

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Social Services

Economic Independence Section • 325 North Salisbury Street 2420 Mail Service Center • Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2420 Courier # 56-20-25

Michael F. Easley, Governor Carmen Hooker Buell, Secretary E. C. Modlin, ACSW, Director (919) 733-3055

June 22, 2001

RE: Modified Crisis Intervention Program

Dear County Director of Social Services:

Attention: CIP Supervisors

Service Supervisors Budget/Finance Officers

The Modified Crisis Intervention Program which is effective in 42 counties in the eastern part of the State ends June 30, 2001. This program assisted families that were impacted by Hurricanes Dennis, Floyd or Irene. The 42 counties are Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrell, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.

DSS Administrative Letter 6-2000 entitled "Increased Income and Benefit Levels" and 7-2000, "Increased Benefit Levels for Modified Crisis Intervention Program" are obsolete effective July 1, 2001. Counties must follow policy in Section 900, of the Energy Manual for the regular Crisis Intervention Program. All counties will operate the regular Crisis Intervention Program.

The last day for counties to take applications for the Modified Crisis Intervention Program is June 29, 2001. Counties may process these applications after June 29, 2001 but must expend funds for these applications before May 31, 2002.

If you have any questions, please contact your Program Integrity Representative.

Sincerely,

Wilbert Morris, Acting Chief Economic Independence Section

Ams **EI-10-2001**