Skip all navigation Skip to page navigation

DHHS Home | A-Z Site Map | Divisions | About Us | Contacts | En Español

NC Department of Health and Human Services Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services

1915 b/c Medicaid Waiver for MH, DD and SA Services

"Responsible Change to Achieve Easy Access, Better Quality and Personal Outcomes"

Archived 1915 b/c Waiver Content

News Alert - December 17, 2013

The Department of Health and Human Services is pleased to announce LME-MCO Proposed Consolidation Plan. Leadership of the 10 organizations responsible for the management of mental health, substance abuse and intellectual developmental disability services across North Carolina have notified Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Aldona Wos of their intent to consolidate into four regional local management entities-managed care organizations (LME-MCOs). The plan from the N.C. Council of Community Programs, which represents the LME-MCOs, specifies that the proposed system will have three main characteristics:

  • Four regions (1 Western, 2 Central, 1 Eastern);
  • Geographic contiguity (with the exception of existing MCO configurations); and
  • 300,000-350,000 covered lives per region.

News Alert – April 1, 2013

The Department of Health and Human Services is pleased to announce all 100 counties are now under the 1915 b/c Waiver for mental health, developmental disabilities and substance abuse services. 

More News Alerts

Additional Resources

We invite consumers, families and other stakeholders to send general questions/comments about this initiative to:

Return to top


State of North Carolina Home Page