The Department of Health and Human Services manages the delivery of health- and human-related services for all North Carolinians, especially our most vulnerable people – children, elderly, disabled and low-income families. The Department works closely with health care professionals, community leaders and advocacy groups; local, state and federal entities; and many other stakeholders to make this happen.

The Department is divided into 33 divisions and offices. NCDHHS divisions and offices fall under six broad service areas - Health; Opportunity and Well-Being; Medicaid; Operational Excellence; Policy and Communications; and Health Equity.

NCDHHS also oversees 14 facilities: developmental centers, neuro-medical treatment centers, psychiatric hospitals, alcohol and drug abuse treatment centers, and two residential programs for children.

Learn more about the Department in the 2024-2026 Strategic Plan.

NCDHHS Organizational Chart

Many of DHHS’ main administrative offices are housed on the Dorothea Dix campus in Raleigh. Visiting the campus? The maps below should help you find the building you’re looking for.