

## North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Public Health

Pat McCrory Governor Aldona Z. Wos, M.D. Ambassador (Ret.) Secretary DHHS

Daniel Staley Acting Division Director

February 16, 2015

Dear North Carolina Medical Facilities and Health Care Providers Serving Neonates and Infants,

The North Carolina General Assembly passed Session Law 2013-45 to expand the Newborn Screening program to include screening for critical congenital heart defects (CCHD) utilizing pulse oximetry. As a result, temporary public health rules requiring CCHD screening of every neonate and required reporting of data related to CCHD screening are in effect. The temporary rules and requirements can be found at <a href="http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2043%20-%20health/subchapter%20k/subchapter%20k%20rules.html">http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2043%20-%20health/subchapter%20k%20rules.html</a>.

Under the temporary rules, medical facilities and health care providers screening for CCHD are currently required to report <u>all</u> positive (failed) final screening results within 7 days of the screening either to <u>http://cchd.pqcnc.org</u> OR via fax to the NC Birth Defects Monitoring Program (BDMP) at 919-733-8485. Proposed permanent rules are anticipated to be effective this spring and will require that all data be reported through the online site. The proposed permanent rules and requirements can be found at:

http://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/Rules/NewbornScreening/10A\_NCAC\_43K.0101.0102.0103\_Newborn\_Screening\_for\_Critical\_Congenital\_Heart\_ Defects.htm. Questions about reporting positive (failed) final screening results to the NC BDMP can be brought to Dr. Robert Meyer at 919-733-4728.

The rules also require that aggregate quarterly CCHD screening data from medical facilities and health care providers be reported online at <u>http://cchd.pqcnc.org</u> by the end of each quarter of each state fiscal year. The first quarter for required reporting was from October 1, 2014 through December 31, 2014. The next required quarter is January 1, 2015 through March 31, 2015. Medical facilities and health care providers should have a designated person register online at <u>http://cchd.pqcnc.org</u> and submit their aggregate data as soon as possible. The proposed permanent rules when adopted will allow medical facilities and health care providers to report aggregate data up to 15 days after the end of each quarter.

The Perinatal Quality Collaborative of North Carolina (PQCNC) has numerous resources related to screening, evaluation, and other CCHD screening related materials at: <u>http://cchd.pqenc.org/</u>. PQCNC will offer hospitals, free-standing birthing centers, midwives and other community health care providers the opportunity to participate in a free quality improvement learning collaborative about CCHD screening processes this spring. The NC Division of Public Health has also created resources for parents and providers at: <u>http://ncdhbs.gov/dph/wch/doc/families/CCHD-ScreeningResources-v2-FINAL.pdf.</u>

Thank you for your service as a medical facility or health care provider serving infants and their families in North Carolina. We appreciate your ongoing commitment to ensuring the health and well-being of infants born in North Carolina.

Sincerely,

Danny Statey Acting Division Director



www.ncdhhs.gov • www.publichealth.nc.gov Tel 919-707-5000 • Fax 919-870-4829 Location: 5605 Six Forks Road • Raleigh, NC 27609 Mailing Address: 1931 Mail Service Center • Raleigh, NC 27699-1931 An Equal Opportunity / Affirmative Action Employer

