Alcohol and Drug Abuse Treatment Centers

The NC Division of State Operated Healthcare Facilities oversees two Alcohol & Drug Abuse Treatment Centers. Visit the Alcohol & Drug Abuse Treatment Center web page for more information about Julian F. Keith ADATC and Walter B. Jones ADATC.

Developmental Centers

The NC Division of State Operated Healthcare Facilities oversees three Developmental Centers. Visit the State Developmental Centers web page for more information about Caswell Developmental Center, J. Iverson Riddle Developmental Center and Murdoch Developmental Center.

Neuro-Medical Treatment Centers

The NC Division of State Operated Healthcare Facilities oversees three state operated Neuro-Medical Treatment Centers. Visit the Neuro-Medical Treatment Centers web page for more information about Black Mountain NTC, O'Berry NTC and Longleaf NTC. 

Psychiatric Hospitals

The Division's psychiatric hospitals provide comprehensive inpatient mental health services to people with psychiatric illness who cannot be safely treated at a lower level of care. Treatment modalities utilized at the State hospitals include: medication, psychosocial rehabilitation, counseling, educational sessions, group therapy, recreation therapy, work therapy, diet and occupational therapy. These facilities are accredited by the Joint Commission for Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations and are certified by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
All State hospitals provide treatment to adults and adolescents in their service area. Treatment is offered statewide on specialty units for the following populations:

  • Deaf Individuals: Broughton Hospital
  • Children: Central Regional Hospital
  • Forensic Patients: Central Regional Hospital

     Bed Transfers

Cherry Hospital
1401 W. Ash St.
Goldsboro, N.C. 27530
Counties Served: Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, Wilson.

Central Regional Hospital
300 Veazey Road
Butner, N.C. 27509
Phone: 919-764-2000
Fax: 919-764-7338
Counties Served: Alamance, Anson, Caswell, Chatham, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Stokes, Vance, Wake, Warren.

Broughton Hospital
1000 South Sterling Street
Morganton, N.C. 28655
Phone: 828-433-2111
Fax: 828-433-2292
Email: BH.Information@dhhs.nc.gov
Counties Served: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, Yancey.

Residential Programs for Children

Wright and Whitaker are residential schools for children and adolescents who have severe emotional and behavioral needs. Both schools employ a re-education model which prepares the child or adolescent to successfully return to his community. These schools serve the entire state.

Whitaker Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility
1003 12th Street Butner, N.C. 27509
Phone: 919-575-7927
Fax: 919-575-7895

Wright School
3132 North Roxboro Street Durham, N.C. 27704
Phone: 919-560-5790
Fax: 919-560-5795
Email: wrightschoolinfo@dhhs.nc.gov