

ROY COOPER • Governor KODY KINSLEY • Secretary SUSAN G. OSBORNE • Assistant Secretary for Human Services DREW PLEDGER Chairman

Meeting Minutes Social Services Commission Quarterly Meeting September 14, 2022, 10:00 A.M.

I. Call to Order

- 1. Chairman Pledger called the Social Services quarterly meeting to order at 10:01 a.m. Meeting was a hybrid of in person and virtual using Go-To-Webinar.
- 2. Chairman Pledger read the ethic statement/conflicts of interest statement; being that there were none, Gwen Waller proceeded to call the roll.
- 3. Social Services Commission roll call:

NC DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND

HUMAN SERVICES

Division of Social Services

- a. **Commissioners in attendance and constituting a quorum were:** Chairman Drew Pledger, Heather Hayes-Williams, Dr. Tia Crooms, Margie Christopher, Willa Wyatt, Vice Chairman Robert Simmons, Cindy Locklear, and Daniel Briggs, Tanisha James
- b. **Commissioners absent:** Kelsey Crowe, Dr. Sigmund Tannebaum, Anthony Anderson
- c. **DHHS Staff Present:** Nadine Pfeiffer (DHSR), Jeff Harms (DHSR), Tammy Sylvester (DHSR), Paris Penny (DSS), Gwen Waller (DSS), Carla West (DSS), Heather McAllister (DSS), and Jay Pontier (NC FAST)
- d. **DOJ Staff Present:** Thomas Campbell, Colleen Crowley, and Adrian Dellinger
- e. Others:
- 4. Chairman Drew Pledger provided introductions and opening remarks.
- 5. Motion by Chairman Pledger to move and approve the meeting minutes from June 8, 2022. Motion carried by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons and seconded by Willa Wyatt and carried without dissent.
- Motion by Chairman Pledger to move and approve the meeting minutes from July 19, 2022. Motion carried by Daniel Briggs and seconded by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons and carried without dissent.

II. New Business

1. 10A NCAC 14J .1307 Contested Case Hearing

Motion by Chairman Pledger to move to approve temporary rule 10A NCAC 14J .1307 to send forward to the Secretary's office for approval. Motion carried by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons. Seconded by Heather Hayes-Williams and carried without dissent. The rule is for Jails, Local Confinement Facilities and it is in response to SL2022-74. The law requires the Division of Health Service Regulation do temporary rules and permanent rules.

NC DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES · DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

LOCATION: 820 S. Boylan Avenue, McBryde Building, Raleigh, NC 27603 MAILING ADDRESS: 2401 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2401 www.ncdhhs.gov • TEL: 919-527-6335 • FAX: 919-334-1018

- 2. Appointments to county boards of social services to fill the seats. Applications voted upon as follows:
 - a. Congressional District 1:
 - Discussion about Rebecca Dudley's application for Greene County Department of Social Services Board appointment. Chairman Pledger will need to verify whether Ms. Dudley is an employee of Wayne County Department of Social Services and if so, what is the nature of Ms. Dudley's employment.
 - ii. Motion by Chairman Pledger to move to appoint Clyde Everette to Hertford County Department of Social Services Board. Motion carried by Chairman Pledger. Seconded by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons and carried without dissent.
 - iii. Motion by Chairman Pledger to move to appoint Leonard Freison to Vance County Department of Social Services Board. Motion carried by Chairman Pledger. Seconded by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons and carried without dissent.
 - b. Congressional District 3:
 - i. Motion by Chairman Pledger to move to appoint Deborah Powell to Camden County Department of Social Services Board. Motion carried by Tia Crooms. Seconded by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons and carried without dissent.
 - Motion by Chairman Pledger to move to appoint Ray Etheridge to Currituck County Department of Social Services Board. Motion carried by Dr. Tia Crooms. Seconded by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons and carried without dissent.
 - iii. Motion by Chairman Pledger to move to appoint Edward Torres to Hyde County Department of Social Services Board. Motion carried by Dr. Tia Crooms. Seconded by Willa Wyatt and carried without dissent.
 - iv. Motion by Chairman Pledger to move to appoint Jennifer Williford to Pamlico County Department of Social Services Board. Motion carried by Dr. Tia Crooms. Seconded by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons and carried without dissent.
 - c. Congressional District 6:
 - Motion by Chairman Pledger to move to appoint Memory Dossenbach to Chatham County Department of Social Services Board. Motion carried by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons. Seconded by Daniel Briggs and carried without dissent.
 - Motion by Chairman Pledger to move to appoint Alexis Coleman to Randolph County Department of Social Services Board. Motion carried by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons. Seconded by Cindy Locklear and carried without dissent.
 - d. Congressional District 10:
 - i. Motion by Chairman Pledger to move to appoint Shery Hoyle to Lincoln County Department of Social Services Board. Motion carried

by Margie Christopher. Seconded by Willa Wyatt and carried without dissent.

- e. Congressional District 11:
 - Motion by Chairman Pledger to move to appoint John Riddle to Yancey County Department of Social Services Board. Motion carried by Willa Wyatt. Seconded by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons and carried without dissent.

III. Presentations

Families First Prevention Services Act (FFPSA) Heather McAllister

• Regional directors will be hired in Fall 2022. These are time limited positions hired with the federal transition funds that ends September 30, 2025. DSS will look at how to sustain the positions after September 30, 2025.

Child Support Services State of the State	Carla West
Child Support Services 2021-2022 Performance Awards	Carla West

• Awards coincide with the state fiscal year.

IV. Staff Comments

- Appointments to county boards of social services will be added to the agenda for December 14, 2022.
- Staff will be providing an orientation/training to Commissioners at the next quarterly meeting.

V. Commission Comments

VI. Adjournment

Motion by Chairman Drew Pledger to adjourn the quarterly meeting at 11:36 a.m. Motion carried by Willa Wyatt. Seconded by Vice Chairman Robert Simmons and carried without dissent.

The next quarterly meeting is December 14, 2022.