

# North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services **Division of Social Services**

325 North Salisbury Street 2420 Mail Service Center • Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2420 Courier # 56-20-25

Michael F. Easley, Governor Carmen Hooker Odom, Secretary Pheon E. Beal, Director (919) 733-3055

April 15, 2004

#### **Payment Accuracy Meetings** Re:

Dear County Director of Social Services:

#### Attention: **Food Stamp Supervisors**

Payment Accuracy Meetings continue to be a part of the State's Food Stamp Corrective Action Plan. These meetings focus on policy regulations and procedural techniques that will enhance our payment accuracy rate. In addition, these meetings provide an opportunity for counties to review and discuss error trends that are occurring across the State. Recent and upcoming policy changes are also discussed.

A tentative agenda is attached with topics to be discussed. Most are the result of requests from the last Payment Accuracy Meetings.

Meetings are scheduled as follows:

#### Region I Buncombe County Library, Black Mountain Branch

Alexander, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yancey.

### Region II **Rowan Cooperative Extension Service**

Alamance, Alleghany, Iredell, Cabarrus, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Mecklenburg, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Surry, Vance, Wake, and Yadkin.

May 13, 2004

May 11, 2004

Salisbury, N. C.

Black Mountain, N. C.

### Region III Cumberland Co. DSS, Mtg. Rooms C&D

Anson, Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, Duplin, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, New Hanover, Pender, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Union and Wayne.

## Region IV Martin Community College

Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Lenoir, Jones, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Perquimans, Pasquotank, Pitt, Tyrrell, Warren, Washington, and Wilson.

In order to prepare for these meetings, please email Charlene Morris at <u>charlene.morris@ncmail.net</u> indicating the number of individuals who will attend from your county. Please provide a response no later than April 28, 2004. Depending on the responses received and space availability, we may be able to accommodate requests from counties who would like to attend a location other than the one shown above.

Lunch will not be available for purchase at these meetings, as several restaurants are located within close proximity. Information concerning restaurants will be made available at the meeting.

We look forward to your county's participation in this meeting. Should you have questions or concerns, please contact Charlene Morris at (252) 244-1730 or <u>charlene.morris@ncmail.net</u> or your Food Assistance and Energy Programs Representative.

Sincerely,

Jane Schwartz, Chief Economic Services Section

/cm

Attachment

FAEP-06-2004

### May 5, 2004 Williamston, N. C.

Fayetteville, N. C.

May 4, 2004