

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Social Services Economic Independence Section • 325 North Salisbury Street 2420 Mail Service Center • Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2420 Courier # 56-20-25

Michael F. Easley, Governor Carmen Hooker Odom, Secretary Pheon E. Beal, Director (919) 733-3055

February 20, 2003

Williamston, N. C.

February 13, 2003

Jamestown, N. C.

January 9, 2003

Re: Payment Accuracy Meetings

Dear County Director of Social Services:

Attention: Food Stamp Supervisors

Payment Accuracy Meetings continue to be a part of the State's Food Stamp Corrective Action Plan. These meetings focus on policy regulations and procedural techniques that will enhance our payment accuracy rate. In addition, these meetings provide an opportunity for counties to review and discuss error trends that are occurring across the State. Recent and upcoming policy changes are also discussed.

A tentative agenda is attached to show topics to be discussed. Most of these topics are a result of requests received from our last Payment Accuracy Meeting.

The next Payment Accuracy Improvement Task Group Meetings will be held in February 2003. In order for as many counties as possible to attend, we will be conducting four meetings across the State. Each meeting will begin at 10:00 a.m. and adjourn at 3:00 p.m.

The meetings are scheduled as follows: (Directions are enclosed.)

Northeast Martin Community College

Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Lenoir, Jones, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico Perquimans, Pasquotank, Pitt, Tyrrell, Warren, Washington, and Wilson.

Piedmont Guilford Technical Community College

Alamance, Alleghany, Iredell, Cabarrus, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Mecklenburg, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Surry, Vance, Wake, and Yadkin.

Central/Southeast Cumberland County Department of Social Services

Anson, Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, Duplin, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, New Hanover, Pender, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Union and Wayne.

West AB Technical College

February 10, 2003 Asheville, N. C.

February 27, 2003 Fayetteville, N. C.

Alexander, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yancey.

In order to properly prepare for these meetings, please complete the enclosed form indicating the number of individuals who will attend from your county. Please provide your response no later than February 3, 2003. The mailing address and fax number is shown on the form. Depending on the response received and space availability, we may be able to accommodate requests from counties who would like to attend a location other than the one shown above.

Lunch will not be available for purchase at these meetings, as several restaurants are located within close proximity. Information concerning these restaurants will be made available at the meeting.

We look forward to your county's participation in this meeting. Should you have questions or concerns, please contact Gale Bullard at (919) 733-7831 or <u>gale.bullard@ncmail.net</u> or your Program Integrity Representative.

Sincerely,

Wilbert R. Morris, Chief Economic Independence Section

WRM/GB/bh Attachments EI-1-2003