) (919)740-3195 <u>lindybz93@gmail.com</u>
3	Virginia R. Cooper 2617 Church Street Winterville, NC 28590	March 31, 2017	(252) 752-7611 <u>ginnyc2617@embarqmail.com</u>
4	John Sandrock 1189 Titan Roberts Road Lillington, NC 27546	March 31, 2017	jsandrock@leecountync.gov
5	Larry Potts 373 Waitman Road Lexington, NC 27295 (Chairman)	March 31, 2017	(336) 242-2200 larry.potts@davidsoncountync.gov
6	Carolyn T. Green 33 Land's End Drive Greensboro, NC 27408	March 31, 2015	(C) (336) 362-9538 (W) (336) 544-5400 (H) (336) 288-1144 <u>Carolyn.Green@conehealth.com</u>
7	Stephen M. Marson 5203 McLeod Road Lumberton, NC 28358	March 31, 2015	(C) (910) 618-2613 (H) (910) 738-9522 (W) (910) 521-6475 <u>smarson@nc.rr.com</u>
8	Anthony Q. Hall, Sr. 1466 Mitchell Glen Road Kannapolis, NC 28083	March 31, 2017	(704) 998-8096 <u>Bafdhall04@aol.com</u>

Congressional District	Name & Address	Term Expires	Telephone Number Email Addresses
9	Phillip Davis 1207 Waybridge Way Weddington, NC 28104	March 31, 2015	 (H) (704) 849-9589 (C) (704) 622-9232 (W) (704) 552-6480 Ext. 116 pmdavis@nationsford.org pmdavis265@msn.com
10	Bobby K. Boyd 304 7 th Street Place, NE Conover, NC 28613	March 31, 2015	(H) 828-464-6009 (C) 828-612-3446 <u>bobbykboyd@gmail.com</u>
11	Ronald Roukema 924 Plantation Drive Lenoir, NC 28645	March 31, 2017	(828) 850-0317 <u>krroukema@mindspring.com</u>
12	Olga Wright 2216 East Lee Street Greensboro, NC 27401	March 31, 2017	(336) 378-5200 olga.wright@smithmoorelaw.com
13	Tom Flores 121 Acreview Drive Goldsboro, NC 27530	March 31, 2018	 (H) (919) 736-9267 (C) (919) 222-7144 (W) (919) 731-1487 tom.flores@waynegov.com

Membership:	All 13 are Appointed By the Governor Representing Each Congressional District
Term:	4 Years
Chairman:	Appointed By Governor
Statutory Cite:	G.S. 143B-153 through 156