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WORK FIRST STATE PLAN 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 

INTRODUCTION 
The Work First Program in North Carolina promotes a strengths-based, family-centered practice 
approach.  The Work First Program shares in the mission of the Division of Social Services “to provide 
family-centered services to children and families to achieve well being through ensuring self-sufficiency, 
support, safety, and permanence.”  Through Work First, parents can get short-term training and 
other services to help them become employed and move toward self-sufficiency.  Other families 
where grandparents and other relatives are caring for their relative children are able to receive 
services and support that also prevents children from entering the foster care system 
unnecessarily. 

In accordance with federal law, TANF funds, as well as maintenance of efforts (MOE) funds 
must meet one of four purposes.  The four purposes under TANF are: 

1.  Assist needy families so that children may be cared for in their own homes or in the homes of 
relatives 

2.  End dependence of needy parents by promoting job preparation, work, and/or marriage 
3.  Prevent or reduce the incidence of out-of-wedlock pregnancies 
4.  Encourage the formation and maintenance of two-parent families 

In North Carolina Work First emphasizes three strategies: 

1. Diversion:  Keeping families off welfare by helping them cope with unexpected emergencies 
or setbacks.  

Under Work First, qualifying families can get a one-time payment equivalent to up to three 
months worth of Work First cash benefits and other supportive services.  In order to receive 
Benefit Diversion, the Work First worker must document a specific family crisis or episode 
of need.  Benefit Diversion is not appropriate for meeting recurrent or ongoing needs. 

2. Work:  Shortening the length of time that families are on Work First by making work 
mandatory and by limiting how long a family can receive cash assistance.  

To receive Work First Family Assistance or Work First Benefits, parents must register with 
the Employment Security Commission and sign a Mutual Responsibility Agreement (MRA.)  
Once the parents move into the work components of the program, they can continue to 
receive benefits for up to 24 months.  In most cases, families who have reached the 24-month 
limit cannot receive Work First Family Assistance or Work First Benefits for three years.  
Federal law sets a 60-month cumulative time limit for receiving these benefits. 

3. Retention:  Helping families to stay off Work First by encouraging them to save and by 
helping to make sure they really are better off working than on Work First.  

Work First increased limits from the old Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) 
on savings and vehicles, and the state legislature raised income eligibility limits for 
subsidized childcare to ease the burden on low-income, working families.  To help families 
stay employed, counties are also providing services, such as transportation, childcare, and 
other supportive services to families whose income is at or below 200 percent of poverty.  
Families leaving Work First Family Assistance or Work First Benefits for work are able to 
receive Job Bonus for up to six additional months. 
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Ultimately, North Carolina’s goal is to help all families move to self-sufficiency.  Most are able 
to successfully leave the Work First Program and never need to return.  Others, because of 
hardship or disability, will have a harder time becoming self-sufficient.  With those families, the 
role of the Work First Program is to ensure that they receive all of the services for which they are 
entitled, such as SSI, Social Security Disability Insurance, etc. 

North Carolina’s success thus far at helping families move from cash assistance to work has led 
to a broadened focus for the Work First Program.  No longer is the focus just on helping those 
families who receive cash assistance move off the rolls.  While North Carolina remains 
committed to continuing assistance to those families, the state has added the flexibility and 
program structure for counties to provide former Work First families with job retention and child 
and family enrichment services designed to help ensure families experience long-term success.  
Further, since child support is critical to ensuring families’ success, we have expanded the Work 
First Program to allow counties to provide work-related services to non-custodial parents of 
Work First children. 

Further, ensuring the safety and well-being of children is of utmost concern.  Toward that end, 
North Carolina has taken advantage of the opportunity offered by the TANF Block Grant to 
enhance our efforts in this area.  For example, Work First can provide cash assistance to support 
children who are being raised by their relatives or children whose parents are disabled. 

STATE WELFARE REFORM LEGISLATION 

One provision of North Carolina’s law provides for TANF program development by local county 
governments.  The law refers to counties as Standard or Electing.  Standard Counties operate the 
State’s Work First Program while Electing Counties have additional flexibility in program 
design.  See Appendix D for a summary of Electing Counties’ eligibility policies. 

All counties, Standard and Electing, have maximum flexibility in designing their employment 
programs to meet local needs.  However, State law provides that Electing Counties, when 
combined, can contain no more than 15.5% of the State’s Work First cases (at September 1 of 
each year).  The State’s and each Electing County’s eligibility criteria are described later in this 
document.  (Throughout this plan, all references to “Electing Counties” refer to those counties 
that have been approved as Electing, which allows them to design their county’s Work First 
Program including eligibility criteria and benefit levels.) 

The North Carolina law also requires partnerships between county departments of social services 
and local Employment Security Commission offices in providing services to assist Work First 
participants in searching for jobs. 

PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION 

The N. C. Department of Health and Human Services is responsible for establishing, supervising, 
and monitoring the Work First Program.  At present, all services and benefits are delivered 
locally by county departments of social services in each of North Carolina’s 100 counties, 
although Electing Counties may choose to designate an alternative service delivery agent. 

Each county developed a county Work First block grant plan, including descriptions of strategies 
to achieve the measurable statewide outcome goals and performance measures described in this 
plan.  Development of county plans must involve a broad range of public, private, and nonprofit 
groups.  See Appendix A for further discussion on county plan development. 

WORK FIRST ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA (STANDARD COUNTIES UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED) 
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Receipt of Work First is based on both non-financial and financial criteria, which are described 
in Appendix C.  Cabarrus County, which is a Standard County, operates a Work Over Welfare 
program under State law.  Their program criteria are described in Appendix E.  Electing 
Counties’ criteria are described in Appendix D.   

The responsibilities of the recipient and the county are spelled out in a Mutual Responsibility 
Agreement that describes steps the family will take to become self-sufficient and support 
services the county will provide.  (See Appendix B) 

EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE (ALL COUNTIES)  

Counties must use their Work First block grant funds to provide emergency assistance to 
families in accordance with their local plan.  Counties must define the eligibility criteria 
including who is eligible and the types of emergencies that will be covered.  This assistance is 
designed to assist with families’ sporadic emergency needs, such as a utility cut-off or an 
eviction notice.  Emergency assistance is not designed specifically to help families move to self-
sufficiency, although, use of this assistance could help a family’s progress.  

Counties will comply with federal requirements.  Emergency assistance does not trigger the 24 
or 60-month time limit, nor will families receiving emergency assistance be required to 
participate in the work program.  In addition, families who have exhausted their 24 or 60-month 
time limit are eligible for Emergency Assistance, provided all other eligibility criteria are met.  
These families are not included in calculating the State’s participation rates. 

Counties are allowed to define and describe in their plans local eligibility criteria that include, at 
a minimum, the following guidelines: 

 The family must have a child who lives with a parent or relative as defined in Work First 
policy and who meets the age limit for Work First. 

 Total income must be at or below 200% of poverty. 
 Family members must meet the same citizenship requirements as for Work First. 
 Countable income is the same as for Work First. 

APPEALS PROCESS  

For Standard Counties, the N. C. Department of Health and Human Services has set uniform 
standards for determining eligibility, providing benefits, and ensuring fair and equitable 
treatment.  Applicants or recipients who wish to contest a decision adversely affecting their 
receipt of Work First Family Assistance or Work First Benefits, or workers contending a breach 
of the non-displacement in work activity provision of federal law, may appeal in accordance with 
N.C.G.S. 108A-79.  Families are informed of their right to appeal and are provided with copies 
of Work First policy upon request.  Electing Counties, as required by State law, have established 
a local appeals process that substantially complies with the appeals process outlined in N.C.G.S. 
108A-79.  For Electing Counties, all appeals for Work First are heard locally, not by the State 
Division of Social Services. 

WORK FIRST SERVICES 

It is important that families receive the services needed to assist them in moving toward self-
sufficiency.  All counties have maximum flexibility in deciding how they utilize their block 
grants to provide services to enable families to become and remain self-sufficient.  The 
flexibility available to county departments of social services makes it impossible to outline all of 
the services that may be provided.  Services that are not specifically prohibited by federal law or 
regulation may be provided.  To the extent that Work First services are available, they may be 
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provided to recipients of Work First Family Assistance or of Work First Benefits at any time to 
support the activities in the Mutual Responsibility Agreement.  In addition, support and family 
enrichment services may be provided for families whose income does not exceed 200% of the 
federal poverty level, and work-related services may be provided to non-custodial parents of 
Work First recipient children.  Each county’s Work First Plan describes how services will be 
provided. 

Serving Non-Custodial Parents (Optional in All Counties) 

Child support should be a primary income source for most Work First families and a way for 
former Work First families to remain off Work First.  To enhance non-custodial parents’ ability 
to pay child support, North Carolina allows counties to provide work-related services for non-
custodial parents of a minor child who is a Work First recipient.  The non-custodial parent’s 
family income must be at or below 200% of the federal poverty guideline.  The non-custodial 
parent is not considered a member of the custodial parent or caretaker’s family.  In addition to 
the ability to provide work-related services, Work First staffs are encouraged to work with their 
local Child Support Enforcement Office and judicial system to have support orders modified to 
require the non-custodial parent’s participation in employment activities.  

Serving Low Income Families 

All counties are to provide in their county plan for provision of a variety of services for families 
with income at or below 200% of the poverty level that have a child who meets the same 
requirements as for Work First Family Assistance or Work First Benefits.  

Counties describe in their county plans how they will provide such services and what types of 
services they will provide.  Services may be varied, including but not limited to, transportation, 
childcare, job retention bonuses, case management, follow-up services, mentoring programs, 
after-school learning programs, parenting programs, literacy programs, and post-employment 
skills training.  Families who have exhausted their 24 or 60-month time limit are eligible for 
these services, provided all other eligibility criteria are met. 

Childcare Services 

Counties may provide childcare services subsidized by their Work First Block Grant funds.  To 
qualify, families must be eligible for Work First Family Assistance, for Work First Benefits, or 
for Work First Services as described in this plan.  The childcare services provided must comply 
with subsidized childcare policies administered by Division of Child Development (DCD).  All 
parents receiving childcare subsidies have a choice of using legally operating providers and 
information to help them evaluate their childcare arrangement.  

All parents who have countable income are required to help pay for the cost of childcare in 
accordance with the fee schedules administered by DCD.   

Transportation Services  

The North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) and the North Carolina Department 
of Health and Human Services (NCDHHS) share a mutual interest in exploring new and 
innovative resources for employment transportation.  The common goal is to move Work First 
recipients not only to work, but also to self-sufficiency.  Since April 1998, NCDOT has provided 
an annual allocation of $1 million across the state to support the employment transportation 
needs of former Work First recipients that are working and no longer eligible to receive cash 
assistance.  The formula-based allocation entitled “Work First Transitional/Employment 
Transportation Assistance” is made available to each county based on population and public 



 

 
North Carolina   5 

assistance caseload size.  Funds may be used for fuel, bus passes, vanpooling and carpooling 
efforts, volunteer reimbursement, driver wages/fringe benefits, taxi services, insurance, repairs, 
and maintenance.  Although these funds are targeted towards former Work First recipients, they 
may also be used for other low-income individuals in the community with employment-related 
transportation needs who are not affiliated with Work First or other human service programs.  

Counties are encouraged to develop local partnerships with other human services agencies, 
transit systems, businesses, workforce development agencies, faith community, civic 
organizations, etc., to develop and expand alternative transportation resources to meet the 
community’s transportation needs.  Issues such as communication, coordination, mutual trust 
and respect, policies, marketing, funding resources and cost sharing are all part of the discussion 
process.  

Many counties have developed car ownership programs through partnerships with other 
organizations.  Vehicles donated from private citizens, businesses, and/or local governments are 
given to select Work First families.  There are many different versions of car ownership 
programs in operation in North Carolina.  Most programs require that the Work First recipient 
pay at least a portion of the costs associated with liability insurance, repairs, taxes, and license 
and/or title fees.  Some counties use Work First Block Grant Funds to purchase vehicles, make 
down payments, and assist with regular car payments or repairs for Work First families.  

SUBSTANCE ABUSE AND MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES 

North Carolina law requires all adult applicants and recipients of Work First Family Assistance 
or Work First Benefits to be screened for substance abuse.  Further assessment is required if 
indicated by the screening process.  Qualified Professional in Substance Abuse (QPSA) or other 
qualified staff from the N. C. Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and 
Substance Abuse Services completes a thorough assessment of the individual's situation, 
including a voluntary mental health screening.  If appropriate, a substance abuse treatment plan 
is developed and a referral is made through the Local Management Entity to identify a provider 
for treatment.  The QPSA serves as the care coordinator to track the adult's progress through 
treatment.  The QPSA and the Work First caseworker jointly develop a plan for the family to 
ensure success.  If an adult refuses to be screened initially for substance abuse, the entire family 
is ineligible for Work First but is evaluated for Medicaid.   

If, after it is determined that substance abuse treatment is required, the adult fails to comply with 
the treatment plan the adult is ineligible for cash assistance.  The adult continues to be eligible 
for Medicaid, is included in the family, and continues to be considered a Work First recipient for 
purposes of the work requirement and time limits.  The family’s payment is recalculated with the 
adult excluded from the needs, and the payment is made to a protective payee.  The children in 
families where substance abuse has been identified are monitored for referral to substance abuse 
prevention and other behavioral health services.  Participants in treatment programs are expected 
to combine treatment with other appropriate work activities. 

FRAUD AND ABUSE  

The Department of Health and Human Services enforces standards and procedures to detect and 
prevent fraud and abuse by recipients and employees of the program.  An administrative hearing 
process enables county departments of social services to identify cases of intentional program 
violations.  Individuals found to have committed an intentional program violation are 
disqualified from Work First Family Assistance or Work First Benefits for 12 months for the 
first offense, 24 months for the second offense, and permanently for the third.  The cash benefit 



 

 
North Carolina   6 

is reduced by the needs of the offender but the offender continues to be subject to time limits and 
work requirements.  The overpayment is also recovered by repayment or payment reduction.  

OUT-OF-WEDLOCK BIRTHS 

Because out-of-wedlock births are so closely linked to poverty, reducing these births should 
improve the health of women and children and help reduce dependency on public assistance.  

Circumstances contributing to out-of-wedlock births are complex.  Strategies to reduce them 
must address a range of issues from access to family planning services to promoting abstinence 
and responsible behavior. 

County health and social services departments continue to work together to ensure that all 
recipients receive needed family planning services.  Each county health and social services 
department has formulated a plan to reduce barriers and promote family planning service 
utilization.  An indicator to determine the percent of out-of-wedlock births has been added to the 
Maternal and Child Health Accountability System to monitor health departments as they strive to 
meet this goal.  This indicator is tracked on a county-by-county basis and is used in the 
evaluation of each health department's effectiveness, resulting in health departments adopting 
strategies to improve their county performance measures. 

The Department gives high priority to its adolescent parenting and adolescent pregnancy 
prevention programs and continues to monitor prevention efforts, particularly those aimed at 
reducing teen pregnancy. 

Teen Pregnancy Prevention Initiatives (TPPI), housed in the Division of Public Health, provides 
funding for local health departments, social services departments, school systems, and other 
community-based agencies to work with adolescents to prevent pregnancy among target 
populations.  These agencies use “best practice models” in group settings.  Techniques may 
include abstinence and life-skills education, youth development, parent workshops, counseling 
and referral, community awareness efforts, and male involvement.  Topics include decision-
making, entrepreneurial leadership, information about specific areas of concern such as sexual 
coercion, statutory rape laws, and/or service learning.  

INDIAN TRIBES 
The Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians, the only Indian tribe in North Carolina recognized by the 
U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs, has elected to remain under the state Work First Program.  County 
departments of social services provide for the intake, eligibility determination, and Work First 
Family Assistance, Work First Benefits, and case management for tribal families.  However, the 
county departments of social services do not provide employment services to the tribal members.  
The Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians continues to operate a pre-existing Native Employment 
Worker (NEW) program.  Therefore, North Carolina does not include these individuals in the 
state’s federal work participation rate.  

INDIVIDUAL DEVELOPMENT ACCOUNTS (IDA) 

Counties may establish IDA projects locally as described in their block grant plan.  Counties’ 
IDA projects must comply with federal regulations and with Section 404 (h) of the Social 
Security Act. 
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CONFIDENTIALITY 

North Carolina, in accordance with G.S. 108A-80 and applicable federal law, restricts the use 
and disclosure of information about people receiving assistance under Work First to safeguard 
the confidentiality of all applicants and recipients.  

FAMILY VIOLENCE OPTION 

North Carolina has adopted the Family Violence Option.  The State has developed standards and 
procedures to notify all Work First applicants and recipients about domestic violence and the 
Option, and to identify applicants and recipients with a history of being a victim of domestic 
violence.  These individuals are referred to counseling and supportive services (while 
maintaining their confidentiality) and may receive a temporary waiver from one or more Work 
First requirements, if domestic violence is preventing them from meeting these requirements. 

The Department may waive Work First requirements such as time limits, participation in work 
activities, child support cooperation, and family cap provisions in cases where there is good 
cause that compliance would make it more difficult for the recipient to escape domestic violence.  
These waivers also apply to situations that would unfairly penalize someone who is, or has been, 
a victim of domestic violence.  The length of waivers is determined on a case-by-case basis but 
may not exceed six months at a time 

LOCAL DEMONSTRATIONS OR PILOT PROGRAMS 

Counties may apply to design and operate demonstrations or pilot programs to investigate 
various ways of meeting the Work First Program purposes and goals.  These demonstrations will 
likely be in areas in which the county lacks the authority to make specific program changes.  
Funding, in addition to the county’s local block grant, may or may not be provided.  There may 
be instances in which the State asks for proposals to address a specific topic.  In other situations, 
counties may apply to the State to operate a pilot without an official request from the State. 

TANF ELIGIBLE FAMILIES 

In order to achieve the goals of Work First, North Carolina opts to take advantage of the 
flexibility allowed in the federal law and regulations.  Toward that end, the Department defines 
several categories of eligible families.  Eligible families include the following: 

• Work First Family Assistance, Work First Benefits, and Benefit Diversion will be provided 
as follows: 

Standard Counties - families that meet the income and resource requirements outlined in 
Appendix C.   

Electing Counties - families who meet the income and resource requirements outlined in each 
county's local plan.  See Appendix D for summaries. 

• Services to prevent or delay pregnancies to unwed parents, teenage parents or other high-risk 
populations are provided without regard to family income. 

• Pregnant women whose income is at or below 200% of poverty may receive support services. 

• Non-custodial parents of Work First children where the non-custodial parent’s family income 
does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty guideline may receive work-related services. 

• All other services, including, but not limited to:  Job retention and advancement services, 
employment services, support services, and preventive family services (including child 
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protective services and related child welfare activities), but not assistance, may be provided 
to families with incomes that do not exceed 200% of the federal poverty guideline. 

• Limited follow-up and referral services can be provided to any former Work First recipient 
without regard to family income.   

• In addition to serving the families described above, North Carolina provides services covered 
in North Carolina’s approved State Plan as authorized by Parts A and F of Title IV of the 
Social Security Act in September 1995.  For a description of these services, see Appendix F. 

• Child Protective Services and related Child Welfare Services may be provided without 
regard to family income. 

 

USE OF FUNDS 

Federal funds will be used in accordance with federal law and regulations. 

These TANF funds will be used to meet the four purposes specified in the P.L. 104-193.  
Federal, State, and county TANF funds will be invested in activities to support achievement of 
specified outcome measures.  These activities include, but are not limited to enhanced training 
for State and local staff, automation, employer incentives, family planning services, substance 
abuse treatment, childcare, transportation, and other activities promoting self-sufficiency for 
families.  In addition, federal TANF funds will be used for the services previously included in 
the AFDC-EA plan as specified in Appendix F. 

Federal TANF funds may be spent as follows and in accordance with federal law and 
regulations: 

• Work First Family Assistance and Work First Benefits (cash assistance.) 

• Childcare. 

• Supportive services, including, but not limited to work-related expenses and transportation. 

• Educational activities intended to increase self-sufficiency, job training, and work, excluding 
any expenditure for public education in the State except expenditures that involve the 
provision of services or assistance to a member of an eligible family that is not generally 
available to other people. 

• Administrative costs (which may not exceed 15% of the total funds spent for purposes under 
Title I of the federal block grant).  

[Administration is defined as costs associated with office directors, policy, fiscal, budget, 
personnel, purchasing, legal, clerical support, and direct, indirect, and allocated costs in 
support of these positions.  The costs of staff that provide case management, program 
supervisors, program clerical staff, and support costs of program staff are services costs 
rather than administrative costs.  The staff time spent solely on determining financial 
eligibility, including evaluating assets, is counted as administration.]  

• Case management services, including outreach and follow-up activities.  

• Expansion of child support efforts, including fatherhood initiatives, training for eligible non-
custodial parents.  TANF funds or MOE will be used to fund a concentrated plan to increase 
the level of collections for eligible families.  
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• Federal funds may also be used to help meet cost-sharing requirements under the Job Access 
program under Section 3037 of the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (P.L. 105-
178). 

• Automating the provisions of the law. 

• Other uses that reasonably can be expected to enable families to care for children in their 
homes; that promote job preparation, work, and marriage; that prevent or reduce the 
incidence of out of wedlock pregnancies; and that encourage parents to marry and remain 
married.  

• Any purpose for which the State was authorized to use funds received under Parts A and F of 
Title IV of the Social Security Act as they were in effect on September 30, 1995.  This means 
that North Carolina will continue, as it has since 1995, to provide services (including child 
welfare services) to at-risk children as was approved in the Title IV-A State Plan as of 
September 30, 1995.  A description of these services is located in Appendix F. 

If federal TANF funds are insufficient to cover cash assistance costs in the event of economic 
downturns, other Federal, State, and county funds may be used to meet the costs of assisting 
needy families. 

Counties are able to retain partially collections made on overpayments to recipients not due to 
agency error, including childcare overpayments. 

MAINTENANCE OF EFFORT 

Under State law, both the counties and the State provide Maintenance of Effort funds.  County 
spending is generally through the County Work First Block Grant.  This Block Grant contains an 
allocation of Federal funds to be used for those services that meet the requirements for TANF 
funds.  It also contains state and county funds that are used to meet the Maintenance of Effort 
requirements.  Additional State funds for Maintenance of Effort are spent on such items as 
childcare, State administrative costs and automation. 

Maintenance of Effort funds may be used for the activities listed below. 

• Work First Family Assistance and Work First Benefits. 

• Childcare. 

• Supportive and preventive services, including, but not limited to child and family enrichment 
services, work-related expenses, and transportation. 

• Educational activities intended to increase self-sufficiency, job training, and work, excluding 
any expenditure for public education in the State except expenditures that involve the 
provision of services or assistance to a member of an eligible family that is not generally 
available to other people. 

• Administrative costs (which may not exceed 15% of the total funds spent for purposes under 
Title I of the federal block grant).  

[Administration is defined as costs associated with office directors, policy, fiscal, budget, 
personnel, purchasing, legal, clerical support, and direct, indirect, and allocated costs in 
support of these positions.  The costs of staff that provide case management, program 
supervisors, program clerical staff, and support costs of program staff are services costs 
rather than administrative costs.  The staff time spent solely on determining financial 
eligibility, including evaluating assets, is counted as administration.] 
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• Case management services, including outreach and follow-up activities. 

• Services such as housing assistance or health care assistance that can help families meet their 
goals for self-sufficiency. 

• Automating the provisions of the law. 

• Other uses that reasonably can be expected to enable families to care for children in their 
homes; that promote job preparation, work, and marriage; that prevent or reduce the 
incidence of out of wedlock pregnancies; and that encourage parents to marry and remain 
married.  

• Refundable State Earned Income Tax Credits for families with minor children who qualify 
for the Federal EITC. 

• Programs for at-risk youth that provide after school programming, mentorship, remediation, 
alternative education, dropout prevention, and other supportive services. 

• Early Education and other school readiness programs intended to ensure youth are prepared 
to enter school.  

IMPLEMENTATION 

North Carolina will phase in implementation of this State Plan, based on resources, training 
needed, and automation necessary.  A number of provisions will be implemented as soon as 
policy can be issued since these changes do not require automation or require only minimal 
training.  Any changes requiring modifications to the existing Eligibility Information System 
(EIS), Food Stamp Information System (FSIS) Employment Programs Information System 
(EPIS), or Client Services Data Warehouse (CSDW) that support the Work First and Medicaid 
Programs will be delayed until the modifications can be implemented in the systems.  Existing 
policies remain in effect until the required automation changes can be made effective or changes 
not requiring automation can be put into place. 

AMERICANS FOR DISABILITIES ACT REQUIREMENTS (ALL COUNTIES) 

In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) 
policy, county departments of social services are prohibited from discriminating on the basis of 
race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability.  Each county, whether Standard or Electing 
are required to describe in their Work First County Plans its policies and practices on compliance 
with American with Disabilities Act (ADA), as well as the provision of interpreter services for 
its citizens that require such accommodations.  Counties are asked to provide a detailed 
discussion on how the county complies with ADA, as well as requests for interpreter services.   
The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act requires that Title II of 
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 
(Section 504) apply to TANF programs.  The ADA (42 USC Section 12101 et seq.; 28 CFR Part 
35) applies to counties and other local governments administering all or part of the TANF 
program, and Section 504 (29 USC Section 794; 45 CFR Part 84) applies to entities which 
receive federal funding, either directly or indirectly, through a grant, contract, or subcontract.  
The two significant elements of Section 504 and Title II of the ADA are: 

• Individualized treatment and; 

• Effective and meaningful opportunity. 
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Individualized treatment means that individuals with disabilities should be treated on a case-by-
case basis and not on stereotypes and generalizations.  Further, individuals with disabilities must 
be afforded the opportunity to benefit from Work First in the same manner as those individuals 
who do not have disabilities.  Exempting individuals with disabilities from work requirements 
denies these individuals access to services and may result in discrimination.  

Section 504 and ADA requires that agencies: 

• ensure equal access to employment programs for qualified individuals with disabilities through 
the provision of appropriate services; 

• adopt methods of administration which do not discriminate against and ensures equal access 
and opportunity to qualified individuals with disabilities; and 

• modify policies, practices, and procedures to provide equal access that allows qualified 
individuals with disabilities to participate in and benefit from employment programs unless 
doing so would fundamentally change the program or cause an undue hardship.  

A disability is defined as a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits major life 
activities.  Major physical or mental impairments include but are not limited to: visual, speech, 
and hearing impairments, mental retardation, emotional illness, specific learning disabilities, 
cerebral palsy, epilepsy, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, orthopedic conditions, cancer, 
heart disease, diabetes, tuberculosis, and HIV.  

Qualified individuals with disabilities must be provided reasonable accommodations so they 
have an opportunity to participate in and benefit from services and programs that are as effective 
and meaningful as those available to individuals without disabilities are.  A reasonable 
accommodation is any reasonable change in the way the Work First program administers the 
program or the way it requires the participant to do something.  Exempting the Work First 
participant for “good cause” when they are unable to meet work requirements because they have 
a disability or are caring for a family member with a disability is not an alternative to evaluating 
the need for accommodations.  

Any applicant or recipient that meets the ADA definition of disabled and those individuals 
caring for family members who are disabled should be provided reasonable accommodations, if 
needed.  Reasonable accommodations may include but are not limited to: 

1.  Part-time work activities 

2.  Exemption from work activities  

The MRA may reflect medical appointments, vocational evaluations, etc. these appointments 
are necessary to establish evidentiary support for limited or no work activities; this should be 
carefully monitored to ensure the participant is fully benefiting from the Work First program. 

3.  Job restructuring, which includes part-time or modified work schedules, modification of 
equipment and examinations, provision of qualified readers, interpreters, or job coaches.  

4.  Additional supervision in work activities 

5.  Assistance with application for benefits, notification process for those with learning 
disabilities 



 

 
North Carolina   12 

6.  Specialized childcare for a child with a disability 

Accommodations must be considered even when scheduling appointments and requesting that 
the individual obtain and provide documents for verification purposes. 

An individual, who has requested an accommodation and believes that he/she has not been 
adequately accommodated, is informed to notify the Work First case manager verbally or in 
writing.  Within 7 workdays of the receipt of notification, the county should have a meeting to 
include the individual and/or his/her representative and appropriate staff.  The county has 14 
workdays from the date of the meeting to respond to the request.  The county must notify the 
individual of the decision in writing within the 14 workdays from date of the meeting. 

The county department of social services is required to inform the applicant or recipient that 
disclosure of a disability is voluntary.  This includes screening for a disability, including learning 
disabilities and mental health disorders.  Nonetheless, counties must inquire about an 
individual’s health related limitations to determine the appropriate work assignments.  The 
participant does not have to provide the information. 
There are times when identification and treatment of a disability are necessary for program 
administration.  Under these circumstances, a participant may be required to participate in efforts 
to evaluate a suspected disability and participate in necessary treatment.  Those circumstances 
may include: 

1.  If a participant claims to be unable to work or to have limited work capacity, the individual 
may be required to substantiate his/her claim by participating in screening and evaluations as 
agreed on the MRA.  Failure to comply may result in a sanction of benefits.  

2.  If a participant has demonstrated an inability to successfully participate in work activities or 
employment and the worker has reason to believe this is due to a disability or work limitation, 
the county may require the participant to be screened or evaluated to establish the necessary 
services to support the participant in achieving success in the Work First program.  If the 
screening or evaluation determines that the participant requires treatment, the participant may be 
required to participate in the necessary treatment as a condition of the MRA.  

Individuals with confirmed disabilities must be provided with reasonable accommodations and 
services to support their participation in employment and work related activities.  

TITLE VI REQUIREMENTS (ALL COUNTIES) 

In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) 
policy, county departments of social services are prohibited from discriminating on the basis of 
race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability.  Each county, whether Standard or Electing 
are required to describe in their Work First County Plans its policies and practices on compliance 
with Title VI of the Social Security Act, as well as the provision of interpreter services for its 
citizens that require such accommodations.  Counties are asked to provide a detailed discussion 
on how the county complies with Title VI, as well as requests for interpreter services. 

All members included in the Work First application must be US citizens or qualified or 
otherwise eligible immigrants. 
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If an applicant or recipient requires an interpreter, the local department of social services must 
provide such services for the applicant or recipient.  Generally, this service is provided during 
the initial contact with the applicant as well as during ongoing contacts.  

All rules of confidentiality must be applied in regard citizenship/immigrant status.  It is a breach 
of confidentiality to discuss an individual’s citizenship/immigrant status with employers, 
landlords, etc. 
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CERTIFICATIONS REQUIRED OF THE GOVERNOR 
 

As Governor of the State of North Carolina, I hereby certify that during each fiscal year to which 
this state plan is applicable: 

This program will be known as the Work First Program. 

The provisions described in this State plan will be carried out in accordance with federal 
and State law. 

The State will operate a Child Support Program in accordance with the State plan 
approved under Title IV-D of the Social Security Act. 

The State will operate a foster care and adoption assistance program in accordance with 
the State plan approved under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act. 

The state will take any actions that are necessary to ensure that children receiving 
assistance under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act are eligible for medical assistance 
under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services is the agency responsible 
for supervising the program and administering program funds. 

Local governments and private organizations have been consulted regarding the plan and 
design of welfare services in the state, and they have been given 45 days to submit 
comments on the plan and design of those services. 

The State will provide each member of an Indian tribe, who is domiciled in the State and 
is not eligible for assistance under a tribal family assistance plan, with equitable access to 
assistance under the State program funded under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act. 

The State has established and is enforcing standards and procedures to ensure against 
program fraud and abuse, including standards and procedures concerning nepotism, 
conflicts of interest among individuals responsible for the administration and supervision 
of the State program, kickbacks, and the use of political patronage.  

The State has established, and is enforcing, standards and procedures to screen and 
identify individuals receiving assistance who have a history of domestic violence.  While 
maintaining the confidentiality, such individuals are referred to counseling and 
supportive services, and, pursuant to a determination of good cause, program 
requirements (such as time limits for individuals receiving assistance, residency 
requirements, child support cooperation requirements, and family cap provisions), are 
waived in cases where compliance with such requirements would make it more difficult 
for them to escape domestic violence or would unfairly penalize them.  

 

 

_____________________________ 
Beverly Eaves Purdue, Governor 
State of North Carolina 
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APPENDIX A 
ELECTING COUNTY BLOCK GRANT PLANS 

Biennially, each Electing County must submit to the Department of Health and Human Services 
a local block grant plan that describes its proposal for the following: 

• Work First Employment Services Program,  

• Eligibility Criteria for Work First Family Assistance, Work First Benefits, and other Work 
First Services, 

• Emergency Assistance Program, 

• Benefit Diversion Program,  

• Provision of Work First Services to low-income families,  

• Provision of Work First Services to former Work First recipients (Optional), and  

• Provision of Work First Services to non-custodial parents of Work First children (Optional).   

 

For Electing Counties, the public must have an opportunity to review and comment on local 
block grant plans before they are submitted to the Department.  The county board of 
commissioners must appoint a committee of individuals to identify the needs of the population to 
be served and to review and assist in developing the county block grant plan in response to the 
needs.  Membership of the committee must include, but is not limited to, representatives of the 
county board of social services, the board of the Local Management Entity for Mental Health, 
Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, the local public health board, the 
local school systems, the business community, the board of county commissioners and 
community-based organizations that are representative of the population to be served.  In 
addition, religious organizations, service recipients, and other non-profits with experience in 
serving the population should be included.  The Department provides to all counties a model for 
use in developing an electing county plan. 

The electing county block grant plan should include public and private resources that will help 
families move to self-sufficiency and should describe how services, such as childcare, 
transportation, housing, and skills training will be used.  The plan must include the county’s 
priorities for serving families who need childcare, based on the needs of the community and the 
availability of services and funding. 

Following review by the county social services board and other parties, the county 
commissioners must approve the county block grant plan before it is submitted to the 
Department. 

The Department has the responsibility to ensure that counties’ programs comply with Federal 
and State requirements and are consistent with the goals of the Work First Program. 

County plans for FFY’s 2010 and 2011 have been submitted and reviewed by a team 
representing of a wide variety of agencies and organizations.   

All plans were reviewed for compliance with State and Federal law and the goals of the Work 
First Program.  Counties received comments and/or feedback on innovative strategies, problem 
areas, and requests for additional information or clarifications.  

See Appendix D for additional information on the Electing County planning process. 
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Statewide Work First Goals 
The Department, in consultation with the county departments of social services and county 
boards of commissioners, has established acceptable levels of county performance in meeting 
Work First expectations.  The county block grant plans will describe the goals and performance 
measures and outline the county’s plan for meeting the goals and monitoring the identified 
measures. 

The goals and performance measures established below will reinforce North Carolina’s 
successful caseload reduction efforts.  With the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 and the 
subsequent Federal Final Rule, there is an increased emphasis on meeting the federal 
requirements for Work Participation Rates.  One factor that has helped North Carolina meet the 
Work Participation Rates in the past has been the Caseload Reduction Credit.  By comparing the 
current caseload to the caseload in 1995, North Carolina could show a significant reduction in 
the caseload.  With that reduction applied by the federal government to the actual participation 
rates, North Carolina has met its Work Participation Rates each year since the beginning of 
TANF and Work First.  However, with the new law and rule, the base year for the Caseload 
Reduction Credit changed from 1995 to 2005.  The change in the base year makes the Caseload 
Reduction Credit significantly smaller than in previous years and thus, makes meeting the Work 
Participation Rates harder to accomplish.  Failure to meet the Work Participation Rates can lead 
to financial penalties. 

Therefore, there are two goals for North Carolina’s Work First Program, and two goals by which 
county departments of social services will be measured. 

 

1. Meeting Federal Work Participation Rates for All Families.  Active participation in 
employment services and activities will lead to full time employment.  Counties must ensure 
that at least 50% of all Work Eligible Individuals, as defined by Federal Rule, complete the 
required number of hours of federally countable work activities.  

2. Meeting Federal Work Participation Rates for Two-Parent Families.  Active 
participation in employment services and activities will lead to full time employment.  
Counties must ensure that at least 90% of all two-parent families with Work Eligible 
Individuals, as defined by Federal Rule, complete the required number of hours of federally 
countable work activities.  

By promoting employment, job retention, diversion, and intensive work activities, these 
outcomes not only assure a continuing downward trend in the caseload, they also will contribute 
to the state’s ability to meet the federal Work Participation Rates.   

Tracking county performance measures will assist the Department and counties in focusing on 
the factors that contribute to caseload reduction, meeting Work Participation Rates, and moving 
families toward employment and self-sufficiency.   

The following have been identified as the Work First Performance Measures: 
 
1. Benefit Diversion Approvals 

This measure represents the number of Benefit Diversion approvals for the county during the 
report month.  Clients who receive Benefit Diversion are not included in the calculations for 
any of the other measures.  They also do not count in the Work Participation Rate. 
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2. Clients with Hours Scheduled in EPIS 
This measure represents the number of adults in the Work First caseload who are actively 
receiving employment services as indicated by having hours scheduled for them in the report 
month.   

3. Clients Who Completed 75% of Scheduled Hours 
This measure indicates whether clients are completing the hours that are scheduled for them 
(calculated in the prior measure).  Specifically it measures the number of clients who 
completed at least 75% of the hours that were scheduled.  Significant differences between the 
number of clients with scheduled hours and those with completed hours may help counties 
identify when more research is needed to determine why clients are not completing hours and 
what can be done to help them do so. 

4. Adults Entering Employment  
This measure calculates the number of adults who entered employment during the report 
month using the Employment and Training code in the EIS system.  Individuals are only 
counted once in the year-to-date total.   

5. Remaining off Work First for Employment for 12 Months 
The methodology for this measure has been updated from previous years to reflect more 
accurately whether clients return to Work First within a year of leaving the program for 
employment.  In previous years, this measure used a point in time that only checked whether 
the person was back on Work First in the 12th month after they had left for employment.  The 
calculation for this measure is now checking each month to see if the person returned to 
Work First in any of the 12 subsequent months.  If the individual has not returned to Work 
First in any of the 12 subsequent months (after leaving Work First for employment), the 
individual will be counted in this total. 
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APPENDIX B 

PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITIES AND WORK REQUIREMENTS 
Work First is based on the premise that all parents have a responsibility to support themselves 
and their children.  Under Work First, the Mutual Responsibility Agreement spells out in detail 
the obligations of parents, relative caretakers, or legal guardians in return for family assistance.  
All counties require families to enter into Agreements.  Electing Counties may develop their own 
agreements to meet local needs (See Appendix D).  All Standard Counties use the same Mutual 
Responsibility Agreement.  However, counties may tailor the agreement to meet local- and 
family-specific needs. 
 
For the purpose of this section, there is a distinction between the requirements for families that 
include a “Work Eligible Individual” and those families that do not.  Adults receiving Work First 
Family Assistance or Work First Benefits (TANF) are subject to the federal work requirements.  
These individuals are considered “Work Eligible Individuals.”  Drug felons, fleeing felons, and 
applicants for SSI or SSDI are not excluded from the definition of work eligible individuals.  The 
following individuals are exempt from the work requirement: 

1. Adults receiving cash assistance for a child only.  (The adult is not included in the case.) 

a. A non-recipient relative, other than a parent, living with a child receiving assistance. 

b. An alien who is ineligible for Work First Family Assistance or Work First Benefits due to 
immigration status.  (Immigration status requires third party verification.) 

c. A recipient of Social Security Income (SSI.) 

d. A recipient of Social Security Disability Income (SSDI.) 

2. Single custodial parents with a child under 12 months of age.  (This exemption is limited to 
12 months lifetime and may be limited further by a county’s Work First Plan.) 

3. Individuals with “child” family status (youth up to age 18 and not an emancipated minor 
payee).  Emancipation occurs when a dependent child marries, becomes a member of the U. S. 
Armed Forces, or is declared emancipated by a court.  An emancipated minor parent is treated as 
an adult applicant to qualify for and receive Work First cash assistance for themselves and their 
child,  

4. A parent providing care for a disabled family member living in the home.  Medical 
documentation to support the need for the parent to remain in the home is required from the 
Health Care Professional responsible for the medical care of the disabled family member. 

 

Mutual Responsibility Agreements (Standard Counties) 
The first part of the Mutual Responsibility Agreement, the Core Requirements, applies to all 
families and describes the parent’s or caretaker’s responsibilities.  All Agreements must include 
the first four items and other items, as appropriate, to ensure that parents or caretakers: 

• Look for work/register with the local Employment Security Commission, unless exempt.  
(See above definition of Work Eligible Individuals.) 

• Accept and keep any suitable job offered to them, unless good cause exists.  (Applies to 
Work Eligible Individuals.) 

• Conduct themselves appropriately on the job in order not to be fired from a job for 
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misconduct.  (Applies to Work Eligible Individuals.)  
• Make sure that children in their care attend school regularly.  (All applies to all families.) 
• Get the children in their care immunized appropriately and attend regular medical check-

ups, (Applies to all families.) 
• Cooperate with child support enforcement.  (Applies to all families with one or more 

absent parents.) 
• Participate in financial management and life skills classes as needed. 
• Participate in substance abuse screening.  If the screening indicates, participate in a 

substance abuse assessment and participate in treatment, if recommended, from the 
assessment. 

• Participate in mental health treatment if mental health issues are identified. 
• Attend family planning counseling if needs are identified 
• Attend family violence counseling if family violence issues are identified 
• Participate in work activities and provide verification of hours in work activities as 

requested.  (Applies to Work Eligible Individuals.) 
• Participate in rehabilitation services if needs are identified. 
• Live with a parent or other approved adult (required for parents under age 18). 

A family is not eligible for Work First Family Assistance or Work First Benefits unless the 
parent(s) or caretaker(s) signs the Mutual Responsibility Agreement. 

The second part of the Mutual Responsibility Agreement, The Plan of Action, is the Work 
Eligible parent’s plan to meet the work requirements.  This part: 

1. Establishes employment goals for the parent(s);  

2. Describes a plan for participating in work or work-related activities and the hours required in 
each activity; and 

3. Describes the case management and supportive services that will be provided to help the 
family successfully meet the requirements of the MRA and move towards self-sufficiency. 

A family whose parent refuses to sign this second part of the Agreement (if required) loses its 
benefits for at least one month.  Benefits will not be restored until the parent signs this part. 

Employment Assistance for Work Eligible Individuals 
The Employment Security Commission is the presumptive primary deliverer of job placement 
services for the Work First Program and a critical partner with the Department of Health and 
Human Services.   

Registration for work with ESC is a prerequisite to participation in the Job Search component of 
Work First.  All work eligible participants who are assessed as ready to engage in job search will 
be required to register for work with ESC.  This requirement will be included on their MRA Plan 
of Action.  Failure to register for work with ESC and to provide the necessary verification as part 
of the Job Search component without good cause will result in the loss of benefits.  If the parent 
is in an ongoing Work First Family Assistance case, the family will be sanctioned for at least one 
month or until compliance, whichever is later, following a timely notice.  For families receiving 
“Work First Benefits,” the family will not receive their Work First Benefits for the month that 
they failed to comply.  In either case, the county will reevaluate the family for Medicaid. 

Counties also may contract with the Employment Security Commission for additional services 
such as job search, job placement, and referrals to community service. 
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Work Responsibilities 
Work Eligible individuals are assessed for employability at application for Work First and 
always within three months of receiving assistance.  Single parents of children less than 12 
months of age are excluded from the participation rate calculation, if they do not complete 
enough countable hours to be deemed engaged in work.  This exclusion is for a cumulative total 
period of 12 months. 

In all counties, single parents with children under age six who demonstrate that necessary 
childcare is not available are not sanctioned.  (See Child Care Section for required definitions.) 

In order to meet the federal Work Participation Rate, Work Eligible Individuals who are single 
parents with a child under age six must complete an average of 20 hours per week of federally 
countable work activities.  All other Work Eligible Individuals, whose youngest child is age six 
or older, must complete an average of 30 hours per week of federally countable work activities in 
order to count toward the all-family participation rate.  Two-parent families must complete an 
average of 35 hours per week of federally countable work activities (55 hours if receiving 
federally funded childcare) in order to count toward the federal participation rate. 

MRA Plans of Action are individualized based on an employability assessment.  Often, a Plan of 
Action will reflect fewer hours per week of activities that those required to meet the Work 
Participation Rate.  This may be due to a shortage of appropriate activities, a shortage of 
necessary support services, or other personal limitations of the participant.  County Work First 
staff are responsible for balancing these limitations against the expectation of full time 
participation and the requirement to meet the participation rates.  All work eligible individuals 
are expected to strive and make progress toward full time participation. 

The Administration for Families and Children was instructed by the Deficit Reduction Act of 
2005 to provide states with specific definitions of federally countable work activities.  In 
February 2008, the Final Rules were issued with the following definitions: 

1. Unsubsidized employment means full- or part-time employment in the public or private 
sector that is not subsidized by TANF or any other public program.  This includes self-
employment. 

2. Subsidized employment means employment for which the employer receives a subsidy 
from TANF, MOE, or other public funds to offset some or all of the wages and costs of 
employing a recipient.  If the county department of social services pays the subsidy, it is 
considered wage supplementation.  Employers eligible for this subsidy include those in 
the public, private, and non-profit sectors. 

Wage Supplementation - North Carolina counties may include wage supplementation as a 
work component in their local plan.  This may include cashing-out food stamp benefits 
and the Work First payment.  It should be used primarily for families in which the adult 
may be less job-ready and difficult to place without the subsidy.  

For Standard Counties that choose to include wage supplementation as an option in their 
plan: 

a) A wage supplementation program will consist of a contract between county 
departments of social services (DSS) and employers.  The contract will provide for 
DSS to make payments to employers using public assistance funds in order to 
subsidize wages the employer pays to employees who are eligible for public 
assistance.  Contracts may not exceed 12 months. 
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b) The amount paid to the employer will be based on the amount of benefits for which 
the employee’s household would be eligible in the absence of the employment.  The 
county DSS may or may not include the dollar amount of the food stamp allotment. 

c) The amount of the supplement will be frozen for the length of the contract.  

d) These job positions must comply with the Fair Labor Standards Act.  Additionally, 
recipients must receive the same benefits (sick and personal leave, health coverage, 
workmen’s compensation, etc.) as similarly situated co-workers who are not 
participating in wage supplementation. 

e) The DSS expects that the employer will agree to offer the participant a regular 
unsubsidized position at the end of the subsidy program, if the participant meets all 
expectations and presents no reason for dismissal.  

f) The employer must maintain records to account for wage supplementation funds that 
are received and disbursed. 

g) Wage supplementation positions are limited to unfilled positions and cannot displace 
current employees from jobs.  

h) The WORK FIRST supplementation amount will be the payment amount for which 
the family would have been eligible in the first month of the subsidized employment 
(disregarding the income from the subsidized employment).  This amount will be the 
same for the duration of the contract. 

i) If food stamp benefits are included in the subsidy amount, the amount will be frozen 
for the duration of the contract.  The food stamp benefit amount will be increased to 
compensate for state and/or local food taxes.  This cost will be borne by the county. 

j) The portion of wages received by the participant that was subsidized by the county 
will not be counted as income for determining eligibility for any public assistance. 

Another option for subsidized employment is the use of a third-party vendor, like a 
temporary staffing agency.  The third party contractor serves as the employer of record 
and is paid a fee by the County DSS with TANF or MOE funds, to cover salary, 
expenses, and success in placing employees. 

Funds may be used to contract with, or provide job placement vouchers to, public and 
private employment agencies.  Funds may not be used to subsidize a job when a person 
has been laid off from the same (or substantially equivalent) job, or if an employer fired 
or laid-off a regular employee to fill the job with a subsidized Work First participant. 

Individuals are not referred for, or placed on, a job where any regular employee has been 
laid off from the same job or an equivalent job; or an employer has terminated or 
otherwise displaced and employee or employees in order to hire a Work First participant.  
Employees who believe that they have been displaced solely so the employer may hire a 
Work First participant may file a grievance as described in the Work First Manual. 

Work First participants have the same rights under federal, State, or local laws that are 
applicable to non-Work First employees in the same or similar situations. 

3. Job Search and Job Readiness means the act of seeking or obtaining employment, 
preparation to seek or obtain employment, including life skills training, and substance 
abuse treatment, mental health treatment, or rehabilitation activities.  The Job Search/Job 
Readiness activity is limited as a federally countable activity to no more than four 
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consecutive weeks and no more than 12 weeks in a year.  However, Job Search and Job 
Readiness activities may be a state countable activity when the federal limits are 
exceeded. 

4. On-the-Job Training means training in the public or private sector that is given to a paid 
employee while he or she is engaged in productive work and that provides knowledge 
and skills essential to the full and adequate performance of the job.  While it is possible 
for a county department of social services to pay the wage subsidy (and engage in all 
aspects of OJT delivery), counties are encouraged to first explore the availability of 
existing resources.  Often, local community agencies (Department of Labor, Workforce 
Investment Act offices, some local Employment Security Commission offices, etc.) 
receive funds to support OJT activities.  The funds they receive are intended to cover the 
subsidies paid to employers and staff time to develop, monitor, and evaluate OJT 
contracts.   

5. Work Experience, if sufficient private sector employment is not available, means a work 
activity, performed in return for welfare that provides an individual with an opportunity 
to acquire the general skills, training, knowledge, and work habits necessary to obtain 
employment.  The purpose of work experience is to improve the employability of those 
who cannot find unsubsidized employment.  Placements in Work Experience are 
designed to prepare participants to obtain unsubsidized employment by helping them 
develop a current work history, establish employment references, and develop and 
improve marketable skills. 

The maximum number of hours the participant may be assigned to Work Experience per 
month is determined by dividing the amount of the Work First Family Assistance (prior 
to a sanction) or Work First Benefit payment, plus their Food and Nutrition Services 
allotment by the state or federal minimum wage (not to exceed 40 hours per week), 
whichever is greater.  The participant cannot volunteer additional hours beyond the hours 
calculated.  

The Fair Labor Standards Act does not permit the participant to complete more hours 
than allowed by the formula even if the participant agrees to the additional hours.  
However, if the participant completes the maximum number of hours allowed by the 
FLSA formula, the total number of participation hours is deemed up to 20 hours for 
counting in the Work Participation Rate. 

6. Community Service programs mean structured programs and embedded activities in 
which TANF recipients perform work for the direct benefit of the community under the 
auspices of public or nonprofit organizations.  Community service programs must be 
limited to projects that serve a useful community purpose in fields such as health, social 
service, environmental protection, education, urban and rural redevelopment, welfare, 
recreation, public facilities, public safety, and childcare.  Community service programs 
are designed to improve the employability of recipients.  In consultation with the North 
Carolina Department of Labor, it is established that most community services positions 
are considered employer/employee relationships and are subject to the Fair Labor 
Standards Act (FLSA).  The same limits on the maximum number of hours and the ability 
to deem hours for the Work Participation Rate apply with Community Services, as with 
Work Experience. 

7. Vocational Educational Training (not to exceed 12 months with respect to any 
individual for federally countable hours) means organized educational programs that are 
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directly related to the preparation of individuals for employment in current or emerging 
occupations requiring career and technical education.  Vocational Educational Training 
allows for participation in a bachelor’s degree or an advanced degree program, as well as 
two-year degree programs and vocational certificate programs. 

8. GED/HS Completion for Teen Heads of Households Married Teens and Teen Heads 
of Households are by Federal definition Work-Eligible Individuals, and therefore are 
counted in the denominator of the Work Participation Rate.  Married Teens and Teen 
heads of households, through age 19 (through the month in which they turn 20), who 
maintain satisfactory secondary school attendance, including GED studies, count toward 
the federal work participation rate. 

Hours of participation in activities in 1 through 8 above are considered “core” activities 
by federal definition.  For the all-families rate, the core requirement is 20 hours per 
week.  For two parent families, the core requirement is 30 hours per week.  Once a 
Work First participant completes the required hours of participation in the core 
activities, the participant may participate in activities below, and these hours will count 
in the federal Work Participation Rate. 

9. Job Skills Training directly related to employment means training or education for job 
skills required by an employer to provide an individual with the ability to obtain 
employment or to advance or adapt to the changing demands of the workplace.  This 
activity can include customized training to meet the needs of a specific employer, or it 
can be general training that prepares an individual for employment.  This can include 
literacy instruction or language instruction when such instruction is explicitly focused on 
skills needed for employment or combined in a unified whole with job training. 

10. Education Directly Related to Employment, in the case of a recipient who has not 
received a high school diploma or a certificate of high school equivalency, means 
education related to a specific occupation, job, or job offer.  This includes courses 
designed to provide the knowledge and skills for specific occupations, job, or job offer. 

The federal government required states to submit a “Work Verification Plan” that described 
how the state would ensure that the above definitions and requirements for supervision and 
documentation were met.  North Carolina’s Work Verification Plan was approved by the 
federal government in September 2008. 

Optional items and information specific to North Carolina are discussed below. 

1. State Work Activities - Additional work activities that do not meet the federal definitions are 
also supported.  A worker and the family will use the results of the employability assessment 
to create the most likely and timely path to self-sufficiency. 

2. Post Secondary Education - Up to 20% of Work First recipients may be enrolled, at least 
part-time, in a post-secondary education program.  In Standard Counties, recipients who are 
enrolled at least part time and who maintain a 2.5 grade point average (or its equivalent) shall 
have their two-year time limit suspended for up to three years. 

Work Verification Requirements 

In compliance with the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 and the subsequent Final Rule, the State 
submitted and ACF approved a “Work Verification Plan” that includes the following: 
1. Describes the services or programs the State includes under each work activity.  (Services and 
programs must conform to the Federal definition of these activities.)  

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dss/workfirst/docs/work_verification_plan_2008.pdf
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2. Describes how the State determines the number of countable hours of participation for each 
activity.  

3. Describes how the State verifies the actual hours of participation for each activity, including 
the procedures for obtaining and maintaining documentation of hours of participation.  

4. Describes the methods of daily supervision for each unpaid work activity.  

All county Departments of Social Services, whether Standard or Electing, must adhere to the 
requirements as outlined in the State’s Work Verification Plan. 

Child Care Definitions 
County departments of social services use the following guidelines to evaluate whether adequate 
childcare is available for single parents with a child under age 6.  At each occurrence of non-
compliance with the work requirement for a single parent caring for a child under age 6, the 
county department will document in the case record the reason for the parent’s non-compliance.  
If the parent claims that he/she is unable to participate because needed childcare is not available, 
the county department will evaluate each of the following criteria and document their findings in 
the case record.  If the county finds that the parent’s claim is valid, the sanction or loss of Work 
First Benefits for non-compliance is not applied. 

Appropriate Child Care:  

• Care in a regulated child care center or family child care home that has a license, or 
• Care in a non-licensed childcare arrangement that meets the requirements of North 

Carolina’s Subsidized Child Care Program.  
• Childcare options must have hours of operation that mesh with the work schedules of 

parents and meet any special needs of the individual children. 

Reasonable Distance: 

• In evaluating ‘reasonable distance,’ counties consider the total time it takes for parents to 
travel one-way from home to the child care provider then to work or work-related 
activity.  Because of the differences in North Carolina’s geography and highway/road 
systems, county departments have maximum discretion to decide what is “reasonable” 
for individual families based on their resources (i.e., whether they have a vehicle in 
working order or families’ resources available for transporting the family) and local 
transportation considerations. 

• As a guideline, counties should consider that it might not be reasonable to require 
families receiving Work First to travel more than 80 minutes one-way to work and 
childcare.  Eighty minutes is four times the average one-way commute time in North 
Carolina (not including stops at child care arrangements), as reported by the U. S. Census 
Bureau based on the 2000 decennial census.  This does not preclude an exemption from 
the sanction or a loss of Work First Benefits based on a shorter commute if the county 
considers the commute an obstacle to children’s healthy development or the family’s 
self-sufficiency goals. 

Unsuitability of Unlicensed Child Care: 

The unsuitability of a non-licensed childcare arrangement is determined on a case-by-case 
basis.  A non-licensed childcare provider may be considered “unsuitable” for a particular 
family if one of the following exists: 
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• The non-licensed childcare arrangement does not meet the requirements of North 
Carolina’s Subsidized Child Care Program to receive subsidy payment.  

• A parent does not want his/her child (ren) cared for by the non-licensed childcare 
provider. 

Affordable Child Care Arrangement: 

When a childcare subsidy is available to the family, the childcare is considered affordable.  
However, the subsidy payment is not sufficient to cover the provider’s charges in some 
instances.  If the childcare provider charges parents the difference in the subsidy payment 
rate and the private paying rate and the parent cannot afford to pay the difference, that care 
does not meet the definition of affordable.   
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APPENDIX C 
STANDARD COUNTIES 

Non-Financial Eligibility Rules 
In addition to signing the Mutual Responsibility Agreement and work requirements, families 
must meet certain eligibility rules in order to receive Work First Family Assistance or Work First 
Benefits.  The basic eligibility rules are described below. 

1. Children must be age 17 or younger.  Children may receive through the month that they turn 
18.  Children age 18, if in high school and expected to graduate by the month of their 19th 
birthday, can receive through the month they graduate from high school.  Emancipated minor 
parents are considered adults and treated as such for Work First. 

2. Children and adults who receive SSI are not included as recipients in the Work First Family 
Assistance or Work First Benefits case.  If a parent is applying for Work First Family 
Assistance or Work First Benefits, they only have one child, and that child receives SSI or 
adoption assistance, the parent may receive assistance with a payment for one person. 

3. Parents, including biological, adoptive, or stepparents, must be included with their child(ren) 
in Work First Family Assistance and Work First Benefits cases.  All siblings, stepsiblings 
and half siblings living together must also be included in the case.  If both biological parents 
and adoptive parents are living in the same residence with a child, the adoptive parents must 
apply and be included, but the biological parents may not.   

4. If the child’s parent and an individual who has legal custody or guardianship reside in the 
home with the child, only the individual who has day-to-day care of the child may apply for 
and receive Work First Family Assistance for that child.  The child’s parent is included in the 
case, and child support must be pursued.  The biological parent’s income must be counted in 
this case.  The biological parent must sign an MRA and is expected to complete the work 
participation requirements, unless the parent meets one of the exemptions from the definition 
of Work Eligible Individuals. 

5. Children for whom Foster Care and/or Adoption Assistance payments are being made are not 
included as recipients. 

6. Certain relatives, or a person with legal custody or legal guardianship, may apply for 
assistance for a child but may not be included in the payment.  These cases are child-only 
cases.   

The following relatives qualify to apply for a child:  a blood or half blood relative or 
adoptive relative limited to: brother, sister, grandparent, great-grandparent, great-great-
grandparent, uncle or aunt, great-uncle or aunt, great-great-uncle or aunt, nephew, niece, first 
cousin, and spouses of anyone listed above even after the marriage has been terminated by 
death or divorce.  The spousal kinship rule does not include the spouses of step relatives.  In 
addition, a stepbrother or stepsister may also apply for a child but may not be included in the 
payment. 

7. An adult or child cannot receive TANF Assistance in more than one case in North Carolina 
or any other state for the same month. 

8. An individual can be the payee for one Work First Family Assistance or Work First Benefits 
case at a time. 
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9. Undocumented immigrants are not eligible to receive Work First.  North Carolina elects to 
provide assistance to cover all optional non-citizen populations allowable under federal law. 

10. A family cap on assistance is in effect.  This means that a family’s Work First Family 
Assistance cash payment or Work First Benefits will not increase when a child is born ten 
(10) months after a month in which a family received cash assistance.  There are some 
exceptions to the family cap rule, as follows:   

• The firstborn child, including all children of a multiple birth of a minor who is a 
dependent child in the family,   

• A child who is conceived as a result of verifiable rape, sexual assault, or incest. 

• A child for whom parental custody has been legally transferred to someone other than the 
parent. 

• A child no longer able to live with his parent due to the parent’s death, the parent’s 
incapacity or disability, or the parent’s incarceration or institutionalization if expected to 
last at least three months. 

11. Minor parents (under age 18), unless emancipated, must meet special requirements.  

• They must stay in school to complete their high school education, or its equivalent.  
When a minor parent has completed high school or has received a GED, or is suspended 
or expelled from school, the minor parent must participate in an appropriate educational, 
training, or other work activity. 

• They must live with a parent or in another adult-supervised setting approved by the 
county director or his designee.  Payments will be made to an adult as a substitute payee, 
and not to the minor parent. 

12. There is a five-year, lifetime limit on receipt of federal TANF assistance.  This means that, 
unless a hardship exemption is granted, a family is not eligible for Work First Family 
Assistance or Work First Benefits if it contains an adult who has received Work First Family 
Assistance and/or Work First Benefits in North Carolina and/or TANF assistance from 
another state for 60 cumulative months.  The five-year lifetime time limit began in North 
Carolina on January 1, 1997.   

A family may request a hardship exemption from the 60-month time limit.   

The County Board of Social Services, or their designee, will consider and decide whether an 
exemption will be granted based on guidelines established by the Department.  The Board or 
designee must determine that:  

• Both the family and the agency have made good faith efforts to resolve the problems 
causing the hardship during the 60 months of receipt of Work First Family Assistance or 
Work First Benefits.  

• Whether the participant is experiencing hardship as defined in the Work First Manual.  
Such hardships include, but are not limited to, situations where a family member has 
been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty, where the family is dealing with a severe 
illness of children or parents, or where there is a combination of factors that together 
constitute a hardship. 

• Whether the hardship condition is severe enough to prevent the parent from working on a 
regular basis. 
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Adults included in cases that have been granted hardship exemptions are expected to have an 
MRA Plan of Action in place that addresses each identified hardship criterion, and they are 
expected to work toward resolution of the problems as appropriate.  Counties are expected to 
continue to provide necessary services to enable the family to work towards resolution of 
these issues.  Exemptions can be granted for one to six months.  At the end of the exemption 
period, the family may request another exemption. 

Good cause considerations include, but are not limited to: 

• Disability of the caretaker; 

• Disability of a child or other family member requiring the caretaker to remain at home 
and provide care; 

• Family crisis or change including, but not limited to, death of a spouse, parent, or child; 

• Lack of necessary child care and; 

• Other unique circumstances that prevented the participant from getting or keeping a job 
as determined by the Board or its designee. 

13. In addition to the five-year federal lifetime limit, families who are active in North Carolina’s 
Work First Employment Services are limited to 24 cumulative months of cash assistance 
unless an extension as described below is granted.  Families may re-apply for Work First 
after being off assistance for 36 months.  All counties are required to review all Work First 
cases no later than three months prior to the end of the 24-month time limit.  The review is to  

• ensure that time limits have been tracked correctly;  

• ensure the family is informed about other services;  

• provide an extension if the family qualifies; and 

• review the family status and assist them in identifying resources and supports they need 
to maintain employment and family stability. 

Up to 20% of Work First recipients may be enrolled, at least part-time, in a post secondary 
education program.  In Standard Counties, recipients who are enrolled at least part time and 
who maintain a 2.5 grade point average (or its equivalent) shall have their two-year time 
limit suspended for up to three years. 

Families may request an extension of the 24-month time limit at the end of the 24-month 
period or anytime following termination, including any time within the 36-month period of 
ineligibility.  An extension may be requested verbally or in writing. 

The County Board of Social Services, or their designee, will consider and decide on whether 
an extension will be granted.  The Boards or designees must determine: 

• That the Work First participant substantially complied with the Mutual Responsibility 
Agreement, including considerations for any good cause exceptions; 

• That the Work First participant, through no fault of his own, is unable to obtain or 
maintain employment that provides a basic level of subsistence.  To determine this, the 
Board or designee will compare the family's net monthly income to the maximum Work 
First payment for the family size.  If net monthly income is equal to the maximum Work 
First payment or greater, the family cannot receive an extension. 
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• Whether the participant is experiencing extenuating circumstances. 

If an extension is granted, the Board or designee must determine the length of the extension.  
Each extension must be a minimum of 1 month to a maximum of 6 months with no limit on 
the number of extensions (within the 60-month lifetime limit). 

Good cause considerations include, but are not limited to: 

• Disability of the caretaker; 

• Disability of a child or other family member requiring the caretaker to remain at home 
and provide care; 

• Family crisis or change including, but not limited to, death of a spouse, parent, or child; 

• Lack of necessary child care; and 

• Other unique circumstances determined by the Board or its designee that prevented the 
participant from getting or keeping a job. 

14. All Work First applicants (i.e., every member of a case) must have a social security number, 
or apply for a social security number if they do not have one.  Unless an individual has a 
social security number or applies for one, that individual is not eligible for Work First. 

15. Individuals who are temporarily absent from the home for fewer than 90 consecutive days 
may continue to be eligible for Work First.  Individuals who are absent from the home for 
more than 90 consecutive days but fewer than 12 months may continue to be eligible for 
Work First, if they have good cause for the absence.  Good cause includes absences for 
medical treatment, substance abuse treatment, and health care.  For children, good cause also 
includes absences for educational requirements.  

16. An adult must report to the caseworker when a child is expected to be absent from the home 
for 90 consecutive days or longer.  The adult must report the child’s absence within five days 
of knowing the absence would exceed 90 consecutive days.  Failure to report the absence 
within five days makes the adult ineligible for three months beginning the month after failing 
to make the report.   

17. An individual who is convicted of misrepresenting his residence in order to receive Work 
First, Medicaid, SSI, or Food Stamp benefits in more than one state or more than one 
location in North Carolina is ineligible for Work First cash assistance for ten years beginning 
on the date of conviction. 

18. Incarcerated or institutionalized individuals are not eligible for Work First Family Assistance 
or Work First Benefits.   

19. A family must apply for Work First Family Assistance or Work First Benefits in the county 
of their residence.  Work First cases will not be transferred from county to county (although 
the Medicaid portion of the case will be evaluated for transfer).  The family must reapply for 
assistance in the new county. 

20. Work First cash payment received solely because the timely notice (10-day notice) 
requirement prevents appropriate action to reduce or stop benefits is not considered an 
overpayment and does not have to be repaid. 

21. Individuals who have been convicted of a Class H or I controlled substance felony in North 
Carolina may receive Work First Family Assistance, Work First Benefits, or other services 
under the following conditions: 
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• The individual may be eligible six months after release from custody, or 

• Six months after the date of conviction if the individual was never committed to custody,  

• And if there is no additional controlled substance felony offense during that time,  

• And the individual completes or continues appropriate substance abuse treatment as 
determined by the Local Management Entity.  Individuals receiving Work First under 
these conditions are required to undergo substance abuse treatment as a condition of 
eligibility. 

22. Families must legally reside in the State to receive assistance.  Families that have moved to 
North Carolina after receiving cash assistance in another state will not be treated differently 
from current residents.  

23. Cash assistance overpayments are recovered from the family, as allowed under State law or 
rule.  This includes fraud, intentional program violations, and inadvertent errors by the 
family. 

24. For Work First Family Assistance and Work First Benefits cases, all changes are required to 
be reported by the family to the county within 10 calendar days of the date the change 
becomes known.  This includes changes in income.  All changes must be processed by the 
county within 30 calendar days of the report. 

25. The certification period for Work First Services for families with income at or below 200 
percent of poverty may be for a period of up to twelve months.  Once certified, these 
families’ eligibility does not need to be reviewed until the certification period ends. 

26. All applicants and recipients for Work First must provide verification of citizenship and 
identity.   

27. Any family that includes an adult who has quit a job without good cause, or has been fired 
from a job with cause, is ineligible for Work First payments the month of the job quit or 
firing and the two months immediately following.  The family will be evaluated for 
Medicaid. 

Financial Rules 
1. Resources that can be readily converted to cash will be counted toward a $3,000 limit.  

“Readily converted” means the asset can be converted to cash within 5 working days.   

2. All vehicles are excluded.   

3. To calculate the payment, all income of Work First recipients is counted, except the earnings 
of children, SSI, SSDI and the income of SSI or SSDI recipients, Foster Care Assistance, 
Adoption Assistance, and the Earned Income Tax Credit, unless other law or regulation 
excludes an income type.  Note:  This applies to both Standard and Electing Counties. 

4. Countable income of all family members included in the case is counted.  Income of parents 
who live in the household and are excluded from the case is counted as if they are included.  
The exception is that no income of SSI or SSDI recipients is counted.  Note:  This applies to 
both Standard and Electing Counties. 

5. For unearned income, the actual amount received is the amount counted in calculation of the 
payment. 
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6. For earned income, percentages are subtracted from the total monthly gross income as 
follows: 

• 27.5% of gross earned income is excluded. 

• A job bonus is awarded to parents with new earnings.  For up to six months that each 
adult recipient has new earnings (as described in the Work First Policy Manual), the 
income is disregarded in full as a job bonus.  The 100% job bonus applies only to new 
earned income that begins after application for WORK FIRST.  The 100% job bonus is 
applied for employment that is expected to be at least 20 hours per week and expected to 
be permanent; 27.5% of gross earnings from other employment is excluded. 

• If an applicant is working less than 20 hours per week at the time of application, 27.5% 
of his gross monthly earnings are excluded.  When he subsequently increases his hours to 
over 20 per week in a job that is expected to be permanent, the 100% job bonus is applied 
for up to six months of his increased income as described in the Work First Policy 
Manual. 

• If an applicant is working 20 or more hours at the time of application, only 27.5% of his 
gross monthly earnings are excluded.   

• After up to six months of the 100% job bonus (as described in the Work First Policy 
Manual), 27.5% of gross monthly earnings is excluded from consideration, for as long as 
the individual is a Work First cash recipient. 

• An individual may receive a job bonus no more than once within a three-year period. 

7. The Work First monthly payment is 50% of the difference between the total countable 
income and the need standard. 

8. The need standard is based on the number of eligible family members: 
 

Number on Work First 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 

Need Standard $362 $472 $544 $594 $648 $698 $746 $772 

Number on Work First 9 10 11 12 13 14 Each additional

Need Standard $812 $860 $896 $946 $992 $1,042 Add $50 

• A family remains eligible as long as the result of the payment calculation is twenty-five 
dollars ($25.00) or more.  Payments, including prorated payments for the month of 
application or termination, will not be made for less than twenty-five dollars. 

• For adults who would otherwise be required to be included in the payment but who are 
ineligible, income is counted as if they were included in the payment (except SSI).  Note:  
This applies to both Standard and Electing Counties. 

For the month of application, Work First payments are prorated from the date of 
application with the date of application being day one.  Otherwise, payments are made 
for the full month. 

9. Proceeds from non-recurring lump sum payments are counted as a resource beginning the 
month after the month of receipt for ongoing cases.  For pending applications, the non-
recurring lump sum payment is counted as income in the month of receipt and as a resource 
beginning the month after the month or receipt. 
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10. When an adult Work First recipient or applicant is potentially eligible for other government 
benefits, such as Unemployment Insurance Benefits, the adult is required to apply for those 
benefits.  If the adult fails to apply by the deadline established by the county or the adult 
refuses to apply, the family is not eligible for Work First. 

11. Certain families, as defined in the Work First Manual, may be required to report income, 
participation hours, and other information to their county department.  Failure to submit a 
timely report results in termination of Work First assistance.  The reporting process will be 
defined in the Work First Manual.   

Application Process  
County departments of social services are responsible for developing a benefit package as 
quickly as possible to help families move toward self-sufficiency.  As appropriate, counties 
should offer families other services to enable them to remain off cash assistance.  Such services 
include Diversion Assistance, child support services, childcare, and job placement services.  
Diversion Assistance (Benefit Diversion or Emergency Assistance) must be based on a family’s 
specific crisis or episode of need and may not be used for ongoing or recurrent needs. 

The time limit for processing applications for Work First Family Assistance or Work First 
Benefits is 45 days.  It is expected that most applications will be processed well within this time 
limit.  In general, it is the applicant’s responsibility to provide all the information, including 
verifications, needed to determine eligibility.  Applicants may request assistance in obtaining 
information.  The agency’s obligation to assist the applicant is described in the Work First Policy 
Manual. 

Applications may be denied within the 45-day processing period for any of the following 
reasons: 

• The applicant refuses or fails to apply for unemployment benefits, when monetarily eligible, 
or refuses or fails to apply for other benefits, such as Social Security or veterans benefits, for 
which he/she may be eligible; 

• The applicant fails to provide information needed to determine eligibility; 

• The agency is unable to locate the applicant; 

• The applicant refuses or fails to apply for a required family member; 

• The applicant refuses or fails to sign a Mutual Responsibility Agreement (either Core 
Requirements or Plan of Action, if required); 

• The applicant fails, without good cause, to keep an appointment and has not contacted the 
agency concerning his application; 

• Ineligibility has been verified including situations in which the applicant’s statement results 
in ineligibility; 

For any action or verification of information required of applicants, county departments will not 
deny an application without giving the applicant a written request for the action or verification, 
specifying a deadline that allows at least 12 calendar days in which to meet the requirement.  The 
county must provide appropriate accommodations to assist applicant with limited language 
proficiency or disability in obtaining needed documentation. 

Counties will not deny applications for the above reasons if good cause exists.  Good cause is 
defined as:  
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• A significant family crisis or change including, but not limited to, the death of a spouse, 

parent, or child; 

• Illness of the caretaker or child, including participation in substance abuse treatment or 
attendance at a medical appointment;  

• Civil leave, including jury duty, or a required court appearance;  

• Lack of child care for parent and/or a minor parent in school, training, or other work activity; 
or 

• Any other reason determined by the county director or his or her designee. 

An application for Work First Family Assistance or Work First Benefits is also an application for 
Medicaid.  Any time such an application is denied, the county department will evaluate whether 
the Medicaid portion of the application will need to remain open for processing according to 
Medicaid application guidelines.   

An application for Work First is valid for a 45-day period.  If the application is denied before the 
45th day, eligibility for Work First assistance can be established at any time within the 45-day 
period without requiring a new interview and Assessment/Workbook.  This is dependent on the 
county worker having all information and documentation required to make the eligibility 
determination with the 45-day period. 

Eligibility Reviews 
Frequent contact with Work First families is critical in ensuring their success at moving to 
employment.  Counties are strongly encouraged to review a family’s progress on the terms of the 
Mutual Responsibility Agreement at least every three months.  Families that do not participate in 
or allow the county to complete the periodic review will lose their Work First payment for at 
least one month.  The family may reapply for Work First but eligibility can begin no earlier than 
the first of the month following the month of ineligibility.  A face-to-face interview must be 
conducted and eligibility redetermined at a minimum every 12 months. 

Child-Only Cases  
County departments are encouraged to re-evaluate how they work with child-only cases.  
Children in child-only cases are more likely to be “known” to the child welfare system.  Often 
the child is with a relative, rather than in the foster care system.  In terms of eligibility, child-
only cases must be reviewed within six (6) months after application and at least every 12 months 
thereafter.  All of these reviews must be through face-to-face contact.  Counties should evaluate 
whether contact that is more frequent is desirable for individual families.  In child-only cases 
where the caretaker fails to comply with the Mutual Responsibility Agreement, the county will 
carefully evaluate the provision with which the caretaker is out of compliance i.e., failure to have 
children appropriately immunized or failure to ensure children stay in school.  If the caretaker is 
failing to provide appropriate care for the child, an evaluation of the appropriateness of the living 
arrangement is in order.  The purpose of the evaluation is to help determine if there are 
additional services needed by the caretaker to ensure compliance in the future.  The goal is to 
keep the child in a safe and stable environment.   

Benefit Diversion 
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Under certain circumstances, a one-time, short-term benefit package is more appropriate in 
meeting the needs of Work First applicants than becoming a Work First recipient.  Benefit 
Diversion may be provided when families are in need of short-term assistance to enable them to 
get or keep a job or access other financial assistance that will help meet their needs.  Benefit 
Diversion may only be used when there is documentation of a family’s specific crisis or episode 
of need.  Benefit Diversion cannot be used to meet ongoing or recurrent needs. 

• Families that receive Benefit Diversion do not have to repay the benefit amount received. 

• Benefit Diversion can be received only once in a 12-month period and does not trigger 
the two-year Work First time limit or the five-year federal lifetime limit on benefits.   

• Recipients of Benefit Diversion are not required to participate in the Work First 
employment program.  

• These families are not considered Work First participants, and are not considered in 
calculating the State’s participation rate. 

• Families who have exhausted their 24 or 60-month time limit are eligible for Benefit 
Diversion, provided all other eligibility criteria are met. 

In these circumstances, Benefit Diversion may provide: 

1. A one-time, lump sum payment not to exceed three times the maximum Work First 
monthly payment for the family size.  (The payment is not income-based, but is need-
based.); 

2. Medicaid, if eligible, for the months in the Benefit Diversion period; 

3. Referrals to child support and other potential resources. 

In order to be eligible for Benefit Diversion, families must meet the following eligibility 
requirements that apply to Work First: 

1. Who may apply and be included in the family unit; 

2. Income guidelines; 

3. Resource limit; 

4. Minor parent rules; 

5. State/county residence; 

6. Age rule for children; 

7. Rule to have or apply for a Social Security Number; 

8. Citizenship/immigrant status and Identity requirements; 

9. Kinship/living with rule. 

No other Work First eligibility requirements apply to Benefit Diversion cases. 

Medicaid 
Work First eligibility criteria affect eligibility for Medicaid.  Therefore, if any of the eligibility 
criteria described in this plan result in a practical de-link from Medicaid, the Department 
reserves the right to revisit the criteria and adjust if needed.  

“Work First Benefits” 
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In anticipation of legislative changes during the SFY 2009-2010 session of the General 
Assembly, this State Plan provides for moving all families with a parent included in the 
assistance payment to the “Work First Benefits” payment process, rather than the traditional 
Work First Family Assistance payment process.  Other categories of families exempt from the 
work requirements and child-only cases will continue in the traditional Work First Family 
Assistance payment process.   

Families in Work First Benefits status will receive their assistance payments after the end of the 
benefit month.  To qualify for the payment, the parent must provide documentation showing that 
he/she has complied with the requirements of his/her Mutual Responsibility Agreement (MRA) 
including both the Core Requirements and Plan of Action Requirements or show good cause for 
not complying. 

When parents do not comply with their MRA during a month, their cash benefits will not be 
released for that month and they will not count in the Work Participation Rate.  In addition, the 
month with no Work First Benefits will not count against the participant’s 24-or 60- month time 
limits.  If the parent has good cause for failing to meet their required hours of work activities or 
for not complying with other MRA requirements, their cash benefits will be released.  Good 
Cause is defined as: 

•  A significant family crisis or change; 

• Illness of the caretaker or child, including participation in substance abuse treatment or 
medical appointment; 

• Civil leave, including jury duty, or a required court appearance; and 

• Any other reason deemed sufficient by the county director or designee. 
 

If a participant goes two months without receiving a check, an adequate notice will be issued to 
inform the participant that if they go three months without receiving a Work First check, their 
case will transition to Medicaid only.   
If the family does not receive a Work First Benefits in a particular month, they continue to 
receive Medicaid, if eligible.  
When a family does not receive assistance from Work First, the family is entitled to receive any 
child support payments made to support their children.  This includes months in which a family 
does not receive a Work First Benefit.  The family may continue to receive Work First Services. 

Sanctions 
Families who receive traditional Work First Family Assistance are subject to sanctions when 
they fail, without good cause, to comply with program requirements.  Families in sanctioned 
status continue to be eligible for Work First services, and services are offered to help the family 
comply with requirements and regain eligibility for a payment.  County Work First Block Grant 
plans describe collaborative arrangements that are in place in county departments of social 
services to insure that the welfare of children in Work First families is protected. 

There are four types of sanction that are imposed when participants fail to comply with program 
requirements:  

1.  Non-cooperation with Child Support Enforcement 

When a parent or other adult caretaker fails, without good cause, to cooperate with Child 
Support Enforcement, the entire family will be ineligible for a Work First Family Assistance 
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payment for one month or until compliance, whichever is later.  The children remain eligible 
for Medicaid.  The adult is no longer eligible for Medicaid through Work First.  The adult 
must be evaluated for Medicaid under other aid programs/categories.  The family remains 
eligible for Work First Services. 

2.  Substance Abuse Treatment  

If a substance abuse assessment indicates a need for substance abuse treatment and the adult 
fails, without good cause, to comply with the treatment plan, the adult is ineligible for cash 
assistance until he/she complies with treatment.  The adult continues to be included in the 
family and continues to be considered a Work First recipient for purposes of the work 
requirement and time limits.  The family’s payment is recalculated with the adult excluded 
from the needs, and the payment is made to a protective payee. 

3.  Mutual Responsibility Agreement (MRA) Non-compliance 

Except for child support and substance abuse requirements, failure to comply, without good 
cause, with the terms and conditions of the Mutual Responsibility Agreement will result in 
the entire family being ineligible for a Work First Family Assistance payment for one month 
or until compliance, whichever is longer.  The family remains eligible for Work First 
Services. 

4.  Intentional Program Violation (IPV) 

Individuals found to have committed an intentional program violation are disqualified from 
Work First Family Assistance for 12 months for the first offense, 24 months for the second 
offense, and permanently for the third.  The individual continues to be included in the family 
and continues to be considered a Work First recipient for purposes of the work requirement 
and time limits.  The family’s payment is recalculated with the individual excluded from the 
needs. 

Families in sanction status will be apprised of available community resources, including 
assistance through the county department of social services.  All agency staff are trained in 
indicators of child abuse and neglect and are expected to make reports as appropriate. 

A family may avoid a sanction if good cause for non-compliance exists.  Good cause is defined 
as: 

• A significant family crisis or change; 

• Illness of the caretaker or child, including participation in substance abuse treatment or 
medical appointment; 

• Civil leave, including jury duty, or a required court appearance; and 

• Any other reason deemed sufficient by the county director or designee. 
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APPENDIX D 

ELECTING COUNTIES 
In general, Electing Counties and Standard Counties have the same level of flexibility in 
designing their employment services programs to meet the federal participation rates and 
statewide Work First goals while addressing local circumstances.  However, Electing Counties 
also have the opportunity to establish their own eligibility criteria and benefit levels.  Note:  
Based on guidance from the Work First attorneys with the Attorney General’s Office, 
electing counties will no longer be allowed to count SSI or SSDI as income.  See Standard 
County Policy regarding Financial Rules 

In September 2008, 9 counties notified the Department of their desire to be designated as 
Electing Counties.  These counties are Beaufort, Caldwell, Catawba, Cumberland, Iredell, 
Lincoln, Macon, and Wilson.  

The Department has the responsibility to ensure that the Work First Program in all counties 
complies with federal and State law and the Work First goals.  Under State Law, Electing 
Counties’ caseloads combined cannot exceed 15.5% of the Work First caseload on September 1 
of each year.  

Representatives from the following agencies of state government reviewed all of the Electing 
County plans: Division of Child Development, Division of Medical Assistance, Division of 
Social Services, Division of Mental Health/Developmental Disability/Substance Abuse Services, 
DHHS Controller’s Office, and the Attorney General’s Office.  Reviewers returned written 
comments to the Family Support and Child Welfare Services Section of the Division of Social 
Services.  Feedback from these reviewers were shared with the Electing Counties and revisions 
were requested as needed. 

Because the caseloads of the counties requesting Electing status, in aggregate, are well below the 
15.5% minimum (5.5%), it was not necessary to rank the plans for choosing the best plans to 
recommend.  With the requested revisions, all the plans should comply with applicable laws, 
rules, and regulations and will be suitable to be recommended to the General Assembly as 
Electing Counties. 

State law (NCGS 108A-27 e) requires that a county that desires to be re-designated shall submit 
a request in writing to the Department at least six months prior to the effective date of the next 
State Plan.  The six-month deadline for the current proposed State Plan is April 1, 2009.  

Funding for all counties is specified in the State law.  For Electing Counties, block grants are 
based on the percentage of each county’s total AFDC and JOBS expenditures to statewide actual 
expenditures in 1995-96.  For cash assistance, the resulting percentage is applied to the total 
budgeted funds for cash assistance for each year.   

Electing Counties’ eligibility criteria and processes, where available, are described on the 
following pages.  Many Electing Counties chose to follow some of the Standard County rules.  
When and if Electing County rules change to be the same as those of Standard Counties, no State 
Plan amendment will be submitted.  If changes other than to conform to Standard County rules 
are made, an amended State Plan will be submitted.  Unless outlined on the following pages, the 
Electing County is following the Standard County rules.  
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BEAUFORT COUNTY 
 

1. Applicants must register with the Employment Security Commission not more than 10 
days prior to applying for WFFA.  Applicants, excluding intact families, must cooperate 
with Child Support Enforcement not more than 10 days prior to applying for WFFA. 

2. If a client receives Benefit Diversion and subsequently applies for and begins to receive 
WFFA during the next twelve months, the client will be responsible for paying back any 
diversion assistance that has been received.   

3. An applicant for 200% of Poverty Services must be employed at least 30 hours per week.  
The certification period will be for three months with the possibility of an extension not 
to exceed six months in a 12-month period. 

4. A case will be ineligible for one month following termination for the following reasons: 
• Failure to return a completed quarterly report 
• Failure to attend appointment to update MRA 
• Failure to complete review 
• Failure to cooperate with Child Support 
• Failure to attend job interview without good cause 
• Failure to attend work experience without good cause 
• Failure to attend and complete parenting course 

5. There is no exception to family cap policy for a child born to a minor mother. 
6. A child or parent may be temporarily absent from the home only for documented medical 

treatment, or for up to 30 days to visit another relative. 
7. SSI will be counted as income.  (Note:  Revision requested based on advice from the 

Work First Attorneys’ with the Attorney General’s Office.) 
8. Count all resources of SSI recipients, including real property excluding primary residence 
9. All mandatory participants are required to complete a parenting course.  Failure to attend 

and complete will result in termination of WFFA 
10. Family is ineligible for three months for quitting a job, voluntarily reducing hours or pay, 

or engaging in behavior that will result in firing without good cause. 
11. All cases with a parent included will become Pay After Performance after receiving 3 

checks within a 12-month period.  (Note:  Elaboration of policy requested.  Also,  
changes in the TANF State Plan will take the Work First Benefits Payment policy 
statewide, which will affect Beaufort County’s policy) 

12. Eliminate all re-opens.  Family must reapply if terminated for any reason 
13. The county will collect all overpayments, including agency errors.  Agency responsible 

overpayments will be collected following the same policy for collection of recipient 
responsible overpayments.  (Clarification requested to ensure the county will enter 
the County Responsible Overpayments into the EPICS System, even if they are 
pursuing collections from the client.) 

 

CALDWELL COUNTY 
 

1. Work First applications may be taken on able-bodied adults and caretaker relative cases 
only. 

2. All Work First able-bodied families will be approved as Pay-After Performance unless 
Benefit Diversion is given.  Note:  Request made to county to clarify “good cause” 
policy.) 
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3. Applicant is responsible for all verifications needed to complete the application.  (Note:  
Clarification requested regarding provision for any “reasonable accommodations” 
for applicants with disabilities and/or limited English proficiency.) 

4. Benefit Diversion must be repaid if the recipient applies and is approved for Work First 
within 12 months following the certification period.  No more that 5% of the Work First 
check will be deducted until the entire Benefit Diversion amount is repaid. 

5. Benefit Diversion may be offered only once every two years. 
6. Cap children are not included in the payment calculation for Benefit Diversion 
7. Applicants will be denied if the applicant does not comply with a signed MRA 
8. Two no-shows for transportation within 3 months results in a sanction of WFFA benefits.   
9. Applicants must meet and cooperate with child support within 12 calendar days of 

applying for WFFA.  Failure to do so will result in an application denial and termination 
of ongoing cases. 

10. All applicants must attend Economic Literacy training within 12 calendar days of 
applying for WFFA, unless they have successfully completed the training within 30 
calendar days from the application date.  Failure to do so will result in denial of the 
application. 

11. If both quarterly reporting deadlines are missed without good cause, there will be one 
month of ineligibility. 

12. Adult recipients must be enrolled in and satisfactorily attending appropriate education 
enhancement classes if they do not have a high school diploma or GED, unless there is 
good cause.  Non-compliance results in a sanction. 

13. Families are ineligible for 3 months for refusing a job, quitting a job or work experience 
placement, voluntarily reducing hours or pay, or engaging in behavior that will result in 
firing without good cause.  Quitting a job or reducing hours in order to attend college, 
training, or other post secondary education is not considered good cause as this is an 
employment program.  

14. When referred, all adult recipients must go to family planning education through the local 
health department.  Failure to do so will result in the case being terminated, and future 
eligibility is contingent upon completing the class, unless good cause exists. 

15. Minor parent, age 16 and 17, may receive in their own name and living independently, 
upon recommendation of a social worker.  

16. Client’s statement of kinship will be acceptable at review unless questionable.  
17. There will be no re-opens unless it is an agency error. 
18. Standard income will be followed for countable income with the exception that SSI is 

counted.  
19. A sanction will make the entire family ineligible for Work First Family Assistance for 

one month or until compliance, whichever is later.  When a family in a sanction fails to 
comply and does not receive a payment for three consecutive months, the county must 
terminate the Work First case and evaluate for Medicaid. 

20. Each adult budget unit member can receive the Job Bonus if the following are met: 
A. The employment is new or there is an increase in hours; 
B. The employment is expected to be permanent; and 
C. The employment is expected to be a minimum of 25 hours per week. 

24. All Work First Family Assistance cases will be reviewed every 12 months.  
25. School attendance - The caretaker must provide proof of school attendance for all school 

age children at application and review by providing a current report card or attendance 
summary printout from the school.  Failure to comply with the North Carolina/Caldwell 
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County School attendance policy will result in the Work First check being sanctioned, 
unless there is good cause.  Work First Social Workers verify school attendance with the 
School Social Workers on a monthly basis.  Therefore, it is not necessary for them to call 
the schools when a Quarterly Report is received.   

26. Single parents may claim their “s” exemption for the first 3 months of a child’s life.  
Once the 12-month lifetime exemption has been exhausted, the parent will be required to 
participate in the employment program as soon as authorization is given from her doctor.  
Also, if a parent volunteers to participate in the employment program, he/she may not 
reclaim the exemption for the same child.   

27. Standard policy will be followed for payment levels with the exception that a Work First 
check cannot be issued less than $50.  (If the amount is $.01 to $49.99, the family is 
ineligible for a Work First check. 

 

CATAWBA COUNTY 
 

1. When siblings (half brothers/half sisters) have been placed with one of the siblings’ 
relative by child welfare/social, services (must have been placed by Social Services) and 
the relative meets the state’s definition of ‘kinship’ for one of the children.  Then the 
adult can apply for the entire sibling group.   

2. Catawba County will follow criteria established and implemented by the State regarding 
who may apply and be included in payment for assistance with one exception.  The 
exception is as follows: 
 
To receive Work First Family Assistance, one must have an eligible child in the home 
who is included in the assistance unit.  A child receiving SSI or Adoption Assistance is 
not considered an eligible child since their financial needs are already being met and they 
are not included in the assistance unit. 

3. Applicant must cooperate with Child Support and the applicant must register with First 
Stop if not already employed or job being held for the applicant and if monetarily eligible 
for Unemployment Benefits (UIB) must apply for the UIB prior to approval of the 
Benefit Diversion application. 

4. Catawba County will utilize the full family sanction, which is parents or caretakers who, 
without good cause, do not comply/cooperate will make the entire family ineligible for a 
Work First Family payment for one month or until compliance, whichever is later.  When 
a family in a sanction fails to comply/cooperate and does not receive a payment for three 
consecutive months, the Work First Family Assistance case will be terminated and 
evaluated for Medicaid for all four categories of non-compliance.  The four categories of 
non-compliance are: 
• Failure to cooperate with Child Support Enforcement (in addition the adult will lose 

their Medicaid eligibility unless pregnant with the full family sanction) 
• Non-compliance with the provisions of the MRA 
• Failure to participate in required substance abuse treatment 
• Intentional Program Violation 

 
When a family moves to Catawba County and is in a sanction in the county they are 
leaving – the Sanction will be a full family sanction in our county for the appropriate 
time frame unless the family can “fix” the reason the family was sanctioned – i.e. not 
obtaining children’s well check up and prior to moving to Catawba County they obtained 
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the well check up. 

5. Applicant must cooperate with child support within 12-calendar days of applying for 
WFFA.  If the applicant fails or refuses to do so without good cause, deny the application 
for WFFA and evaluate for Medicaid.   

6. Applicant must be assessed for Economic Literacy within 12-calendar days of applying 
for WFFA by Work First staff.  The Economic Literacy assessment is an integral part of 
the application process.  If the applicant fails or refuses to be assessed, deny the 
application for WFFA and evaluate for Medicaid. 

7. All Work First applicants and recipients referred to Vocational Rehabilitation must 
complete the application and comply with all recommendations.  Failure or refusal to 
comply without good cause will result in the case being denied or terminated.  Future 
eligibility is contingent upon completing application and cooperating with Vocational 
Rehabilitation. 

8. The functional capacity evaluation (FCE) assesses a person’s ability to perform work 
from a physical, medical, behavioral, or mental perspective.  One result from the FCE is a 
finding that the participant has no capacity for work, and this finding assists the 
participant in Social Security Disability benefits process.  An alternative finding is that 
the participant has full or limited work capacity.  In that case, the Work First case 
manager and the participant will update the MRA to incorporate work activities based on 
the FCE results.  As long as the state pays for Functional Assessments, Catawba County 
will utilize this service through a contract. 

9. Failure to attend the Success for Families Team meeting, if required, without good cause 
will result in termination of WFFA and at least one month of ineligibility.  Future 
eligibility is contingent upon attendance at the Success for Families Team meeting. 

10. Caretakers in the child only cases will be required to comply with the policy outlined in 
Section 104B of the Work First manual – Substance Abuse/Mental Health Initiative as a 
condition of eligibility.  This is in effort to ensure child well-being. 

11. All reviews will be completed every 6 months. 

12. Job quit sanction (same as non-compliance) will be applied to those individuals who 
voluntarily quit a job, refuse to accept a bona fide job offer, request a reduction in hours, 
all without good cause or are terminated with cause.  (Note:  Clarification requested on 
“good cause” policy.) 

13. All income, other than the WFFA check will be counted for eligibility for Emergency 
Assistance.  (Note:  Clarification requested regarding counting SSI as income per 
guidance by the Work First Attorneys with the Attorney General’s Office. 

 

CUMBERLAND COUNTY 
1.1.  Cumberland  County  will  follow  all  standard  state  policy  for  the  following:  Cumberland County will follow all standard state policy for the following:

••  age  limits  for  children  age limits for children
••  definition  of  relationships  definition of relationships
••  who  can  apply/be  included  in  the  payment  who can apply/be included in the payment
••  payment  levels  payment levels
••  benefit  calculation  benefit calculation
••  countable  income  countable income
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••  sanctions  sanctions
••  resource  requirements  (limit  and  countable  items)  resource requirements (limit and countable items)
••  time  limits  and  extensions  time limits and extensions
••  rewards,  exemptions,  and  exceptions  to  requirements  rewards, exemptions, and exceptions to requirements
••  benefit  diversion  requirements  benefit diversion requirements
••  citizenship/identity  requirements  citizenship/identity requirements

  
2.2.  As  an  electing  county,  Cumberland  will  differ  from  current  state  policy  for  standard  

counties  in  order  to  continue  pay  for  performance.    Cumberland  County  is  currently  using  
the  pay  for  performance  plan  as  a  standard  county  because  an  exception  was  granted  due  
to  the  Work  First  Demonstration  Grant.    The  grant  ends  in  2009.    Under  pay  for  
performance  all  non-exempt  Work  First  clients  are  required  to  participate  in  countable  
work  and/or  work  related  activities  in  order  to  receive  a  Work  First  cash  check  each  
month.    After  they  complete  their  hours,  as  they  agreed  to  do  in  the  Mutual  
Responsibility  Agreement  (MRA),  the  social  worker  will  release  the  check.    Cumberland  
County  will  use  the  standard  state  Mutual  Responsibility  Agreement.    Families  who  fail  
to  complete  their  participation  hours  will  not  have  their  check  released  unless  they  have  a  
good  cause  reason  for  not  participating.    Good  cause  reasons  are  defined  in  the  standard  
Work  First  Manual  policy.    Additionally,  Cumberland  County  will  determine  if  the  action  
would  cause  or  create  a  situation  that  meets  the  legal  definition  of  abuse  or  neglect  and  
react  accordingly.  

As an electing county, Cumberland will differ from current state policy for standard
counties in order to continue pay for performance. Cumberland County is currently using
the pay for performance plan as a standard county because an exception was granted due
to the Work First Demonstration Grant. The grant ends in 2009. Under pay for
performance all non-exempt Work First clients are required to participate in countable
work and/or work related activities in order to receive a Work First cash check each
month. After they complete their hours, as they agreed to do in the Mutual
Responsibility Agreement (MRA), the social worker will release the check. Cumberland
County will use the standard state Mutual Responsibility Agreement. Families who fail
to complete their participation hours will not have their check released unless they have a
good cause reason for not participating. Good cause reasons are defined in the standard
Work First Manual policy. Additionally, Cumberland County will determine if the action
would cause or create a situation that meets the legal definition of abuse or neglect and
react accordingly.

 

IREDELL COUNTY 

A. Eligibility Category Specifics Used in Iredell County 

 1. Terms and conditions by category 

  a. Age limits for children – follow standard plan 

b. Definition of relationships (kinship) – follow standard plan 

c. Who can apply/be included in the payment – follow standard plan 

d. Need or payment levels – Iredell County will use the state’s payment 
level. 

e. Benefit calculation – Procedures for applications – All income, earned and 
unearned, available to the family is counted unless otherwise noted in 
determining eligibility.  All income will be budgeted prospectively.  
(Note:  Based on guidance from the Work First attorneys with the 
Attorney General’s Office, electing counties will no longer be allowed 
to count SSI or SSDI as income.  See Standard County Policy 
regarding Financial Rules.  Clarification/revision requested from the 
county.) 

Procedures for ongoing cases – Iredell County will disregard earned 
income for three months in a lifetime.  Iredell County will follow standard 
counties’ instructions for payment calculation. 

If the payment is $50 or less, the case will be ineligible. 

Child only cases will only have unearned income counted. 
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Children’s earned income will not be counted.  Children’s unearned 
income will be counted.  (Note:  Based on guidance from the Work 
First attorneys with the Attorney General’s Office, electing counties 
will no longer be allowed to count SSI or SSDI as income.  See 
Standard County Policy regarding Financial Rules.  
Clarification/revision requested from the county.) 

 

Self-employment income – Iredell County will average the last two 
months of income or the number of months in operation. 

Lump sum income – A lump sum payment is a one-time payment not 
expected to reoccur.  It may be earned or unearned income. 

Application processing – For applications lump sums will be counted as 
income during the month received. 

Ongoing case processing – The remaining balance of a lump sum will be 
counted as reserve the month following the month of receipt. 

f. Countable Income – All earned and unearned income, including 
Supplemental Security Income, of a family unit will be counted.  
Exceptions are Earned Income Tax Credit, loans, grants, or scholarships.  
A family unit is defined as parents, stepparents, siblings, half-siblings and 
stepchildren.  NOTE: Supplemental Security Income will not be counted 
in determining eligibility for Medicaid. 

g. Sanctions – For clients who fail, without good cause, to participate in 
work activities or to comply with the terms and conditions of their mutual 
responsibility agreements, sanctions will be imposed. 

First and Subsequent Sanction – Termination of cash assistance for at least 
one month or until in compliance.  If sanction was for failure to perform 
employment components, the case will be pay-after-performance if they 
reapply.  These cases are transferred to Medicaid and WFFA cash is 
closed for at least one month.  This is a clarification not a change in 
present electing county policy. 

Good Cause is defined as: 
• Death in the family 
• Hospitalization of caretaker or child. 
• Any other reason deemed sufficient by county director or designee 

h. Asset Requirements (Limit and Countable Items) – Reserve – A family 
receiving Work First is allowed $3,000 in reserve.  NOTE:  A family is 
allowed up to $10,000 fair market value in vehicles, leased or owned.  If 
the fair market value in all vehicles exceeds $10,000, the excess will be 
applied to the reserve limit.  Equity in real property not used as home site 
(one acre – rural, one lot – city) will be counted as reserve.  Real property 
will be checked at the time of application on all new applicants and on 
applicants/recipients alleging that property is owned.  Iredell County will 
comply with the standard WFFA plan on resources with the exception of 
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vehicles and property.  SSI recipient resources will not be used in 
determining Medicaid eligibility. 

i. Time Limits – follow standard plan 

j. Extensions – follow standard plan 

k. Rewards / pay for performance – Iredell County will provide the following 
rewards for Work First participants:  exclusion of income for three months 
after beginning employment and exclusion of children’s earned income.  
This is the same as standard policy.  Retention services such as 
transportation, childcare, work-related expenses, training, case 
management services, housing and utilities. 

Once a person has received 3 months Cash Assistance and is a mandatory 
Work First Employment Services participant, they will be scheduled to 
work a minimum of 40 hours per week.  This will be for all participants, 
including two-parent families.  The participant is not eligible for Work 
First Family Assistance during any month in which the participant does 
not participate in 40 hours per week of approved activity, unless good 
cause.  At least 30 of the 40 hours must be in allowable federal work 
activities.  Participants will receive their cash assistance after meeting 
their work requirements.  These cases will be coded as pay type “2” in 
EIS. 

Good cause for failure to participate in 40 hours is defined as: 
• sick child 
• illness 
• hospitalization 
• any other reason determined by the director or his designee 

l. Exemptions – Caretaker of a child less than 3 months is not subject to 
Work First Employment Services, according to Federal law.  (Note:  
Clarification requested from county.)  Gross income in the month of 
application will be compared to 185% of need standard to determine 
income eligibility for Benefit Diversion.  The family’s income must be 
below 185% of the need standard to be eligible for Benefit Diversion.  Job 
Quit does not apply to exempt participants. 

m. Exceptions to Requirements – Eligibility will be based on a family unit’s 
income and reserve, whether the family is an intact household or a single 
parent household.  (Note:  Clarification requested from county.) 

n. Reporting changes – Changes will be reported directly to the assigned 
caseworker or supervisor in the Work First Cash Assistance unit. 

o. Application Process – Work First Family Assistance applications will be 
completed by the 30th calendar day following the date of application.  
Iredell County Department of Social Services will offer families other 
services to enable them to remain off cash assistance.  Such services may 
include Grant Diversion Assistance, Child Support services, Childcare and 
Job Placement services offered by the local Employment Security Office.  
Child Support cooperation and First Stop registration must be provided 
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within twelve days or the Work First application will be denied unless 
good cause existed.  Copy of signed MOU with ESC regarding First Stop 
registration is attached.  See Attachment 2.  If verifications of the above 
are not provided within twelve calendar days, and the client does not have 
good cause, the application will be denied.  Mandatory recipients must be 
in compliance with the terms of MRA-B within 12 days of date of 
application or the application will be denied.  All participants will be 
required to participate in an economic literacy class within 6 months of 
approval. 

Good cause will be determined by the director or his designee.  All 
verifications will be the client’s responsibility. 

Applications are taken on the day of request with a signed 8124 and 
interviewed if a slot is available.  If client cannot be interviewed on the 
day of application, the first available appointment is given or a time that is 
convenient for the client.  Application is denied if client does not show up 
for interview and has not contacted worker to reschedule.  All cases are 
evaluated for Medicaid using the original date of application that the client 
came into the agency and requested Work First.  If the applicant does not 
have Medicaid, they are also advised of their right to apply for Medicaid 
on the day of WFFA application.  Any application for WFFA that is 
withdrawn or denied is sent to the Medicaid unit for evaluation if 
everyone included in the WFFA application DOES NOT have Medicaid. 

Our agency will not pend applications past the 30th day unless the 30th day 
falls on a weekend.  Applications pending beyond the 30th day will be 
completed no later than the Monday following the weekend. 

p. Child Support – All applicants will be required to seek child support 
services prior to the disposition of their application.  If the applicant fails 
to cooperate with the child support unit, his/her assistance will not be 
approved.  All applicants without an open child support case on each 
absent parent will be required to cooperate with child support within 
twelve calendar days, or the application will be denied. 

q. Substance Abuse, Domestic Violence, and Mental Health Screenings – All 
applicants / recipients will be required to complete substance abuse, 
domestic violence and mental health screenings before a WFFA 
application is approved.  Failure to complete these screenings within 12 
days of date of application will result in denial of the application.  WFFA 
intake worker will complete the screenings.  Domestic violence and 
mental health screenings are voluntary screenings. 

r. Job Quit Policy 

(1) Applicant / Recipient households: Any person who within 30 days 
from date of application voluntarily quits a job, refuses to accept 
suitable employment, works less than the hours available to them, 
voluntarily reduces the number of hours worked, terminated for 
absenteeism/failing to report to work or is dismissed for 
misconduct without good cause will be denied Work First Family 
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Assistance benefits for three months (month of application and two 
following months or until the job quit is cured). 

(2) Recipient households:  Any recipient who voluntarily quits a job, 
refuses to accept suitable employment, works less than the hours 
available to them, voluntarily reduces the number of hours worked, 
terminated for absenteeism/failing to report to work or is dismissed 
for misconduct without good cause will have their Work First 
Family Assistance case terminated until the Job Quit is cured or for 
3 months unless exempt. 

(3) Good Cause will be defined as follows: 

(a) Discrimination by an employer based on age, race, sex, 
handicap, religious beliefs, national origins, or political 
beliefs. 

(b) Work demands or conditions that render continued 
employment unreasonable such as not being paid on time 
or making less than minimum wage (this would have to be 
verified). 

(c) Acceptance of another job comparable to the one quit.  A 
comparable job may be one that has room for advancement, 
health insurance or pay day care expenses.  The client must 
provide verification to make this determination. 

(d) Person is physically or mentally unfit to perform the 
employment (this must be verified by medical evidence or 
reliable information from other sources). 

(e) Inadequate day care for child.  The client must contact the 
Work First Family Assistance worker for possible solutions 
before they quit the job.  Failure to do so will result in 
possible termination of benefits. 

(f) Unreliable transportation.  The client must try to arrange 
other means and contact the Work First Family Assistance 
worker for possible solutions before quitting a job for this 
reason.  Failure to do so will result in possible termination 
of benefits. 

(g) Any other reason determined by the director or his 
designee. 

(4) Exemptions from Job Quit policy are as follows: 

(a) Applicant/Recipient is exempt from the Work First 
Employment Program for reasons other than employment. 

(b) Applicant/Recipient resigns at the demand of the employer. 

(c) Employer reduces work hours for reasons other than by 
request of the employee. 

(5) Curing the Job Quit: 
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The only way to cure the Job Quit is to obtain another suitable job 
(equal to an average number of hours working per week prior to 
job quit) working at least 35 hours per week. 

(6) Implementation: 

This policy will be explained to all applicants upon applying and 
to all recipients at their review.  The client will receive a copy of 
the policy and will have to sign a copy in the case file indicating 
that is has been explained to them and they understand it. 

s. Fraud – All services that are received under the WFFA program will be 
referred to fraud, if fraud is suspected.  The first offense will render a 
permanent disqualification to receive Work First cash assistance if 
convicted of Work First fraud by a court of law.   

t. County Reassignment – follow standard plan 

u. Administrative Reopening – Iredell County will have no limit on 
administrative re-openings. 

v. Children Ages 16 and 17 – Children ages 16 and 17 must attend school in 
a public or private elementary or secondary school including GED or adult 
high school or an approved home school.  If a child is not attending and 
there is not good cause, a sanction is imposed: terminate assistance for at 
least one month or until client comes into compliance. 

Good Cause reasons include: 
(1) A family crisis or change 
(2) Illness of the caretaker or child 
(3) Lack of childcare for a minor parent in school, training, or  other 

work activity 
(4) One of the exceptions in minor parent rules  
(5) Any other reason determined by the county director or his designee 

w. Minimum payment – If the payment is $50.00 or less, the case will be 
ineligible. 

x. Reviews – All WFFA cases will be reviewed every 12 months. 

y. Requirements for Work First Diversion program 

Each applicant who has a strong potential for employment will be assessed 
for benefit diversion.  The maximum benefit diversion payment will not 
exceed the payment standard for the number in the assistance unit and will 
be certified for no more than three months.  This is a one-time service for 
families per year.  Benefit Diversion can only be provided once within a 
twelve-month period.  For example, if the Benefit Diversion period is June 
through August, another Benefit Diversion period could begin no earlier 
than June of the next year.  Families that subsequently apply for Work 
First following receipt of benefit diversion within the twelve months are 
required to repay the cash portion of benefit diversion.  When an 
overpayment occurs because they subsequently apply for WFFA within 
the twelve-month period and are approved, a recoupment will be 
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completed.  Ten percent of the WFFA allotment will be deducted from the 
WFFA grant until the overpayment is paid in full or the case closes.  
(Note:  clarification requested from county to ensure compliance with 
the federal definition of diversion.) 

The family will be notified of the recoupment by DSS-8110 on ongoing 
cases or DSS-8108 at application approval.  The appeal process is in 
section XIV of Iredell County’s Work First Plan.   

Medicaid expenditures will not be recouped.  Medicaid is an entitlement 
program and the applicant’s right to apply and receive Medicaid is to be 
preserved and not negatively impacted due to Electing County policy.   

To determine if the family meets the income rule, compare the family’s 
gross monthly income to 185% of the current Work First Family 
Assistance need standard.  Income received in the month of application 
will be compared to 185% of the current Work First Family Assistance 
need standard.  The reserve limit will be the same as the proposed Iredell 
County electing plan. 

z. Citizenship/Identity requirements – follow standard plan 
 

LENOIR COUNTY 
 
1. Applicants must register with the First Stop Program at the Kinston Employment Security 

office not more than 10 workdays before applying for WFFA. 
2. Applicants, excluding intact families, must cooperate with the Child Support Program before 

applying for WFFA. 
3. The benefit limits for short-term services and benefits may be adjusted at the director's 

discretion based on the availability of funding. 
4. Adopt state policy for Benefit Diversion with the exception that Benefit Diversion will be 

offered to any applicant who is unemployed but who has a good work history or who feels 
there is a high likelihood of finding a new job or other income within 3 months.  (Note:  
Clarification requested from county to ensure compliance with the federal definition of 
diversion.) 

5. Follow county policy for Emergency Assistance.  See Attachment # 7 for a detailed 
description of the Lenoir County Emergency Assistance criteria. 

6. Provide Family Employment Services to families that meet 200% of Poverty guidelines 
according to Attachment # 8.  Should additional funding become available, services will be 
expanded at that time. 

7. Adopt state policy with the addition that all caretaker relatives will be encouraged to seek 
legal custody of the children in their care. 

8. Lenoir County will continue with Option B of the state policy.  Adult applicants or adults 
who request inclusion must register with the First Stop Program at the Kinston Employment 
Security office not more than 10 work days before applying for WFFA.  Adults 65 years old 
or older and new mothers who receive a work exemption (S Code) following the birth of a 
baby (3-month maximum exemption) are exempted from the First Stop Program.  
Immediately following the 3-month exemption, new mothers must register with the First 
Stop Program. 

9. Adopt state policy with the exception that newborns of a minor mother are included in the 
Family Cap Rule. 
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10. Adopt state policy with these additions: 
• A child or parent may be temporarily absent from the home up to 12 months for medical 

treatment. 
• A child or parent may be temporarily absent from the home no more than 30 days for all 

reasons other than to receive medical treatment. 

11. SSI will be counted toward eligibility for WFFA.  (Note:  Based on guidance from the 
Work First attorneys with the Attorney General’s Office, electing counties will no 
longer be allowed to count SSI or SSDI as income.  See Standard County Policy 
regarding Financial Rules.  Clarification/revision requested from the county.) 

12. Adopt state policy with the following additions: 
• All applicants, except intact families, are required to cooperate with the Child Support 

Program before applying for WFFA. 
• The family is not eligible for WFFA benefits if the parent or caretaker fails to cooperate 

with the Child Support Program. 
• Families who fail to cooperate with the Child Support Program are referred to the Family 

Medicaid Unit for evaluation of Medicaid eligibility on the same day. 
13. Lenoir County will not offer automatic Food Stamps to WFFA households.  A separate Food 

Stamps application is required.  (Note:  Revision requested from county as Automatic 
Food Stamps does not exist.  In addition, Section 117 of the Work First Manual was 
changed from policy regarding Automatic Food Stamps to Ongoing Assessment.  The 
county has been asked to update their plan to reflect this.) 

14. Single parents of a child less than 3 months old may request an exemption from WFE work 
activities; however,  the new parent will be required to complete some activities during this 
period including: 
• Well-baby check-up 
• Post-partum check-up for mother 
• Register for WIC services 
• Make plans for primary and back-up child care at the end of the 3-month exemption 

period 
• Contact Child Support to establish paternity and support for the new baby. 
• Schedule visit to select program activities and identify need for supportive services at the 

end of the 3-month exemption period. 
The family is limited to no more than 12 months exemption in a lifetime 

15. All mandatory (able-bodied) participants will be scheduled to complete at least 35 hours of 
work or work-related activities per week and to submit weekly time sheets.   

16. Job Search reports must be submitted weekly. 
17. Transportation expenses for WFE participants, Family Employment Services participants, 

and Non-custodial parents of WFFA children are limited to $300 per month  but may be 
increased to $600 per month at supervisor's discretion for unusual situation 

18. Direct reimbursement of transportation expenses for use of a personal vehicle is limited to $5 
per day for participants working inside of Lenoir County and $8 per day for participants 
working outside of Lenoir County. 

19. All WFE participants are encouraged to complete high school or a GED within the 24-month 
time limit. 

20. All unemployed WFE participants must complete STRIVE or other classes at Lenoir 
Community College if appropriate. 
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21. Adults who claim an exemption from WFE activities due to incapacity must provide a 
physician's statement indicating participant's functional capacity.  The county reserves the 
right to request a functional evaluation from a qualified evaluator of the agency's choice. 

22. Participants who have 3 "No shows" in one month for agency-arranged transportation are 
ineligible for transportation services for a period of one month.  A second occurrence of 3 
"no shows" in one month will result in 3 months of ineligibility for transportation services 

23. All participants who claim an incapacity exemption from WFE activities for more than two 
months will be referred to Vocational Rehabilitation for assessment and to develop training 
opportunities with sheltered workshops as appropriate. 

24. All unemployed or under-employed adult applicants/participants must register for work at 
the Lenoir Community College JobLink Center. 

25. Participants will be referred to the WIA Program at Lenoir Community College.  If accepted 
into that program, the participant is required to comply with the terms of the WIA program as 
a condition of the MRA. 

26. All Work First families with an adult under age 65 years are subject to Pay-After-
Performance beginning the first months of receiving a Work First payment (excluding 
Benefit Diversion).  This includes single-parent families in which the only child receives 
SSI.  

27. Family is ineligible for one month for failure to submit a quarterly report. 
28. Under the Section for two-parent families, the Plan states that “each parent must complete at 

least 35 hours of WFE activities per week.  Families receiving child care subsidy services 
must complete 55 hours per week of WFE activities per family.”  (Note:  Clarification from 
the county requested to clarify if the intention is that a two-parent family without 
childcare would have to complete a total of 70 hours while a two-parent family with 
childcare only has to complete 55 hours. 

29. Job-Quit Sanction: -- The family is not eligible for a period of three months if the parent 
quits a job or WFE work-experience placement, abandons a job or WFE work-experience 
placement, or voluntarily reduces work hours or rate of pay without a good cause reason.  
Quitting a job or reducing work hours in order to attend college, training, or other post-
secondary education does not meet the definition of “good cause.”  Job abandonment is 
defined as failing to go to work and failure to notify the employer.  For applicants, the 3 
months of ineligibility begin the month the parent stops work or the work experience or 
reduces work hours or rate of pay.  For recipients, the 3 months of ineligibility begin the 
month following expiration of an advance notice.  The participant may cure this sanction by 
returning to work at an equivalent rate of pay and number of work hours compared to the last 
job. 

30. Transportation “no show” Sanction: 1st Sanction - 1 month of Ineligibility for Transportation 
Assistance, 2nd Sanction – 3 months of Ineligibility for Transportation Assistance.  
Participants who have 3 "No shows" in one month for agency-arranged transportation are 
ineligible for transportation services for a period of one month.  A second occurrence of 3 
"no shows" in one month will result in 3 months of ineligibility for transportation services. 

31. Sanction for Non-cooperation with Child Support: The entire family is ineligible for Work 
First benefits until the parent or caretaker has fully complied with the Child Support 
Program. 

32. MRA sanctions: (Same as state policy with these additions:) 
• All participants who claim an incapacity exemption from WFE activities for more than 

two months will be referred to Vocational Rehabilitation for assessment and to develop 
training opportunities with sheltered workshops as appropriate.  Refusal of a Vocational 
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Rehabilitation (VR) referral or failure to comply with the VR Program without a good 
cause reason will result in a MRA sanction. 

• All unemployed or under-employed adult applicants and participants who are determined 
to be "job-ready" must register for work at the Kinston Employment Security office, 
Lenoir Community College JobLink Center, and with all area temporary employment 
agencies.  Failure to register for work with the JobLink Center, ESC, or local temporary 
employment agencies will result in a MRA sanction. 

• Participants will be referred to the WIA Program at Lenoir Community College.  If 
accepted into that program, the participant is required to comply with the terms of the 
WIA program as a condition of the MRA.  Refusal of a referral to WIA or failure to 
comply with the WIA program without a good cause reason will result in a MRA 
sanction. 

33. Elimination of automatic reopening of a WFFA case.  The family must reapply if the 
assistance is terminated for any reason other than agency error or receipt of a Pay-After-
Performance check due to compliance after two months of non-compliance. 

34. All WFFA approvals for single parent or two parent families will be approved in Pay-After-
Performance (payment type 2) status. 

35. All WFFA approvals for “child only” cases will continue to be payment Type 1 status. 
36. Department of Correction checks are mandatory at application and review for all 

applicants/recipients 16 years old or older. 
37. Elimination of automatic reopening of a WFFA case.  The family must reapply if the 

assistance is terminated for any reason other than agency error or receipt of a Pay-After-
Performance check due to compliance after two months of non-compliance. 

 
LINCOLN COUNTY 
1. All able-bodied two-parent and single parent households will be assessed for Benefit 

Diversion if they are eligible for WFFA.  A thorough assessment of their present situation 
and their readiness for employment will be completed before considering Benefit Diversion.  
(Note:  Clarification requested from county to ensure compliance with the federal 
definition of diversion.) 

2. Clients will be ineligible to receive Work First unless they have met with Child Support to 
discuss how to begin the process of receiving child support prior to initiating a Work First 
application.  The child support order does not have to be in place prior to making a Work 
First Application.  All other eligibility criteria will be the same as the State. 

 
MACON COUNTY 
1. Limit the following relationships as meeting the kinship rule: 

a. Parent, including a natural mother or father, a legal father, or adoptive parent, after the 
issuance of the final order 

b. Brother, sister, including half brothers and sisters 
c. Grandparent 
d. Uncle or Aunt 
e. Stepparent 
f. Step-Brother or Sister 
g. Great Grandparents 
h. Great Uncle or Aunt 
This relative must be providing care for the child on a day-to-day basis and be responsible 
for ongoing decisions regarding the child's well being.  A relative who meets the above 
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relationships must be included in the case with the child, unless they are an SSI recipient or 
receiving SS disability income and is not a required member of the assistant unit. 

2. Count income of everyone living in the household in the budget unit EXCEPT: 
SSI recipients are not eligible for WFFA and their income will not count toward the 
assistance unit.  Do not count Social Security disability income received by budget unit 
members OTHER than those required to be included in the assistance unit; i.e., a mother and 
child reside in household with a grandfather who receives Social Security disability.  The 
grandfather's income does not count toward mother and child.  If mother and child reside in 
the home with child's father who receives Social Security disability and is a required 
assistance unit member, the father's income counts toward the assistance unit.   

3. Child only cases will be certified for one year after the initial application of six months 
certification period is completed.  Section 201 – “Reviews for Family Assistance” – adheres 
to State Plan. 

4. Macon County will follow NC Standard Plan, "Initial Screening and Assessment", WFFA 
Manual Section 101, as written EXCEPT, if applicant fails to provide information requested 
on DSS-8146A within 45 days, the Intake-Human Resource Placement Specialist may deny 
the application on the 45th day. 

 
WILSON COUNTY 
Wilson County will follow criteria established and implemented by the State for the following: 

 
• Age limits for children  
• Definition of relationships 
• Payment levels 
• Who can apply/be included in the payment 
• Benefit Calculation – 
• Sanctions 
• Resource requirements (limit and countable items) 
• Time limits and extensions 
• Benefit Diversion requirements 
• Citizenship/Identity requirements 
 

WWIILLSSOONN  CCOOUUNNTTYY  PPRROOPPOOSSEESS  TTHHEE  FFOOLLLLOOWWIINNGG  IINNIITTIIAATTIIVVEESS  AANNDD  CCHHAANNGGEESS  TTOO  CCUURRRREENNTT  PPOOLLIICCYY..    
UUNNLLEESSSS  OOTTHHEERRWWIISSEE  NNOOTTEEDD,,  TTHHEESSEE  CCHHAANNGGEESS  WWIILLLL  BBEE  IIMMPPLLEEMMEENNTTEEDD  OONNCCEE  TTHHEE  SSTTAATTEE  AANNDD  
WWIILLSSOONN  CCOOUUNNTTYY’’SS  PPLLAANN  HHAAVVEE  BBEEEENN  AAPPPPRROOVVEEDD..  
 
1. We will continue implementation of our “Working For Benefits” Pay after Performance 

Program.  All “Work Eligible” Work First Family Assistance participants will be required to 
participate in countable work and work related activities and complete satisfactorily to 
receive a Work First cash benefit check at the end of each month.  Families who fail to 
complete their required hours as mutually agreed upon in their MRA must establish “Good 
Cause” reason for non-compliance.  Wilson County will determine “Good Cause” as outlined 
in the NC Work First Policy.  Work First Social Work staff will assist participants who are 
non-compliant by requesting a meeting or Family Resource Conference.  This will be done 
immediately to assist the family/participant with program compliance.  Failure to attend the 
Family Resource Conference or complete hours of participation without good cause will 
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result in sanction (no WFFA check received).  Families must complete their required hours 
each month to be eligible for a cash assistance check 
 

2. Design and Implement “Transitional Pay after Performance Incentive Program.”   
As part of the Working for Benefits Pay after Performance program, Wilson County will 
implement a “transitional incentive payment” to all new applicants.  The transitional 
incentive payment will provide an additional cash incentive payment for completing their 
required hours during the first 3 months from the time their MRA plans are approved.  The 
incentive payment would be reduced for the 4th and 5th months and by the 6th month, the 
participants will only receive their regular Work First payment for completing their hours.  
The transitional incentive payment is meant to encourage families to progress quickly 
towards transitioning off public assistance into full time employment.  With the rising costs 
of inflation, gas prices, utility rates and the fact that the Work First payment has not 
increased since 1987, families who end up on Work First become worse off and in many 
incidences are evicted from their homes, end up homeless or move in with 
friends/relatives/shelters and become even more depressed than they were prior to applying 
for assistance.  The transitional incentive is a way to reward families for completing the 35-
40 hours per week requirement while having partial resources to maintain their most basic 
shelter (housing).  The Transitional Incentive Payment would only be a onetime assistance 
incentive.  Individuals who fail to meet their required number of hours during any part of the 
first 5 month period will be disqualified and not be eligible to continue receiving the 
incentive program payment.  Families who are found to “have good cause” for not 
completing their hours for that month may still qualify for the transitional incentive once 
they complete their required number of hours during any time during the 5-month period.  
Individuals who obtain employment after the initial 3-month period following approval of 
their application and who have successfully completed their required number of hours will be 
eligible to receive the Transitional Payment incentive in addition to regular Job Bonus.  The 
intent is to help families during the transition period.  Note:  Work First 
participants/applicants enrolled in the VIP Demonstration Grant Program at Diversified 
Opportunities will not be eligible for the transitional incentive payment as they will be 
eligible to receive a special incentive through the grant funding. 
  

3. All WFFA participants whose employment results in termination of their WFFA benefits or 
who are receiving Job Bonus will be referred to our Financial Social Work Services at Career 
Plus to develop a Financial Education and Savings Plan.  Families that follow through with 
their Financial and Savings Goals and achieve outcomes/goals will be eligible for a financial 
education incentive bonus.  Bonuses will be authorized once the family meets any of their 
identified goals.  A family may receive up to (3) financial incentive bonuses per year based 
on achieving 3 behavioral changing goals.  (Ex.  Open a savings account and depositing a 
regular amount in each month for a minimum of 4 consecutive months; or Paying all their 
bills on time to avoid late fees for a minimum period of 3 months; or increasing their credit 
score by minimum of 15 points; or who achieve increase in earnings through either a 2nd job 
or better paying job.  This incentive will also be offered to families on our childcare subsidy 
assistance program.  The goal is to reward families for changing behaviors that will lead to 
positive financial and economic stability. 

 
4. We will count/include SSI as countable income for children and parents in Work First 

Family Assistance Cases.  (Note:  Based on guidance from the Work First attorneys with 



 

 
North Carolina   54 

the Attorney General’s Office, electing counties will no longer be allowed to count SSI 
or SSDI as income.  See Standard County Policy regarding Financial Rules.  
Clarification/revision requested from the county.) 

 
5. Any child born to a Work First Family Assistance recipient is considered a “Cap” child and 

not included in the WFFA grant amount if the mother was receiving assistance in any state 
the 10th month prior to the baby’s birth, even if the mother was under a sanction. 

 
6. If a WFFA participant fails to return a Quarterly Review and requests reopening due to 

termination from that non-compliance, the participant/family’s WFFA case will be re-opened 
with a one-month penalty for failure to comply. 

 
7. All WFFA cases will adhere to an eligibility review at least once every 12 months.  Families 

are still expected to report changes, or when information is received by other sources, the 
eligibility worker may request a review more often if needed. 

 
8. All WFFA work eligible individuals are required to be actively participating in work and 

work related activities for a total of 35 - 40 hours per week.  Participation will be a 
combination of activities, which include but not limited to employment, subsidized 
employment, vocational training, skills training, education, work experience, substance abuse 
counseling, mental health, vocational rehabilitation, job readiness/job search, etc.  
Participants will be required to establish the first 20 hours of their participation in “federally 
countable activities” as stated in the NC Work First Policy.  Education will be supported in 
combination with other federal countable work activities. 

 
9. All WFFA applicants will have a 1-month penalty imposed for quitting a job unless “good 

cause” is established.  This does not affect their Medicaid eligibility.  At application, the 
Medicaid will continue to be authorized starting with the month of application if all other 
eligibility requirements are met.   
Child support payments being received by applicants should not be ended until the month the 
WFFA payment begins. 
   

10. All Child Only Kinship Care cases that have a prior involvement with CPS, Prevention, 
Juvenile Justice, or Foster Care within the last 6 months will be required to comply with the 
Kinship Care Family Assessment.  For families/children determined “at risk” of abuse, 
neglect, dependency or disruption of placement will be recommended for services.  Services 
include on-going case management, strengths and needs assessment, referral services, 
advocacy, counseling, monitoring, etc. 

 
11. All Child Only Work First Family Assistance cases with children age 6-17 who are not 

attending school regularly OR whose grades are not on grade level will be required to 
comply with the Kinship Care Family Assessment.  The goal is to help identify possible 
educational interventions to avoid children falling below grade levels and ultimately 
dropping out of school.  Resources and services will be provided based on outcomes of the 
assessment and participation of both the child and caretaker.  Caretakers who do not comply 
with the school requirements, and participate in the Kinship Care Family Assessment and 
who are determined to not have good cause will be sanctioned and may not be eligible to  
receive WFFA payment (Work First Manual Sect 103). 
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12. All Work First families who fail to comply with the treatment, compliance and verification of 

substance abuse progress will be subject to termination of benefits. 
 
13. Plan, develop, and implement a County Disability Assistance Program where parents 

applying for Work First Family Assistance who have indicated the inability to perform 
activities due to physical or mental challenges will be given the option to apply and receive 
regular WFFA or the new County Disability Assistance Program.  Funding for CDAP will be 
funded from our county reserve funding and an additional amount of $50.00 above the Work 
First benefit level will be provided monthly for a period of 1 year.  During the 1-year period, 
intense testing, assessment, medical documentation will be gathered to expedite the SSI 
approval through Social Security Administration.  Once the parent receives SSI, they will be 
evaluated for WFFA.  After one year of receiving CDAP, a WF application will be initiated 
for on-going regular WF payments. 
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APPENDIX E 
 

WORK OVER WELFARE IN CABARRUS COUNTY 
 
In legislation ratified June 12, 2003, the North Carolina General Assembly provided for the 
continuation of the Work Over Welfare (WOW) Program in Cabarrus County as a demonstration 
welfare reform program for certain Work First and Food Stamp recipients. 
 
Except as described below, Work First in Cabarrus County operates under the standard policies 
described in the State TANF Plan. 
 
The Cabarrus County WOW Program provides job opportunities to all able-bodied Work First 
and Food Stamp recipients who are required to participate in Work First Employment Services. 
 
WOW is primarily a wage-supplementation program that diverts the Work First benefits and the 
cash value of Food Stamp benefits that would be paid to recipients to match employer funds and 
subsidize the recipients’ wages.  
 
Wages paid to WOW participants, which contain grant-diverted funds, are exempt from income 
for purpose of determining eligibility for assistance. 
 
Participants are subject to termination of Work First benefits for the household the month 
following any month in which they fail to comply with participation requirements.  Benefits are 
restored after the client agrees to comply with requirements and files a new application.  
 
To ensure that children are not harmed, sanctioned households are monitored by social workers, 
and benefits may be paid directly to vendors for basic needs.  
All individuals will be evaluated for ongoing Medicaid any time Work First terminates.  
 
A recipient who voluntarily terminates employment without good cause will be ineligible for 
Work First until the individual returns to work, provided work opportunities are available.  
 
Failure or refusal to pursue child support without good cause is grounds for denial of benefits. 
 
Benefit Diversion payments will be made in amounts up to one thousand two hundred dollars 
($1,200).  Applicants receiving the diversion payment will not be eligible for ongoing Work First 
benefits for a period of three months from the date of receipt of the diversion payment.  
Individuals receiving a diversion payment must attend budgetary counseling and may be 
required to have a protective payee for the diversion payment. 
 
Federal funds may be transferred from the TANF Block Grant to the Social Services Block Grant 
to be used to pay for home studies, attorney fees, ongoing cash payments for the adoptive family, 
and other adoption expenses for Work First children who are living with relatives other than 
their biological parents. 
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APPENDIX F 
 

SERVICES FUNDED UNDER AFDC-EA 
 
North Carolina will continue to provide services to families as approved under Parts A and F of 
Title IV of the Social Security Act as in effect on September 30, 1995.  North Carolina defined a 
comprehensive services program under the AFDC-EA service component and intends to 
continue to fund these services.  Only federal TANF funds will be used under this provision. 
 
Specifically, the services listed in the plan will be provided to families or children who are 
experiencing an emergency as defined in the plan and who do not have sufficient resources to 
alleviate the emergency.  Services specifically include all child welfare services (e.g., child 
protection, preventive family services, family preservation, foster care and adoption services 
including foster care payments.  Residential and emergency placement services can also be 
funded through this provision. 
 
The approved plan that was in effect on September 30, 1995, is included on the following three 
pages for reference.



 

 
North Carolina   58 

SECTION 3 EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE TO NEEDY FAMILIES WITH 
CHILDREN 

Citations: 
233.120 A. Emergency assistance to needy families with children under the age of 21 

is provided in accordance with 45 CFR 233.120.   
 

(  ) No (Paragraphs B. - D of this Section do not apply.) 
(x) Yes, as specified below: 

 
Emergency Assistance shall be provided to or on behalf of a needy child 
under the age of 21, the specified relative of the needy child, and any other 
member of the household in which he is living.  The needy child under the 
age of 21 who is within the specified degree of relationship must be living 
with the specified relative or have lived with the specified relative within 
six months prior to the month in which Emergency Assistance is 
requested.   

 
B. Families of migrant workers are covered.   
 

(   ) No. 
(x) Yes, on Statewide basis. 
(   ) Yes, but only in the following areas of the State: 

 
C. Other eligibility requirements are in effect.   
 

(   ) No. 
(x) Yes, as specified below. 
 
1. To be eligible for AFDC-Emergency Assistance, the applicant 

family must be without resources available to pay for what is 
needed to alleviate the emergency.   

 
2. An individual who is an illegal alien is not eligible for AFDC-

Emergency Assistance.   
 

D. The kinds of emergency situations which are covered by this program and 
the kinds of assistance and services provided to meet the emergency 
situations are detailed in Attachment 3-A.   
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EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE TO NEEDY FAMILIES WITH CHILDREN Citations: 
           233.120 
A. Kinds of emergencies covered.   
 

1. a crisis situation resulting from a catastrophic illness 
2. substantial loss of shelter, food, clothing, or household furnishings due to fire, 

flood, or similar natural or man-made disaster, or a crime of violence 
3. emergency situation over which there was no control and which left the family 

homeless or in immediate danger of eviction or foreclosure 
4. a situation in which Emergency Assistance is necessary to avoid destitution of the 

needy child or to provide shelter for the child 
5. emergency situation which could lead to destitution and the destitution or need for 

a living arrangement did not arise because the child or a specified relative refused, 
without good cause, to accept employment or training for employment 

6. mass emergencies 
7. loss of a relative who has been responsible for support and/or care of one of his 

family members 
8. abuse, neglect, or dependency of children 
9. situation in which a child is at risk of removal from the home 
10. situation in which return to the home of a child who is currently separated from 

his family may create an emergency. 
 

B. A heating or cooling-related emergency shall not be covered.   
 
C. Kinds of assistance provided to meet emergency situations. 
 

1. Cash assistance up to a maximum of $300 to alleviate the emergency by meeting 
basic needs for families whose total net income is at or below 110% of the current 
poverty level and total countable reserve is at or below $2,200.  (Liquid assets 
must be at or below $300.)  Basic needs include: 

 
(a) temporary shelter, food, and clothing; 
(b) transportation: 
(c) home repairs such as repair of frozen pipes and plastic covering for 

windows; 
(d) replacement or repair, when appropriate, of necessary appliances, 

household items, or furniture; 
(e) outpatient medical services such as prescriptions, eyeglasses, and doctor 

visits if the expense is not covered by the Medicaid Program, or the 
individual needing the care is either not receiving or is ineligible for 
Medicaid: 

(f) In-kind goods such as clothing, blankets, food: 
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          Citations: 
          233.120 
 
2. In-Home Services including Assessment; Case Management/Service Planning and 

Coordination; Counseling and Treatment Services; Family Support/Family 
Preservation: Day Support Services: and Psycho-Educational Services. 

 
3. Out-of-Home Services, including Residential Placement; Care and Treatment in a 

Family Setting; and Care and Treatment in a Group Setting. 
 
4. Other Services, including Consultation and Education; Other Child Welfare 

Services; and, Transportation.   
 
 
NOTE: The above assistance must be authorized within a single 30-day period no 

less than 12 months after the beginning of the family's last EA authorization 
period and are limited to a maximum duration of 364 days.   
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