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WORK FIRST STATE PLAN 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 

 
INTRODUCTION 
 
North Carolina’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, called Work First, 
and is based on the premise that parents have a responsibility to support themselves and their 
children.  The Work First program promotes a strengths-based, family-centered practice 
approach and shares in the mission of the North Carolina Department of Health and Human 
Services, in collaboration with its partners, to protect the health and safety of all North 
Carolinians and provide essential human services.  Work First provides parents with short-term 
training and other services to help them become employed and move toward self-sufficiency.  
Other families where grandparents and relatives are caring for their relative children and legal 
guardians are able to receive services and support that also prevents children from entering the 
foster care system unnecessarily. 
 
In accordance with federal law, TANF funds, as well as maintenance of efforts (MOE) funds 
must meet one of four purposes.  The four purposes under TANF are: 
 
1. Assist needy families so that children may be cared for in their own homes or in the homes of 

relatives 
2. End dependence of needy parents by promoting job preparation, work, and/or marriage 
3. Prevent or reduce the incidence of out-of-wedlock pregnancies 
4. Encourage the formation and maintenance of two-parent families 
 
In North Carolina, Work First emphasizes three strategies: 
 
1. Diversion:  Keeping families off welfare by helping them cope with unexpected emergencies 

or setbacks.  
Under Work First, qualifying families may receive Benefit Diversion, Emergency Assistance, 
Services for Low-Income Families below or at 200% of the Federal Poverty Level, or 
Employment Services for Non-Custodial Parents and other supportive services if applicable. 

2. Work:  Shortening the length of time that families are on Work First by making work 
mandatory and by limiting how long a family can receive cash assistance.  
To receive Work First Family Assistance (WFFA) participants must sign a Mutual 
Responsibility Agreement (MRA.)  Once the participants move into the work components of 
the program, they can continue to receive benefits for up to 24 months.  In most cases, 
families who have reached the 24-month limit cannot receive WFFA for three years.  Federal 
law sets a 60-month cumulative time limit for receiving these benefits. 

3. Retention:  Helping families to stay off Work First by encouraging them to save money and 
by helping to make sure they really are better off working than on Work First.  
Work First increased limits from the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) on 
savings and vehicles, and the state legislature raised income eligibility limits for subsidized 
child care to ease the burden on low-income, working families.  To help families stay 
employed, counties are also providing services, such as transportation, child care, and other 
supportive services to families whose income is at or below 200 percent of the federal 
poverty level.  Families leaving WFFA for work may receive a Job Bonus payment for three 
months. 
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Ultimately, North Carolina’s goal is to help all families move to self-sufficiency.  Most are able 
to successfully leave the Work First program and never need to return.  Others, because of 
hardship or disability, will have a harder time becoming self-sufficient.  With those families, the 
role of the Work First program is to ensure that they receive all of the services for which they are 
entitled, such as Supplemental Security Income, Social Security Disability Insurance, etc. 
 
North Carolina’s success thus far at helping families move from cash assistance to work has led 
to a broadened focus for the Work First program.  No longer is the focus just on helping those 
families who receive cash assistance move off the rolls.  While North Carolina remains 
committed to continuing assistance to those families, the state has added the flexibility and 
program structure for counties to provide former Work First families with job retention and child 
and family enrichment services designed to help ensure families experience long-term success.  
Further, since child support is critical to ensuring families’ success, North Carolina has expanded 
the Work First program to allow counties to provide work-related services to non-custodial 
parents of Work First children. 
 
Ensuring optimal health and well-being of all North Carolinians is of utmost concern.  Toward 
that end, North Carolina has taken advantage of the opportunity offered by the TANF Block 
Grant to enhance our efforts in this area.   
 
STATE WELFARE REFORM LEGISLATION 
 
One provision of North Carolina’s law provides for TANF program development by local county 
governments.  The law refers to counties as Standard or Electing.  Standard Counties operate the 
State’s Work First program while Electing Counties have additional flexibility in program 
design.  See Appendix D for a summary of Electing Counties’ eligibility policies. 
 
All counties have maximum flexibility in designing their employment programs to meet local 
needs.  However, State law provides that Electing Counties, when combined, can contain no 
more than 15.5% of the State’s Work First cases (at September 1 of each year).  The State’s and 
each Electing County’s eligibility criteria are described later in this document.  (Throughout this 
plan, all references to “Electing Counties” refer to those counties that have been approved as 
Electing, which allows them to design their county’s Work First program including eligibility 
criteria and benefit levels.) 
 
PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION 
 
The N. C. Department of Health and Human Services is responsible for establishing, supervising, 
and monitoring the Work First program.  At present, all services and benefits are delivered 
locally by county departments of social services in each of North Carolina’s 100 counties, 
although Electing Counties may choose to designate an alternative service delivery agent. 
 
Electing counties developed a county Work First block grant plan, including descriptions of 
strategies to achieve the measurable statewide outcome goals and performance measures 
described in this plan.  Development of Electing county plans must involve a broad range of 
public, private, and nonprofit groups.  See Appendix A for further discussion on county plan 
development. 
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Standard counties maintain required protocols and policies for services on file at the local county 
department of social services for State Fiscal Year monitoring.  All counties are monitored to 
ensure compliance with program requirements. 
 
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services/ Division of Social Services has a 
Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the North Carolina Department of Commerce/ 
Division of Employment Security (services include access to Workforce Investment Act (WIA), 
community colleges, etc.) and the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Services.  These 
agreements outline the services that will be provided by each agency to ensure that the needs of 
Work First participants’ are met.  
 
The Division requires the local county department of social services to partner with the local 
Division of Employment Security, Division of Vocational Rehabilitation and the Division of 
Mental Health (the Local Management Entity offices) to provide services to assist Work First 
participants in obtaining employment and moving towards self-sufficiency.  Other partnerships 
available in the counties are also encouraged to assist Work First participants’. 
 
WORK FIRST ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA (UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED) 
 
Receipt of Work First is based on both non-financial and financial criteria, which are described 
in Appendix C.  Cabarrus County operates a Work Over Welfare program under State law.  Their 
program criteria are described in Appendix E.  Electing Counties’ criteria are described in 
Appendix D.   
 
The responsibilities of the recipient and the county are spelled out in a MRA that describes steps 
the family will take to become self-sufficient and support services the county will provide.  (See 
Appendix B) 
 
EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE (ALL COUNTIES)  
 
Counties must use their Work First block grant funds to provide emergency assistance to 
families.  Counties must define the eligibility criteria including who is eligible and the types of 
emergencies that will be covered.  This assistance is designed to assist with families’ sporadic 
emergency needs, such as a utility cut-off or an eviction notice.  Emergency assistance is not 
designed specifically to help families move to self-sufficiency, although, use of this assistance 
could help a family’s progress.  
 
Counties will comply with federal requirements.  Emergency assistance does not trigger the 24 
or 60-month time limit, nor will families receiving emergency assistance be required to 
participate in the Work First program.  In addition, families who have exhausted their 24 or 60-
month time limit are eligible for Emergency Assistance, provided all other eligibility criteria are 
met.  These families are not included in calculating the State’s participation rates. 
 
Counties are allowed to define and describe in their plans local eligibility criteria that include, at 
a minimum, the following guidelines: 
 
 The family must have a child who lives with a parent or relative as defined in Work First 

policy and who meets the age requirements for Work First. 
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 Total income must be at or below 200% of the federal poverty level 
 Family members must meet the same citizenship requirements as for Work First. 
 Countable income is the same as for Work First. 

 
APPEALS PROCESS  
 
For Standard Counties, the N. C. Department of Health and Human Services has set uniform 
standards for determining eligibility, providing benefits, and ensuring fair and equitable 
treatment.  Applicants or recipients who wish to contest a decision adversely affecting their 
receipt of WFFA or workers contending a breach of the non-displacement in work activity 
provision of federal law, may appeal in accordance with N.C.G.S. 108A-79.  Families are 
informed of their right to appeal and are provided with copies of Work First policy upon request.  
Electing Counties, as required by State law, have established a local appeals process that 
substantially complies with the appeals process outlined in N.C.G.S. 108A-79.  For Electing 
Counties, all appeals for Work First are heard locally, not by the State Division of Social 
Services.  Applicants and recipients with disabilities and language needs are provided with 
reasonable accommodations to assist them in participating in the appeals process if requested. 
 
WORK FIRST SERVICES 
 
It is important that families receive the services needed to assist them in moving toward self-
sufficiency.  All counties have maximum flexibility in deciding how they utilize their block 
grants to provide services to enable families to become and remain self-sufficient.  The 
flexibility available to county departments of social services makes it impossible to outline all of 
the services that may be provided.  Services that are not specifically prohibited by federal law or 
regulation may be provided.  To the extent that Work First services are available, they may be 
provided to recipients of WFFA or of Work First benefits at any time to support the activities in 
the MRA.  In addition, support and family enrichment services may be provided for families 
whose income does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty level, and work-related services may 
be provided to non-custodial parents of Work First recipient children.  The Electing county’s 
Work First Plan describes how services will be provided. 
 
Serving Non-Custodial Parents (Optional in All Counties) 
 
Child support should be a primary income source for most Work First families and a way for 
former Work First families to remain off Work First.  To enhance non-custodial parents’ ability 
to pay child support, North Carolina allows counties to provide work-related services for non-
custodial parents of minor children who are Work First recipients.  The non-custodial parent’s 
family income must be at or below 200% of the federal poverty guideline.  The non-custodial 
parent is not considered a member of the custodial parent’s or caretaker’s family.  In addition to 
the ability to provide work-related services, Work First staff is encouraged to work with their 
local Child Support Enforcement Office and judicial system to have support orders modified to 
require the non-custodial parent’s participation in employment activities.  
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Serving Low Income Families 
 
All counties are to provide in their county plan for provision of a variety of services for families 
with income at or below 200% of the federal poverty level that have a child who meets the same 
requirements as for WFFA or Work First services.   
 
Counties describe in their county plans how they will provide such services and what types of 
services they will provide.  Services may be varied, including but not limited to, transportation, 
child care, job retention bonuses, case management, follow-up services, mentoring programs, 
after-school learning programs, parenting programs, literacy programs, and post-employment 
skills training.  Families who have exhausted their 24 or 60-month time limit are eligible for 
these services, provided all other eligibility criteria are met. 
 
Child Care Services 
 
Counties may provide child care services subsidized by their Work First Block Grant funds.  To 
qualify, families must be eligible for WFFA or for Work First Services as described in this plan.  
The child care services provided must comply with subsidized child care policies administered 
by Division of Child Development (DCD).  All parents receiving child care subsidies have a 
choice of using legally operating providers and information to help them evaluate their child care 
arrangement.  
 
All parents who have countable income are required to help pay for the cost of child care in 
accordance with the fee schedules administered by DCD.   
 
Transportation Services  
 
The North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) and the North Carolina Department 
of Health and Human Services (NCDHHS) share a mutual interest in exploring new and 
innovative resources for employment transportation.  The common goal is to move Work First 
recipients not only to work, but also to self-sufficiency.  NCDOT provides an annual allocation 
across the state to support the employment transportation needs of former Work First recipients 
that are working and no longer eligible to receive cash assistance.  The formula-based allocation 
entitled “Work First Transitional/Employment Transportation Assistance” is made available to 
each county based on population and public assistance caseload size.  Funds may be used for 
fuel, bus passes, vanpooling and carpooling efforts, volunteer reimbursement; driver 
wages/fringe benefits, taxi services, insurance, repairs, and maintenance.  Although these funds 
are targeted towards former Work First recipients, they may also be used for other low-income 
individuals in the community with employment-related transportation needs who are not 
affiliated with Work First or other human service programs.  
 
Counties are encouraged to develop local partnerships with other human services agencies, 
transit systems, businesses, workforce development agencies, faith community, civic 
organizations, etc., to develop and expand alternative transportation resources to meet the 
community’s transportation needs.  Issues such as communication, coordination, mutual trust and 
respect, policies, marketing, funding resources and cost sharing are all part of the discussion 
process.  
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Some counties have developed car ownership programs through partnerships with other 
organizations.  Vehicles donated from private citizens, businesses, and/or local governments are 
given to select Work First families.  There are many different versions of car ownership 
programs in operation in North Carolina.  Most programs require that the Work First recipient 
pay at least a portion of the costs associated with liability insurance, repairs, taxes, and license 
and/or title fees.  Some counties use Work First Block Grant Funds to purchase vehicles, make 
down payments, and assist with regular car payments or car repairs for Work First families.  
 
Eldercare Services 
 
The Work First program will continue to provide assistance to work eligible individuals to train 
for, seek and maintain employment in the eldercare workforce.  Work First Employment 
Services’ job skills training, work experience and employment retention services include training 
and employment for certified nursing assistants (CNAs), home health aides, and other 
occupations related to eldercare.  In addition case management services provides employment 
retention services for positions that include CNAs, home health aides and other occupations 
related to eldercare. Assistance may include tuition, payment of course fees, books, instructional 
materials, special equipment (i.e., lab coats, stethoscopes, etc.) and supportive services such as 
child care and transportation services. 
 
The Department will continue to collaborate with the North Carolina Division on Aging and 
Adult Services (DAAS) on eldercare issues.  Local agencies are required to keep informed of 
local economic trends and provide employment services, including job skills training and job 
development, based on these trends. 
 
SUBSTANCE ABUSE AND MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES 
 
North Carolina law requires all adult applicants and recipients of WFFA to be screened for 
substance abuse.  A voluntary mental health screening is offered as part of the application. 
Further assessment is required if indicated by the screening process.  A Qualified Professional in 
Substance Abuse (QPSA) completes a thorough assessment of the individual's situation.  If 
appropriate, a substance abuse treatment plan is developed and a referral is made through the 
Local Management Entity to identify a provider for treatment.  The QPSA serves as the care 
coordinator to track the adult's engagement in treatment.  The QPSA and the Work First 
caseworker jointly develop a plan for the family to ensure success.  If an adult refuses to be 
screened initially for substance abuse, the entire family is ineligible for Work First but is 
evaluated for Medicaid.   
 
If, after it is determined that substance abuse treatment is required, the adult fails to comply with 
the treatment plan without good cause; the adult is ineligible for cash assistance.  The QPSA will 
assist the Work First worker in determining good cause.  The adult continues to be eligible for 
Medicaid, is included in the family case, and continues to be considered a Work First recipient 
for purposes of the work requirement and time limits.  The family’s payment is recalculated with 
the adult excluded from the needs, and the payment is made to a protective payee.  Participants 
in treatment programs are expected to combine treatment with other appropriate work activities. 
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FRAUD AND ABUSE  
 
The Department of Health and Human Services enforces standards and procedures to detect and 
prevent fraud and abuse by recipients and employees of the program.  An administrative hearing 
process enables county departments of social services to identify cases of intentional program 
violations.  Individuals found to have committed an intentional program violation are 
disqualified from WFFA for 12 months for the first offense, 24 months for the second offense, 
and permanently for the third.  The cash benefit is reduced by the needs of the offender but the 
offender continues to be subject to time limits and work requirements.  The overpayment is also 
recovered by repayment or payment reduction. The county will reevaluate the family for 
Medicaid. 
 
OUT-OF-WEDLOCK BIRTHS 
 
Because out-of-wedlock births are so closely linked to poverty, reducing these births should 
improve the health of women and children and help reduce dependency on public assistance.  
 
Circumstances contributing to out-of-wedlock births are complex.  Strategies to reduce them 
must address a range of issues from access to family planning services to promoting abstinence 
and responsible behavior. 
 
County health and social services departments continue to collaborate to ensure that all recipients 
receive needed family planning services.  Each county health and social services department has 
formulated a plan to reduce barriers and promote family planning service utilization.  An 
indicator to determine the percent of out-of-wedlock births has been added to the Maternal and 
Child Health Accountability System to monitor health departments as they strive to meet this 
goal.  This indicator is tracked on a county-by-county basis and is used in the evaluation of each 
health department's effectiveness, resulting in health departments adopting strategies to improve 
their county performance measures. 
 
The Department gives high priority to its adolescent parenting and adolescent pregnancy 
prevention programs and continues to monitor prevention efforts, particularly those aimed at 
reducing teen pregnancy. 
 
Teen Pregnancy Prevention Initiatives (TPPI), housed in the Division of Public Health, provides 
funding for local health departments, social services departments, school systems, and other 
community-based agencies to work with adolescents to prevent pregnancy among target 
populations.  These agencies use “best practice models” in group settings.  Techniques may 
include abstinence and life-skills education, youth development, parent workshops, counseling 
and referral, community awareness efforts, and male involvement.  Topics include decision-
making, leadership, information about specific areas of concern such as sexual coercion, 
statutory rape laws, and/or service learning.  
 
FORMATION AND MAINTENANCE OF TWO-PARENT FAMILIES 
 
Researchers have found many benefits for men, women, children and communities who are in 
healthy marriages.  Some individuals are less likely to remain or end up in poverty and children 
and youth are less likely to become pregnant as a teenager when raised by parents in healthy 
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marriages.  The mission of the Healthy Marriages Initiative is to help couples that have chosen 
marriage for themselves, gain greater access to marriage education services, on a voluntary basis, 
where they can acquire the skills and knowledge necessary to form and sustain a healthy 
marriage.  Local community based Family Resource Centers, provides a comprehensive array of 
family support programs, services and activities to encourage the formation and maintenance of 
two-parent families.  
 
INDIAN TRIBES 
 
The Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians, the only Indian tribe in North Carolina recognized by the 
U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs, has elected to remain under the state Work First program.  County 
departments of social services provide for the intake, eligibility determination, and WFFA, and 
case management for tribal families.  However, the county departments of social services do not 
provide employment services to the tribal members.  The Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians 
continues to operate a pre-existing Native Employment Worker (NEW) program.  Therefore, 
North Carolina does not include these individuals in the state’s federal work participation rate.  
 
INDIVIDUAL DEVELOPMENT ACCOUNTS (IDA) 
 
Counties may establish IDA projects locally based on the counties’ resources available.  
Counties’ IDA projects must comply with federal regulations and with Section 404 (h) of the 
Social Security Act. 
 
CONFIDENTIALITY 
 
The Division complies with state and federal law/regulation as it pertains to confidential 
information.  North Carolina General Statute 108A-80 states that it is unlawful for information to 
be released from a family’s records, except for the purposes directly connected with the 
administration of programs of public assistance and social services.  The General Statute requires 
the Division to establish and enforce policies governing restrictions on the use and disclosure of 
any information concerning applicants and recipients of public assistance and comply with 
applicable provisions of the Social Security Act concerning confidentiality. 
 
FAMILY VIOLENCE OPTION 
 
North Carolina has adopted the Family Violence Option.  The State has developed standards and 
procedures to notify all Work First applicants and recipients about domestic violence and the 
Option, and to identify applicants and recipients with a history of being a victim of domestic 
violence.  These individuals are referred to counseling and supportive services (while 
maintaining their confidentiality) and may receive a temporary waiver from one or more Work 
First requirements, if domestic violence is preventing them from meeting these requirements. 
 
The Department may waive Work First requirements such as time limits, participation in work 
activities, child support cooperation, and family cap provisions in cases where there is good 
cause that compliance would make it more difficult for the recipient to escape domestic violence.  
These waivers also apply to situations that would unfairly penalize someone who is, or has been, 
a victim of domestic violence.  The length of waivers is determined on a case-by-case basis but 
may not exceed six months at a time. 
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LOCAL DEMONSTRATIONS OR PILOT PROGRAMS 
 
Counties may apply to design and operate demonstrations or pilot programs to investigate 
various ways of meeting the Work First program purposes and goals.  These demonstrations will 
likely be in areas in which the county lacks the authority to make specific program changes.  
Funding, in addition to the county’s local block grant, may or may not be provided.  There may 
be instances in which the State asks for proposals to address a specific topic.  In other situations, 
counties may apply to the State to operate a pilot without an official request from the State. 
 
TANF ELIGIBLE FAMILIES 
 
In order to achieve the goals of Work First, North Carolina opts to take advantage of the 
flexibility allowed in the federal law and regulations.  Toward that end, the Department defines 
several categories of eligible families.  Eligible families include the following: 
 
• Families that meet the income and resource requirements outlined in Appendices C and D 

will be provided WFFA or Benefit Diversion.   
• Services to prevent or delay pregnancies to unwed parents, teenage parents or other high-risk 

populations are provided without regard to family income. 
• Pregnant women whose income is at or below 200% of the federal poverty level may receive 

support services. 
• Non-custodial parents of Work First children where the non-custodial parent’s family income 

does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty guideline may receive work-related services. 
• All other services, including, but not limited to:  Job retention and advancement services, 

employment services, support services, and preventive family services (including child 
protective services and related child welfare activities), but not assistance, may be provided 
to families with incomes that do not exceed 200% of the federal poverty guideline. 

• Limited follow-up and referral services can be provided to any former Work First recipient 
without regard to family income.   

• In addition to serving the families described above, North Carolina provides services covered 
in North Carolina’s approved State Plan as authorized by Parts A and F of Title IV of the 
Social Security Act in September 1995.  For a description of these services, see Appendix F. 

• Child Protective Services and related Child Welfare Services may be provided without regard 
to family income. 

 
USE OF FUNDS 
 
Federal funds will be used in accordance with federal law and regulations. 
 
These TANF funds will be used to meet the four purposes specified in the P.L. 104-193.  
Federal, State, and county TANF funds will be invested in activities to support achievement of 
specified outcome measures.  These activities include, but are not limited to enhanced training 
for State and local staff, automation, employer incentives, family planning services, substance 
abuse treatment, child care, transportation, and other activities promoting self-sufficiency for 
families.  In addition, federal TANF funds will be used for the services previously included in 
the AFDC-EA plan as specified in Appendix F. 
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Federal TANF funds may be spent as follows and in accordance with federal law and 
regulations: 
 
• WFFA and Work First Services. 
• Child care. 
• Supportive services, including, but not limited to work-related expenses and transportation.  

Educational activities intended to increase self-sufficiency, job training, and work, excluding 
any expenditure for public education in the State except expenditures that involve the 
provision of services or assistance to a member of an eligible family that is not generally 
available to other people. 

• Administrative costs (which may not exceed 15% of the total funds spent for purposes under 
Title I of the federal block grant).  
[Administration is defined as costs associated with office directors, policy, fiscal, budget, 
personnel, purchasing, legal, clerical support, and direct, indirect, and allocated costs in 
support of these positions.  The costs of staff that provide case management, program 
supervisors, program clerical staff, and support costs of program staff are services costs 
rather than administrative costs.  The staff time spent solely on determining financial 
eligibility, including evaluating assets, is counted as administration.]  

• Case management services, including outreach and follow-up activities. 
• Expansion of child support efforts, including fatherhood initiatives, training for eligible non-

custodial parents.  TANF funds or MOE will be used to fund a concentrated plan to increase 
the level of collections for eligible families.  

• Federal funds may also be used to help meet cost-sharing requirements under the Job Access 
program under Section 3037 of the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (P.L. 105-
178). 

• Automating the provisions of the law. 
• Other uses that reasonably can be expected to enable families to care for children in their 

homes; that promote job preparation, work, and marriage; that prevent or reduce the 
incidence of out of wedlock pregnancies; and that encourage parents to marry and remain 
married.  

• Any purpose for which the State was authorized to use funds received under Parts A and F of 
Title IV of the Social Security Act as they were in effect on September 30, 1995.  This means 
that North Carolina will continue, as it has since 1995, to provide services (including child 
welfare services) to at-risk children as was approved in the Title IV-A State Plan as of 
September 30, 1995.  A description of these services is located in Appendix F. 

 
If federal TANF funds are insufficient to cover cash assistance costs in the event of economic 
downturns, other Federal, State, and county funds may be used to meet the costs of assisting 
needy families. 
 
Counties are able to retain partially collections made on overpayments to recipients not due to 
agency error, including child care overpayments. 
 
MAINTENANCE OF EFFORT 
 
Under State law, both the counties and the State provide Maintenance of Effort funds.  County 
spending is generally through the County Work First Block Grant.  This Block Grant contains an 
allocation of Federal funds to be used for those services that meet the requirements for TANF 
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funds.  It also contains state and county funds that are used to meet the Maintenance of Effort 
requirements.  Additional State funds for Maintenance of Effort are spent on such items as child 
care, State administrative costs and automation. 
 
Maintenance of Effort funds may be used for the activities listed below. 
 
• WFFA. 
• Child care. 
• Supportive and preventive services, including, but not limited to child and family enrichment 

services, work-related expenses, and transportation. 
• Educational activities intended to increase self-sufficiency, job training, and work, excluding 

any expenditure for public education in the State except expenditures that involve the 
provision of services or assistance to a member of an eligible family that is not generally 
available to other people. 

• Administrative costs (which may not exceed 15% of the total funds spent for purposes under 
Title I of the federal block grant).  
[Administration is defined as costs associated with office directors, policy, fiscal, budget, 
personnel, purchasing, legal, clerical support, and direct, indirect, and allocated costs in 
support of these positions.  The costs of staff that provide case management, program 
supervisors, program clerical staff, and support costs of program staff are services costs 
rather than administrative costs.  The staff time spent solely on determining financial 
eligibility, including evaluating assets, is counted as administration.] 

• Case management services, including outreach and follow-up activities. 
• Services such as housing assistance or health care assistance that can help families meet their 

goals for self-sufficiency. 
• Automating the provisions of the law. 
• Other uses that reasonably can be expected to enable families to care for children in their 

homes; that promote job preparation, work, and marriage; that prevent or reduce the 
incidence of out of wedlock pregnancies; and that encourage parents to marry and remain 
married.  

• Refundable State Earned Income Tax Credits for families with minor children who qualify 
for the Federal EITC. 

• Programs for at-risk youth that provide after school programming, mentorship, remediation, 
alternative education, dropout prevention, and other supportive services. 

• Early Education and other school readiness programs intended to ensure youth are prepared 
to enter school.  

 
IMPLEMENTATION 
 
North Carolina will phase in implementation, based on resources, training needed, and 
automation abilities.  Any changes requiring modifications to the existing Eligibility Information 
System (EIS), Food Stamp Information System (FSIS) Employment Programs Information 
System (EPIS), Client Services Data Warehouse (CSDW), or North Carolina Families Accessing 
Services through Technology (NCFAST) that support the Work First and Medicaid Programs 
will be delayed until the modifications can be implemented in the systems.  Existing policies 
remain in effect until the required automation changes can be made effective or changes not 
requiring automation can be put into place. 
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AMERICANS FOR DISABILITIES ACT REQUIREMENTS (ALL COUNTIES) 
 
In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) 
policy, county departments of social services are prohibited from discriminating against any 
person on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability in admission, treatment 
or participation in its programs, services activities, or in employment.  All counties are required 
to have policies and practices on compliance with American with Disabilities Act (ADA), as 
well as the provision of interpreter services for its citizens that require such accommodations.  
Counties are asked to provide a detailed discussion on how the county complies with ADA, as 
well as requests for interpreter services.   
 
To ensure effective communication and meaningful access to programs and services, individuals 
with disabilities will be notified of the availability of services at no cost.  Such services may 
include, but are not limited to, sign language interpretation and foreign language interpretation 
services. 
 
Documents notifying applicants and program participants of adverse actions will be 
communicated in plain language; will be provided in the applicant or program participant’s 
primary language; or will advise the program participant how to have the document interpreted 
free of charge. 
 
The Division will track statistical information as it relates to individuals with disabilities. 
 
The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act requires that Title II of 
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 
(Section 504) apply to TANF programs.  The ADA (42 USC Section 12101 et seq.; 28 CFR Part 
35) applies to counties and other local governments administering all or part of the TANF 
program, and Section 504 (29 USC Section 794; 45 CFR Part 84) applies to entities which 
receive federal funding, either directly or indirectly, through a grant, contract, or subcontract.  
The two significant elements of Section 504 and Title II of the ADA are: 
 
• Individualized treatment and; 
• Effective and meaningful opportunity. 
 
Individualized treatment means that individuals with disabilities should be treated on a case-by-
case basis and not on stereotypes and generalizations.  Further, individuals with disabilities must 
be afforded the opportunity to benefit from Work First in the same manner as those individuals 
who do not have disabilities.  Exempting individuals with disabilities from work requirements 
denies these individuals access to services and may result in discrimination.  
 
Section 504 and ADA requires that agencies: 
 
• Ensure equal access to employment programs for qualified individuals with disabilities 

through the provision of appropriate services; 
• Adopt methods of administration which do not discriminate against and ensures equal access 

and opportunity to qualified individuals with disabilities; and 
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• Modify policies, practices, and procedures to provide equal access that allows qualified 
individuals with disabilities to participate in and benefit from employment programs unless 
doing so would fundamentally change the program or cause an undue hardship.  

 
Qualified individuals with disabilities must be provided reasonable accommodations so they 
have an opportunity to participate in and benefit from services and programs that are as effective 
and meaningful as those available to individuals without disabilities.  A reasonable 
accommodation is any reasonable change in the way the Work First program administers the 
program or the way it requires the participant to do something.  Exempting the Work First 
participant for “good cause” when they are unable to meet work requirements because they have 
a disability or are caring for a family member with a disability is not an alternative to evaluating 
the need for accommodations.  
 
To ensure that individuals with disabilities have equal access to employment programs, the Work 
First staff must screen and assess all applicants and participants to determine the participant’s 
specific abilities and limitations.  Screenings and assessments will occur periodically to address 
potential program participation barriers. Individuals may be referred to the Division of 
Vocational Rehabilitation for determination of their eligibility for such services, or to other 
qualified professional for a comprehensive assessment. 
 
Any applicant or recipient that meets the ADA definition of disabled and those individuals caring 
for family members who are disabled should be provided reasonable accommodations, if needed.  
Reasonable accommodations may include but are not limited to: 
 
1. Part-time work activities 
2. Reasonable accommodations for work activities  
 

The MRA may reflect medical appointments, vocational evaluations, functional assessments 
etc.  These appointments are necessary to establish evidentiary support for limited work 
activities.  This should be carefully monitored to ensure the participant is fully benefiting 
from the Work First program. 

 
3. Job restructuring, includes part-time or modified work schedules, modification of equipment 

and examinations, provision of qualified readers, interpreters, or job coaches 
4. Additional assistance or increased supervision in work activities 
5. Assistance with application for benefits, including a notification process for those with 

learning disabilities 
6. Specialized child care for a child with a disability 
 
Accommodations will be considered even when scheduling appointments and requesting that the 
individual obtain and provide documents for verification purposes. 
 
An individual, who has requested an accommodation and believes that they have not been 
adequately accommodated, is informed to notify the Work First case manager verbally or in 
writing.  Within 7 workdays of the receipt of notification, the county should have a meeting to 
include the individual and/or his/her representative and appropriate staff.  The county has 14 
workdays from the date of the meeting to respond to the request.  The county must notify the 
individual of the decision in writing within the 14 workdays from date of the meeting. 
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The county department of social services is required to inform the applicant or recipient that 
disclosure of a disability is voluntary.  This includes screening for a disability, including learning 
disabilities and mental health disorders.  Nonetheless, counties must inquire about an 
individual’s health related limitations to determine the appropriate work assignments.  The 
participant does not have to provide the information. 
 
There are times when identification and treatment of a disability are necessary for program 
administration.  Under these circumstances, a participant may be required to participate in efforts 
to evaluate a suspected disability and participate in necessary treatment.  Those circumstances 
may include: 
 
a. If a participant reports they are unable to work or to have limited work capacity, the 

individual may be required to substantiate their statements by being required to provide 
medical documentation, participate in screenings and evaluations as agreed on the MRA.  
Failure to comply may result in a sanction of benefits. All participants are given opportunity 
to provide any required medical documentation before a sanction of their benefits may occur. 

b. If a participant has demonstrated an inability to successfully participate in work activities or 
employment and the worker has reason to believe this is due to a disability or work 
limitation, the county may require the participant to be screened or evaluated to establish the 
necessary services to support the participant in achieving success in the Work First program.  
If the screening or evaluation determines that the participant requires treatment, the 
participant may be required to participate in the necessary treatment as a condition of the 
MRA.  

 
Individuals with confirmed disabilities must be provided with reasonable accommodations and 
services to support their participation in employment and work related activities.  
 
TITLE VI REQUIREMENTS (ALL COUNTIES) 
 
In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) 
policy, county departments of social services are prohibited from discriminating against any 
person on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability in admission, treatment 
or participation in its programs, services activities, or in employment.  All counties are required 
to establish policies and practices in compliance with Title VI of the Social Security Act, as well 
as the provision of interpreter services for its citizens that require such accommodations.   
 
To ensure equal access to employment programs, the Work First staff must screen and assess all 
applicants and participants to determine the individual’s specific abilities and limitations.  
Screenings and assessments will occur periodically to address potential program participation 
barriers.  
 
To ensure effective communication and meaningful access to programs and services, individuals 
with disabilities or limited English proficient (LEP) persons will be notified of the availability of 
services at no cost.  Such services may include, but are not limited to, sign language 
interpretation and foreign language interpretation services. 
 
Documents notifying applicants and program participants of adverse actions will be 
communicated in plain language; will be provided in the applicant or program participant’s 
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primary language; or will advise the program participant how to have the document interpreted 
free of charge. 
 
All members included in the Work First application must be US citizens or qualified or 
otherwise eligible immigrants. 
 
If an applicant or recipient requires an interpreter, the county department of social services must 
provide such services for the applicant or recipient.  Generally, this service is provided during 
the initial contact with the applicant as well as during ongoing contacts.  
 
All rules of confidentiality must be applied in regard citizenship/immigrant status.  It is a breach 
of confidentiality to discuss an individual’s citizenship/immigrant status with employers, 
landlords, etc. 
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CERTIFICATIONS REQUIRED OF THE GOVERNOR 
 
As Governor of the State of North Carolina, I hereby certify that during each fiscal year to which 
this state plan is applicable: 
 

• This program will be known as the Work First program. 
• The provisions described in this State plan will be carried out in accordance with federal 

and State law. 
• The State will operate a Child Support Program in accordance with the State plan 

approved under Title IV-D of the Social Security Act. 
• The State will operate a foster care and adoption assistance program in accordance with 

the State plan approved under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act. 
• The state will take any actions that are necessary to ensure that children receiving 

assistance under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act are eligible for medical assistance 
under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

• The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services is the agency responsible 
for supervising the program and administering program funds. 

• Local governments and private organizations have been consulted regarding the plan and 
design of welfare services in the State, and they have been given 45 days to submit 
comments on the plan and design of those services. 

• The State will provide each member of an Indian tribe, who is domiciled in the State and 
is not eligible for assistance under a tribal family assistance plan, with equitable access to 
assistance under the State program funded under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act. 

• The State has established and is enforcing standards and procedures to ensure against 
program fraud and abuse, including standards and procedures concerning nepotism, 
conflicts of interest among individuals responsible for the administration and supervision 
of the State program, kickbacks, and the use of political patronage.  

• The State has established, and are enforcing, standards and procedures to screen and 
identify individuals receiving assistance that have a history of domestic violence.  While 
maintaining the confidentiality, such individuals are referred to counseling and 
supportive services, and, pursuant to a determination of good cause, program 
requirements (such as time limits for individuals receiving assistance, residency 
requirements, child support cooperation requirements, and family cap provisions), are 
waived in cases where compliance with such requirements would make it more difficult 
for them to escape domestic violence or would unfairly penalize them.   

 
 
 

_____________________________ 
Beverly Eaves Perdue, Governor 
State of North Carolina 

 



Work First State Plan   
 

 
North Carolina    

17

APPENDIX A 
 

ELECTING COUNTY BLOCK GRANT PLANS 
 

Triennially, each Electing County must submit to the Department of Health and Human Services 
a local block grant plan that describes its proposal for the following: 
 
• Work First Employment Services Program,  
• Eligibility Criteria for WFFA and other Work First Services, 
• Emergency Assistance Program, 
• Benefit Diversion Program (Optional),  
• Provision of Work First Services to low-income families,  
• Provision of Work First Services to former Work First recipients (Optional), and  
• Provision of Work First Services to non-custodial parents of Work First children (Optional).   
 
Electing Counties shall give the public an opportunity to review and comment on their local 
block grant plans before submitting to the Department.  The county board of commissioners 
must appoint a committee of individuals to identify the needs of the population to be served and 
to review and assist in developing the county block grant plan in response to the needs.  
Membership of the committee must include, but is not limited to, representatives of the county 
board of social services, the board of the Local Management Entity for Mental Health, 
Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, the local public health board, the 
local school systems, the business community, the board of county commissioners and 
community-based organizations that are representative of the population to be served.  In 
addition, religious organizations, service recipients, and other non-profits with experience in 
serving the population should be included.  The Department provides to all counties a model for 
use in developing an electing county plan. 
 
The electing county block grant plan should include public and private resources that will help 
families move to self-sufficiency and should describe how services, such as child care, 
transportation, housing, and skills training will be used.  The plan must include the county’s 
priorities for serving families who need child care, based on the needs of the community and the 
availability of services and funding. 
 
Following review by the county social services board and other parties, the county 
commissioners must approve the county block grant plan before it is submitted to the 
Department. 
 
The Department has the responsibility to ensure that counties’ programs comply with Federal 
and State requirements and are consistent with the goals of the Work First program.  County 
plans for FFY’s 2012 through 2015 have been submitted and reviewed by a team representing of 
a wide variety of agencies and organizations.  All plans were reviewed for compliance with State 
and Federal law and the goals of the Work First program.  Counties received comments and/or 
feedback on innovative strategies, problem areas, and requests for additional information or 
clarifications.  
 
See Appendix D for additional information on the Electing County planning process. 
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Statewide Work First Goals 
 
The Department, in consultation with the county departments of social services and county 
boards of commissioners, has established acceptable levels of county performance in meeting 
Work First expectations.   
 
The goals and performance measures established below will reinforce North Carolina’s 
successful caseload reduction efforts.  With the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 and the 
subsequent Federal Final Rule, there is an increased emphasis on meeting the federal 
requirements for Work Participation Rates.  One factor that has helped North Carolina meet the 
Work Participation Rates in the past has been the Caseload Reduction Credit.  By comparing the 
current caseload to the caseload in 1995, North Carolina could show a significant reduction in 
the caseload.  With that reduction applied by the federal government to the actual participation 
rates, North Carolina has met its Work Participation Rates each year since the beginning of 
TANF and Work First.  However, with the new law and rule, the base year for the Caseload 
Reduction Credit changed from 1995 to 2005.  The change in the base year makes the Caseload 
Reduction Credit significantly smaller than in previous years and thus, makes meeting the Work 
Participation Rates harder to accomplish.  Failure to meet the Work Participation Rates can lead 
to financial penalties. 
 
Therefore, there are two goals for North Carolina’s Work First program, and two goals by which 
county departments of social services will be measured. 
 
1. Meeting Federal Work Participation Rates for All Families.  Active participation in 

employment services and activities will lead to full time employment.  Counties must ensure 
that at least 50% of all Work Eligible Individuals, as defined by Federal Rule, complete the 
required number of hours of federally countable work activities.  

2. Meeting Federal Work Participation Rates for Two-Parent Families.  Active 
participation in employment services and activities will lead to full time employment.  
Counties must ensure that at least 90% of all two-parent families with Work Eligible 
Individuals, as defined by Federal Rule, complete the required number of hours of federally 
countable work activities.  

 
By promoting employment, job retention, diversion, and intensive work activities, these 
outcomes not only assure a continuing downward trend in the caseload, they also will contribute 
to the state’s ability to meet the federal Work Participation Rates.   
 
Tracking county performance measures will assist the Department and counties in focusing on 
the factors that contribute to caseload reduction, meeting Work Participation Rates, and moving 
families toward employment and self-sufficiency.   
 
The following have been identified as the Work First Performance Measures: 
 
1. Diversion Assistance Approvals 
 

This measure represents the number of Diversion Assistance approvals for the county during 
the report month.  Participants who receive Diversion Assistance are not included in the 
calculations for any of the other measures.  They also do not count in the Work Participation 
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Rate. 
 

2. Participants with Hours Scheduled in EPIS 
 

This measure represents the number of adults in the Work First caseload who are actively 
receiving employment services as indicated by having hours scheduled for them in the report 
month.   
 

3. Participants Who Completed 75% of Scheduled Hours 
 

This measure indicates whether participants are completing the hours that are scheduled for 
them (calculated in the prior measure).  Specifically it measures the number of participants 
who completed at least 75% of the hours that were scheduled.  Significant differences 
between the number of participants with scheduled hours and those with completed hours 
may help counties identify when more research is needed to determine why participants are 
not completing hours and what can be done to help them do so. 
 

4. Adults Entering Employment  
 

This measure calculates the number of adults who entered employment during the report 
month using the Employment and Training code in the EIS system.  Individuals are only 
counted once in the year-to-date total.   
 

5. Remaining off Work First for Employment for 12 Months 
 

The calculation for this measure is checked each month to see if the person returned to Work 
First in any of the 12 previous months.  If the individual has not returned to Work First in any 
of the 12 previous months (after leaving Work First for employment), the individual will be 
counted in this total. 
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APPENDIX B 
 

PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITIES AND WORK REQUIREMENTS 
 
Work First is based on the premise that all parents have a responsibility to support themselves 
and their children.  Under Work First, the MRA spells out in detail the obligations of parents, 
relative caretakers, or legal guardians in return for family assistance.  All counties require 
families to enter into Agreements.  Electing Counties may develop their own agreements to meet 
local needs (See Appendix D).  All Standard Counties use the same MRA.  However, counties 
may tailor the agreement to meet local and family-specific needs. 
 
For the purpose of this section, there is a distinction between the requirements for families that 
include a “Work Eligible Individual” and those families that do not.  These individuals are 
considered “Work Eligible Individuals.”  Drug felons, fleeing felons, and applicants for SSI are not 
excluded from the definition of work eligible individuals.  The following individuals are exempt 
from the work requirement: 
 
1. Adults receiving cash assistance for a child only.  (The adult is not included in the case.) 
 

a. A non-recipient relative, other than a parent, living with a child receiving assistance. 
b. A non-qualified immigrant who is ineligible for WFFA or Work First Benefits due to 

immigration status.  (Immigration status requires third party verification.) 
c. A recipient of Supplemental Security Income (SSI.)   
 

2. Single custodial parents with a child under 12 months of age.   
 
3. Individuals with “child” family status (youth up to age 18 and not an emancipated minor 

payee).  Emancipation occurs when a dependent child marries, becomes a member of the U. S. 
Armed Forces, or is declared emancipated by a court.  An emancipated minor parent is treated as 
an adult applicant to qualify for and receive Work First cash assistance for themselves and their 
child. 

 
4. A parent providing care for a disabled family member living in the home.  Medical 

documentation to support the need for the parent to remain in the home is required from the 
Health Care Professional responsible for the medical care of the disabled family member. 

 
MUTUAL RESPONSIBILITY AGREEMENT  
 
The first part of the MRA, the Core Requirements, applies to all families and describes the 
parent’s or caretaker’s responsibilities.  All Agreements must include:  
 
• Contact their Work First worker if a change occurs in their situation within ten (10) days of 

knowing of the change. 
• Keep all scheduled appointments with their Work First worker. 
• Cooperate with Child Support Enforcement for all children who receive assistance. 
• Ensure that children who receive assistance get their immunizations and have regular 

checkups. 
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• Ensure that school-aged children and minor parents who receive assistance live at home and 
attend school according to school attendance policy. 

 
A family is not eligible for WFFA unless the parent(s) or caretaker(s) signs the MRA. 
The second part of the MRA, The Plan of Action, is the Work Eligible parent’s plan to meet the 
work requirements.  This part: 
 
1. Establishes employment goals for the parent(s);  
2. Describes a plan for participating in work or work-related activities and the hours required in 

each activity; and 
3. Describes the case management and supportive services that will be provided to help the 

family successfully meet the requirements of the MRA and move towards self-sufficiency.  
Supportive services may include reasonable accommodations for individuals with disabilities 
and language assistance for LEP populations. 

 
All MRA-Plan of Action Agreements must include: 
 
• Contact their Work First worker immediately if a change occurs that prevents them from 

completing the activities described on the MRA Plan of Action. 
• Accept and keep any reasonable job offered.  The participant will not quit a job, refuse an 

offer of employment or fail to follow up on job referrals without good cause. 
• Submit verification of all activities completed each month by the fifth (5th) work day of the 

following month. 
• Acknowledge the requirements listed on the MRA Plan of Action and Core Requirements 

and their payment will stop and all family members will be evaluated for Medicaid. 
 

A family whose parent refuses to sign the MRA-Plan of Action (if required) loses its benefits for 
at least one month.  Benefits will not be restored until the parent signs this part. 
 
Employment Assistance for Work Eligible Individuals 
 
The Division of Employment Security (DES) is the presumptive primary deliverer of job 
placement services for the Work First program and a critical partner with the Department of 
Health and Human Services.   
 
Registration for work with DES will be a prerequisite to participation in the Job Search 
component of Work First.  All work eligible participants who are assessed as ready to engage in 
job search will be required to register for work with DES.  This requirement will be included on 
their MRA Plan of Action.   
 
Failure to register for work with DES as part of the Job Search component will result in a 
sanction, which entails the loss of the WFFA payment for one month or until compliance, 
whichever is longer.  If the parent is an ongoing Work First case, receiving “Work First cash 
assistance,” the family will not receive their Work First cash benefits for the month that they 
failed to comply with Job Search requirements outlined on their MRA.  The county will 
reevaluate the family for Medicaid. 
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Counties also may contract with the local Division of Employment Security for additional 
services such as job search, job placement, and referrals to community services.  Modifications 
and/or accommodations may be necessary to assist individuals with registration and with access 
to employment services. 
 
Work Responsibilities 
 
Work Eligible individuals are assessed for employability at application for Work First and 
always within three months of receiving assistance.  Single parents of children less than 12 
months of age are excluded from the participation rate calculation, if they do not complete 
enough countable hours to be deemed engaged in work.  This exclusion is for a cumulative total 
period of 12 months. 
 
In all counties, single parents with children under age six who demonstrate that necessary child 
care is not available are not sanctioned.  (See Child Care Section for required definitions.) 
 
MRA Plans of Action are individualized based on an employability assessment.  Often, a Plan of 
Action will reflect fewer hours per week of activities that are required to meet the Work 
Participation Rate.  This may be due to a shortage of appropriate activities, a shortage of 
necessary support services, or other personal limitations of the participant.  County Work First 
staff is responsible for balancing these limitations against the expectation of full time 
participation and the requirement to meet the participation rates.  All work eligible individuals 
are expected to strive and make progress toward full time participation. 
 
The Administration for Children and Families (ACF) was instructed by the Deficit Reduction 
Act of 2005 to provide states with specific definitions of federally countable work activities.  In 
February 2008, the Final Rules were issued with the following work activities: 
 
1. Unsubsidized employment 
2. Subsidized employment 
3. Job Search and Job Readiness 
4. On-the-Job Training 
5. Work Experience 
6. Community Service 
7. Vocational Educational Training 
8. GED/HS Completion for Teen Heads of Households 
9. Job Skills Training 
10. Education Directly Related to Employment 
 
Optional items and information specific to North Carolina are discussed below. 
 
1. State Work Activities - Additional work activities that do not meet the federal definitions are 

also supported.  A worker and the family will use the results of the employability assessment 
to create the most likely and timely path to self-sufficiency. 

 
2. Post Secondary Education - Up to 20% of Work First recipients may be enrolled, at least 

part-time, in a post-secondary education program.  In Standard Counties, recipients who are 
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enrolled at least part time and who maintain a 2.5 grade point average (or its equivalent) shall 
have their two-year time limit suspended for up to three years. 

 
Work Verification Requirements 
 
In compliance with the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 and the subsequent Final Rule, the State 
submitted and ACF approved a “Work Verification Plan” that includes the following: 
 
1. Describes the services or programs the State includes under each work activity.  (Services 

and programs must conform to the Federal definition of these activities.)  
2. Describes how the State determines the number of countable hours of participation for each 

activity.  
3. Describes how the State verifies the actual hours of participation for each activity, including 

the procedures for obtaining and maintaining documentation of hours of participation.  
4. Describes the methods of daily supervision for each unpaid work activity.  
 
North Carolina’s Work Verification Plan was approved by the federal government in September 
2008.  All county Departments of Social Services must adhere to the requirements as outlined in 
the State’s Work Verification Plan. 
 
Child Care Definitions 
 
County departments of social services use the following guidelines to evaluate whether adequate 
child care is available for single parents with a child under age 6.  At each occurrence of non-
compliance with the work requirement for a single parent caring for a child under age 6, the 
county department will document in the case record the reason for the parent’s non-compliance.  
If the parent states that he/she is unable to participate because needed child care is not available, 
the county department will evaluate each of the following criteria and document their findings in 
the case record.  If the county finds that the parent’s claim is valid, the sanction or loss of Work 
First benefits for non-compliance is not applied. 
 
Appropriate Child Care:  
 
• Care in a regulated child care center or family child care home that has a license, or 
• Care in a non-licensed child care arrangement that meets the requirements of North 

Carolina’s Subsidized Child Care Program 
• Child care options must have hours of operation that mesh with the work schedules of 

parents and meet any special needs of the individual children. 
 
Reasonable Distance: 
 
• In evaluating ‘reasonable distance,’ counties consider the total time it takes for parents to 

travel one-way from home to the child care provider then to work or work-related activity.  
Because of the differences in North Carolina’s geography and highway/road systems, county 
departments have maximum discretion to decide what is “reasonable” for individual families 
based on their resources (i.e., whether they have a vehicle in working order or families’ 
resources available for transporting the family) and local transportation considerations. 

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dss/workfirst/docs/work_verification_plan_2008.pdf
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• As a guideline, counties should consider that it might not be reasonable to require families 
receiving Work First to travel more than 80 minutes one-way to work and child care.  Eighty 
minutes is approximately  four times the average one-way commute time in North Carolina 
(not including stops at child care arrangements), based on data from the U.S. Census Bureau. 

 
This does not preclude an exemption from the sanction or a loss of Work First benefits based on 
a shorter commute if the county considers the commute an obstacle to children’s healthy 
development or the family’s self-sufficiency goals. 
 
Unsuitability of Unlicensed Child Care: 
 
The unsuitability of a non-licensed child care arrangement is determined on a case-by-case basis.  
A non-licensed child care provider may be considered “unsuitable” for a particular family if one 
of the following exists: 

 
• The non-licensed child care arrangement does not meet the requirements of North Carolina’s 

Subsidized Child Care Program to receive subsidy payment.  
• A parent does not want their child(ren) cared for by the non-licensed child care provider. 
 
Affordable Child Care Arrangement: 
 
When a child care subsidy is available to the family, the child care is considered affordable.  If 
the child care provider charges parents the difference in the subsidy payment rate and the private 
paying rate and the parent cannot afford to pay the difference, that care does not meet the 
definition of affordable.   
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APPENDIX C 
 

STANDARD COUNTIES 
 
Non-Financial Eligibility Rules 
 
In addition to signing the MRA and work requirements, families must meet certain eligibility 
rules in order to receive WFFA.  The basic eligibility rules are described below. 
 
1. Children must be age 17 or younger.  Children may receive through the month that they 

turn 18.  Children age 18 if in high school and expected to graduate by the month of their 
19th birthday, can receive through the month they graduate from high school.  Emancipated 
minor parents are considered adults and treated as such for Work First. 

2. Children and adults who receive SSI are not included as recipients in the WFFA case.  If a 
parent is applying for WFFA, they only have one child, and that child receives SSI or 
adoption assistance, the parent may receive assistance with a payment for one person. 

3. Parents, including biological, adoptive, or stepparents, must be included with their child 
(ren) in WFFA case.  All siblings, stepsiblings and half siblings living together must also 
be included in the case.  If both biological parents and adoptive parents are living in the 
same residence with a child, the adoptive parents must apply and be included, but the 
biological parents may not.   

4. If the child’s parent and an individual who has legal custody or guardianship reside in the 
home with the child, only the individual who has day-to-day care of the child may apply for 
and receive WFFA for that child.  The child’s parent is included in the case, and child 
support must be pursued.  The parent’s income must be counted in this case.  The parent 
must sign an MRA and is expected to complete the work participation requirements, unless 
the parent meets one of the exemptions from the definition of Work Eligible Individuals. 

5. Children for whom Foster Care and/or Adoption Assistance payments are being made are 
not included as recipients. 

6. Certain relatives, or a person with legal custody or legal guardianship, may apply for 
assistance for a child but may not be included in the payment.  These cases are child-only 
cases.   

 
The following relatives qualify to apply for a child:  a blood or half blood relative or 
adoptive relative limited to: brother, sister, grandparent, great-grandparent, great-great-
grandparent, uncle or aunt, great-uncle or aunt, great-great-uncle or aunt, nephew, niece, 
first cousin, and spouses of anyone listed above even after the marriage has been 
terminated by death or divorce.  The kinship rule does not include the spouses of step 
relatives.  In addition, a stepbrother or stepsister may also apply for a child but may not be 
included in the payment. 

 
7. An adult or child cannot receive TANF Assistance in more than one case in North Carolina 

or any other state for the same month. 
8. An individual can be the payee for one WFFA case at a time. 
9. Undocumented immigrants are not eligible to receive Work First.  North Carolina elects to 

provide assistance to cover all optional non-citizen populations allowable under federal 
law. 
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10. A family cap on assistance is in effect.  This means that a family’s WFFA cash payment 
will not increase when a child is born ten (10) months after a month in which a family 
received cash assistance.  There are some exceptions to the family cap rule, as follows:   

 
• A child who is the firstborn (including all children of a multiple birth) of a minor who is a 

dependent child. 
• A child who is conceived as a result of verifiable rape, sexual assault, or incest. 
• A child for whom parental custody has been legally transferred to someone other than the 

parent. 
• A child no longer able to live with his parent due to the parent’s death, the parent’s 

incapacity or disability, or the parent’s incarceration or institutionalization if expected to 
last at least three months. 

• A child who is the only child in the family unit. 
 

11. Minor parents (under age 18), unless emancipated, must meet special requirements.  
 

• They must stay in school to complete their high school education, or its equivalent.  
When a minor parent has completed high school or has received a GED, or is suspended 
or expelled from school, the minor parent must participate in an appropriate educational, 
training, or other work activity. 

• They must live with a parent or in another adult-supervised setting approved by the 
county director or his designee.  Payments will be made to an adult as a substitute payee, 
and not to the minor parent. 

 
12. There is a five-year, lifetime limit on receipt of federal TANF assistance.  This means that, 

unless a hardship exemption is granted, a family is not eligible for WFFA if it contains an 
adult who has received WFFA in North Carolina and/or TANF assistance from another 
state for 60 cumulative months.  The five-year lifetime time limit began in North Carolina 
on January 1, 1997.   

 
A family may request a hardship exemption from the 60-month time limit.   
 

The County Board of Social Services, or their designee, will consider and decide whether an 
exemption will be granted based on guidelines established by the Department.  The Board or its 
designee must determine that:   
 
• Both the family and the agency have made good faith efforts to resolve the problems causing 

the hardship during the 60 months of receipt of WFFA.  
• Whether the participant is experiencing hardship as defined in the Work First Manual.  Such 

hardships include, but are not limited to, situations where a family member has been battered 
or subjected to extreme cruelty, where the family is dealing with a severe illness of children 
or parents, or where there is a combination of factors that together constitute a hardship. 

• Whether the hardship condition is severe enough to prevent the parent from working on a 
regular basis. 

 
Adults included in cases that have been granted hardship exemptions are expected to have an 
MRA Plan of Action in place that addresses each identified hardship criterion, and they are 
expected to work toward resolution of the problems as appropriate.  Counties are expected to 
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continue to provide necessary services to enable the family to work towards resolution of these 
issues.  Exemptions can be granted for one to six months.  At the end of the exemption period, 
the family may request another exemption. 
 
Good cause considerations include, but are not limited to: 

 
• Disability of the caretaker; 
• Disability of a child or other family member requiring the caretaker to remain at home and 

provide care; 
• Family crisis or change including, but not limited to, death of a spouse, parent, or child; 
• Lack of necessary child care and; 
• Other unique circumstances that prevented the participant from getting or keeping a job as 

determined by the Board or its designee. 
 
13. The 60 month lifetime limit, in North Carolina, includes months in which a custodial parent 

received TANF assistance for their children as a payee in a child-only case; such as parents 
who are ineligible for assistance due to citizenship status, but excludes parents who are 
recipients of SSI. 

 
14. In addition to the five-year federal lifetime limit, families who are active in North 

Carolina’s Work First Employment Services are limited to 24 cumulative months of cash 
assistance unless an extension as described below is granted.  Families may re-apply for 
Work First after being off assistance for 36 months.  All counties are required to review all 
Work First cases no later than three months prior to the end of the 24-month time limit.   

 
The review is to: 
 
• Ensure that time limits have been tracked correctly;  
• Ensure the family is informed about other services;  
• Provide an extension if the family qualifies; and 
• Review the family status and assist them in identifying resources and supports they 

need to maintain employment and family stability. 
 

Up to 20% of Work First recipients may be enrolled, at least part-time, in a post secondary 
education program.  Recipients who are enrolled at least part time and who maintain a 2.5 
grade point average (or its equivalent) shall have their two-year time limit suspended for up 
to three years. 
 
Families may request an extension of the 24-month time limit at the end of the 24-month 
period or anytime following termination, including any time within the 36-month period of 
ineligibility.  An extension may be requested verbally or in writing. 
 
The County Board of Social Services, or their designee, will consider and decide on whether 
an extension will be granted.  The Board or its designee must determine: 
 
• That the Work First participant substantially complied with the MRA, including 

considerations for any good cause exceptions; 
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• That the Work First participant, through no fault of his own, is unable to obtain or 
maintain employment that provides a basic level of subsistence.  To determine this, the 
Board or its designee will compare the family's net monthly income to the maximum 
Work First payment for the family size.  If the net monthly income is equal to the 
maximum Work First payment or greater, the family cannot receive an extension. 

• Whether the participant is experiencing extenuating circumstances. 
 
If an extension is granted, the Board or its designee must determine the length of the 
extension.  Each extension must be a minimum of 1 month to a maximum of 6 months with 
no limit on the number of extensions (within the 60-month lifetime limit). 
 
Good cause considerations include, but are not limited to: 
 
• Disability of the caretaker; 
• Disability of a child or other family member requiring the caretaker to remain at home 

and provide care; 
• Family crisis or change including, but not limited to, death of a spouse, parent, or child; 
• Lack of necessary child care; and 
• Other unique circumstances determined by the Board or its designee that prevented the 

participant from getting or keeping a job. 
 

15. All Work First applicants (i.e., every member of a case) must have a social security 
number, or apply for a social security number if they do not have one.  Unless an individual 
has a social security number or applies for one, that individual is not eligible for Work 
First. 

16. Individuals who are temporarily absent from the home for fewer than 90 consecutive days 
may continue to be eligible for Work First.  Individuals who are absent from the home for 
more than 90 consecutive days but fewer than 12 months may continue to be eligible for 
Work First, if they have good cause for the absence.  Good cause includes absences for 
medical treatment, substance abuse treatment, and health care.  For children, good cause 
also includes absences for educational requirements.  

17. An adult must report to the caseworker when a child is expected to be absent from the 
home for 90 consecutive days or longer.  The adult must report the child’s absence within 
five days of knowing the absence would exceed 90 consecutive days.  Failure to report the 
absence within five days makes the adult ineligible for three months beginning the month 
after failing to make the report.   

18. An individual who is convicted of misrepresenting his residence in order to receive Work 
First, Medicaid, SSI, or Food and Nutrition Services (FNS) in more than one state or more 
than one location in North Carolina is ineligible for Work First cash assistance for ten years 
beginning on the date of conviction. 

19. Incarcerated or institutionalized individuals are not eligible for WFFA.  
20. A family must apply for WFFA in the county of their residence.  Work First cases will not 

be transferred from county to county (although the Medicaid portion of the case will be 
evaluated for transfer).  The family must reapply for assistance in the new county. 

21. Work First cash payment received solely because the timely notice (10-day notice) 
requirement prevents appropriate action to reduce or stop benefits is not considered an 
overpayment and does not have to be repaid. 
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22. Individuals who have been convicted of a Class H or I controlled substance felony in North 
Carolina may receive WFFA, or other services under the following conditions: 

 
• The individual may be eligible six months after release from custody, or 
• Six months after the date of conviction if the individual was never committed to 

custody,  
• And if there is no additional controlled substance felony offense during that time,  
• And the individual completes or continues appropriate substance abuse treatment as 

determined by the Local Management Entity.  Individuals receiving Work First under 
these conditions are required to undergo substance abuse treatment as a condition of 
eligibility. 

 
23. Families must legally reside in the State to receive assistance.  Families that have moved to 

North Carolina after receiving cash assistance in another state will not be treated differently 
from current residents.  

24. Cash assistance overpayments are recovered from the family, as allowed under State law or 
rule.  This includes fraud, intentional program violations, and inadvertent errors by the 
family. 

25. For WFFA cases, all changes are required to be reported by the family to the county within 
10 calendar days of the date the change becomes known.  This includes changes in income.  
All changes must be processed by the county within 30 calendar days of the report. 

26. The certification period for Work First Services for families with income at or below 200 
percent of the federal poverty level may be for a period of up to twelve months.  Once 
certified, these families’ eligibility does not need to be reviewed until the certification 
period ends. 

27. All applicants and recipients for Work First must provide verification of citizenship and 
identity.   

28. Any family that includes an adult who has quit a job without good cause, or has been fired 
from a job with cause, is ineligible for Work First payments the month of the job quit or 
firing and the two months immediately following.  The family will be evaluated for 
Medicaid. 

 
Financial Rules 
 
1. Resources that can be readily converted to cash will be counted toward a $3,000 limit.  

“Readily converted” means the asset can be converted to cash within 5 working days.   
2. All vehicles are excluded.   
3. To calculate the payment, all income of Work First recipients is counted, except the 

earnings of children, SSI, and the income of SSI recipients, Foster Care Assistance, 
Adoption Assistance, and the Earned Income Tax Credit, unless other law or regulation 
excludes an income type.   

4. Countable income of all family members included in the case is counted.  Income of 
parents who live in the household and are excluded from the case is counted as if they are 
included.  The exception is that no income of SSI recipients is counted.   

5. For unearned income, the actual amount received is the amount counted in calculation of 
the payment. 
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6. For earned income, percentages are subtracted from the total monthly gross income as 
follows: 

 
• 27.5% of gross earned income is excluded. 
• Job bonus is awarded to parents with new earnings for three months that each adult 

recipient has new earnings. 
• The job bonus is offered to participants whose earned income terminates them from 

WFFA. 
• The job bonus applies to new earned income that begins after application for Work 

First.  The job bonus is applied for employment that is expected to be permanent and 
income terminates a participant from WFFA. 

• The job bonus can be applied once in a lifetime for each Work First family who 
becomes employed. 

 
7. The Work First monthly payment is 50% of the difference between the total countable 

income and the need standard. 
 

The need standard is based on the number of eligible family members: 

Number on Work First 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 
Need Standard $362 $472 $544 $594 $648 $698 $746 $772 
Number on Work First 9 10 11 12 13 14 Each additional 
Need Standard $812 $860 $896 $946 $992 $1,042 Add $50 

 
• A family remains eligible as long as the result of the payment calculation is twenty-five 

dollars ($25.00) or more.  Payments, including prorated payments for the month of 
application or termination, will not be made for less than twenty-five dollars. 

• For adults who would otherwise be required to be included in the payment but who are 
ineligible, income is counted as if they were included in the payment (except SSI). 
For the month of application, Work First payments are prorated from the date of 
application with the date of application being day one.  Otherwise, payments are made for 
the full month. 
 

8. Proceeds from non-recurring lump sum payments are counted as a resource beginning the 
month after the month of receipt for ongoing cases.  For pending applications, the non-
recurring lump sum payment is counted as income in the month of receipt and as a resource 
beginning the month after the month of receipt.  

9. When an adult Work First recipient or applicant is potentially eligible for other government 
benefits, such as Unemployment Insurance Benefits, the adult is required to apply for those 
benefits.  If the adult fails to apply by the deadline established by the county or the adult 
refuses to apply, the family is not eligible for Work First. 

10. Certain families, as defined in the Work First Manual, may be required to report income, 
participation hours, and other information to their county department.  Failure to submit a 
timely report results in termination of Work First assistance.  The reporting process will be 
defined in the Work First Manual.   

 
Application Process 
 
County departments of social services are responsible for developing a benefit package as 
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quickly as possible to help families move toward self-sufficiency.  As appropriate, counties 
should offer families other services to enable them to remain off cash assistance.  Such services 
include Diversion Assistance, child support services, child care, and job placement services.  
Diversion Assistance (Benefit Diversion or Emergency Assistance) must be based on a family’s 
specific crisis or episode of need and may not be used for ongoing or recurrent needs. 
 
The time limit for processing applications for WFFA is 45 days.  It is expected that most 
applications will be processed well within this time limit.  In general, it is the applicant’s 
responsibility to provide all the information, including verifications, needed to determine 
eligibility.  Applicants may request assistance in obtaining information.  The agency’s obligation 
to assist the applicant is described in the Work First Policy Manual. 
 
Applications may be denied within the 45-day processing period for any of the following 
reasons: 
 
• The applicant fails to provide information needed to determine eligibility; 
• The applicant refuses or fails to apply for unemployment benefits, when monetarily eligible, 

or refuses or fails to apply for other benefits, such as Social Security or veterans benefits, for 
which he/she may be eligible; 

• The agency is unable to locate the applicant; 
• The applicant refuses or fails to apply for a required family member; 
• The applicant refuses or fails to sign a MRA (either Core Requirements or Plan of Action, if 

required); 
• The applicant fails, without good cause, to keep an appointment and has not contacted the 

agency concerning his application; 
• Ineligibility has been verified including situations in which the applicant’s statement results 

in ineligibility; 
 
For any action or verification of information required of applicants, county departments will not 
deny an application without giving the applicant a written request for the action or verification, 
specifying a deadline that allows at least 12 calendar days in which to meet the requirement.  The 
county must provide appropriate accommodations to assist applicants with limited language 
proficiency or disability in obtaining needed documentation. 
 
Counties will not deny applications for the above reasons if good cause exists.  Good cause is 
defined as:  
 
• A significant family crisis or change including, but not limited to, the death of a spouse, 

parent, or child; 
• Illness of the caretaker or child, including participation in substance abuse treatment or 

attendance at a medical appointment;  
• Civil leave, including jury duty, or a required court appearance;  
• Lack of child care for parent and/or a minor parent in school, training, or other work activity; 

or 
• Any other reason determined by the county director or his or her designee. 
 
An application for WFFA or Work First benefits may also include an application for Medicaid.  
Any time such an application is denied, the county department will evaluate whether the 
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Medicaid application will need to remain open for processing according to Medicaid application 
guidelines.   
 
An application for Work First is valid for a 45-day period.  If the application is denied before the 
45th day, eligibility for Work First assistance can be established at any time within the 45-day 
period without requiring a new interview and Assessment/Workbook.  This is dependent on the 
county worker having all information and documentation required to make the eligibility 
determination with the 45-day period. 
 
Eligibility Reviews 
 
Frequent contact with Work First families is critical in ensuring their success at moving to 
employment.  Counties are strongly encouraged to review a family’s progress on the terms of the 
MRA Plan of Action at least every three months.  Families that do not participate in or allow the 
county to complete the periodic review will lose their Work First payment for at least one month.  
The family may reapply for Work First but eligibility can begin no earlier than the first of the 
month following the month of ineligibility.  A face-to-face interview must be conducted and 
eligibility re-determined at a minimum every 12 months. 
 
The Work First worker must provide or arrange for appropriate accommodations for families 
with limited English proficiency or with disabilities in order to ensure that reviews are conducted 
as scheduled. 
 
Child-Only Cases  
 
County departments are encouraged to provide family enrichment services to child only cases 
and to conduct home visits.  Children in child-only cases are more likely to be “known” to the 
child welfare system.  Often the child is with a relative, rather than in the foster care system.  In 
terms of eligibility, child-only cases must be reviewed within six (6) months after application 
and at least every 12 months thereafter.  All of these reviews must be through face-to-face 
contact.  Counties should evaluate whether contact that is more frequent is desirable for 
individual families.  In child-only cases where the caretaker fails to comply with the MRA, the 
county will carefully evaluate the provision with which the caretaker is out of compliance i.e., 
failure to have children who receive assistance appropriately immunized or failure to ensure 
children who receive assistance stay in school.  If the caretaker is failing to provide appropriate 
care for the child, an evaluation of the appropriateness of the living arrangement is in order.  The 
purpose of the evaluation is to help determine if there are additional services needed by the 
caretaker to ensure compliance in the future.  The goal is to keep the child in a safe and stable 
environment.   
 
Benefit Diversion (Optional in All Counties) 
 
Under certain circumstances, a one-time, short-term benefit package is more appropriate in 
meeting the needs of Work First applicants than becoming a Work First recipient.  Benefit 
Diversion may be provided when families are in need of short-term assistance to enable them to 
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get or keep a job or access other financial assistance that will help meet their needs.  Benefit 
Diversion may only be used when there is documentation of a family’s specific crisis or episode 
of need.  Benefit Diversion cannot be used to meet ongoing or recurrent needs. 
 
• Families that receive Benefit Diversion do not have to repay the benefit amount received. 
• Benefit Diversion can be received only once in a 12-month period and does not trigger the 

two-year Work First time limit or the five-year federal lifetime limit on benefits.   
• Recipients of Benefit Diversion are not required to participate in the Work First employment 

program.  
• These families are not considered Work First participants, and are not considered in 

calculating the State’s participation rate. 
• Families who have exhausted their 24 or 60-month time limit are eligible for Benefit 

Diversion, provided all other eligibility criteria are met. 
 
In these circumstances, Benefit Diversion may provide: 
 
1. A one-time payment.  
2. Medicaid, if eligible, for the months in the Benefit Diversion period; 
3. Referrals to child support and other potential resources. 
 
In order to be eligible for Benefit Diversion, families must meet the following eligibility 
requirements that apply to Work First: 
 
4. Who may apply and be included in the family unit; 
5. Income guidelines; 
6. Resource limit; 
7. Minor parent rules; 
8. State/county residence; 
9. Age rule for children; 
10. Rule to have or apply for a Social Security Number; 
11. Citizenship/immigrant status; 
12. Identity requirements 
13. Kinship/living with rule. 
 
No other Work First eligibility requirements apply to Benefit Diversion cases. 
 
Medicaid 
 
Work First eligibility criteria affect eligibility for Medicaid.  Therefore, if any of the eligibility 
criteria described in this plan result in a practical de-linking from Medicaid, the Department 
reserves the right to revisit the criteria and adjust if needed.  
 
Work First Benefits 
 
This State Plan requires all families with a parent included in the assistance payment be subject 
to the “Work First Benefits” payment process.  A caretaker case will receive their assistance 
payment at the beginning of the month.   
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Families in Work First Benefits status will receive their assistance payments after the end of the 
benefit month.  To qualify for the payment, the parent must provide documentation showing that 
he/she has complied with the requirements of their MRA including both the Core Requirements 
and Plan of Action Requirements or show good cause for not complying. 
 
When parents do not comply with their MRA during a month, their cash benefits will not be 
released for that month and they will not count in the Work Participation Rate.  In addition, the 
month with no Work First Benefits will not count against the participant’s 24-or 60- month time 
limits.  If the parent has good cause for failing to meet their required hours of work activities or 
for not complying with other MRA requirements, their cash benefits will be released.  Good 
Cause is defined as: 
 
• A significant family crisis or change; 
• Illness of the caretaker or child, including participation in substance abuse treatment or 

medical appointment; 
• The loss or interruption of transportation or child care for parent and/or a minor parent in 

school, training, or other work activity;  
• Civil leave, including jury duty, or a required court appearance; and 
• Any other reason deemed sufficient by the county director or designee. 

 
If a participant fails to meet their required hours of work activities or other MRA requirements 
without Good Cause, the MRA informs them that their Work First case will be terminated and 
their case will be evaluated for Medicaid. The child support payment for the following month (if 
they have one) will be sent directly to the recipient.  The family will have to reapply for Work 
First following termination for failure to meet their required hours of work activities or other 
MRA requirements. 
 
If the family does not receive Work First cash assistance in a particular month, they continue to 
receive Medicaid, if eligible.  
 
Sanctions 
 
Work First participants may be sanctioned for non-compliance with program requirements. 
 
There are four types of sanctions that are imposed when participants fail to comply with program 
requirements:  
 
1. Non-cooperation with Child Support Enforcement 
 

When a parent or other adult caretaker fails, without good cause, to cooperate with Child 
Support Enforcement, the entire family will be ineligible for a WFFA payment for one month 
or until compliance, whichever is later.  The children remain eligible for Medicaid.  The adult 
is no longer eligible for Medicaid through Work First.  The adult must be evaluated for 
Medicaid under other aid programs/categories.  The family remains eligible for Work First 
Services. 
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2. Substance Abuse Treatment  
 

If a substance abuse assessment indicates a need for substance abuse treatment and the adult 
fails, without good cause, to comply with the treatment plan, the adult is ineligible for cash 
assistance until he/she complies with treatment.  The adult continues to be included in the 
family and continues to be considered a Work First recipient for purposes of the work 
requirement and time limits.  The family’s payment is recalculated with the adult excluded 
from the needs, and the payment is made to a protective payee. 
 

3. MRA Non-compliance 
 

Except for child support and substance abuse requirements, failure to comply, without good 
cause, with the terms and conditions of the MRA will result in the entire family being 
ineligible for a WFFA payment for one month or until compliance, whichever is longer.  The 
family remains eligible for Work First Services. 
 

4. Intentional Program Violation (IPV) 
 

Individuals found to have committed an intentional program violation are disqualified from 
WFFA for 12 months for the first offense, 24 months for the second offense, and 
permanently for the third.  The individual continues to be included in the family and 
continues to be considered a Work First recipient for purposes of the work requirement and 
time limits.  The family’s payment is recalculated with the individual excluded from the 
needs. 
 

Families in sanction status will be apprised of available community resources, including 
assistance through the county department of social services.  All agency staff is trained in 
indicators of child abuse and neglect and are expected to make reports as appropriate. 
A family may avoid a sanction if good cause for non-compliance exists.  Good cause is defined 
as: 
 
• A significant family crisis or change; 
• Illness of the caretaker or child, including participation in substance abuse treatment or 

medical appointment; 
• The loss or interruption of transportation or child care for parent and/or a minor parent in 

school, training, or other work activity;  
• Civil leave, including jury duty, or a required court appearance; and 
• Any other reason deemed sufficient by the county director or designee. 
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APPENDIX D 
 

ELECTING COUNTIES 
 
In general, Electing Counties and Standard Counties have the same level of flexibility in 
designing their employment services programs to meet the federal participation rates and 
statewide Work First goals while addressing local circumstances.  However, Electing Counties 
also have the opportunity to establish their own eligibility criteria and benefit levels.   
 
In September 2011, 7 counties notified the Department of their desire to be designated as 
Electing Counties.  The Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social 
Services, recommends that the following counties be designated as Electing Counties for 
the next triennium:  Beaufort, Caldwell, Catawba, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, and Wilson. 
 
The Department has the responsibility to ensure that the Work First program in all counties 
complies with federal and State law and the Work First goals.  Under State Law, Electing 
Counties’ caseloads combined cannot exceed 15.5% of the Work First caseload on September 1 
of each year.  
 
Representatives from the following agencies of state government reviewed all of the Electing 
County plans: Division of Social Services, Local Business Liaison Office and the Attorney 
General’s Office.  Reviewers returned written comments to the Economic and Family Services 
Section of the Division of Social Services.  Feedback from these reviewers was shared with the 
Electing Counties and revisions were requested as needed. 
 
Because the caseloads of the counties requesting Electing status, in aggregate, are well below the 
15.5% minimum (5.5%), it was not necessary to rank the plans for choosing the best plans to 
recommend.  With the requested revisions, the plans for Beaufort, Caldwell, Catawba, Lenoir, 
Lincoln, Macon, and Wilson will comply with applicable laws, rules, and regulations. All 
counties will be recommended to the General Assembly to be approved as an Electing County. 
 
State law (NCGS 108A-27 e) requires that a county that desires to be re-designated shall submit 
a request in writing to the Department at least six months prior to the effective date of the next 
State Plan.  The six-month deadline for the current proposed State Plan is April 1, 2012.  
 
Funding for all counties is specified in the State law.  For Electing Counties, block grants are 
based on the percentage of each county’s total AFDC and JOBS expenditures to statewide actual 
expenditures in 1995-96.  For cash assistance, the resulting percentage is applied to the total 
budgeted funds for cash assistance for each year.   
 
Electing Counties’ eligibility criteria and processes, where available, are described on the 
following pages.  Many Electing Counties chose to follow some of the Standard County rules.  
When and if Electing County rules change to be the same as those of Standard Counties, no State 
Plan amendment will be submitted.  If changes other than to conform to Standard County rules 
are made, an amended State Plan will be submitted.   
 
Electing Counties will follow Standard Work First Policy, except as indicated on the following 
pages.  Each Electing County’s electing policies are listed below by county. 
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BEAUFORT COUNTY 
 

1. If a participant receives Benefit Diversion and subsequently applies for and begins to receive 
WFFA during the next twelve months, the participant will be responsible for paying back any 
diversion assistance that has been received.   

2. A case will be ineligible for one month following termination for failure to return a 
completed quarterly report. 

3. A case will be ineligible for one month following termination for failure to attend and 
complete parenting course. 

4. Count real property as a resource excluding primary residence. 
5. No exception to family cap policy for a child born to a minor mother. 
6. A child or parent may be temporarily absent from the home only for documented medical 

treatment, or for up to 30 days to visit another relative.  
7. All mandatory participants are required to complete a parenting course.  Failure to attend and 

complete will result in termination of WFFA. 
8. Applicants must agree to and worker must complete a home visit prior to approval of an 

application.   
9. Eliminate all re-opens.  Family must reapply if terminated for any reason. 

 
CALDWELL COUNTY 
 
1. Applicant is responsible for all verifications needed to complete the application.  Caldwell 

County will assist applicants with disabilities or limited English proficiency upon request. 
2. Benefit Diversion must be repaid if the recipient applies and is approved for Work First 

within 12 months following the certification period.  No more that 5% of the Work First 
check will be deducted until the entire Benefit Diversion amount is repaid. 

3. Benefit Diversion may be offered only once every two years. 
4. Cap children are not included in the payment calculation for Benefit Diversion 
5. Applicants will be denied if the applicant does not comply with a signed MRA if good 

cause is not met. 
6. All applicants must attend Economic Literacy training within 12 calendar days of applying 

for WFFA, unless they have successfully completed the training within 30 calendar days 
prior to application date. Failure to do so will result in denial of the application. 

7. All applicants must attend Economic Literacy training within 12 calendar days of applying 
for WFFA, unless they have successfully completed the training within 30 calendar days 
from the application date.  Failure to do so will result in denial of the application. 

8. If both quarterly reporting deadlines are missed without good cause, there will be one 
month of ineligibility. 

9. Participants’ statement of kinship will be acceptable at review unless questionable.  
10. There will be no re-opens unless it is an agency error.  The applicant/recipient may reapply 

for Work First Cash Assistance. 
11. Each adult budget unit member can receive the Job Bonus if the following are met: 
 

A. The employment is new or there is an increase in hours; 
B. The employment is expected to be permanent; and 
C. The employment is expected to be a minimum of 25 hours per week. 

 
12. All WFFA cases will be reviewed every 12 months.  
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13. School attendance - The caretaker must provide proof of school attendance for all school 
age children at application and review by providing a current report card or attendance 
summary print-out from the school.  Work First Social Workers verify school attendance 
with the School Social Workers on a monthly basis.  Therefore, it is not necessary for them 
to call the schools when a Quarterly Report is received. Failure to provide proof of school 
attendance at review results in incomplete review. 

14. Standard policy will be followed for payment levels with the exception that a Work First 
check cannot be issued less than $50.  (If the amount is $.01 to $49.99, the family is 
ineligible for a Work First check. 

15. All school age children cannot have more than 10 unexcused absences in a school grading 
period unless good cause exists.  More than 10 unexcused absences in a grading period will 
result in a sanction of 1 month or until compliance whichever is greater. 

16. A WFFA check will not be issued to families who have more than 35 hours within a month 
and do not meet their required participation hours for the month.  After two (2) consecutive 
months of not receiving a check the case will be transferred to Medicaid. 

17. Cases where all children in the household are on SSI will not be eligible for WFFA as there 
is no eligible child in the home.  

 
CATAWBA COUNTY 
 
1. Applicant must cooperate with Child Support, apply or be receiving FNS, and the applicant 

must register with Division of Employment Security if not already employed or job being 
held for the applicant and if monetarily eligible for Unemployment Benefits (UIB) must 
apply for the UIB prior to approval of the Benefit Diversion application. 

2. Applicant must cooperate with child support within 12-calendar days of applying for WFFA.  
If the applicant fails or refuses to do so without good cause, deny the application for WFFA 
and evaluate for Medicaid.   

3. Applicant must be receiving FNS or be evaluated for FNS within 12 calendar days of 
applying for WFFA.  If the applicant fails or refuses to do so without good cause, deny the 
application for WFFA and notify the Medicaid worker (applicants must apply for Medicaid 
before applying for WFFA). 

4. Applicant must be assessed for Economic Literacy within 12-calendar days of applying for 
WFFA by Work First staff.  The Economic Literacy assessment is an integral part of the 
application process.  If the applicant fails or refuses to be assessed, deny the application for 
WFFA and evaluate for Medicaid. 

5. All Work First applicants and recipients referred to Vocational Rehabilitation must complete 
the application and comply with all recommendations.  Failure or refusal to comply without 
good cause will result in the case being denied or terminated.  Future eligibility is contingent 
upon completing application and cooperating with Vocational Rehabilitation. 

6. Caretakers in the child only cases will be required to comply with the policy outlined in 
Section 104B of the Work First manual – Substance Abuse/Mental Health Initiative as a 
condition of eligibility.  This is in effort to ensure child well-being. 

7. Catawba County will follow criteria established and implemented by the State regarding non-
compliance/sanctions with the following exception:  For all child only cases (caretaker cases 
compliance with each element on the MRA Core requirements) must be evaluated monthly.  
If the family is not in compliance with all of the provisions and does not have good cause for 
non-compliance, the case will be terminated adequately and the case will be transferred to 
Medicaid.  A re-application will be required before the family may receive WFFA again.  
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The MRA (MRA-A Core requirement and MRA-B Plan of Action) serve as a timely notice 
of a WFFA check being stopped and the case being transferred to Medicaid for all Work First 
cases.   

8. Applicants and recipients will sign a Signature Page instead of having to sign each individual 
form.  

 
LENOIR COUNTY 
 
1. Applicants, excluding intact families, must cooperate with the Child Support Program before 

applying for WFFA. 
2. Newborns of a minor mother are included in the Family Cap Rule. 
3. Temporary absences from the home will be no longer than 30 days. 
4. Adopt state policy with the following additions: 
 

• All applicants, except intact families, are required to cooperate with the Child Support 
Program before applying for WFFA. 

 
5. All unemployed or under-employed adult applicants/participants must register for work at the 

Lenoir Community College (LCC) JobLink Center. 
6. The family is not eligible for a period of three months if the parent quits a work-experience 

placement, abandons a work-experience placement, or voluntarily reduces work hours or rate 
of pay without a good cause reason or fails to attend Work Keys Preparation Classes or 
Employability Skills classes at LCC or voluntarily reduces work hours or rate of pay without 
a good cause reason.  Quitting a job or reducing work hours in order to attend college, 
training, or other post-secondary education does not meet the definition of “good cause.”  Job 
abandonment is defined as failing to go to work and failure to notify the employer.  For 
applicants, the 3 months of ineligibility begin the month the parent stops work or the work 
experience or reduces work hours or rate of pay.  For recipients, the 3 months of ineligibility 
begin the month following expiration of an advance notice.  The participant may cure this 
sanction by returning to work at an equivalent rate of pay and number of work hours 
compared to the last job. 

7. For recipients who are terminated because of non-compliance with their MRA, there will be 
a one-month sanction beginning the month following the month of termination.  (Example: If 
the client is terminated in August for failure to meet their MRA requirements, they will be 
ineligible for the month of September.) 

 
LINCOLN COUNTY 
 
Applicants must cooperate with Child Support Enforcement before applying for WFFA. 
 
MACON COUNTY 
 
1. Limit the following relationships as meeting the kinship rule: 
 

a. Parent, including a natural mother or father, a legal father, or adoptive parent, after the 
issuance of the final order 

b. Brother, sister, including half brothers and sisters 
c. Grandparent 
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d. Uncle or Aunt 
e. Stepparent 
f. Step-Brother or Sister 
g. Great Grandparents 
h. Great Uncle or Aunt 
 
This relative must be providing care for the child on a day-to-day basis and be responsible for 
ongoing decisions regarding the child's well being.  A relative who meets the above 
relationships must be included in the case with the child, unless they are an SSI recipient or 
receiving Social Security Disability Income and is not a required member of the assistant 
unit. 
 

2. We will continue to count the earned and unearned income for all household members except 
SSI recipients and Social Security Disability for non-required budget household members. 

3. Reviews for Child Only cases will be completed every two years except:  child ages out, 
child moves out of case head’s home, or in case of death of the case head.  

4. All WFFA applicants will have a 6 month penalty imposed for  quitting a job unless “good 
cause” is established. 

 
WILSON COUNTY 
 
1. Eliminate the Resource Limit for families applying for Work First. 
2. All WFFA participants whose employment results in termination of their Work First benefits 

or who are receiving Job Bonus will be referred to our Financial Social Work Services at 
Career Plus to develop a Financial Education and Savings Plan.  Families that follow through 
with their Financial and Savings Goals and achieve outcomes/goals will be eligible for a 
financial education incentive bonus. Bonuses will be authorized once the family meets any of 
their identified goals.  A family may receive up to three (3) financial incentive bonuses per 
year based on achieving behavioral changing goals.  

3. If a WFFA participant fails to return a Quarterly Review and requests reopening due to 
termination from that non-compliance, the participant/family’s WFFA case will be re-opened 
with a one-month penalty for failure to comply. 

4. All Child Only Kinship Care cases that have a prior involvement with CPS, Prevention, 
Juvenile Justice, or Foster Care within the last 6 months will be required to comply with the 
Kinship Care Family Assessment.   

5. All Child Only WFFA cases with children age 6-17 who are not attending school regularly or 
whose grades are not on grade level will be required to comply with the Kinship Care Family 
Assessment.  Caretakers who do not comply with the school requirements, and participate in 
the Kinship Care Family Assessment and who are determined to not have good cause will be 
sanctioned and may not be eligible to  receive WFFA payment (Work First Manual Sect 
103). 

6. A Wage Subsidy Express Employment Pathway for “work ready” applicants will be 
implemented.  Participants are given a choice for immediate referral to Wage Subsidy 
Pathway or continuing their application for regular WFFA.  This is a choice and offered to 
participants who is “work ready” and who agree to drug testing prior to being referred to the 
wage subsidy placement. 
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APPENDIX E 
 

WORK OVER WELFARE IN CABARRUS COUNTY 
 
In legislation ratified June 12, 2003, the North Carolina General Assembly provided for the 
continuation of the Work Over Welfare (WOW) Program in Cabarrus County as a demonstration 
welfare reform program for certain Work First and Food  and Nutrition Services recipients. 
 
Except as described below, Work First in Cabarrus County operates under the standard policies 
described in the State TANF Plan. 
 
The Cabarrus County WOW Program provides job opportunities to all able-bodied Work First 
and FNS who are required to participate in Work First Employment Services. 
 
WOW is primarily a wage-supplementation program that diverts the Work First benefits that 
would be paid to recipients to match employer funds and subsidize the recipients’ wages.  
 
Wages paid to WOW participants, which contain grant-diverted funds, are exempt from income 
for purpose of determining eligibility for assistance. 
 
Participants are subject to termination of Work First benefits for the household the month 
following any month in which they fail to comply with participation requirements.  Benefits are 
restored after the client agrees to comply with requirements and files a new application.  
 
To ensure that children are not harmed, sanctioned households are monitored by social workers, 
and benefits may be paid directly to vendors for basic needs.  
 
All individuals will be evaluated for ongoing Medicaid any time Work First terminates.  
 
A recipient who voluntarily terminates employment without good cause will be ineligible for 
Work First until the individual returns to work, provided work opportunities are available.  
 
Failure or refusal to pursue child support without good cause is grounds for denial of benefits. 
 
Benefit Diversion payments will be made in amounts up to one thousand two hundred dollars 
($1,200).  Applicants receiving the diversion payment will not be eligible for ongoing Work First 
benefits for a period of three months from the date of receipt of the diversion payment.  
Individuals receiving a diversion payment must attend budgetary counseling and may be required 
to have a protective payee for the diversion payment. 
 
Federal funds may be transferred from the TANF Block Grant to the Social Services Block Grant 
to be used to pay for home studies, attorney fees, and ongoing cash payments for the adoptive 
family, and other adoption expenses for Work First children who are living with relatives other 
than their biological parents. 
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APPENDIX F 
 

SERVICES FUNDED UNDER AFDC-EA 
 
North Carolina will continue to provide services to families as approved under Parts A and F of 
Title IV of the Social Security Act as in effect on September 30, 1995.  North Carolina defined a 
comprehensive services program under the AFDC-EA service component and intends to 
continue to fund these services.  Only federal TANF funds will be used under this provision. 
 
Specifically, the services listed in the plan will be provided to families or children who are 
experiencing an emergency as defined in the plan and who do not have sufficient resources to 
alleviate the emergency.  Services specifically include all child welfare services (e.g., child 
protection, preventive family services, family preservation, and foster care and adoption services 
including foster care payments.  Residential and emergency placement services can also be 
funded through this provision. 
 
The approved plan that was in effect on September 30, 1995, is included on the following three 
pages for reference.
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SECTION 3 EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE TO NEEDY FAMILIES 
WITH CHILDREN 

Citations: 
233.120 A. Emergency Assistance to needy families with children under the 

age of 21 is provided in accordance with 45 CFR 233.120.   
 

(  ) No (Paragraphs B. - D of this Section do not apply.) 
(x) Yes, as specified below: 

 
Emergency Assistance shall be provided to or on behalf of a needy 
child under the age of 21, the specified relative of the needy child, 
and any other member of the household in which he is living.  The 
needy child under the age of 21 who is within the specified degree 
of relationship must be living with the specified relative or have 
lived with the specified relative within six months prior to the 
month in which Emergency Assistance is requested.   

 
B. Families of migrant workers are covered.   
 

(   ) No. 
(x) Yes, on Statewide basis. 
(   ) Yes, but only in the following areas of the State: 

 
C. Other eligibility requirements are in effect.   
 

(   ) No. 
(x) Yes, as specified below. 
 
1. To be eligible for AFDC-Emergency Assistance, the 

applicant family must be without resources available to 
pay for what is needed to alleviate the emergency.   

 
2. An individual who is an illegal alien is not eligible for 

AFDC-Emergency Assistance.   
 

D. The kinds of emergency situations which are covered by this 
program and the kinds of assistance and services provided to meet 
the emergency situations are detailed in Attachment 3-A.   



Work First State Plan   
 

 
North Carolina    

44

ATTACHMENT 3-A 
 
A. Kinds of emergencies covered.   
 

1. A crisis situation resulting from a catastrophic illness 
2. Substantial loss of shelter, food, clothing, or household furnishings due to 

fire, flood, or similar natural or man-made disaster, or a crime of violence 
3. Emergency situation over which there was no control and which left the 

family homeless or in immediate danger of eviction or foreclosure 
4. A situation in which Emergency Assistance is necessary to avoid destitution 

of the needy child or to provide shelter for the child 
5. Emergency situation which could lead to destitution and the destitution or 

need for a living arrangement did not arise because the child or a specified 
relative refused, without good cause, to accept employment or training for 
employment 

6. Mass emergencies 
7. Loss of a relative who has been responsible for support and/or care of one of 

his family members 
8. Abuse, neglect, or dependency of children 
9. Situation in which a child is at risk of removal from the home 
10. Situation in which return to the home of a child who is currently separated 

from his family may create an emergency. 
 

B. A heating or cooling-related emergency shall not be covered.   
 
C. Kinds of assistance provided to meet emergency situations. 
 

1. Cash assistance up to a maximum of $300 to alleviate the emergency by 
meeting basic needs for families whose total net income is at or below 110% 
of the current poverty level and total countable reserve is at or below 
$2,200.  (Liquid assets must be at or below $300.)  Basic needs include: 

 
(a) Temporary shelter, food, and clothing; 
(b) Transportation: 
(c) Home repairs such as repair of frozen pipes and plastic covering for 

windows; 
(d) Replacement or repair, when appropriate, of necessary appliances, 

household items, or furniture; 
(e) Outpatient medical services such as prescriptions, eyeglasses, and 

doctor visits if the expense is not covered by the Medicaid Program, 
or the individual needing the care is either not receiving or is 
ineligible for Medicaid: 

(f) In-kind goods such as clothing, blankets, food: 
 

2. In-Home Services including Assessment; Case Management/Service 
Planning and Coordination; Counseling and Treatment Services; Family 
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Support/Family Preservation: Day Support Services: and Psycho-
Educational Services. 

3. Out-of-Home Services, including Residential Placement; Care and 
Treatment in a Family Setting; and Care and Treatment in a Group Setting. 

4. Other Services, including Consultation and Education; Other Child Welfare 
Services; and, Transportation.   

 
NOTE: The above assistance must be authorized within a single 30-day 

period no less than 12 months after the beginning of the family's last 
EA authorization period and are limited to a maximum duration of 
364 days.   
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APPENDIX G 
 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED 
 

In compliance with federal and state statutes, the North Carolina Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families State Plan for FFY 2012-FFY 2015 was developed 
in consultation with local governments and private sector organizations regarding 
the plan and design of welfare services in the State so that services are provided in 
a manner appropriate to local populations.  The draft of the Plan was posted for 
public comment on XXXXX, and was posted for the required 45-day period.  
Following are the summaries of comments received: 
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