

## North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services

Pat McCrory Governor Richard O. Brajer Secretary

Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services 3001 Mail Services Center Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-3001 Tel 919-733-7011 Fax 919-508-0951 Courtney M. Cantrell, Ph.D. Director Division of Medical Assistance 2501 Mail Services Center Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2501 Tel 919-855-4100 Fax 919-733-6608 Dave Richard Deputy Secretary for Medical Assistance

## LME-MCO Communication Bulletin #J178

Date: December 14, 2015

To: LME-MCOs

From: Kathy Nichols, Behavioral Health Manager, Behavioral Health Section, DMA and Mabel McGlothlen, I/DD, TBI, and System Performance Section Chief, DMH/DD/SAS

## Subject: Providers Delivering Emergency and Post-Stabilization Services (Clarification of JCB #J165)

This bulletin clarifies <u>Joint Communication Bulletin #J165</u> *Out of Network Provider Contract Requirements,* dated October 13, 2015 which omitted information regarding providers delivering emergency and post-stabilization services.

Per an excerpt from the DMA Contract, Section 6.3 Emergency Medical Services:

In accordance with Section 1932(b)(2) of the Social Security Act and 42 CRF § 438.114, PIHP shall provide coverage for Emergency Medical Services consistent with the prudent layperson standard, as defined in the Emergency Medical Treatment and Labor Act (EMTALA) of 1986 (Section 1867 of the Social Security Act) as amended by the Balanced Budget Act (BBA) of 1997. <u>Such services shall be provided anytime without regard</u> to prior authorization and without regard to the emergency care provider's contractual relationship with <u>PIHP</u>.

This contract provision enacts the mandate of federal regulations, at 42 C.F.R. § 438.114, addressing both emergency and post-stabilization services.

If you have questions, please contact Kathy Nichols at Katherine.nichols@dhhs.nc.gov or 919-855-4290.

Previous bulletins can be accessed at: http://jtcommunicationbulletins.ncdhhs.gov/

Cc: Dave Richard, DMA Dale Armstrong, DHHS DMA Leadership Team DMH/DD/SAS Leadership Team Mary Hooper, NCCCP