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WORK FIRST STATE PLAN 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 

 

INTRODUCTION 

 

North Carolina’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, called Work First, 

and is based on the premise that parents have a responsibility to support themselves and their 

children.  The Work First program promotes a strengths-based, family-centered practice 

approach and shares in the mission of the North Carolina Department of Health and Human 

Services, in collaboration with its, partners, to protect the health and safety of all North 

Carolinians and provide essential human services.  Work First provides parents with short-term 

training and other services to help them become employed and move toward self-sufficiency.  

Other families where grandparents and relatives are caring for their relative children and legal 

guardians are able to receive services and support that prevent children from entering the foster 

care system unnecessarily. 

 

In accordance with federal law, TANF funds, as well as maintenance of efforts (MOE) funds 

must meet one of four purposes.  The four purposes under TANF are: 

 

1. Assist needy families so that children may be cared for in their own homes or in the homes of 

relatives 

2. Reduce dependence of needy parents by promoting job preparation, work, and/or marriage 

3. Prevent or reduce the incidence of out-of-wedlock pregnancies 

4. Encourage the formation and maintenance of two-parent families 

 

In North Carolina, Work First emphasizes three strategies: 

 

1. Diversion:  Keeping families off welfare by helping them cope with unexpected emergencies 

or setbacks.  

Under Work First, qualifying families may receive Benefit Diversion, Emergency Assistance, 

Work First Services for Low-Income Families below or at 200% of the Federal Poverty 

Level, or Employment Services for Non-Custodial Parents and other supportive services if 

applicable. 

2. Work:  Shortening the length of time that families are on Work First by making work 

mandatory and by limiting how long a family can receive cash assistance.  

To receive Work First Family Assistance (WFFA) participants must sign a Mutual 

Responsibility Agreement (MRA)/Outcome Plan.  Once the participants move into the work 

components of the program, they can continue to receive benefits for up to 24 months.  In 

most cases, families who have reached the 24-month limit cannot receive WFFA for three 

years.  Federal law sets a 60-month cumulative time limit for receiving these benefits. 

3. Retention:  Helping families to stay off Work First by encouraging them to save money and 

by helping to make sure they really are better off working than on Work First.  

Work First increased limits from the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) on 

savings, vehicles, and the state legislature raised income eligibility limits for subsidized child 

care to ease the burden on low-income, working families. To help families stay employed, 

counties are also providing services, such as transportation, child care, and other supportive 

services to families whose income is at or below 200 percent of the federal poverty level.  

Families leaving WFFA for work may receive a Job Bonus payment for three months. 
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Ultimately, North Carolina’s goal is to help all families move to self-sufficiency.  Most are able 

to successfully leave the Work First program and never need to return.  Others, because of 

hardship or disability, may have a harder time becoming self-sufficient.  With those families, the 

role of the Work First program is to ensure that families receive all of the services for which they 

are entitled, such as Supplemental Security Income, Social Security Disability Insurance, etc. 

 

North Carolina’s success thus far at helping families move from cash assistance to work has led 

to a broadened focus for the Work First program.  No longer is the focus just on helping those 

families who receive cash assistance move off the rolls.  While North Carolina remains 

committed to continuing assistance to those families, the state has added the flexibility and 

program structure for counties to provide former Work First families with job retention and child 

and family enrichment services designed to help ensure families experience long-term success.  

Further, since child support is critical to ensuring families’ success, North Carolina has expanded 

the Work First program to allow counties to provide work-related services to non-custodial 

parents of Work First children. 

 

Ensuring optimal health and well-being of all North Carolinians is of the utmost concern.  

Toward that end, North Carolina has taken advantage of the opportunity offered by the TANF 

Block Grant to enhance our efforts in this area.   

 

STATE WELFARE REFORM LEGISLATION 

 

One provision of North Carolina’s law provides for TANF program development by local county 

governments.  The law refers to counties as Standard or Electing.  Standard Counties operate the 

State’s Work First program while Electing counties have additional flexibility in program design.  

See Appendix D for a summary of Electing Counties’ eligibility policies. 

 

All counties have maximum flexibility in designing their employment programs to meet local 

needs.  However, State law provides that Electing Counties, when combined, can contain no 

more than 15.5% of the State’s Work First cases (at September 1 of each year).  The State’s and 

each Electing County’s eligibility criteria are described later in this document.  (Throughout this 

plan, all references to “Electing counties” refer to those counties that have been approved as 

Electing, which may allow them to design their county’s Work First program including certain 

eligibility criteria and benefit levels.) 

 

PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION 

 

The N. C. Department of Health and Human Services is responsible for establishing, supervising, 

and monitoring the Work First program.  At present, all services and benefits are delivered 

locally by county departments of social services/agencies in each of North Carolina’s 100 

counties, although Electing counties may choose to designate an alternative service delivery 

agent. 

 

Electing counties developed a county Work First block grant plan, including descriptions of 

strategies to achieve the measurable statewide outcome goals and performance measures 

described in this plan.  Development of Electing county plans must involve a broad range of 

public, private, and nonprofit groups.  See Appendix A for further discussion on county plan 

development. 
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Standard counties maintain required protocols and policies for services on file at the local county 

department of social services/agencies for State Fiscal Year monitoring.  All counties are 

monitored to ensure compliance with program requirements. 

 

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Social Services has a 

Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the North Carolina Department of Commerce Division 

of Division of Workforce Solutions (services include access to Workforce Innovative 

Opportunity Act (WIOA) and the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Services.  These 

agreements outline the services that will be provided by each agency to ensure that the needs of 

Work First participants’ are met.  

 

The Division requires the local county department of social services/agencies to collaborate and 

coordinate services with the local Division of Employment Security, Division of Vocational 

Rehabilitation and the (the Local Management Entity offices), Department of Public Instruction 

and Head Start State Collaboration Office to provide services to assist Work First participants in 

obtaining employment and moving towards self-sufficiency.  The Department encourages 

counties to partner with local resources and community agencies to assist Work First 

participants. 

 

WORK FIRST ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA (UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED) 

 

Receipt of Work First is based on both non-financial and financial criteria, which are described 

in Appendix C.  Cabarrus County operates a Work Over Welfare program under State law.  Their 

program criteria are described in Appendix E.  Electing Counties’ criteria are described in 

Appendix D.   

 

The responsibilities of the recipient and the county are outlined in a MRA/Outcome Plan that 

describes steps the family will take to become self-sufficient and supportive services the county 

will provide.  (See Appendix B) 

 

EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE (ALL COUNTIES)  

 

Counties must use their Work First block grant funds to provide emergency assistance to 

families.  Counties must define the eligibility criteria including who is eligible and the types of 

emergencies that will be covered.  This assistance is designed to assist with families’ sporadic 

emergency needs, such as a utility cut-off or an eviction notice.  Emergency assistance is not 

designed specifically to help families move to self-sufficiency, although, use of this assistance 

could help a family’s progress.  

 

Counties will comply with federal requirements.  Emergency assistance does not trigger the 24 

or 60-month time limit, nor will families receiving emergency assistance be required to 

participate in the Work First program.  In addition, families who have exhausted their 24 or 60-

month time limit are eligible for Emergency Assistance, provided all other eligibility criteria are 

met.  These families are not included in calculating the State’s participation rates. 

 

Counties are allowed to define and describe in their plans local eligibility criteria that include, at 

a minimum, the following guidelines: 
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 The family must have a child who lives with a parent or relative as defined in Work First 

policy and who meets the age requirements for Work First. 

 Total income must be at or below 200% of the federal poverty level. 

 Family members must meet the same citizenship requirements and resource limits as for 

Work First. 

 Countable income is the same as for Work First. 

 

APPEALS PROCESS  

 

For Standard Counties, the N. C. Department of Health and Human Services has set uniform 

policies for determining eligibility, providing benefits, and ensuring fair and equitable treatment.  

Applicants or recipients who wish to contest a decision adversely affecting their receipt of 

WFFA or workers contending a breach of the non-displacement in work activity provision of 

federal law, may appeal in accordance with N.C.G.S. 108A-79.  Families are informed of their 

right to appeal and are provided with copies of Work First policy upon request.  Electing 

Counties, as required by State law, have established a local appeals process that substantially 

complies with the appeals process outlined in N.C.G.S. 108A-79.  For Electing Counties, all 

appeals for Work First are heard locally, not by the State Division of Social Services.  Applicants 

and recipients with disabilities and language needs are provided with reasonable 

accommodations to assist them in participating in the appeals process if requested. 

 

WORK FIRST SERVICES 

 

It is important that families receive the services needed to assist them in moving toward self-

sufficiency.  All counties have maximum flexibility in deciding how they utilize their block 

grants to provide services to enable families to become and remain self-sufficient.  The 

flexibility available to county departments of social services/agencies makes it impossible to 

outline all of the services that may be provided.  Services that are not specifically prohibited by 

federal law or regulation may be provided.  To the extent that Work First services are available, 

they may be provided to recipients of Work First Cash Assistance at any time to support the 

activities in the MRA/Outcome Plan.  In addition, support and family enrichment services may 

be provided for families whose income does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty level, and 

work-related services may be provided to non-custodial parents of Work First recipient children.  

The Electing County’s Work First Plan describes how services will be provided. 

 

Serving Non-Custodial Parents (Optional in All Counties) 

 

Child support should be a primary income source for most Work First families and a way for 

former Work First families to remain off Work First.  To enhance non-custodial parents’ ability 

to pay child support, North Carolina allows counties to provide work-related services for non-

custodial parents of minor children who are Work First recipients.  The non-custodial parent’s 

family income must be at or below 200% of the federal poverty guideline.  The non-custodial 

parent is not considered a member of the custodial parent’s or caretaker’s family.  In addition to 

the ability to provide work-related services, Work First staff is encouraged to work with their 

local Child Support Enforcement Office and judicial system to have child support orders 

modified to require the non-custodial parent’s participation in employment activities.  
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Serving Low Income Families 

 

All counties are to provide in their county plan a variety of services for families with income at 

or below 200% of the federal poverty level that have a child who meets the same requirements as 

for WFFA or Work First services.   

 

Counties describe in their county plans how they will provide such services and what types of 

services they will provide.  Services may be varied, including but not limited to, transportation, 

child care, job retention bonuses, case management, follow-up services, mentoring programs, 

after-school learning programs, parenting programs, literacy programs, and post-employment 

skills training.  Families who have exhausted their 24 or 60-month time limit are eligible for 

these services, provided all other eligibility criteria are met. 

 

Child Care Services 

 

Counties may provide child care services subsidized by their Work First Block Grant funds.  To 

qualify, families must be eligible for WFFA or for Work First Services as described in this plan.  

The child care services provided must comply with subsidized child care policies administered 

by the Division of Child Development and Early Education (DCDEE).  All parents receiving 

child care subsidies have a choice of using legally operating providers and information to help 

them evaluate their child care arrangement.  

 

All parents who have countable income are required to help pay for the cost of child care in 

accordance with the fee schedules administered by DCDEE.   

 

Transportation Services  
 

Counties are encouraged to develop local partnerships with other human services agencies, 

transit systems, businesses, workforce development agencies, faith community, civic 

organizations, etc., to develop and expand alternative transportation resources to meet the 

community’s transportation needs.  Issues such as communication, coordination, mutual trust and 

respect, policies, marketing, funding resources and cost sharing are all part of the discussion 

process.  

 

Some counties have developed car ownership programs through partnerships with other 

organizations.  Vehicles donated from private citizens, businesses, and/or local governments are 

given to select Work First families.  There are many different versions of car ownership 

programs in operation in North Carolina.  Most programs require that the Work First recipient 

pay at least a portion of the costs associated with liability insurance, repairs, taxes, and license 

and/or title fees.  Some counties use Work First Block Grant Funds to purchase vehicles, make 

down payments, and assist with regular car payments or car repairs for Work First families.  

 

Eldercare Services 

 

The Work First program will continue to provide assistance to work eligible individuals to train 

for, seek and maintain employment in the eldercare workforce.  Work First Employment 

Services’ job skills training, work experience and employment retention services include training 

and employment for certified nursing assistants (CNAs), home health aides, and other 

occupations related to eldercare.  In addition case management services provides employment 
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retention services for positions that include CNAs, home health aides and other occupations 

related to eldercare. Assistance may include tuition, payment of course fees, books, instructional 

materials, special equipment (i.e., lab coats, stethoscopes, etc.) and supportive services such as 

child care and transportation services. 

 

The Department will collaborate with the North Carolina Division on Aging and Adult Services 

(DAAS) on eldercare issues.  Local agencies are required to keep informed of local economic 

trends and provide employment services, including job skills training and job development, 

based on these trends. 

 

Homelessness 

 

Counties may use TANF and county funds to serve homeless families and families at risk of 

experiencing homelessness.  These families must be considered TANF eligible or TANF 

recipients.  The services provided may include but are not limited to payments to cover basic 

needs, supportive services, and employment services.  Counties may partner with local resources 

to coordinate and streamline services to prevent homelessness and promote self-sufficiency. 

 

Voter’s Registration 

The purpose of the National Voter’s Registration Act (NVRA) is to make available more 

opportunities for people to vote. The local county department of social services/agencies must 

ensure voter registration forms are available to individuals during their visits.   The voter’s 

registration questions are located in the WFFA Application Workbook (DSS-8228), Intelligence 

Evidence Gathering (IEG) and the one page application in NC FAST. If the individual asks for 

assistance in completing the voter registration form, the local county department of social 

services/agencies must provide assistance. County departments of social services/agencies 

inform the individual that the Board of Elections processes applications to register to vote. 

Questions concerning voter registration must be directed to the Local Board of Elections. 

Workforce Innovative Opportunity Act (WIOA) 

North Carolina’s (TANF) Work First program is a required and active partner with WIOA.  

Collaborative meetings are held quarterly to develop and implement best practices. 

The Workforce Innovative Opportunity Act (WIOA) includes six core programs: Adult, 

Dislocated Worker, and Youth Formula Grants under Title I; Adult Education State Grants under 

Title II; Wagner-Peyser Employment Services under Title III; and Vocational Rehabilitation 

State Grants under Title IV. 

 

Priority of Service Requirements 

 

WIOA includes enhanced “priority of service” requirements to ensure that recipients of public 

assistance and other hard-to serve populations are able to access critical employment and 

training services through the AJC system. TANF programs should work with workforce 

development boards and AJC operators to develop and implement new priority of service 

policies, and ensure that TANF recipients are prioritized under such policies 

and that they are offered services that meet their needs. 
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Work-Based Training 

 

WIOA strengthens the workforce system’s focus on work-based training strategies for adults and 

youth with barriers to employment, including on-the-job training, subsidized employment, and 

work experience. Some TANF agencies have recent experience with such programs for 

disadvantaged workers, and can assist WIOA agencies in implementing them. State and local 

planning efforts should identify areas where WIOA and TANF resources can be aligned to 

support and expand these efforts. 

 

Employer Engagement 

 

Local workforce boards must engage employers in order to ensure that workforce investment 

activities meet the needs of businesses. Importantly, WIOA emphasizes the creation and 

use of industry or sector partnerships, which bring together stakeholders connected to local 

industries to develop short and long-term workforce strategies in those industries. TANF 

programs should be included in local sector partnerships in order to engage employers and 

ensure that TANF participants can access emerging job opportunities. 

 

North Carolina’s (TANF) Work First program is a required and active partner with WIOA.  

Collaborative meetings are held quarterly to develop and implement best practices. 

 

 State and County TANF/Work First  representatives participate in the planning of the 

Workforce Innovation and Opportunity  Act (WIOA) “unified plan” to identify career 

pathways for  TANF/Work First participants.  Career pathways includes a combination of 

education, training, credentials and career counseling  that align with skill needs of state/ 

local industries.   

 

 Support services needed by TANF/Work First participants to participate in career pathways 

through WIOA and/or the NC Community College System are included.   

 

 TANF/Work First participants are considered a “priority of service” for WIOA.  State and 

County TANF/Work First representatives work collaboratively with WIOA and NC Works 

Career Centers to develop and implement “priority of services” policies, referral procedures 

and disposition tracking.  

 

 County TANF/Work First programs partner with local NC Works Career Centers to provide 

TANF/Work First participants with an array of services and labor market information offered 

through one-stop career services centers.  State and County TANF/Work First representatives 

assist WIOA, Vocational Rehabilitation Services and NC Works Career Centers in planning 

work-based training strategies for TANF/Work First participants with barriers to employment 

(including on the job training, subsidized employment and work experience programs). 

 

 State and County TANF/Work First representatives partner state and local workforce 

development boards to engage employers and stakeholders to develop workforce strategies to 

ensure that TANF/Work First participants have access to emerging job opportunities with 

local businesses and industry.  

 Increase cross-program (TANF/Work First & WIOA) knowledge and training among staff 

members. 

  
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 Coordination of services of TANF/Work First with Workforce Development partners through 

a formalized appraisal / referral processes.   
 

SUBSTANCE USE AND MENTAL HEALTH INITIATIVE 

 

North Carolina law (NCGS 108A-29.1) requires substance use screening and testing for the 

illegal use of controlled substances, if there is reasonable suspicion, for each Work First program 

adult applicant or recipient as a condition of eligibility to receive assistance. Adult applicants or 

recipients will complete a substance use questionnaire designed to determine if an adult applicant 

or recipient is at risk for alcohol and/or substance use disorders. If the results indicate reasonable 

suspicion of substance use, a drug test is required within a period of time as specified by the 

Department.  The results of drug tests will remain confidential and will not be released to law 

enforcement. 

 

A voluntary mental health screening is offered to all adult Work First applicants and recipients as 

part of the interview process. If the screening indicates the adult is at risk for mental health 

issues, the applicant/recipient may be referred to a Qualified Professional in Substance Abuse 

(QPSA) for further assessment. If appropriate, a substance use referral is made through the Local 

Management Entity – Managed Care Organization (LME-MCO) to identify a provider for 

treatment and then a treatment plan is developed. The QPSA serves as the care coordinator to 

track the adult's engagement in treatment.  The QPSA and the Work First caseworker jointly 

develop a plan for the family to ensure success.  If an adult refuses to be screened initially for 

substance use, the adult is ineligible for Work First Cash Assistance but may still apply for 

Medicaid. If otherwise eligible, the remaining household members can receive cash assistance. 

 

If the adult fails to comply with the treatment plan without good cause; the adult is ineligible for 

cash assistance.  The QPSA will assist the Work First worker in determining good cause. The 

family’s payment is recalculated with the adult excluded from the needs unit, and the payment is 

made to a protective payee.  Participants in treatment programs are expected to combine 

treatment with other appropriate work activities. 

 

WORK FIRST STAFF TRAINING 

 

The Division of Social Services Work First Program in collaboration with NC FAST and the 

Division of Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services provided 

the Work First Substance Use and Mental Health Initiative Training Webinar.  This training was 

to assist counties in preparing for Substance Use Testing implementation on August 3, 2015.  All 

100 NC counties participated in the training webinar. 

 

The Work First Program will collaborate with the appropriate partners and develop additional 

training for County TANF/Work First staff on “motivational interviewing”, two-generational 

approaches and child development evidenced-based practice (impact of poverty on cognitive 

development and executive functioning. 

 

FRAUD AND ABUSE  

 

The Department of Health and Human Services enforces standards and procedures to detect and 

prevent fraud and abuse by recipients and employees of the program.  An administrative hearing 

process enables county departments of social services/agencies to identify cases of intentional 
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program violations.  Individuals found to have committed an intentional program violation are 

disqualified from WFFA for 12 months for the first offense, 24 months for the second offense, 

and permanently for the third.  The cash benefit is reduced by the needs of the offender but the 

offender continues to be subject to time limits and work requirements.  The overpayment is also 

recovered by repayment or payment reduction. The family may apply for Medicaid. 

 

OUT-OF-WEDLOCK BIRTHS 

 

Because out-of-wedlock births are so closely linked to poverty, reducing these births should 

improve the health of women and children and help reduce dependency on public assistance.  

 

Circumstances contributing to out-of-wedlock births are complex.  Strategies to reduce them 

must address a range of issues from access to family planning services to promoting abstinence 

and responsible behavior. 

 

County health and social services departments/agencies continue to collaborate to ensure that all 

recipients receive needed family planning services.  Each county health and social services 

department/agencies has formulated a plan to reduce barriers and promote family planning 

service utilization.  An indicator to determine the percent of out-of-wedlock births has been 

added to the Maternal and Child Health Accountability System to monitor health departments as 

they strive to meet this goal.  This indicator is tracked on a county-by-county basis and is used in 

the evaluation of each health department's effectiveness, resulting in health departments adopting 

strategies to improve their county performance measures. 

 

The Department gives high priority to its adolescent parenting and adolescent pregnancy 

prevention programs and continues to monitor prevention efforts, particularly those aimed at 

reducing teen pregnancy. 

 

Teen Pregnancy Prevention Initiatives (TPPI), housed in the Division of Public Health, provides 

funding for local health departments, social services departments/agencies, school systems, and 

other community-based agencies to work with adolescents to prevent pregnancy among target 

populations.  These agencies use “best practice models” in group settings.  Techniques may 

include abstinence and life-skills education, youth development, parent workshops, counseling 

and referral, community awareness efforts, and male involvement.  Topics include decision-

making, leadership, information about specific areas of concern such as sexual coercion, 

statutory rape laws, and/or service learning.  

 

FORMATION AND MAINTENANCE OF TWO-PARENT FAMILIES 

 

Researchers have found many benefits for men, women, children and communities who are in 

healthy marriages.  Some individuals are less likely to remain or end up in poverty and children 

and youth are less likely to become pregnant as a teenager when raised by parents in healthy 

marriages.  The mission of the Healthy Marriages Initiative is to help couples that have chosen 

marriage for themselves, gain greater access to marriage education services, on a voluntary basis, 

where they can acquire the skills and knowledge necessary to form and sustain a healthy 

marriage.  Local community based Family Resource Centers, provides a comprehensive array of 

family support programs, services and activities to encourage the formation and maintenance of 

two-parent families.  
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INDIAN TRIBES 

 

The Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians (EBCI) are approved to operate a Tribal TANF plan by 

the United States Department of Health and Human Services Administration for Children and 

Families.  The EBCI TANF Tribal plan provides for the intake, eligibility determination, cash 

assistance, employment services, and case management for tribal families.  The EBCI continues 

to operate a pre-existing Native Employment Worker (NEW) program.  Therefore, North 

Carolina does not include these individuals in the state’s federal work participation rate. 

 

INDIVIDUAL DEVELOPMENT ACCOUNTS  

 

Counties may establish Individual Development Accounts (IDA) projects locally based on the 

counties’ resources available.  Counties’ IDA projects must comply with federal regulations and 

with Section 404 (h) of the Social Security Act. 

 

CONFIDENTIALITY 

 

The Division complies with state and federal law/regulation as it pertains to confidential 

information.  North Carolina General Statute 108A-80 states that it is unlawful for information to 

be released from a family’s records, except for the purposes directly connected with the 

administration of programs of public assistance and social services.  The General Statute requires 

the Division to establish and enforce policies governing restrictions on the use and disclosure of 

any information concerning applicants and recipients of public assistance and comply with 

applicable provisions of the Social Security Act concerning confidentiality. 

 

FAMILY VIOLENCE OPTION 

 

North Carolina has adopted the Family Violence Option.  The State has developed standards and 

procedures to notify all Work First applicants and recipients about domestic violence and the 

Option, and to identify applicants and recipients with a history of being a victim of domestic 

violence. These individuals are referred to counseling and supportive services (while maintaining 

their confidentiality) and may receive a temporary waiver from one or more Work First 

requirements, if domestic violence is preventing them from meeting these requirements. 

 

The Department may waive Work First requirements such as time limits, participation in work 

activities, child support cooperation, and family cap provisions in cases where there is good 

cause that compliance would make it more difficult for the recipient to escape domestic violence.  

These waivers also apply to situations that would unfairly penalize someone who is, or has been, 

a victim of domestic violence.  The length of waivers is determined on a case-by-case basis but 

may not exceed six months at a time may be reevaluated as appropriate. 

 

LOCAL DEMONSTRATIONS OR PILOT PROGRAMS  

 

Counties may apply to design and operate demonstrations or pilot programs to investigate 

various ways of meeting the Work First program purposes and goals.  These demonstrations will 

likely be in areas in which the county lacks the authority to make specific program changes.  

Funding, in addition to the county’s local block grant, may or may not be provided.  There may 

be instances in which the State asks for proposals to address a specific topic.  In other situations, 

counties may apply to the State to operate a pilot without an official request from the State. 
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TANF ELIGIBLE FAMILIES 

 

In order to achieve the goals of Work First, North Carolina opts to take advantage of the 

flexibility allowed in the federal law and regulations.  Toward that end, the Department defines 

several categories of eligible families.  Eligible families include the following: 

 

 Families that meet the income and resource requirements outlined in Appendices C and D 

will be provided WFFA or Benefit Diversion if Benefit Diversion is offered by the county.   

 Services to prevent or delay pregnancies to unwed parents, teenage parents or other high-risk 

populations are provided without regard to family income. 

 Pregnant women (with Work First eligible children in the household) whose income is at or 

below 200% of the federal poverty level may receive support services. 

 Non-custodial parents of Work First children where the non-custodial parent’s family income 

does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty guideline may receive work-related services. 

 All other services, including, but not limited to:  Job retention and advancement services, 

employment services, support services, and preventive family services (including child 

protective services and related child welfare activities), but not assistance, may be provided 

to families with incomes that do not exceed 200% of the federal poverty guideline. 

 Limited follow-up and referral services can be provided to any former Work First recipient 

without regard to family income.   

 In addition to serving the families described above, North Carolina provides services covered 

in North Carolina’s approved State Plan as authorized by Parts A and F of Title IV of the 

Social Security Act in September 1995.  For a description of these services, see Appendix F. 

 Child Protective Services and related Child Welfare Services may be provided without regard 

to family income. 

 

GENDER EQUALITY 

The Supreme Court ruling of October 2014, made same-sex marriage constitutional in all states.  

When determining the definition of “spouse,” this would include a legally married individual 

regardless of gender. 

 
USE OF FUNDS 

 

Federal funds will be used in accordance with federal law and regulations. 

 

TANF funds will be used to meet the four purposes specified in the P.L. 104-193.  Federal, State, 

and county TANF funds will be invested in activities to support achievement of specified 

outcome measures.  These activities include, but are not limited to enhanced training for State 

and local staff, automation, employer incentives, family planning services, substance use 

treatment, child care, transportation, and other activities promoting self-sufficiency for families.  

In addition, federal TANF funds will be used for the services previously included in the AFDC-

EA plan as specified in Appendix F. 

 

Federal TANF funds may be spent as follows and in accordance with federal law and 

regulations: 

 

 WFFA and Work First Services. 

 Child care. 
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 Supportive services, including, but not limited to work-related expenses and transportation.  

Educational activities intended to increase self-sufficiency, job training, and work, excluding 

any expenditure for public education in the State except expenditures that involve the 

provision of services or assistance to a member of an eligible family that is not generally 

available to other people. 

Administrative costs (which may not exceed 15% of the total funds spent for purposes under 

Title I of the federal block grant). [Administration is defined as costs associated with office 

directors, policy, fiscal, budget, personnel, purchasing, legal, clerical support, and direct, 

indirect, and allocated costs in support of these positions.  The costs of staff that provide case 

management, program supervisors, program clerical staff, and support costs of program staff 

are services costs rather than administrative costs.  The staff time spent solely on determining 

financial eligibility, including evaluating assets, is counted as administration.]  

 Case management services, including outreach and follow-up activities. 

 Expansion of child support efforts, including fatherhood initiatives, training for eligible 

non-custodial parents.  TANF funds or MOE will be used to fund a concentrated plan to 

increase the level of collections for eligible families.  

 Federal funds may also be used to help meet cost-sharing requirements under the Job 

Access program under Section 3037 of the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century 

(P.L. 105-178). 

 Automating the provisions of the law. 

 Other uses that reasonably can be expected to enable families to care for children in their 

homes; that promote job preparation, work, and marriage; that prevent or reduce the 

incidence of out of wedlock pregnancies; and that encourage parents to marry and remain 

married.  

 Any purpose for which the State was authorized to use funds received under Parts A and 

F of Title IV of the Social Security Act as they were in effect on September 30, 1995.  

This means that North Carolina will continue, as it has since 1995, to provide services 

(including child welfare services) to at-risk children as was approved in the Title IV-A 

State Plan as of September 30, 1995.  A description of these services is located in 

Appendix F. 

 

If federal TANF funds are insufficient to cover cash assistance costs in the event of economic 

downturns, other Federal, State, and county funds may be used to meet the costs of assisting 

needy families. 

 

Counties are able to retain partial collections made on overpayments to recipients not due to 

agency error, including child care overpayments. 

 

MAINTENANCE OF EFFORT 

 

Under State law, both the counties and the State provide Maintenance of Effort funds.  County 

spending is generally through the County Work First Block Grant.  This Block Grant contains an 

allocation of Federal funds to be used for those services that meet the requirements for TANF 

funds.  It also contains state and county funds that are used to meet the Maintenance of Effort 

requirements.  Additional State funds for Maintenance of Effort are spent on such items as child 

care, State administrative costs and automation. 

 

Maintenance of Effort funds may be used for the activities listed below. 
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 WFFA. 

 Child care. 

 Supportive and preventive services, including, but not limited to child and family enrichment 

services, work-related expenses, and transportation. 

 Educational activities intended to increase self-sufficiency, job training, and work, excluding 

any expenditure for public education in the State except expenditures that involve the 

provision of services or assistance to a member of an eligible family that is not generally 

available to other people. 

 Administrative costs (which may not exceed 15% of the total funds spent for purposes under 

Title I of the federal block grant).  

[Administration is defined as costs associated with office directors, policy, fiscal, budget, 

personnel, purchasing, legal, clerical support, and direct, indirect, and allocated costs in 

support of these positions.  The costs of staff that provide case management, program 

supervisors, program clerical staff, and support costs of program staff are services costs 

rather than administrative costs.  The staff time spent solely on determining financial 

eligibility, including evaluating assets, is counted as administration.] 

 Case management services, including outreach and follow-up activities. 

 Services such as housing assistance or health care assistance that can help families meet their 

goals for self-sufficiency. 

 Automating the provisions of the law. 

 Other uses that reasonably can be expected to enable families to care for children in their 

homes; that promote job preparation, work, and marriage; that prevent or reduce the 

incidence of out of wedlock pregnancies; and that encourage parents to marry and remain 

married.  

 Programs for at-risk youth that provide after school programming, mentorship, remediation, 

alternative education, dropout prevention, and other supportive services. 

 Early Education and other school readiness programs intended to ensure youth are prepared 

to enter school.  

 

IMPLEMENTATION 

 

North Carolina will phase in implementation, based on resources, training needed, and 

automation abilities.  Any changes requiring modifications to the existing Client Services Data 

Warehouse (CSDW), Services Information System (SIS)or North Carolina Families Accessing 

Services through Technology (NC FAST) that support the Work First Cash Assistance program 

will be delayed until the modifications can be implemented in the systems.  Existing policies 

remain in effect until the required automation changes can be made effective or changes not 

requiring automation can be put into place. 

 

AMERICANS FOR DISABILITIES ACT REQUIREMENTS (ALL COUNTIES) 

 

In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) 

policy, county departments of social services/agencies are prohibited from discriminating against 

any person on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion or disability in 

admission, treatment or participation in its programs, services activities, or in employment.  All 

counties are required to have policies and practices on compliance with American with 

Disabilities Act (ADA), as well as the provision of interpreter services for its citizens that require 

such accommodations.  Counties are asked to provide a detailed discussion on how the county 

complies with ADA, as well as how they provide requests for interpreter services.   
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To ensure effective communication and meaningful access to programs and services, individuals 

with disabilities will be notified of the availability of services at no cost.  Such services may 

include, but are not limited to, sign language interpretation and foreign language interpretation 

services. 

 

Documents notifying applicants and program participants of adverse actions will be 

communicated in plain language; will be provided in the applicant or program participant’s 

primary language; or will advise the program participant how to have the document interpreted 

free of charge. 

 

The Division will track statistical information as it relates to individuals with disabilities. 

 

The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act requires that Title II of 

the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 

(Section 504) apply to TANF programs.  The ADA (42 USC Section 12101 et seq.; 28 CFR Part 

35) applies to counties and other local governments administering all or part of the TANF 

program, and Section 504 (29 USC Section 794; 45 CFR Part 84) applies to entities which 

receive federal funding, either directly or indirectly, through a grant, contract, or subcontract.  

The two significant elements of Section 504 and Title II of the ADA are: 

 

 Individualized treatment and; 

 Effective and meaningful opportunity. 

 

Individualized treatment means that individuals with disabilities should be treated on a case-by-

case basis and not on stereotypes and generalizations.  Further, individuals with disabilities must 

be afforded the opportunity to benefit from Work First in the same manner as those individuals 

who do not have disabilities.  Exempting individuals with disabilities from work requirements 

denies these individuals access to services and may result in discrimination.  

 

Section 504 and ADA requires that agencies: 

 

 Ensure equal access to employment programs for qualified individuals with disabilities 

through the provision of appropriate services; 

 Adopt methods of administration which do not discriminate against and ensures equal access 

and opportunity to qualified individuals with disabilities; and 

 Modify policies, practices, and procedures to provide equal access that allows qualified 

individuals with disabilities to participate in and benefit from employment programs unless 

doing so would fundamentally change the program or cause an undue hardship.  

 

Qualified individuals with disabilities must be provided reasonable accommodations so they 

have an opportunity to participate in and benefit from services and programs that are as effective 

and meaningful as those available to individuals without disabilities.  A reasonable 

accommodation is any reasonable change in the way the Work First program administers the 

program or the way it requires the participant to do something.  Exempting the Work First 

participant for “good cause” when they are unable to meet work requirements because they have 

a disability or are caring for a family member with a disability is not an alternative to evaluating 

the need for accommodations.  
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To ensure that individuals with disabilities have equal access to employment programs, the Work 

First staff must screen and assess all applicants and participants to determine the participant’s 

specific abilities and limitations.  Screenings and assessments will occur periodically to address 

potential program participation barriers. Individuals may be referred to the Division of 

Vocational Rehabilitation for determination of their eligibility for such services, or to other 

qualified professional for a comprehensive assessment. 

 

Any applicant or recipient that meets the ADA definition of disabled and those individuals caring 

for family members who are disabled should be provided reasonable accommodations, if needed.  

Reasonable accommodations may include but are not limited to: 

 

1. Part-time work activities 

2. Reasonable accommodations for work activities  

 

The MRA/Outcome Plan may reflect medical appointments, vocational evaluations, 

functional assessments etc.  These appointments are necessary to establish evidentiary 

support for limited work activities.  This should be carefully monitored to ensure the 

participant is fully benefiting from the Work First program. 

 

3. Job restructuring, includes part-time or modified work schedules, modification of equipment 

and examinations, provision of qualified readers, interpreters, or job coaches 

4. Additional assistance or increased supervision in work activities 

5. Assistance with application for benefits, including a notification process for those with 

learning disabilities 

6. Specialized child care for a child with a disability 

 

Accommodations will be considered even when scheduling appointments and requesting that the 

individual obtain and provide documents for verification purposes. 

 

An individual, who has requested an accommodation and believes that they have not been 

adequately accommodated, is informed to notify the Work First case manager verbally or in 

writing.  Within 7 workdays of the receipt of notification, the county should have a meeting to 

include the individual and/or his/her representative and appropriate staff.  The county has 14 

workdays from the date of the meeting to respond to the request.  The county must notify the 

individual of the decision in writing within the 14 workdays from date of the meeting. 

The county department of social services is required to inform the applicant or recipient that 

disclosure of a disability is voluntary.  This includes screening for a disability, including learning 

disabilities and mental health disorders.  Nonetheless, counties must inquire about an 

individual’s health related limitations to determine the appropriate work assignments.  The 

participant does not have to provide the information. 

 

There are times when identification and treatment of a disability are necessary for program 

administration.  Under these circumstances, a participant may be required to participate in efforts 

to evaluate a suspected disability and participate in necessary treatment.  Those circumstances 

may include: 

 

a. If a participant reports they are unable to work or to have limited work capacity, the 

individual may be required to substantiate their statements by being required to provide 

medical documentation, participate in screenings and evaluations as agreed on the 
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MRA/Outcome Plan.  Failure to comply may result in a sanction of benefits. All participants 

are given opportunity to provide any required medical documentation before a sanction of 

their benefits may occur. 

b. If a participant has demonstrated an inability to successfully participate in work activities or 

employment and the worker has reason to believe this is due to a disability or work 

limitation, the county may require the participant to be screened or evaluated to establish the 

necessary services to support the participant in achieving success in the Work First program.  

If the screening or evaluation determines that the participant requires treatment, the 

participant may be required to participate in the necessary treatment as a condition of the 

MRA.  

 

Individuals with confirmed disabilities must be provided with reasonable accommodations and 

services to support their participation in employment and work related activities.  

 

TITLE VI REQUIREMENTS (ALL COUNTIES) 

 

In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) 

policy, county departments of social services are prohibited from discriminating against any 

person on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, political affiliation or 

disability in admission, treatment or participation in its programs, services activities, or in 

employment.  All counties are required to establish policies and practices in compliance with 

Title VI of the Social Security Act, as well as the provision of interpreter services for its citizens 

that require such accommodations.   

 

To ensure equal access to employment programs, the Work First staff must screen and assess all 

applicants and participants to determine the individual’s specific abilities and limitations.  

Screenings and assessments will occur periodically to address potential program participation 

barriers.  

 

To ensure effective communication and meaningful access to programs and services, individuals 

with disabilities or limited English proficient (LEP) persons will be notified of the availability of 

services at no cost.  Such services may include, but are not limited to, sign language 

interpretation and foreign language interpretation services. 

 

Documents notifying applicants and program participants of adverse actions will be 

communicated in plain language; will be provided in the applicant or program participant’s 

primary language; or will advise the program participant how to have the document interpreted 

free of charge. 

 

All members included in the Work First application must be US citizens or qualified or 

otherwise eligible immigrants. 

 

If an applicant or recipient requires an interpreter, the county department of social services must 

provide such services for the applicant or recipient.  Generally, this service is provided during 

the initial contact with the applicant as well as during ongoing contacts.  

 

All rules of confidentiality must be applied in regards to citizenship/immigrant status.  It is a 

breach of confidentiality to discuss an individual’s citizenship/immigrant status with employers, 

landlords, etc. 
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CERTIFICATIONS REQUIRED OF THE GOVERNOR 
 

As Governor of the State of North Carolina, I hereby certify that during each fiscal year to which 

this state plan is applicable: 

 

 This program will be known as the Work First program. 

 The provisions described in this State plan will be carried out in accordance with Federal 

and State law. 

 The State will operate a Child Support Program in accordance with the State plan 

approved under Title IV-D of the Social Security Act. 

 The State will operate a foster care and adoption assistance program in accordance with 

the State plan approved under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act. 

 The state will take any actions that are necessary to ensure that children receiving 

assistance under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act are eligible for medical assistance 

under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

 The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services is the agency responsible 

for supervising the program and administering program funds. 

 Local governments and private organizations have been consulted regarding the plan and 

design of welfare services in the State, and they have been given 45 days to submit 

comments on the plan and design of those services. 

 The State will provide each member of an Indian tribe, who is domiciled in the State and 

is not eligible for assistance under a tribal family assistance plan, with equitable access to 

assistance under the State program funded under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act. 

 The State has established and is enforcing standards and procedures to ensure against 

program fraud and abuse, including standards and procedures concerning nepotism, 

conflicts of interest among individuals responsible for the administration and supervision 

of the State program, kickbacks, and the use of political patronage.  

 The State has established, and are enforcing, standards and procedures to screen and 

identify individuals receiving assistance that have a history of domestic violence.  While 

maintaining the confidentiality, such individuals are referred to counseling and 

supportive services, and, pursuant to a determination of good cause, program 

requirements (such as time limits for individuals receiving assistance, residency 

requirements, child support cooperation requirements, and family cap provisions), are 

waived in cases where compliance with such requirements would make it more difficult 

for them to escape domestic violence or would unfairly penalize them.   

 

 

 

_____________________________ 

Pat McCrory, Governor 

State of North Carolina 

 

 

_____________________________ 

Date 
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APPENDIX A 

LOCAL BLOCK GRANT PLANS 

 
Triennially, each Electing County must submit to the Department of Health and Human Services 

a local block grant plan that describes its proposal for the following: 

 

 Work First Employment Services Program,  

 Eligibility Criteria for WFFA and other Work First Services, 

 Emergency Assistance Program, 

 Benefit Diversion Program (Optional),  

 Provision of Work First Services to low-income families,  

 Provision of Work First Services to former Work First recipients (Optional), and  

 Provision of Work First Services to non-custodial parents of Work First children (Optional).   

 

Electing Counties shall give the public an opportunity to review and comment on their local 

block grant plans before submitting to the Department.  The county board of commissioners 

must appoint a committee of individuals to identify the needs of the population to be served and 

to review and assist in developing the county block grant plan in response to the needs.  

Membership of the committee must include, but is not limited to, representatives of the county 

board of social services, the board of the Local Management Entity/Managed Care Organization 

(LME-MCO) for Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, the 

local public health board, the local school systems, the business community, the board of county 

commissioners and community-based organizations that are representative of the population to 

be served.  In addition, religious organizations, service recipients, and other non-profits with 

experience in serving the population should be included.  The Department provides to all 

counties a model for use in developing an electing county plan. 

 

The electing county block grant plan should include public and private resources that will help 

families move to self-sufficiency and should describe how services, such as child care, 

transportation, housing, and skills training will be used.  The plan must include the county’s 

priorities for serving families who need child care, based on the needs of the community and the 

availability of services and funding. 

 

Following review by the county social services board and other parties, the county 

commissioners must approve the county block grant plan before it is submitted to the 

Department. 

 

The Department has the responsibility to ensure that counties’ programs comply with Federal 

and State requirements and are consistent with the goals of the Work First program.  County 

plans for FFY’s 2016 through 2019 have been submitted and reviewed by a team representing of 

a wide variety of agencies and organizations.  All plans were reviewed for compliance with State 

and Federal law and the goals of the Work First program.  Counties received comments and/or 

feedback on innovative strategies, problem areas, and requests for additional information or 

clarifications.  

 

See Appendix D for additional information on the Electing County planning process. 
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Standard Counties do not have to return a Block Grant plan to the Division.  All Standard 

Counties are required to follow policy as written in the Work First Program Manual. 

 

Statewide Work First Goals 

 
The Department, in consultation with the county departments of social services and county 

boards of commissioners, has established acceptable levels of county performance in meeting 

Work First expectations.   

 

The goals and performance measures established below will reinforce North Carolina’s 

successful caseload reduction efforts.  With the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 and the 

subsequent Federal Final Rule, there is an increased emphasis on meeting the federal 

requirements for Work Participation Rates.  One factor that has helped North Carolina meet the 

Work Participation Rates in the past has been the Caseload Reduction Credit.  By comparing the 

current caseload to the caseload in 1995, North Carolina could show a significant reduction in 

the caseload.  With that reduction applied by the federal government to the actual participation 

rates, North Carolina has met its Work Participation Rates each year since the beginning of 

TANF and Work First.  However, with the new law and rule, the base year for the Caseload 

Reduction Credit changed from 1995 to 2005.  The change in the base year makes the Caseload 

Reduction Credit significantly smaller than in previous years and thus, makes meeting the Work 

Participation Rates harder to accomplish.  Failure to meet the Work Participation Rates can lead 

to financial penalties. 

 

Therefore, there are two goals for North Carolina’s Work First program, and two goals by which 

county departments of social services will be measured. 

 

1. Meeting Federal Work Participation Rates for All Families.  Active participation in 

employment services and activities will lead to full time employment.  Counties must ensure 

that at least 50% of all Work Eligible Individuals, as defined by Federal Rule, complete the 

required number of hours of federally countable work activities.  

2. Meeting Federal Work Participation Rates for Two-Parent Families.  Active 

participation in employment services and activities will lead to full time employment.  

Counties must ensure that at least 90% of all two-parent families with Work Eligible 

Individuals, as defined by Federal Rule, complete the required number of hours of federally 

countable work activities.  

 

By promoting employment, job retention, diversion, and intensive work activities, these 

outcomes not only assure a continuing downward trend in the caseload, they also will contribute 

to the state’s ability to meet the federal Work Participation Rates.   

 

Tracking county performance measures will assist the Department and counties in focusing on 

the factors that contribute to caseload reduction, meeting Work Participation Rates, and moving 

families toward employment and self-sufficiency.   

 

The following have been identified as the Work First Performance Measures: 

 

1. Diversion Assistance Approvals 

 

This measure represents the number of Diversion Assistance approvals for the county during 
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the report month.  Participants who receive Diversion Assistance are not included in the 

calculations for any of the other measures.  They also do not count in the Work Participation 

Rate. 

 

2. Participants with Hours Scheduled  

 

This measure represents the number of adults in the Work First caseload who are actively 

receiving employment services as indicated by having hours scheduled for them in the report 

month.   

 

3. Participants Who Completed 75% of Scheduled Hours 

 

This measure indicates whether participants are completing the hours that are scheduled for 

them (calculated in the prior measure).  Specifically it measures the number of participants 

who completed at least 75% of the hours that were scheduled.  Significant differences 

between the number of participants with scheduled hours and those with completed hours 

may help counties identify when more research is needed to determine why participants are 

not completing hours and what can be done to help them do so. 

 

4. Adults Entering Employment  
 

This measure calculates the number of adults who entered employment during the report 

month.  Individuals are only counted once in the year-to-date total.   

 

5. Remaining off Work First for Employment for 12 Months 

 

The calculation for this measure is checked each month to see if the person returned to the 

Work First Cash Assistance program in any of the 12 previous months.  If the individual has 

not returned to the Work First Cash Assistance program in any of the 12 previous months 

(after leaving Work First for employment), the individual will be counted in this total. 
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APPENDIX B 

PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITIES AND WORK REQUIREMENTS 
 
The Work First Cash Assistance program is based on the premise that all parents have a 

responsibility to support themselves and their children.  Under Work First, the Mutual 

Responsibility Agreement (MRA)/Outcome Plan outlines in detail the obligations of parents, 

relative caretakers, or legal guardians in return for family assistance.  All counties require 

families to enter into Agreements.  Electing Counties may develop their own agreements to meet 

local needs (See Appendix D).  All Standard Counties use the same MRA/Outcome Plan.  

However, counties may tailor the agreement to meet local and family-specific needs. 

 

For the purpose of this section, there is a distinction between the requirements for families that 

include a “Work Eligible Individual” and those families that do not. Drug felons, fleeing felons, 

and recipients for SSI are not excluded from the definition of work eligible individuals.  The 

following individuals are exempt from the work requirement: 

 

1. Adults receiving cash assistance for a child only.  (The adult is not included in the case.) 
 

a. A non-recipient relative, other than a parent, living with a child receiving assistance. 

b. A non-qualified immigrant who is ineligible for WFFA or Work First Benefits due to 

immigration status.  (Immigration status requires third party verification.) 

c. A recipient of Supplemental Security Income (SSI.)   

 

2. Single custodial parents with a child under 12 months of age.   

 

3. Individuals with “child” family status (youth up to age 18 and not an emancipated minor 

payee or age 18, if in high school and expected to graduate from high school by the month of 

their 19th birthday).  Emancipation occurs when a dependent child marries, becomes a member 

of the U. S. Armed Forces, or is declared emancipated by a court.  An emancipated minor parent 

is treated as an adult applicant to qualify for and receive Work First cash assistance for 

themselves and their child. 

 

4. A parent providing care for a disabled family member living in the home.  Medical 

documentation to support the need for the parent to remain in the home is required from the 

Health Care Professional responsible for the medical care of the disabled family member. 
 

MUTUAL RESPONSIBILITY AGREEMENT/ OUTCOME PLAN 

 
The first part of the MRA/Core Requirements, applies to all families and describes the parent’s 

or caretaker’s responsibilities.  All Agreements must include:  

 

 Contact their Work First worker if a change occurs in their situation within ten (10) days of 

knowing of the change. 

 Keep all scheduled appointments with their Work First worker. 

 Cooperate with Child Support Enforcement for all children who receive assistance. 

 Ensure that children who receive assistance get their immunizations and have regular 

checkups. 

 Ensure that school-aged children and minor parents who receive assistance live at home and 

attend school according to school attendance policy. 
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A family is not eligible for WFFA unless the parent(s) or caretaker(s) signs the MRA. 

The second part of the MRA, The Plan of Action /Outcome Plan, is the Work Eligible parent’s 

plan to meet the work requirements.  This part: 

 

1. Establishes employment goals for the parent(s);  

2. Describes a plan for participating in work or work-related activities and the hours required in 

each activity; and 

3. Describes the case management and supportive services that will be provided to help the 

family successfully meet the requirements of the MRA and move towards self-sufficiency.  

Supportive services may include reasonable accommodations for individuals with disabilities 

and language assistance for LEP populations. 

 

All MRA-Plan of Action Agreements/Outcome Plan must include: 

 

 Contact their Work First worker immediately if a change occurs that prevents them from 

completing the activities described on the MRA Plan of Action /Outcome Plan. 

 Accept and keep any reasonable job offered.  The participant will not quit a job, refuse an 

offer of employment or fail to follow up on job referrals without good cause. 

 Submit verification of all activities completed each month by the fifth (5th) work day of the 

following month. 

 Acknowledge the requirements listed on the MRA Plan of Action/Outcome Plan and Core 

Requirements and their payment will stop. The family may apply for Medicaid. 

 

A family whose parent refuses to sign the MRA-Plan of Action /Outcome Plan (if required) loses 

its benefits for at least one month.  Benefits will not be restored until the parent signs the MRA 

Plan of Action/Outcome Plan. 

 

Employment Assistance for Work Eligible Individuals 

 

The Division of Workforce Solutions (DWS) is the presumptive primary deliverer of job 

placement services for the Work First program and a critical partner with the Department of 

Health and Human Services.   

 

Registration for work with DWS will be a prerequisite to participation in the Job Search 

component of Work First.  All work eligible participants who are assessed as ready to engage in 

job search will be required to register for work with DWS.  This requirement will be included on 

their MRA Plan of Action/Outcome Plan.   

 

Failure to register for work with DWS as part of the Job Search component will result in a 

sanction, which entails the loss of the WFFA payment for one month or until compliance, 

whichever is longer.  If the parent is an ongoing Work First case, receiving “Work First cash 

assistance,” the family will not receive their Work First cash benefits for the month that they 

failed to comply with Job Search requirements outlined on their MRA.  The family may apply 

for Medicaid.   

 

Counties also may contract with the local Division of Workforce Solutions (DWS) for additional 

services such as job search, job placement, and referrals to community services.  Modifications 
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and/or accommodations may be necessary to assist individuals with registration and with access 

to employment services. 

 

Work Responsibilities 

 

Work Eligible individuals are assessed for employability at application for Work First Cash 

Assistance and within three months of receiving assistance.  Single parents of children less than 

12 months of age are excluded from the participation rate calculation, if they do not complete 

enough countable hours to be deemed engaged in work.  This exclusion is for a cumulative total 

period of 12 months (lifetime exemption). 

 

In all counties, single parents with children under age six who demonstrate that necessary child 

care is not available are not sanctioned.  (See Child Care Section for required definitions.) 

 

MRA Plans of Action/Outcome Plan are individualized based on an employability assessment.  

The MRA Plan of Action/Outcome Plan must be completed within 5 days of the Work First 

application date.  Often, a Plan of Action will reflect fewer hours per week of activities that are 

required to meet the Work Participation Rate.  This may be due to a shortage of appropriate 

activities, a shortage of necessary support services, or other personal limitations of the 

participant.  County Work First staff is responsible for balancing these limitations against the 

expectation of full time participation and the requirement to meet the participation rates.  All 

work eligible individuals are expected to strive and make progress toward full time participation.  

County Work First plans require frequent review because some plans may be short-term.  The 

MRA Plan of Action/Outcome Plan may be updated or re-negotiated as often as appropriate. 

 

The Administration for Children and Families (ACF) was instructed by the Deficit Reduction 

Act of 2005 to provide states with specific definitions of federally countable work activities.  In 

February 2008, the Final Rules were issued with the following work activities: 

 

1. Unsubsidized employment 

2. Subsidized employment 

3. Job Search and Job Readiness 

4. On-the-Job Training 

5. Work Experience 

6. Community Service 

7. Vocational Educational Training 

8. GED/HS Completion for Teen Heads of Households 

9. Job Skills Training 

10. Education Directly Related to Employment 

 

Optional items and information specific to North Carolina are discussed below. 

 

1. State Work Activities - Additional work activities that do not meet the federal definitions are 

also supported.  A worker and the family will use the results of the employability assessment 

to create the most likely and timely path to self-sufficiency. 

 

2. Post Secondary Education - Up to 20% of Work First recipients may be enrolled, at least 

part-time, in a post-secondary education program.  In Standard Counties, recipients who are 
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enrolled at least part time and who maintain a 2.5 grade point average (or its equivalent) shall 

have their two-year time limit suspended for up to three years. 

 

Work Verification Requirements 

 

In compliance with the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 and the subsequent Final Rule, the State 

submitted and ACF approved a “Work Verification Plan” that includes the following: 

 

1. Describes the services or programs the State includes under each work activity.  (Services 

and programs must conform to the Federal definition of these activities.)  

2. Describes how the State determines the number of countable hours of participation for each 

activity.  

3. Describes how the State verifies the actual hours of participation for each activity, including 

the procedures for obtaining and maintaining documentation of hours of participation.  

4. Describes the methods of daily supervision for each unpaid work activity.  

 

North Carolina’s Work Verification Plan was approved by the federal government in September 

2008.  All county Departments of Social Services/Agencies must adhere to the requirements as 

outlined in the State’s Work Verification Plan. 

 

Child Care Definitions 

 
County departments of social services/agencies use the following guidelines to evaluate whether 

adequate child care is available for single parents with a child under age 6.  At each occurrence 

of non-compliance with the work requirement for a single parent caring for a child under age 6, 

the county department of social services/agencies will document in the case record the reason for 

the parent’s non-compliance.  If the parent states that he/she is unable to participate because 

needed child care is not available, the county department will evaluate each of the following 

criteria and document their findings in the case record.  If the county finds that the parent’s claim 

is valid, the sanction or loss of Work First benefits for non-compliance is not applied. 

 

Appropriate Child Care  

 

 Care in a regulated child care center or family child care home that has a license, or 

 Care in a non-licensed child care arrangement that meets the requirements of North 

Carolina’s Subsidized Child Care Program 

 Child care options must have hours of operation that mesh with the work schedules of 

parents and meet any special needs of the individual children. 

 

Reasonable Distance 

 

 In evaluating ‘reasonable distance,’ counties consider the total time it takes for parents to 

travel one-way from home to the child care provider then to work or work-related activity.  

Because of the differences in North Carolina’s geography and highway/road systems, county 

departments have maximum discretion to decide what is “reasonable” for individual families 

based on their resources (i.e., whether they have a vehicle in working order or families’ 

resources available for transporting the family) and local transportation considerations. 

 As a guideline, counties should consider that it might not be reasonable to require families 

receiving Work First to travel more than 80 minutes one-way to work and child care.  Eighty 

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dss/workfirst/docs/work_verification_plan_2008.pdf
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minutes is approximately  four times the average one-way commute time in North Carolina 

(not including stops at child care arrangements), based on data from the U.S. Census Bureau. 

 

This does not preclude an exemption from the sanction or a loss of Work First benefits based on 

a shorter commute if the county considers the commute an obstacle to children’s healthy 

development or the family’s self-sufficiency goals. 

 

Unsuitability of Unlicensed Child Care: 

 

The unsuitability of a non-licensed child care arrangement is determined on a case-by-case basis.  

A non-licensed child care provider may be considered “unsuitable” for a particular family if one 

of the following exists: 

 

 The non-licensed child care arrangement does not meet the requirements of North Carolina’s 

Subsidized Child Care Program to receive subsidy payment.  

 A parent does not want their child(ren) cared for by the non-licensed child care provider. 

 

Affordable Child Care Arrangement 

 

When a child care subsidy is available to the family, the child care is considered affordable.  If 

the child care provider charges parents the difference in the subsidy payment rate and the private 

paying rate and the parent cannot afford to pay the difference, that care does not meet the 

definition of affordable.   

 

Head Start/ Early Education: 

 

The DHHS/NC Division of Social Services continues to strengthen its’ partnership with the NC 

Head Start-State Office.  The goal of this collaboration is to: 

a) increase the number of referrals of families participating in the Work First program to Head 

Start or Early Head Start programs for enrollment  

b) increase the number of referrals that Head Start or Early Head Start programs make to local 

department of social services agencies of families potentially eligible to receive Work First 

or other services 

c) develop an effective system of communication and information-sharing between Head Start 

and local department of social services/agencies. 

d) provide joint training opportunities for Head Start staff and Work First staff that have similar 

job functions. 
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APPENDIX C 

STANDARD COUNTIES 
 

Non-Financial Eligibility Rules 
 

In addition to signing the MRA/Outcome Plan and work requirements, families must meet 

certain eligibility rules in order to receive WFFA.  The basic eligibility rules are described 

below. 

 

1. Children must be age 17 or younger.  Children may receive through the month that they 

turn 18.  Children age 18 if in high school and expected to graduate by the month of their 

19th birthday, can receive through the month they graduate from high school.  Emancipated 

minor parents are considered adults and treated as such for Work First. 

 

2. Children and adults who receive SSI are not included as recipients in the WFFA case.  If a 

parent is applying for WFFA, they only have one child, and that child receives SSI or 

adoption assistance, the parent may receive assistance with a payment for one person. 

 

3. Parents, including biological, adoptive, or stepparents, must be included with their child 

(ren) in WFFA case.  All siblings, stepsiblings and half siblings living together must also 

be included in the case.  If both biological parents and adoptive parents are living in the 

same residence with a child, the adoptive parents must apply and be included, but the 

biological parents may not.   

 

4. If the child’s parent and an individual who has legal custody or guardianship reside in the 

home with the child, only the individual who has day-to-day care of the child may apply for 

and receive WFFA for that child.  The child’s parent is included in the case, and child 

support must be pursued.  The parent’s income must be counted in this case.  The parent 

must sign an MRA/Outcome Plan and is expected to complete the work participation 

requirements, unless the parent meets one of the exemptions from the definition of Work 

Eligible Individuals. 

 

5. Children for whom Foster Care and/or Adoption Assistance payments are being made are 

not included as recipients. 

 

6. Certain relatives, or a person with legal custody or legal guardianship, may apply for 

assistance for a child but may not be included in the payment.  These cases are child-only 

cases.   

 

The following relatives qualify to apply for a child:  a blood or half blood relative or 

adoptive relative limited to: brother, sister, grandparent, great-grandparent, great-great-

grandparent, uncle or aunt, great-uncle or aunt, great-great-uncle or aunt, nephew, niece, 

first cousin, and spouses of anyone listed above even after the marriage has been 

terminated by death or divorce.  The kinship rule does not include the spouses of step 

relatives.  In addition, a stepbrother or stepsister may also apply for a child but may not be 

included in the payment. 

 

7. An adult or child cannot receive TANF Assistance in more than one case in North Carolina 

or any other state for the same month. 
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8. An individual can be the payee for one WFFA case at a time. 

 

9. Undocumented immigrants are not eligible to receive Work First.  North Carolina elects to 

provide assistance to cover all optional non-citizen populations allowable under federal 

law. 

 

10. A family cap on assistance is in effect.  This means that a family’s WFFA cash payment 

will not increase when a child is born ten (10) months after a month in which a family 

received cash assistance.  There are some exceptions to the family cap rule, as follows:   

 

 A child who is the firstborn (including all children of a multiple birth) of a minor who is a 

dependent child. 

 A child who is conceived as a result of verifiable rape, sexual assault, or incest. 

 A child for whom parental custody has been legally transferred to someone other than the 

parent. 

 A child no longer able to live with his parent due to the parent’s death, the parent’s 

incapacity or disability, or the parent’s incarceration or institutionalization if expected to 

last at least three months. 

 A child who is the only child in the family unit. 

 

11. Minor parents (under age 18), unless emancipated, must meet special requirements.  

 

 They must stay in school to complete their high school education, or its equivalent.  

When a minor parent has completed high school or has received a GED, or is suspended 

or expelled from school, the minor parent must participate in an appropriate educational, 

training, or other work activity. 

 They must live with a parent or in another adult-supervised setting approved by the 

county director or his designee.  Payments will be made to an adult as a substitute payee, 

and not to the minor parent. 

 

12. There is a five-year, lifetime limit on receipt of federal TANF assistance.  This means that, 

unless a hardship exemption is granted, a family is not eligible for WFFA if it contains an 

adult who has received WFFA in North Carolina and/or TANF assistance from another 

state for 60 cumulative months.  The five-year lifetime time limit began in North Carolina 

on January 1, 1997.   

 

A family may request a hardship exemption from the 60-month time limit.   

 

The County Board of Social Services, or their designee, will consider and decide whether an 

exemption will be granted based on guidelines established by the Department.  The Board or its 

designee must determine that:   

 

 Both the family and the agency have made good faith efforts to resolve the problems causing 

the hardship during the 60 months of receipt of WFFA.  

 Whether the participant is experiencing hardship as defined in the Work First Manual.  Such 

hardships include, but are not limited to, situations where a family member has been battered 

or subjected to extreme cruelty, where the family is dealing with a severe illness of children 

or parents, or where there is a combination of factors that together constitute a hardship. 
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 Whether the hardship condition is severe enough to prevent the parent from working on a 

regular basis. 

 

Adults included in cases that have been granted hardship exemptions are expected to have an 

MRA Plan of Action/Outcome Plan in place that addresses each identified hardship criterion, and 

they are expected to work toward resolution of the problems as appropriate.  Counties are 

expected to continue to provide necessary services to enable the family to work towards 

resolution of these issues.  Exemptions can be granted for one to six months.  At the end of the 

exemption period, the family may request another exemption. 

 

Good cause considerations include, but are not limited to: 

 

 Disability of the caretaker; 

 Disability of a child or other family member requiring the caretaker to remain at home and 

provide care; 

 Family crisis or change including, but not limited to, death of a spouse, parent, or child; 

 Lack of necessary child care and; 

 Other unique circumstances that prevented the participant from getting or keeping a job as 

determined by the Board or its designee. 

 

13. There is a 60 month lifetime limit of assistance in North Carolina, to custodial parents who 

receive Work First Family Assistance for their children.  Parents who receive Supplemental 

Security Income (SSI) are excluded from this policy. 

 

14. In addition to the five-year federal lifetime limit, families who are active in North 

Carolina’s Work First Employment Services are limited to 24 cumulative months of cash 

assistance unless an extension as described below is granted.  Families may re-apply for 

Work First after being off assistance for 36 months.  All counties are required to review all 

Work First cases no later than three months prior to the end of the 24-month time limit.   

 

The review is to: 

 

 Ensure that time limits have been tracked correctly;  

 Ensure the family is informed about other services;  

 Provide an extension if the family qualifies; and 

 Review the family status and assist them in identifying resources and supports they 

need to maintain employment and family stability. 

 

Up to 20% of Work First recipients may be enrolled, at least part-time, in a post secondary 

education program.  Recipients who are enrolled at least part time and who maintain a 2.5 

grade point average (or its equivalent) shall have their two-year time limit suspended for up 

to three years. 

 

Families may request an extension of the 24-month time limit at the end of the 24-month 

period or anytime following termination, including any time within the 36-month period of 

ineligibility.  An extension may be requested verbally or in writing. 

 

The County Board of Social Services, or their designee, will consider and decide on whether 

an extension will be granted.  The Board or its designee must determine: 
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 That the Work First participant substantially complied with the MRA/Outcome Plan, 

including considerations for any good cause exceptions; 

 

 That the Work First participant, through no fault of his own, is unable to obtain or 

maintain employment that provides a basic level of subsistence.  To determine this, 

the Board or its designee will compare the family's net monthly income to the 

maximum Work First payment for the family size.  If the net monthly income is equal 

to the maximum Work First payment or greater, the family cannot receive an 

extension. 

 Whether the participant is experiencing extenuating circumstances. 

 

If an extension is granted, the Board or its designee must determine the length of the 

extension.  Each extension must be a minimum of 1 month to a maximum of 6 months with 

no limit on the number of extensions (within the 60-month lifetime limit). 

 

Good cause considerations include, but are not limited to: 

 

 Disability of the caretaker; 

 Disability of a child or other family member requiring the caretaker to remain at 

home and provide care; 

 Family crisis or change including, but not limited to, death of a spouse, parent, or 

child; 

 Lack of necessary child care; and 

 Other unique circumstances determined by the Board or its designee that prevented 

the participant from getting or keeping a job. 

 

15. All Work First applicants (i.e., every member of a case) must have a social security 

number, or apply for a social security number if they do not have one.  Unless an individual 

has a social security number or applies for one, that individual is not eligible for Work 

First. 

 

16. Individuals who are temporarily absent from the home for fewer than 90 consecutive days 

may continue to be eligible for Work First.  Individuals who are absent from the home for 

more than 90 consecutive days but fewer than 12 months may continue to be eligible for 

Work First, if they have good cause for the absence.  Good cause includes absences for 

medical treatment, substance use treatment, and health care.  For children, good cause also 

includes absences for educational requirements.  

 

17. An adult must report to the caseworker when a child is expected to be absent from the 

home for 90 consecutive days or longer.  The adult must report the child’s absence within 

five days of knowing the absence would exceed 90 consecutive days.  Failure to report the 

absence within five days makes the adult ineligible for three months beginning the month 

after failing to make the report.  

 

18. An individual who is convicted of misrepresenting his residence in order to receive Work 

First, Medicaid, SSI, or Food and Nutrition Services (FNS) in more than one state or more 

than one location in North Carolina is ineligible for Work First cash assistance for ten years 

beginning on the date of conviction. 
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19. Incarcerated or institutionalized individuals are not eligible for WFFA. 

 

20. A family must apply for WFFA in the county of their residence.  However, if the recipient 

moves to another county, the Work First case will transfer to the new county of residence.   

 

21. Work First cash payment received solely because the timely notice (10-day notice) 

requirement prevents appropriate action to reduce or stop benefits is not considered an 

overpayment and does not have to be repaid. 

 

22. Individuals who have been convicted of a Class H or I controlled substance felony in North 

Carolina may receive WFFA, or other services under the following conditions: 

 

 The individual may be eligible six months after release from custody, or 

 Six months after the date of conviction if the individual was never committed to 

custody,  

 And if there is no additional controlled substance felony offense during that time,  

 And the individual completes or continues appropriate substance use treatment as 

determined by the Local Management Entity.  Individuals receiving Work First under 

these conditions are required to undergo substance use treatment as a condition of 

eligibility. 

 

23. Families must legally reside in the State to receive assistance.  Families that have moved to 

North Carolina after receiving cash assistance in another state will not be treated differently 

from current residents.  

 

24. Cash assistance overpayments are recovered from the family, as allowed under State law or 

rule.  This includes fraud, intentional program violations, and inadvertent errors by the 

family. 

 

25. For WFFA cases, all changes are required to be reported by the family to the county within 

10 calendar days of the date the change becomes known.  This includes changes in income.  

All changes must be processed by the county within 30 calendar days of the report. 

 

26. The certification period for Work First Services for families with income at or below 200 

percent of the federal poverty level may be for a period of up to twelve months.  Once 

certified, these families’ eligibility does not need to be reviewed until the certification 

period ends. 

 

27. All applicants and recipients for Work First must provide verification of citizenship and 

identity.   

 

28. Any family that includes an adult who has quit a job without good cause, or has been fired 

from a job with cause, is ineligible for Work First payments the month of the job quit or 

firing and the two months immediately following.  The family may apply for Medicaid. 

 

29. The following applicants/recipients are subject to the substance use screening and testing 

requirement:  single parents (biological, adoptive and step); both parents (biological, 

adoptive and step) of a two parent household; emancipated teen parent, as defined by Work 
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First Manual Section 109, Age Rule for Children; any parent being added to an existing 

Work First case; parents who have been disqualified due to an Intentional Program 

Violation (IPV); parents who are ineligible due to fleeing felon and/or parole/probation 

violator status; parents with a Class H or I controlled substance felony conviction in North 

Carolina; and custodial parents who receive Work First Family Assistance for their 

children. 

 

The substance use screening and testing requirement does not apply to:  child only cases 

with a non-parent caretaker as the case head; dependent children; or Supplemental Security 

Income (SSI) recipients. 

 
Financial Rules 

 

1. Resources that can be readily converted to cash will be counted toward a $3,000 limit.  

“Readily converted” means the asset can be converted to cash within 5 working days.   

 

2. All vehicles are excluded.   

 

3. To calculate the payment, all income of Work First recipients is counted, except the 

earnings of children, and the income of SSI recipients, Foster Care Assistance, Adoption 

Assistance, and the Earned Income Tax Credit, unless other law or regulation excludes an 

income type.   

 

4. Countable income of all family members included in the case is counted.  Income of 

parents who live in the household and are excluded from the case is counted as if they are 

included in the case.  The exception is that no income of SSI recipients is counted.   

 

5. For unearned income, the actual amount received is the amount counted in calculation of 

the payment. 

 

6. For earned income, percentages are subtracted from the total monthly gross income as 

follows: 

 

 27.5% of gross earned income is excluded. 

7. Job bonus is awarded to parents with new earnings for three months that each adult recipient 

has new earnings. 

 The job bonus is offered to participants whose earned income terminates them from 

WFFA. 

 The job bonus applies to new earned income that begins after the application is 

approved for Work First.  The job bonus is applied for employment that is expected to 

be permanent and income terminates a participant from WFFA. 

 The job bonus can be applied once in a lifetime for each Work First family who 

becomes employed. 

 

8. The Work First monthly payment is 50% of the difference between the total countable 

income and the need standard. 
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The need standard is based on the number of eligible family members: 

Number on Work First 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 

Need Standard $362 $472 $544 $594 $648 $698 $746 $772 

Number on Work First 9 10 11 12 13 14 Each additional 

Need Standard $812 $860 $896 $946 $992 $1,042 Add $50 
 

 A family remains eligible as long as the result of the payment calculation is twenty-five 

dollars ($25.00) or more.  Payments, including prorated payments for the month of 

application or termination, will not be made for less than twenty-five dollars. 

 For the month of application, Work First payments are prorated from the date of 

application with the date of application being day one.  Otherwise, payments are made for 

the full month. 

 

9. Proceeds from non-recurring lump sum payments are counted as a resource beginning the 

month after the month of receipt for ongoing cases.  For pending applications, the non-

recurring lump sum payment is counted as income in the month of receipt and as a resource 

beginning the month after the month of receipt.  

 

10. When an adult Work First recipient or applicant is potentially eligible for other government 

benefits, such as Unemployment Insurance Benefits, the adult is required to apply for those 

benefits.  If the adult fails to apply by the deadline established by the county or the adult 

refuses to apply, the family is not eligible for Work First. 

 

11. Certain families, as defined in the Work First Manual, may be required to report income, 

participation hours, and other information to their county department.  Failure to submit a 

timely report results in termination of Work First assistance.  The reporting process will be 

defined in the Work First Manual.   

 

Application Process 

 

County departments of social services/agencies are responsible for developing a benefit package 

as quickly as possible to help families move toward self-sufficiency.  As appropriate, counties 

should offer families other services to enable them to remain off cash assistance.  Such services 

include Diversion Assistance, child support services, child care, and job placement services.  

Diversion Assistance (Benefit Diversion or Emergency Assistance) must be based on a family’s 

specific crisis or episode of need and may not be used for ongoing or recurrent needs. 

 

The time limit for processing applications for WFFA is 45 days.  It is expected that most 

applications will be processed well within this time limit.  In general, it is the applicant’s 

responsibility to provide all the information, including verifications, needed to determine 

eligibility.  Applicants may request assistance in obtaining information.  The agency’s obligation 

to assist the applicant is described in the Work First Policy Manual. 

 

Applications may be denied within the 45-day processing period for any of the following 

reasons: 

 

 The applicant fails to provide information needed to determine eligibility; 

 The applicant refuses or fails to apply for unemployment benefits, when monetarily eligible, 

or refuses or fails to apply for other benefits, such as Social Security or veterans benefits, for 
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which he/she may be eligible; 

 The agency is unable to locate the applicant; 

 The applicant refuses or fails to apply for a required family member; 

 The applicant refuses or fails to sign a MRA/Outcome Plan (either Core Requirements or 

Plan of Action/Outcome Plan, if required); 

 The applicant fails, without good cause, to keep an appointment and has not contacted the 

agency concerning his application; 

 Ineligibility has been verified including situations in which the applicant’s statement results 

in ineligibility; 

 

For any action or verification of information required of applicants, county departments will not 

deny an application without giving the applicant a written request for the action or verification, 

specifying a deadline that allows at least 12 calendar days in which to meet the requirement.  The 

county must provide appropriate accommodations to assist applicants with limited language 

proficiency or disability in obtaining needed documentation. 

 

Counties will not deny applications for the above reasons if good cause exists.  Good cause is 

defined as:  

 

 A significant family crisis or change including, but not limited to, the death of a spouse, 

parent, or child; 

 Illness of the caretaker or child, including participation in substance abuse treatment or 

attendance at a medical appointment;  

 Civil leave, including jury duty, or a required court appearance;  

 Lack of child care for parent and/or a minor parent in school, training, or other work activity; 

or 

 Any other reason determined by the county director or his or her designee. 

 

An application for Work First is valid for a 45-day period.  If the application is denied before the 

45th day, eligibility for Work First Cash Assistance can be established at any time within the 45-

day period without requiring a new interview, assessment or Workbook.  This is dependent on 

the county worker having all information and documentation required to make the eligibility 

determination with the 45-day period. 

 

Eligibility Reviews 
 

Frequent contact with Work First families is critical in ensuring their success at moving to 

employment.  Counties are strongly encouraged to review a family’s progress on the terms of the 

MRA Plan of Action/Outcome Plan at least every three months.  Families that do not participate 

in or allow the county to complete the periodic review will lose their Work First payment for at 

least one month.  The family may reapply for Work First but eligibility can begin no earlier than 

the first of the month following the month of ineligibility.  A face-to-face interview must be 

conducted and eligibility re-determined at a minimum every 12 months. 

 

The Work First worker must provide or arrange for appropriate accommodations for families 

with limited English proficiency or with disabilities in order to ensure that reviews are conducted 

as scheduled. 
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Child-Only Cases  

 

County departments/agencies are encouraged to provide family enrichment services to child only 

cases and to conduct home visits.  Children in child-only cases are more likely to be “known” to 

the child welfare system.  Often the child is with a relative, rather than in the foster care system.  

In terms of eligibility, child-only cases must be reviewed within six (6) months after application 

and at least every 12 months thereafter.  All of these reviews must be through face-to-face 

contact.  Counties should evaluate whether contact that is more frequent is desirable for 

individual families.  In child-only cases, the county will carefully evaluate the provision with 

which the caretaker is out of compliance i.e., failure to have children who receive assistance 

appropriately immunized or failure to ensure children who receive assistance stay in school.  If 

the caretaker is failing to provide appropriate care for the child, an evaluation of the 

appropriateness of the living arrangement is in order.  The purpose of the evaluation is to help 

determine if there are additional services needed by the caretaker to ensure compliance in the 

future.  The goal is to keep the child in a safe and stable environment.   

 
Benefit Diversion (Optional in All Counties) 

 

Under certain circumstances, a one-time, short-term benefit package is more appropriate in 

meeting the needs of Work First applicants than becoming a Work First recipient.  Benefit 

Diversion may be provided when families are in need of short-term assistance to enable them to 

get or keep a job or access other financial assistance that will help meet their needs.  Benefit 

Diversion may only be used when there is documentation of a family’s specific crisis or episode 

of need.  Benefit Diversion cannot be used to meet ongoing or recurrent needs. 

 

 Families that receive Benefit Diversion do not have to repay the benefit amount received. 

 Benefit Diversion can be received only once in a 12-month period and does not trigger the 

two-year Work First time limit or the five-year federal lifetime limit on benefits.   

 Recipients of Benefit Diversion are not required to participate in the Work First employment 

program.  

 These families are not considered Work First participants, and are not considered in 

calculating the State’s participation rate. 

 Families who have exhausted their 24 or 60-month time limit are eligible for Benefit 

Diversion, provided all other eligibility criteria are met. 

 

In these circumstances, Benefit Diversion may provide: 

 

1. A one-time payment.  

2. Referrals to Child Support, Food and Nutrition Services, Medicaid and other potential 

resources. 

 

In order to be eligible for Benefit Diversion, families must meet the following eligibility 

requirements that apply to Work First: 

 

1. Who may apply and be included in the family unit; 

2. Income guidelines; 

3. Resource limit; 

4. Minor parent rules; 

5. State/county residence; 
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6. Age rule for children; 

7. Rule to have or apply for a Social Security Number; 

8. Citizenship/immigrant status; 

9. Identity requirements; 

10. Kinship/living with rule. 

 

No other Work First eligibility requirements apply to Benefit Diversion cases. 

 

Medicaid and Food and Nutrition Services (MA/FNS) 

 

Work First eligibility criteria may affect eligibility for Medicaid and/or Food and Nutrition 

Services benefits.   

 

Work First Benefits 

 

This State Plan requires all families with a parent included in the assistance payment be subject 

to the “Work First Benefits” payment process.  A caretaker case will receive their assistance 

payment at the beginning of the month.   

 

Families in Work First Benefits status will receive their assistance payments after the end of the 

benefit month.  To qualify for the payment, the parent must provide documentation showing that 

he/she has complied with the requirements of their MRA/Outcome Plan including both the Core 

Requirements and Plan of Action Requirements or show good cause for not complying. 

 

When parents do not comply with their MRA/Outcome Plan during a month, their cash benefits 

will not be released for that month and they will not count in the Work Participation Rate.  In 

addition, the month with no Work First Benefits will not count against the participant’s 24-or 60- 

month time limits.  If the parent has good cause for failing to meet their required hours of work 

activities or for not complying with other MRA/Outcome Plan requirements, their cash benefits 

will be released.  Good Cause is defined as: 

 

 A significant family crisis or change; 

 Illness of the caretaker or child, including participation in substance abuse treatment or 

medical appointment; 

 The loss or interruption of transportation or child care for parent and/or a minor parent in 

school, training, or other work activity;  

 Civil leave, including jury duty, or a required court appearance; and 

 Any other reason deemed sufficient by the county director or designee. 

 
If a participant fails to meet their required hours of work activities or other MRA requirements 

without Good Cause, the MRA/Outcome Plan informs them that their Work First case will be 

terminated. The family may apply for Medicaid. The child support payment for the following 

month (if they have one) will be sent directly to the recipient.  The family will have to reapply 

for Work First following termination for failure to meet their required hours of work activities or 

other MRA requirements. 
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Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) 

 
All Work First cash assistance payments are issued by electronic funds transfer (EFT).  The two 

primary methods of issues are direct deposit to a financial institution or electronic benefit 

transfer (EBT) card.   

 

Direct deposit allows for the monthly cash assistance payment to be electronically deposited to a 

personal savings or checking account of the case head.  There may be fees associated with direct 

deposit that are imposed by the financial institution.  These fees are the responsibility of the 

recipient.  The financial institution cannot impose charges for an account that it does not impose 

on its other customers for that same type of account. 

 

EBT is an electronic system that allows recipients to access their benefits with a plastic card, 

similar to a bank card. Work First Family Assistance households shall receive the first EBT card 

at no cost. The first cash withdrawal transaction at an Automated Teller Machine (ATM) is free.  

There is a $0.85 for each additional cash withdrawal.  There are not any fees for point-of sale 

(POS) transactions.   Work First Family Assistance households that request a replacement EBT 

card shall be charged a $2.50 fee.  The fee shall be deducted from the account of the WFFA 

household.  The client will not incur a charge if the EBT card: 

a) was lost in the mail or damaged by the vendor prior to receipt by the WFFA household 

b) is being replaced due to a name change on card 

c) was lost due to a natural disaster such as a fire, flood, tornado or hurricane 

d) was damaged by a retailer or vendor. 

 

Fees associated with the use of the EBT card will be deducted from the balance of the card based 

on the available benefits in the account. If the recipient is receiving FNS benefits and WFFA or 

RCA the $2.50 card replacement fee will be deducted from the FNS allotment first. If there are 

not sufficient funds in the FNS EBT account or the recipient does receive FNS, the replacement 

card fee will be deducted from the program account with funds available to cover the fee. If there 

are not sufficient funds in any single account, the EBT system will issue the card and deduct the 

funds at the next benefit issuance. 

Recipients’ cash assistance payments may be terminated if used at restricted locations.   

The federal law prohibits Work First recipients from using EBT cards “in any liquor store, any 

casino or gambling establishment, or retail establishment which provides adult-oriented 

entertainment in which performers disrobe or perform in an unclothed state for establishment.”   

 

EBT Monitoring 

 

The Division implemented compliance measures to monitor usage and impose penalties when it 

is determined there is EBT misuse. 

 

Monitoring includes reviewing selected cases to ensure that purchases/transactions were not 

made at any restricted locations:  casinos, gambling casinos or gaming establishments; or any 

retail establishment which provides adult-oriented entertainment in which performers disrobe or 

perform in an unclothed state for entertainment. 

 



 

 

North Carolina    

37 

Misuse of the EBT card may result in criminal charges against the recipient and their benefits 

may end. 

 

The Division submits an annual EBT Monitoring Report to the Administration for Children and 

Families (ACF) providing data captured from EBT monitoring. 

 

Sanctions 

 

Work First participants may be sanctioned for non-compliance with program requirements. 

 

There are four types of sanctions that are imposed when participants fail to comply with program 

requirements:  

 

1. Non-cooperation with Child Support Enforcement 

 

When a parent or other adult caretaker fails, without good cause, to cooperate with Child 

Support Enforcement, the entire family will be ineligible for a WFFA payment for one month 

or until compliance, whichever is later.  The family remains eligible for Work First Services.  

The family may apply for Medicaid. 

 

2. Substance Use Treatment  

 

An applicant/recipient that fails to comply with substance use treatment recommendations is 

ineligible for Work First Cash Assistance.  If the applicant/recipient is Work Eligible, they 

will continue to be Work Eligible and subject to Work First time clocks.  The remaining 

household members can receive cash assistance if otherwise eligible.  The ineligible 

applicant/recipient’s income and resources are included when calculating the amount of the 

cash assistance payment.  However, the eligible household member’s cash payment amount 

will be recalculated; excluding the ineligible member from the payment amount. 

 

The ineligible applicant/recipient remains ineligible for cash assistance until he/she complies 

with treatment. 

 

3. MRA/Outcome Plan Non-compliance 

 

Failure to comply, without good cause, with the terms and conditions of the MRA/Outcome 

Plan will result in the entire family being ineligible for a WFFA payment for one month or 

until compliance, whichever is longer.  The family remains eligible for Work First Services. 

 

4. Intentional Program Violation (IPV) 

 

Individuals found to have committed an intentional program violation are disqualified from 

WFFA for 12 months for the first offense, 24 months for the second offense, and 

permanently for the third.  The individual continues to be included in the family and 

continues to be considered a Work First recipient for purposes of the work requirement and 

time limits.  The family’s payment is recalculated with the individual excluded from the 

needs. 
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Families in sanction status will be apprised of available community resources, including 

assistance through the county department of social services.  All agency staff is trained in 

indicators of child abuse and neglect and are expected to make reports as appropriate. 

A family may avoid a sanction if good cause for non-compliance exists.  Good cause is defined 

as: 

 

 A significant family crisis or change; 

 Illness of the caretaker or child, including participation in substance abuse treatment or 

medical appointment; 

 The loss or interruption of transportation or child care for parent and/or a minor parent in 

school, training, or other work activity;  

 Civil leave, including jury duty, or a required court appearance; and 

 Any other reason deemed sufficient by the county director or designee. 
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APPENDIX D 

LOCAL BLOCK GRANT PLANS 
 
In general, Electing Counties and Standard Counties have the same level of flexibility in 

designing their employment services programs to meet the federal participation rates and 

statewide Work First goals while addressing local circumstances.  However, Electing Counties 

also have the opportunity to establish their own eligibility criteria and benefit levels.   

 

In August 2014, seven (7) counties notified the Department of their desire to be designated as 

Electing Counties.  The Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, recommends that the following counties be designated as Electing Counties for 

the next triennium:  Beaufort, Caldwell, Catawba, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, and Wilson. 

 

The Department has the responsibility to ensure that the Work First program in all counties 

complies with federal and State law and the Work First goals.  Under State Law, Electing 

Counties’ caseloads combined cannot exceed 15.5% of the Work First caseload on September 1 

of each year.  

 

Representatives from the following agencies of state government reviewed all of the Electing 

County plans: Division of Social Services, Local Business Liaison Office and the Attorney 

General’s Office.  Reviewers returned written comments to the Economic and Family Services 

Section of the Division of Social Services.  Feedback from these reviewers was shared with the 

Electing Counties and revisions were requested as needed. 

 

Because the caseloads of the counties requesting Electing status, in aggregate, are well below the 

15.5% minimum (5.5%), it was not necessary to rank the plans for choosing the best plans to 

recommend.  With the requested revisions, the plans for Beaufort, Caldwell, Catawba, Lenoir, 

Lincoln, Macon, and Wilson will comply with applicable laws, rules, and regulations. All 

counties will be recommended to the General Assembly to be approved as an Electing County. 

 

State law (NCGS 108A-27 e) requires that a county that desires to be re-designated shall submit 

a request in writing to the Department at least six months prior to the effective date of the next 

State Plan.  The six-month deadline for the current proposed State Plan is April 1, 2016.  

 

Funding for all counties is specified in the State law.  For Electing Counties, block grants are 

based on the percentage of each county’s total AFDC and JOBS expenditures to statewide actual 

expenditures in 1995-96.  For cash assistance, the resulting percentage is applied to the total 

budgeted funds for cash assistance for each year.   

 

Electing Counties’ eligibility criteria and processes, where available, are described on the 

following pages.  Many Electing Counties chose to follow some of the Standard County rules.  

When and if Electing County rules change to be the same as those of Standard Counties, no State 

Plan amendment will be submitted.  If changes other than to conform to Standard County rules 

are made, an amended State Plan will be submitted.   

 

Electing Counties will follow Standard Work First Policy, except as indicated on the following 

pages.  Each Electing County’s electing policies are listed below by county. 
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BEAUFORT COUNTY 
 

1. If a participant receives Benefit Diversion and subsequently applies for and begins to receive 

WFFA during the next twelve months, the participant will be responsible for paying back any 

diversion assistance that has been received.   

2. A case will be ineligible for one month following termination for failure to return a 

completed quarterly report. 

3. A case will be ineligible for one month following termination for failure to attend and 

complete parenting course. 

4. Count real property as a resource excluding primary residence. 

5. No exception to family cap policy for a child born to a minor mother. 

6. A child or parent may be temporarily absent from the home only for documented medical 

treatment, or for up to 30 days to visit another relative.  

7. All mandatory participants, excluding child only cases and cases that involve minor fathers 

are required to complete a parenting course.  Failure to attend and complete will result in 

termination of WFFA. 

8. Applicants must agree to and worker must complete a home visit prior to approval of an 

application.   

9. Eliminate all re-opens.  Family must reapply if terminated for any reason. 

10. Applicants excluding intact families must cooperate with Child Support Services not more 

than 10 days prior to applying for WFFA.  Applicant will see Child Support worker on date 

of application. 

11. At or below 200% of the poverty level, an applicant must be actively seeking employment or 

be employed.  The certification period will be for three months with the possibility of an 

extension not to exceed six months within a 12 month period. 

12. Beaufort County will provide an emergency assistance payment to Safety Resource families 

that request assistance with caring for children placed in their home by Child Welfare when 

the permanent plan is to return the child(ren) to the parent’s care within 6 months. 

13. Caretakers are encouraged to seek legal custody for child(ren). 

14. Single parents with a child 4 months old or younger are exempt from the requirement to 

participate in Work First employment activities. 

15. All mandatory (able-bodied) participants will be required to complete at least 35 hours per 

week of work or work related activities.  Two-parent households are required to complete 55 

hours per week of work or work-related activities. 

16. Three-step hearing process:  (1) local hearing with hearing officer designated by Agency 

Director; (2) Hearing before DSS Board and (3) Petition to Superior Court. 

 

CALDWELL COUNTY 

 

1. Applicant is responsible for all verifications needed to complete the application.  Caldwell 

County will assist applicants with disabilities or limited English proficiency upon request. 

2. Benefit Diversion may be offered only once every two years. 

3. Applicants will be denied if the applicant does not comply with a signed MRA if good 

cause is not met. 

4. All applicants must attend Economic Literacy training within 12 calendar days of applying 

for WFFA, unless they have successfully completed the training within 30 calendar days 

prior to application date. Failure to do so will result in denial of the application. 

5. If both quarterly reporting deadlines are missed without good cause, there will be one 

month of ineligibility. 
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6. Participants’ statement of kinship will be acceptable at review unless questionable.  

7. There will be no re-opens unless it is an agency error.  The applicant/recipient may reapply 

for Work First Cash Assistance. 

8. Each adult budget unit member can receive the Job Bonus if the following are met: 

 

A. The employment is new or there is an increase in hours; 

B. The employment is expected to be permanent; and 

C. The employment is expected to be a minimum of 25 hours per week. 

 

9. All WFFA cases will be reviewed every 12 months.  

10. School attendance - The caretaker must provide proof of school attendance for all school 

age children at application and review by providing a current report card or attendance 

summary print-out from the school.  Work First Social Workers verify school attendance 

with the School Social Workers on a monthly basis.  Therefore, it is not necessary for them 

to call the schools when a Quarterly Report is received. Failure to provide proof of school 

attendance at review results in an incomplete review. 

11. All school age children cannot have more than 10 unexcused absences in a school grading 

period unless good cause exists.  More than 10 unexcused absences in a grading period will 

result in a sanction of 1 month or until compliance whichever is greater. 

12. Cases where all children in the household are on SSI will not be eligible for WFFA as there 

is no eligible child in the home.  

13. All applicants must meet and cooperate with child support within 10 calendar days of 

applying for Work First.  Failure to do so will result in the application being denied unless 

there is good cause. 

14. All income, with the exception of SSI income, will be counted for parents living in the 

home to determine Work First eligibility. 

15. Single parents may claim their “S” exemption for the first 3 months of a child’s life.  Once 

the 12-month lifetime exemption has been exhausted, the parent will be required to 

participate in the employment program as soon as authorization is given from her doctor.  

Also, if a parent volunteers to participate in the employment program, he/she may not 

reclaim the exemption for the same child. 

16. All parents in the home must have their GED or high school diploma or be enrolled in and 

satisfactorily attending education enhancement classes (i.e.:  GED, Adult High School, 

ESL, Literacy, etc.) unless there is good cause. 

 

CATAWBA COUNTY 

 

1. Applicant must cooperate with Child Support, apply or be receiving food assistance, and the 

applicant must register with Division of Workforce Solutions – NCWorks if not already 

employed or job being held for the applicant and if monetarily eligible for Unemployment 

Benefits (UIB) must apply for the UIB prior to approval of the Benefit Diversion application. 

2. Applicant must cooperate with child support within 12-calendar days of applying for WFFA.  

If the applicant fails or refuses to do so without good cause, deny the application for WFFA.  

3. Applicant must be receiving Food and Nutrition Services (FNS) (food assistance) or be 

evaluated for FNS within 12 calendar days of applying for WFFA.  If the applicant fails or 

refuses to do so without good cause, deny the application for WFFA and notify the Medicaid 

worker (applicants must apply for Medicaid before applying for WFFA). 

4. Applicant must be assessed for Economic Literacy within 12-calendar days of applying for 

WFFA by Work First staff.  The Economic Literacy assessment is an integral part of the 
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application process.  If the applicant fails or refuses to be assessed, deny the application for 

WFFA and evaluate for Medicaid. 

5. All Work First applicants and recipients referred to Vocational Rehabilitation must complete 

the application and comply with all recommendations.  Failure or refusal to comply without 

good cause will result in the case being denied or terminated.  Future eligibility is contingent 

upon completing application and cooperating with Vocational Rehabilitation. 

 

 LENOIR COUNTY 

 

1. Applicants, excluding intact families, must cooperate with the Child Support Program before 

applying for WFFA. 

2. Benefit levels may be adjusted at the Director’s discretion based on the availability of 

funding. 

3. A child may be temporarily absent from the home up to 6 months when placed with a safety 

resource by Child Welfare, provided that the permanent plan is to return the child to the 

parent/caretaker within that timeframe and the parent is compliant with the Child Welfare 

family plan. 

 

4. All unemployed or under-employed adult applicants/participants must register for work at the 

Lenoir Community College (LCC), NCWorks Career Center and local temporary payment 

agencies within 2 weeks of their application for WFFA benefits.  Work First Eligible 

participants must complete the Work Keys testing and Key Train on-line classes to obtain 

necessary skills for their desired field of work. 

5. The family is not eligible for WFFA benefits for 3 months after voluntarily quitting a job, or 

a WFE work experience placement, voluntarily reducing work hours or abandoning a job 

without a good cause reason.    The family is not eligible for WFFA for up to 3 months if the 

parent is fired from a paid job or WFE work experience placement without good cause.  

WFFA benefits will terminate if the WFE participant is non-compliant with the MRA for 3 

consecutive months. Quitting a job or reducing work hours in order to attend college, 

training, or other post-secondary education does not meet the definition of “good cause.”  Job 

abandonment is defined as failing to go to work and failure to notify the employer.  For 

applicants, the 3 months of ineligibility begin the month the parent stops work or the work 

experience or reduces work hours or rate of pay.  For recipients, the 3 months of ineligibility 

begin the month following expiration of an advance notice.  The participant may cure this 

sanction by returning to work at an equivalent rate of pay and number of work hours 

compared to the last job.  The family is not eligible for WFFA for up to 3 months if the 

parent is fired from a paid job or work experience placement unless there is good cause. 

6. WFFA recipients who are terminated because of non-compliance with their MRA/Outcome 

Plan requirements are not eligible for WFFA benefits for one month following termination. 

(Example: If the client is terminated in August for failure to meet their MRA/Outcome Plan 

requirements, they will be ineligible for the month of September.) 

7. 1st level hearings will be heard by Agency Supervisors not involved with WFFA or WFE.  

2nd level hearings will be heard by the Lenoir County DSS Board.  The appellant may 

petition the Lenoir County Superior Court if dissatisfied with the result of the Level 2 

hearing.  The Lenoir County DSS Board will serve as hearing officer for Hardship 

Extensions to the 24 and 60 month time limits. 

8. Transportation reimbursement is limited to $8 per day for in county travel and $11 per day 

for out-of- county travel when the participant provides his/her own transportation. 

Transportation services for non-custodial parents of a WFFA child and non-WFFA families 



 

 

North Carolina    

43 

with a total income not exceeding 200% of the federal poverty limit are limited to $600 per 

month up to a maximum of $1200 or 4 consecutive months in a State Fiscal Year. 

9. If funding allows, Lenoir County will provide an emergency assistance payment to Safety 

Resource families that request assistance with providing temporary housing for WFFA 

children placed in their home by Child Welfare, when the permanency plan for the children is 

to return them to the parent’s care within 90 days.  This payment is intended to help with the 

one-time costs of temporarily caring for a new child or children in the household.  The 

payment to a Safety Resource family will not exceed $600 without the Director’s approval.  

 

LINCOLN COUNTY 

 

1. All applicants seeking cash assistance for children with an absent parent are referred to Child 

Support immediately after signing an application for Work First.   

2. An assessment will be completed for child only cases to include but not limited to:  

immediate home visits and interviews with all adults and child(ren).    These visits will 

continue at least annually with contacts at least every 6 months. 

3. Benefit Diversion requirements will be as follows:  able-bodied single parent and two-parent 

households being considered for Benefit Diversion must have employment (35 hours per 

week) beginning within 2 weeks of WF application.   

4. Work First participants are not required to do Community Service.  Instead, Work 

Experience is offered after 2 months of participating in Employment Services without 

obtaining gainful employment. 

 

MACON COUNTY 

 

1. To receive Work First, the children must live with an adult relative who is within a certain 

degree of kinship: 

 

a. Parent, including a biological mother, father, and adoptive parent 

b. Legal father or mother, stepparents 

c. An alleged father or other alleged paternal relatives 

d. Spouses of these individuals also meet kinship even if the marriage has been terminated 

by death or divorce. 

e. Grandparents, great-grandparents, great-great-grandparents 

f. Uncles or aunts, great uncle or aunt, great-great uncle or aunt, nephew, niece, first cousin 

g. Brother, sister, half-brothers, half-sister, stepbrother and stepsister 

h. Other adults who have court ordered legal custody or legal guardianship of a child. 

i. Brother, sister, including half brothers and sisters 

 

Biological parents and relatives are not eligible to receive Work First for the adopted child.  

This relative must be providing care for the child on a day-to-day basis and be responsible for 

ongoing decisions regarding the child’s well-being.  A relative who meets the above 

relationships must be included in the case with the child, unless they are an SSI recipient 

receiving SSI benefits.   

 

2. All Work First applicants will have a three month penalty imposed for quitting a job unless 

“good cause” is established by intake caseworker and supervisor.  The ineligibility period is 

defined as the month of application and the next three months.  The individual may reapply 

for Work First at any time, but are not eligible during the job quit penalty period.  There is no 



 

 

North Carolina    

44 

cure for the job quit penalty once the penalty begins.  It continues until the full four months is 

completed, even if the individual obtains employment. 

3. Vendor payments will be agreed upon by the families and DSS and documented in the MRA 

upon signing that form.  Families who fail o complete their required hours as agreed upon in 

their MRA are in non-compliance.  Families must complete the required hours to be eligible 

to receive the benefit assistance. 

4. All Work First work eligible individuals are required to be actively participating in work and 

work related activities for a total of 40 hours per week.  Participation will be a combination 

of activities which include but not limited to employment, subsidized employment, 

vocational training, skills training, education, work experience, substance abuse counseling, 

mental health, vocational rehabilitation, job readiness/job search, etc. 

5. Reviews for Child Only cases will be completed every two years except for the following:  

child ages out, child moves out of the casehead’s home or in case of death of the casehead. 

 

WILSON COUNTY 

 

1. All WFFA “work eligible” individuals are required to be actively participating in work and 

work related activities for a minimum of 35 hours per week, and the first 20 hours of their 

participation must be in federally countable activities. 

2. Continue the Educational Incentive Rewards Program in order to reward families who 

achieve their GED, obtain a skills training certificate or a two year degree. 

3. Eliminate the Resource Limit for families applying for Work First. 

4. All WFFA participants whose employment results in termination of their Work First benefits 

or who are receiving Job Bonus will be referred to our Financial Social Work Services at 

Career Plus to develop a Financial Education and Savings Plan.  Families that follow through 

with their Financial and Savings Goals and achieve outcomes/goals will be eligible for a 

financial education incentive bonus. Bonuses will be authorized once the family meets any of 

their identified goals.  A family may receive up to three (3) financial incentive bonuses per 

year based on achieving behavioral changing goals.  

5. If a WFFA child only casehead fails to return a Quarterly Review and requests reopening due 

to termination from that non-compliance, the participant/family’s WFFA case will be re-

opened with a one-month penalty for failure to comply. 

6. All Child Only Kinship Care cases that have a prior involvement with CPS, Prevention, 

Juvenile Justice, or Foster Care within the last 6 months will be required to comply with the 

Kinship Care Family Assessment.   

7. All Child Only WFFA cases with children age 6-17 who are not attending school regularly or 

whose grades are not on grade level will be required to comply with the Kinship Care Family 

Assessment.  Caretakers who do not comply with the school requirements, and participate in 

the Kinship Care Family Assessment and who are determined to not have good cause will be 

sanctioned and may not be eligible to  receive WFFA payment (Work First Manual Section 

103). 

8. Work First “work ready” families will be directed to participate in Express Employment 

Pathways Program.   

9. Work First applicants are required to make a Child Support Establishment application prior 

to making a Work First Cash Assistance application. 

10. All WFFA applicants will have a 1 month penalty imposed for quitting a job unless “good 

cause” is established. 
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APPENDIX E   

WORK OVER WELFARE IN CABARRUS COUNTY 
 

In legislation ratified June 12, 2003, the North Carolina General Assembly provided for the 

continuation of the Work Over Welfare (WOW) Program in Cabarrus County as a demonstration 

welfare reform program for certain Work First and Food  and Nutrition Services recipients. 

 

Except as described below, Work First in Cabarrus County operates under the standard policies 

described in the State TANF Plan. 

 

The Cabarrus County WOW Program provides job opportunities to all able-bodied Work First 

and FNS who are required to participate in Work First Employment Services. 

 

WOW is primarily a wage-supplementation program that diverts the Work First benefits that 

would be paid to recipients to match employer funds and subsidize the recipients’ wages.  

 

Wages paid to WOW participants, which contain grant-diverted funds, are exempt from income 

for purpose of determining eligibility for assistance. 

 

Participants are subject to termination of Work First benefits for the household the month 

following any month in which they fail to comply with participation requirements.  Benefits are 

restored after the client agrees to comply with requirements and files a new application.  

 

To ensure that children are not harmed, sanctioned households are monitored by social workers, 

and benefits may be paid directly to vendors for basic needs.  

 

All individuals will be evaluated for ongoing Medicaid any time Work First terminates.  

 

A recipient who voluntarily terminates employment without good cause will be ineligible for 

Work First until the individual returns to work, provided work opportunities are available.  

 

Failure or refusal to pursue child support without good cause is grounds for denial of benefits. 

 

Benefit Diversion payments will be made in amounts up to one thousand two hundred dollars 

($1,200).  Applicants receiving the diversion payment will not be eligible for ongoing Work First 

benefits for a period of three months from the date of receipt of the diversion payment.  

Individuals receiving a diversion payment must attend budgetary counseling and may be required 

to have a protective payee for the diversion payment. 

 

Federal funds may be transferred from the TANF Block Grant to the Social Services Block Grant 

to be used to pay for home studies, attorney fees, and ongoing cash payments for the adoptive 

family, and other adoption expenses for Work First children who are living with relatives other 

than their biological parents. 
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APPENDIX F   

SERVICES FUNDED UNDER AFDC-EA 
 

North Carolina will continue to provide services to families as approved under Parts A and F of 

Title IV of the Social Security Act as in effect on September 30, 1995.  North Carolina defined a 

comprehensive services program under the AFDC-EA service component and intends to 

continue to fund these services.  Only federal TANF funds will be used under this provision. 

 

Specifically, the services listed in the plan will be provided to families or children who are 

experiencing an emergency as defined in the plan and who do not have sufficient resources to 

alleviate the emergency.  Services specifically include all child welfare services (e.g., child 

protection, preventive family services, family preservation, and foster care and adoption services 

including foster care payments.  Residential and emergency placement services can also be 

funded through this provision. 

 

The approved plan that was in effect on September 30, 1995, is included on the following three 

pages for reference.
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SECTION 3 EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE TO NEEDY FAMILIES 

WITH CHILDREN 

Citations: 

233.120 A. Emergency Assistance to needy families with children under the 

age of 21 is provided in accordance with 45 CFR 233.120.   

 

(  ) No (Paragraphs B. - D of this Section do not apply.) 

(x) Yes, as specified below: 

 

Emergency Assistance shall be provided to or on behalf of a needy 

child under the age of 21, the specified relative of the needy child, 

and any other member of the household in which he is living.  The 

needy child under the age of 21 who is within the specified degree 

of relationship must be living with the specified relative or have 

lived with the specified relative within six months prior to the 

month in which Emergency Assistance is requested.   

 

B. Families of migrant workers are covered.   

 

(   ) No. 

(x) Yes, on Statewide basis. 

(   ) Yes, but only in the following areas of the State: 

 

C. Other eligibility requirements are in effect.   

 

(   ) No. 

(x) Yes, as specified below. 

 

1. To be eligible for AFDC-Emergency Assistance, the 

applicant family must be without resources available to 

pay for what is needed to alleviate the emergency.   

 

2. An individual who is an illegal alien is not eligible for 

AFDC-Emergency Assistance.   

 

D. The kinds of emergency situations which are covered by this 

program and the kinds of assistance and services provided to meet 

the emergency situations are detailed in Attachment 3-A.   



 

 

North Carolina    

48 

ATTACHMENT 3-A 

 

A. Kinds of emergencies covered.   

 

1. A crisis situation resulting from a catastrophic illness 

2. Substantial loss of shelter, food, clothing, or household furnishings due to 

fire, flood, or similar natural or man-made disaster, or a crime of violence 

3. Emergency situation over which there was no control and which left the 

family homeless or in immediate danger of eviction or foreclosure 

4. A situation in which Emergency Assistance is necessary to avoid destitution 

of the needy child or to provide shelter for the child 

5. Emergency situation which could lead to destitution and the destitution or 

need for a living arrangement did not arise because the child or a specified 

relative refused, without good cause, to accept employment or training for 

employment 

6. Mass emergencies 

7. Loss of a relative who has been responsible for support and/or care of one of 

his family members 

8. Abuse, neglect, or dependency of children 

9. Situation in which a child is at risk of removal from the home 

10. Situation in which return to the home of a child who is currently separated 

from his family may create an emergency. 

 

B. A heating or cooling-related emergency shall not be covered.   

 

C. Kinds of assistance provided to meet emergency situations. 

 

1. Cash assistance up to a maximum of $300 to alleviate the emergency by 

meeting basic needs for families whose total net income is at or below 110% 

of the current poverty level and total countable reserve is at or below 

$2,200.  (Liquid assets must be at or below $300.)  Basic needs include: 

 

(a) Temporary shelter, food, and clothing; 

(b) Transportation: 

(c) Home repairs such as repair of frozen pipes and plastic covering for 

windows; 

(d) Replacement or repair, when appropriate, of necessary appliances, 

household items, or furniture; 

(e) Outpatient medical services such as prescriptions, eyeglasses, and 

doctor visits if the expense is not covered by the Medicaid Program, 

or the individual needing the care is either not receiving or is 

ineligible for Medicaid: 

(f) In-kind goods such as clothing, blankets, food: 

 

2. In-Home Services including Assessment; Case Management/Service 

Planning and Coordination; Counseling and Treatment Services; Family 
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Support/Family Preservation: Day Support Services: and Psycho-

Educational Services. 

3. Out-of-Home Services, including Residential Placement; Care and 

Treatment in a Family Setting; and Care and Treatment in a Group Setting. 

4. Other Services, including Consultation and Education; Other Child Welfare 

Services; and, Transportation.   

 

NOTE: The above assistance must be authorized within a single 30-day period no 

less than 12 months after the beginning of the family's last EA authorization 

period and are limited to a maximum duration of 364 days.   
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APPENDIX G 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED 
 

In compliance with federal and state statutes, the North Carolina Temporary Assistance 

for Needy Families (TANF) State Plan for FFY 2016-2019 was developed in consultation 

with local governments and private sector organizations regarding the plan and design of 

public assistance in the State so that services are provided in a manner appropriate to 

local populations.  The draft of the Plan was posted for public comment on December 21, 

2015 and was posted for the required 45-day period.   


