Navigation Menu Link to Home Page link to Information on the Divison Link to Staff name, telephone and e-mail link to Topic Index Link to Frequently Asked Questions Link to Hot Topics Link to Training Calendar Link to Area Agencies on Aging Links to other Aging Sites Click to e-mail webmaster Link to the Department of Health and Human Services Disclaimer

Search DHHS:













North Carolina Division of Aging and Adult Services


Assisted Living

    The North Carolina General Assembly has defined assisted living residence to mean “any group housing and services program for two or more unrelated adults, by whatever name it is called, that makes available, at a minimum, one meal a day and housekeeping services and provides personal care services directly or through a formal written agreement with one or more licensed home care or hospice agencies. The Department of Human Resources may allow nursing service exceptions on a case-by-case basis. Settings in which services are delivered may include self-contained apartment units or single or shared room units with private or area baths.” North Carolina recognizes three types of assisted living residences: adult care homes, group homes for developmentally disabled adults, and multi-unit assisted housing with services.


Last updated April 30, 2015




Adult Care Homes
Sharon Wilder

Multi-unit Assisted Housing with services other independent housing
Nancy Evans