Regional Centers for the Deaf and the Hard of Hearing

The Division of Services for the Deaf and the Hard of Hearing (DSDHH) provides services through its seven North Carolina regional centers. These services are open to Deaf, Hard of Hearing and Deaf-Blind individuals. Family members, professionals, agencies and individuals seeking information or assistance also have access to these services. There is no charge for these services.

List of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services

 
 

Click on the closest pin to your location for more information and driving directions.

Asheville Regional Center

12 Barbetta Drive
Asheville, NC 28806

Voice
828-665-8733

Toll Free Voice
800-681-7998

Video Phone
828-333-5830
TTY
828-665-8737

Toll Free TTY
800-681-8035

Fax
828-670-5054

Counties Served:
Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Swain, Transylvania and Yancey.

Tzena Keyes Tzena.Keyes@dhhs.nc.gov Manager
Laura Herman Laura.Herman@dhhs.nc.gov Deaf Services Specialist
Vacant   Hard of Hearing Services Specialist
Kathleen Speckhardt Kathleen.Speckhardt@dhhs.nc.gov Interpreting Services Specialist
David Fitzsimmons David.Fitzsimmons@dhhs.nc.gov Community Accessibility Consultant
Marilyn Edwards Marilyn.Edwards@dhhs.nc.gov Telecommunications Consultant
McKenzie Giurintano McKenzie.Giurintano@dhhs.nc.gov Office Assistant

Charlotte Regional Center

5501 Executive Ctr. Dr.
Suite 200
Charlotte, NC 28212
Voice
704-568-8558

Toll Free Voice
800-835-5302

Video Phone
704-918-1554
TTY
704-568-8505

Toll Free TTY
800-835-5306

Fax
704-568-9615

Counties Served:
Anson, Cabarrus, Gaston, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Richmond, Rowan, Stanly, and Union.
Blair McCorkle Blaire.McCorkle@dhhs.nc.gov Manager
Donna Katic Donna.Katic@dhhs.nc.gov Deaf Services Specialist
Ivy Williams Ivy.Williams@dhhs.nc.gov Hard of Hearing Services Specialist
  DSDHH.Charlotte.DBSS@dhhs.nc.gov Deaf Blind Service Specialist
Anita Baker Anita.Baker@dhhs.nc.gov Interpreting Service Specialist
Brenda Lusk Brenda.J.Lusk@dhhs.nc.gov Community Accessibility Consultant
Vacant   Telecommunications Consultant
Patti Carter Patricia.L.Carter@dhhs.nc.gov Office Assistant

Greensboro Regional Center

122 North Elm Street
Suite 900
Greensboro, NC 27401
Voice
336-273-9692

Toll Free Voice
888-467-3413

Video Phone
336-429-5644
TTY

Toll Free TTY

Fax
336-256-0689

Counties Served:
Alamance, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry and Yadkin.

Ruben Leon Ruben.Leon@dhhs.nc.gov Manager
  DSDHH.Greensboro.DSS@dhhs.nc.gov Deaf Services Specialist
  DSDHH.Greensboro.HHSS@dhhs.nc.gov Hard of Hearing Services Specialist
Amanda Harker Amanda.Harker@dhhs.nc.gov Interpreting Services Specialist
John Sherwood John.Sherwood@dhhs.nc.gov Communications Accessibility Consultant
AJ Sondossi AJ.Sondossi@dhhs.nc.gov Telecommunications Consultant
Kathleen Crawford Kathleen.Crawford@dhhs.nc.gov                    Office Assistant

Morganton Regional Center

107 Foothills Drive
Morganton, NC 28655
Voice
828-430-7185

Toll Free Voice
800-999-8915

Video Phone
828-475-6606
TTY
828-430-7192

Toll Free TTY
800-205-9920

Fax
828-430-7193

Counties Served:
Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Iredell, McDowell, Rutherford, Watauga, Wilkes.
Andrew Unger Andrew.Unger@dhhs.nc.gov Manager
Heather Foster Heather.Foster@dhhs.nc.gov Deaf Services Specialist
Cynthia Harmon Cynthia.Harmon@dhhs.nc.gov Hard of Hearing Services Specialist
Tanya Miller Tanya.Miller@dhhs.nc.gov Interpreting Services Specialist
Shawn Lane Shawn.Lane@dhhs.nc.gov Community Accessibility Consultant
Stacy Bollinger Stacy.Bollinger@dhhs.nc.gov Telecommunications Consultant
Vanda Brock Vanda.Brock@dhhs.nc.gov Office Assistant

Raleigh Regional Center

4900 Waters Edge Drive
Raleigh, NC 27606
Voice
919-859-8526

Toll Free Voice
800-999-5737

Video Phone
919-890-0858
TTY
919-233-7082
Toll Free TTY
800-233-7082
Fax
919-233-7083

Counties Served:
Caswell, Chatham, Cumberland, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Nash, Orange, Person, Vance, Wake and Warren.
Monica Harrelson Monica.Harrelson@dhhs.nc.gov Manager
Nicole Alleman Nicole.Alleman@dhhs.nc.gov Deaf-Blind Services Specialist
Jeff Greer Jeff.Greer@dhhs.nc.gov Deaf Services Specialist
Kay Satterwhite Kay.Satterwhite@dhhs.nc.gov Hard of Hearing Services Specialist
Lawrence Shockey Lawrence.Shockey@dhhs.nc.gov Interpreting Services Specialist
Martina Moore-Reid Martina.Moore-Reid@dhhs.nc.gov Communications Accessibility Consultant
Vacant   Telecommunications Consultant
Shameka Caviness Shameka.Caviness@dhhs.nc.gov Office Assistant

Wilmington Regional Center

3240 Burnt Mill Drive
Suite 5
Wilmington, NC 28403
Voice
910-251-5702

Toll Free Voice
800-205-9915

Video Phone
910-777-5770
TTY
910-251-5767

Toll Free TTY
800-205-9916

Fax
910-251-2677

Counties Served:
Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Duplin, Jones, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender, Robeson, Sampson and Scotland.
David Schultz David.Schultz@dhhs.nc.gov Manager
Daisy Rivenbark Daisy.Rivenbark@dhhs.nc.gov Deaf Services Specialist
Pam Poretti Pam.Poretti@dhhs.nc.gov Hard of Hearing Services Specialist
Vacant   Interpreting Services Specialist
Christina Bauman Christina.Bauman@dhhs.nc.gov Community Accessibility Consultant
Janelle Taylor Janelle.Taylor@dhhs.nc.gov Telecommunications Consultant
Vacant   Office Assistant

Wilson Regional Center

2705 Wooten Boulevard
Wilson, NC 27893
Voice
252-243-3104

Toll Free Voice
800-999-6828

Video Phone
252-674-1141
TTY
252-243-1951

Toll Free TTY
800-205-9925

Fax
252-243-7634

Counties Served:
Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Lenoir, Martin, Northampton, Pamilco, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne and Wilson.
Karen Caputo Karen.Caputo@dhhs.nc.gov Manager
Stephanie Scott Stephanie.Scott@dhhs.nc.gov Deaf Services Specialist
Diana Charbonneau Diana.Charbonneau@dhhs.nc.gov Hard of Hearing Services Specialist
  DSDHH.Wilson.ISS@dhhs.nc.gov Interpreting Service Specialist
Merri Schermerhorn Merri.Schermerhorn@dhhs.nc.gov Community Accessibility Consultant
Desiree Beason Desiree.Beason@dhhs.nc.gov Telecommunications Consultant
Rhonda Hamilton Rhonda.Hamilton@dhhs.nc.gov Office Assistant

Regional Center Libraries

Each regional center has a library where customers may borrow publications, books, video tapes and DVDs related to deafness and hearing loss.

Ruth Easterling Library Collection

Categories of material available:

  • Adult-Onset Hearing Loss
  • American Sign Language Instruction
  • Children and Hearing Loss
  • Communication Tips
  • Deaf Culture and History
  • Sign Language and Cued Speed Interpreting/Transliteration
How can we make this page better for you?
Send us some feedback!

Thank you for providing feedback on our website. Your idea will go to our web team. If you want to contact someone specifically and get a response, please go to the contact page.

User Feedback

Back to top