N.C. Division of Services

for the Deaf and the Hard of Hearing

North Carolina Interpreter and
Transliterator Licensure Law Fact Sheet

What’s the Purpose of
Requiring a License?

The North Carolina Interpreter and
Transliterator Law, North Carolina General
Statute 90D, was created to ensure
standards of competency and to promote
quality interpreting and transliterating
services for the citizens of North Carolina.

Who Needs a License? / Who
Doesn’t Need a License?

Any person who provides interpreting or
transliterating services for a fee or other
consideration must possess a license.
However, this does not include religious
proceedings, educational settings,
Board-approved mentoring/internship
relationships and emergencies until a
licensed interpreter arrives on scene.
Nonresident, nationally certified interpreters
are eligible to interpret up to 20 days per
year in North Carolina without a license.

How Does Someone Get a
License?

There are currently two license categories:
Full and Provisional. To obtain a license you
must be at least 18 years or older and be of
good moral character (finger printing and
background check are required) AND:

For a Full license, you must also hold a two-
year degree from an accredited college or
university AND one of the following:
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¢ RID Certification,

« NAD IV,
« NADV,
« NCICS A,

e NCICS Bor

* National certification recognized
by the National Cued Speech
Association.

For a Provisional license, you must also
hold a two-year degree from an accredited
college or university AND one of the
following:

* Two or four year interpreting
degree from an accredited college,

 NAD III,

e NADII,

* NCICS C,

e EIPA III or higher,

* Cued Language Transliterating
coursework (40 hours),

* Deaf Interpreter training (30 hours),

* Oral interpreter training (40 hours),

* Credential from another state or

* Proof of 200 hours per year in the
provision of interpreting/transliterat-
ing services in this State or another
State (totaling 400 hours) for the two
years immediately preceding the date
of their application.

How Do You Maintain a License?

Both Full and Provisional licenses have
to be renewed every year. Provisional
licenses may be renewed up to three times.
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The license cycle begins October 1 and ends
September 30. In order to renew, a licensee
must obtain 2.0 (20 hours) Continuing
Educational Units (CEUs).

What Happens If Someone Does
Not Renew?

If a Full licensee misses the renewal
deadline, he/she will have to reapply
for an initial Full license.

If a Provisional licensee misses the renewal
deadline, their license will be considered
lapsed. If it is the first time their license has
lapsed, they may renew within the year by
providing documentation of the required
CEUs. If the license lapses a second time
they must reapply for an initial Full license.

Full-Grandfather licenses are no longer
available; therefore, if a Full-Grandfather
licensee misses the renewal deadline, he/
she will have to reapply for an initial Full
license.

How Do | Know if Someone is
Licensed?

Licensee must have his/her license or
license number with them and available
upon request. You may also call or visit
the NCITLB website for a list of current
licensees, www.ncitlb.org.

How Do I File a Complaint?

If you feel the law has been violated by a
licensed interpreter while interpreting you
may file a complaint. Instructions for

filing a complaint are found on the NCITLB
website, www.ncitlb.org.
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It is highly recommended you try first to
talk with the interpreter directly and/or the
supervisor/person responsible for providing
the services. If this does not remedy the
situation you may file a complaint by
contacting the NCITLB Executive Secretary
at ncitlb@caphill.com. All complaints need
to go through the NCITLB central office

to be presented to the License Review
Committee.

What Fees are Associated with
Becoming Licensed?

To apply for an initial Full or Provisional
license, the fee is $225 plus an additional
$38 to cover the cost of a criminal record
check. The annual renewal fee is $150.

How Do | Learn More
Information?

You may view the licensure law by visiting
www.ncga.state.nc.us and searching “900d”
or visit the Licensing Board website at
www.ncitlb.org or contact the NCITLB
Executive Secretary at 919-779-5709, ext 2
or ncitlb@caphill.com.

You may also contact one of the Interpreting
Services Specialists at the North Carolina
Division of Services for the Deaf and the
Hard of Hearing, 1-800-851-6099.

Division of Services for the Deaf
and the Hard of Hearing (DSDHH)

2301 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-2301

919-874-2212 V/TTY
919-890-0859 VP
800-851-6099 V/TTY
919-855-6872 Fax
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