North Carolina Well Contractors Certification
Frequently Asked Questions

General Certification Questions

Certification Fees

Certification by Examination

Do | Need To Be Certified If...

L. General Certification Questions

A. When did certification begin?

a.

In 1997, the General Assembly passed laws designed to protect our groundwater resource
and protect consumers from persons who may not be qualified to construct, install, repair,
alter, or abandon wells. The Well Contractors Certification Commission was created, and
adopted rules to implement a certification program. Certification of individual well
contractors began January 2000.

B. What’s the difference between “certification” and “registration”?

b.

The registration program was established by the State legislature in 1972 as a way to
keep track of those individuals in the business of well construction, repair, and
abandonment. Any individual or company could become registered simply by filling out
an information form and paying a fee.

The Certification Program, established by the legislature in 1997 replaced the registration
program and is intended to ensure that well contractors meet minimum qualifications in
terms of competence, ability and other criteria required by State laws. The Certification
Program provides a way to screen out individuals who may not be qualified to perform
well contractor activities.

C. I would like to have my company certified to do well drilling. How can this be done?

C.

Unlike the previous “Registration” program, the current “Certification” program only
applies to individuals. There are no provisions for the certification of companies in the
current law. Each business owner will need to determine how many employees will need
to be certified at each level to comply with State rules (“A certified well contractor must
be present at all times when well contractor activities are being conducted.”)
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11. Certification Fees

A. What does it cost to become certified?

a. Depending on the level being sought, there is a $150-250 fee that is submitted
with the Application for Certification. This fee covers the cost of a scheduled
exam, and after passing the exam, covers the certification fee for the time left in
that certification period.

B. Will I have to pay a fee for certification each year?

b. Yes, there is an annual renewal/certification fee of $100-200 depending on the
level of certification held. The renewal deadline is June 30" of each year.

C. I own a well drilling company, and have several drillers. Am I expected to pay the
certification fees for all of them?

C. Depending on the level there is an annual fee of $100-200 for each individual
who desires to be certified. The Well Contractors Certification Commission
places no obligation on companies to pay certification fees for individuals
employed by that company.

D. I just became certified in February. Will I have to pay the annual/renewal fee in
June?
d. Yes. The annual fee submitted with your application covered the time when your

certification took effect up to the renewal deadline, June 30". The fee is not pro-
rated.

III. Certification by Examination
A. I am currently certified in another state. Do you offer reciprocity?

a. We currently have a reciprocity agreement in place with Tennessee.

For other states: Including information on other state well contractor licenses you hold
with your application for certification in North Carolina can help in demonstrating you
have met the experience requirement, which is the purpose of the application.
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B. I have many years of well drilling experience and I do not want to take an exam to
become certified. Can I become certified by “grandfathering”?

b. “Grandfathering” is no longer an option, you must take the exam. (The law mandates that
only those who had been registered with the North Carolina Department of Environment
and Natural Resources since July of 1992 and who submitted their application and fee by
January 1, 1999, were eligible for certification without examination.) Currently all well
contractors are required to pass a certification examination to become certified.

C. When are certification examinations offered?

c. A minimum of two scheduled exams are offered each year. Staff also offers additional
“out-of-cycle” exams. All exam dates are posted on our website on the “Get Certified”

page.

D. Where are certification examinations offered?

d. Exam dates as well as locations are posted on our website on the “Get Certified” page..

E. Is there a way to take the exam at a time sooner than the one scheduled?

e. Possibly. Once an application is approved the applicant may request an “out-of-cycle”
examination. A (WCC-19) Exam Request Form must be completed and mailed with the
required examination fee to the Commission office, then a date is scheduled with the
applicant.

F. If I fail the exam, what then?

f.  The applicant must pass the exam within 3 consecutive attempts or within a one year
period of time after the application is submitted, whichever expires first, or a new
application shall be required. Any applicant who has failed the examination after 3
consecutive attempts shall be required to obtain 8 continuing education units (CEU) of
pre-approved continuing education prior to submitting a new application for certification.
Proof of CEU completion must be submitted with the application.

If this is not your forth exam attempt, and your application is less than a year old at the
time of the next examination, you may choose to take another examination the next time
it is offered. The applicant must complete the (WCC-7) Retake Exam Request Form and
mail it to the Commission offices with the required examination fee(s). Applicants that
have failed an exam may also request an exam review, free of charge, to review the
questions missed prior to retaking the exam. More information on requesting an exam
review, including exam review dates and the request form, is available online on the “Get
Certified” page.
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G. How long will my application be held?

g. The applicant must pass the exam within 3 consecutive attempts or within a one year
period of time after the application is submitted, whichever expires first, or a new
application shall be required.

IV. Dol Need To Be Certified If...

A. I am a pump installer, and not a plumber. Do I need to be certified as a well
contractor?

a. Yes, to perform pump installer activities, you need a minimum of level D well
contractor certification. However, any activity other than breaking the well seal
or disinfection of the well (such as extending casing) will require level C or
higher well contractor certification.

B. I am a licensed plumber. Do I need to be certified as a well contractor to do minor
well or pump repairs?

b. There is a limited exemption available to break the well seal and disinfect the
well for the purpose of installing or replacing a pump for licensed plumbers who
obtain training in well seals & disinfection within 2 years prior to performing this
work. (G.S. 87-98.4(b)(13))

For any well contractors activities beyond this scope, certification as a well
contractor is required.

C. I own a well drilling company, but never physically do the drilling myself. Do I have
to be certified?
C. Not necessarily. You will need to be certified if you personally supervise or

manage any well contractor activity. A certified well contractor must be on-site,
personally supervising and/or performing any well contractor activity.

D. If my certified driller (or myself, if I operate my own rig) is unable to complete an
already-started job, can someone else who works for me finish the job?

d. Yes, but only if that individual holds the appropriate level of well contractor
certification for the equipment being used.
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E. I own a drilling company and I have several drillers and helpers. Do they all have to
be certified?

e. No, not necessarily. At least one certified well contractor, of the appropriate
level, must be physically present to supervise or conduct any well contractor
activities. Non-certified helpers may work with the certified individual. If
multiple well contractor activities are being conducted on a site at one time, such
as drilling several geothermal holes with multiple rigs, more certified individuals
would need to be present to properly supervise all the activities. It is not possible
to run a rig and supervise another rig at the same time; an additional certified
contractor would be needed. Company owners must therefore decide how many
of their employees will need to be certified in order to conduct business.

F. We are an environmental/engineering/geologic consulting company and we just put
in monitor wells, recovery wells, geoprobe holes, piezometers, etc. Do we need to get
certified?

f. You must be certified as a well contractor to engage in well contractor activities.
Well contractor activities are defined as the construction, installation, repair,
alteration or abandonment of any well. Certification is required to collect a water
sample using a Geoprobe.

Certification would not be required to collect soil samples, or to do soil
compaction tests.

G. I only drill wells that will not be used for drinking water purposes. Do I need to be
certified?

g. Yes, you must be certified as a well contractor if you are in the business of
constructing wells, regardless of whether those wells are for drinking water or
some other purpose (such as irrigation, geothermal, monitoring wells...).

H. I only plan to install wells on my own property. Do I need to be certified?

h. No, you do not have to be certified to install, repair, or abandon wells on your
own property for your own personal use. However, wells you construct, repair, or
abandon on your own property, must meet all State and local well construction
standards.

Rev. 12/12/14 Page 5 of 8 www.wellcontractors.nc.gov



North Carolina Well Contractors Certification
Frequently Asked Questions

I. I am an engineer, geologist, or licensed contractor. In the future, I would like to hire
a certified well contractor to perform well contractor activities per my instructions.
Do I also have to be certified as a well contractor?

i. Not necessarily. However, you will need to be certified if you personally
supervise or manage any well contractor activity, regardless of whether that
supervision or management is done on-site or from some remote location. If your
instructions include on-site direction or control of the well contractor activity, or
involve giving direction to the on-site direction or control of the well contractor
activity, or involve giving direction to the on-site certified well contractor in
conducting those activities, then you must also be certified as a well contractor.

J. Is certification required to install temporary dewatering wells (vacuum wellpoints)?

J- Not necessarily. As per G.S.87-98.4 (b)(5&6), Certification is not required for
construction, repair, or abandonment of a well used for a temporary dewatering
activity that is associated with, and necessary to complete construction of,
a utility distribution or collection system, a building or other structure, or a
transportation system, if all of the following conditions are met:

a. The dewatering well is constructed solely for the purpose of removing
water from or lowering the water table in the immediate area of the
construction activity.

b. The dewatering well is located within 25 feet of the excavation and is
not greater than 25 feet deeper than the excavation.

c. The dewatering well is abandoned in accordance with rules governing
the abandonment of wells adopted by the Environmental Management
Commission pursuant to G.S. 87-87 within 30 days of installation of
the well or within 10 days of completion of the project, whichever is
later.

Certification is also not required for construction, repair, or abandonment of a
well used for a temporary dewatering activity that is associated with the
construction of a borrow pit if the dewatering activity is located within 15
feet of the proposed perimeter of the borrow pit.

K. I do not drill wells at all. I just perform minor well repair. Do I need to become
certified?

k. Yes, any modification or alteration of a well is a well contractor activity and will
require the presence of a certified well contractor of the appropriate level.
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L. I only abandon wells. Do I need to become certified?

l. Yes, the abandonment of wells is defined by law as a well contractor activity for
which level C or higher well contractor certification is required.

M. I am a federal employee. Do I require certification to perform well contractor
activities in North Carolina?

m. Certification is not required for a person who is employed by a government
agency and performs well contractor activities soley within the scope of the
person’s government employment. However, this does not apply to private
contractors hired by government agencies to perform the work.[G.S. 87-98.4

(b)(3)]
N. Is it necessary to have certification to install Cathodic Protection Anodes?
n. No, it was determined that the installation of cathodic protection anodes is not a
well contractor activity and therefore does not require certification.[G.S. 87-98.4
(b)(10)]
0. Is certification required for the installation of wetland monitoring gauges?
0. Not necessarily. Installing wetland monitoring gauges at depths of eight feet or

less solely to monitor fluctuations in the water table does not require
certification.[G.S. 87-98.4(b)(11)

P. What are some other exemptions from the certification requirement?

p. Certification is not required for:
e Drilling of a blast hole.
e Exploratory drilling for mining-related investigations.

¢ Installation of a water level observation well on property for which a
mining permit has been issued under the Mining Act of 1971, Article 7 of
Chapter 74 of the General Statutes.

e Installation of a wetland monitoring gauge at a depth of eight feet or less
for the purpose of monitoring fluctuations in the water table.

e A person who is licensed as a professional engineer under Chapter 89C of
the General Statutes, a geologist under Chapter 89E of the General
Statutes, or a soil scientist under Chapter 89F of the General Statutes who
uses a hand auger to collect soil or water samples or to measure water
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levels. This exemption does not include the construction of a monitoring
well.

e Installation of a caisson, piling, or structural pier.  [G.S. 87-98.4(b)(12)]

e Construction, repair, or abandonment of a well used for the exploration or
development of oil or gas.  [G.S. 87-98.4(b)(14)]

www.wellcontractors.nc.gov

Additional questions may be directed to Commission staff at
919-707-5882 or by email at andrew.morgan@dhhs.nc.gov
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