Skip all navigation Skip to page navigation

DHHS Home | A-Z Site Map | Get Updates | Divisions | About Us | Contacts | En Español

NC Department of Health and Human Services
NC Division of Vocational RehabilitationDVRS

Partner With VR to Provide Community Rehabilitation Services

VR enjoys programmatic partnerships with independent community rehabilitation programs (CRPs) across the state. This page provides you access to: the rules and standards for community rehabilitation programs, information about the vendor application process and contact information for networking with VR staff and other CRP providers. Currently, VR recognizes CRP accreditation by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF), the Council on Accreditation (COA) and the Council on Quality Leadership (CQL).

Application Process for Community Rehabilitation Services Vendors

Prospective providers of supported-employment services, work-adjustment training, work-adjustment job coaching or community-based assessment are encouraged to contact your regional CRP specialist before beginning the process of becoming a VR-approved CRP provider. Steps in the application process:

  1. Review North Carolina’s “Community Rehabilitation Program Standards.”
  2. Contact a regional CRP specialist (listed below) to discuss the need for services in your area.
  3. Complete the Community Rehabilitation Program and Supported Employment Vendor Application.
  4. Submit your application and supporting documentation to the CRP specialist in your area.
  5. You will be contacted within 30 days for further information or about your application’s status.
  6. If your application is complete, you’ll be contacted for an on-site review by a VR representative.
  7. Final approval will be determined only after a complete application packet is received and a satisfactory on-site review has been conducted.
NCDVRS Community Rehabilitation Specialists
Lenora Mathis Counties Served: Buncombe, Burke, Cherokee, Clay,
Cleveland, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon,
Madison, McDowell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania
(828) 245-1223
Joan Wofford Counties Served: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Cabarrus,
Caldwell, Catawba, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg,
Mitchell, Rowan, Stanly, Union, Wilkes, Watauga, Yancey
(704) 568-8804
Ken Query Counties Served: Anson, Bladen, Chatham, Cumberland,
Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Hoke, Lee, Montgomery, Moore,
Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Scotland, Stokes, Surry, Yadkin
(910) 295-1530
Ken Query Counties Served: Alamance, Caswell, Durham, Franklin,
Granville, Guilford, Harnett, Johnston, Orange, Person,
Rockingham, Sampson, Vance, Wake, Warren
(910) 295-1530
Carl Thompson Counties Served: Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven,
Duplin, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender
(910) 251-5710
Beth Newcomb Counties Served: Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck,
Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde,
Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt,
Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, Wilson
(252) 977-2112
Beth Coberly State CRP Specialist (919) 855-3529

Directory: Community Rehabilitation and Supported Employment Programs

Located across the state, community rehabilitation programs provide employment-related services for people with disabilities. The services provided may range from a few to several, depending upon local community needs and available funding.

  • Community Rehabilitation/Supported Employment Programs: By County
  • Community Rehabilitation/Supported Employment Programs: By CRP Name

NCDVRS Community Rehabilitation Program Steering Committee

CRPs are integral partners in the network of services designed to provide people with disabilities with equal opportunities in achieving their highest level of economic and social independence. With representatives from VR and CRP providers, the CRP Steering Committee focuses on budgetary and program issues and makes recommendations to the NCDVRS director. The committee’s goal is to help ensure the delivery of quality services with informed choice by our consumers.

Agency Members Title Agency
Beth Coberly, Committee Chair State CRP Specialist DVRS
Mary Walls Unit Manager DVRS
Lenora Mathis CRP Specialist DVRS
Jim Swain Program Specialist DVRS
Carl Thompson CRP Specialist DVRS
Lee Lewis Program Manager DMH/DD/SAS
Ken Query CRP Specialist DVRS
John Scotten Unit Manager DVRS
Trish Harper Chief Accountant - CRPs DVRS
Emery Cowan Program Manager (Employment Services) DMH/DD/SAS
CRP Members Program Appointed By
Michael Maybee Watauga Opportunities NCAPSE
Bridget Hassan UCP NCAPSE
Cheri Howell Community Workforce Solutions DVR APPT
Elizabeth Leggett Beaufort County Development Center NCARF
Tom Wilson Durham Exchange Club Industries NCARF
Meg Moss Lee County Industries NCARF
Patricia Little Johnston County Industries DVR APPT
Bert Fisher Monarch DVR APPT
Leigh Harrison Community Partnerships NCAPSE





State of North Carolina Home Page