

## North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Social Services

Economic Independence Section • 325 North Salisbury Street 2420 Mail Service Center • Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2420 Courier # 56-20-25

Michael F. Easley, Governor Carmen Hooker Odom, Secretary

Pheon E. Beal, Director (919) 733-3055

March 1, 2002

**Re: Payment Accuracy Meetings** 

Dear County Director of Social Services:

**Attention: Food Stamp Supervisors** 

As a part of the State's Food Stamp Corrective Plan, Payment Accuracy Meetings are held twice a year. The purpose of these meetings is to review with counties policy regulations and procedural techniques that will enhance our payment accuracy rate. The meetings also provide counties an opportunity to review trends that are occurring across the State.

The 2002 Quality Control year has begun on a positive note with a notable decrease in the number of cases cited in error. Please plan to attend this important meeting as we discuss error reduction techniques and other areas that may assist your county in maintaining an acceptable accuracy rate.

Another topic that will be discussed at this meeting is the increase in applications and caseloads. Please bring ideas or recommendations regarding changes that could be made to help handle the increased workload.

The Spring meeting of the Payment Accuracy Improvement Task Group will be held in March 2002. We will be conducting three meetings across the State so that as many counties as possible will be able to participate. Each meeting will begin at 10:00 a.m. and adjourn at 3:00 p.m.

The meetings are scheduled as follows: (Directions are enclosed.)

## East Martin Community College

March 21, 2002 Williamston, NC

Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Warren, Washington, and Wilson Counties.

## Central Lee County Civic Center

March 19, 2002 Sanford, NC

Alamance, Anson, Bladen, Brunswick, Caswell, Chatham, Columbus, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Forsyth, Granville, Guilford, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, New Hanover, Orange, Pender, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Vance, Wake, and Wayne Counties.

West University of North Carolina at Asheville March 11, 2002 Asheville, NC

Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davie, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Rowan, Rutherford, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and Yancey Counties.

In order to properly plan for these meetings, please complete the enclosed form indicating the number of individuals who will attend from your county. Please provide your response no later than March 8, 2002. The mailing address and fax number is shown on the form. Depending on the response received and space availability, we may be able to accommodate requests from counties who would like to attend a location other than the one shown above.

Lunch will not be available for purchase at these meetings, as several restaurants are located within close proximity. Information concerning these restaurants will be made available at the meeting.

We look forward to your county's participation in this meeting. Should you have questions or concerns, please contact Gale Bullard at (919) 733-7831 or your Program Integrity Representative.

Sincerely,

Wilbert R. Morris, Chief Economic Independence Section

WM/GB/bh Enclosures EI-9-2002